5 projects into 1?

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

5 projects into 1?

Postby shadowfax » Fri Feb 14, 2014 3:33 pm

Hi, I have 5 different versions of a song and would like to open a new empty project and place the tracks I require from each project onto the new project, tried opening 2 projects and dragging tracks across but no luck..is this actually possible? I know I could convert everything to wav and that would work but would like to bring the whole instrument tracks with the midi..etc..so I can make adjustments where necessary.

thanks in advance for any help....Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1443
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: 5 projects into 1?

Postby SteveInChicago » Fri Feb 14, 2014 3:45 pm

This sounds like a job for Track Archives. (Manual P. 696)
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Re: 5 projects into 1?

Postby shadowfax » Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:00 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:This sounds like a job for Track Archives. (Manual P. 696)


thanks, I'll look into it..I did look at the manual but never thought to look for track archiving.......Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1443
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: 5 projects into 1?

Postby SteveInChicago » Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:02 pm

It was not a rtm post... Track Archives are under-recognized for what they do.
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4697
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Re: 5 projects into 1?

Postby haraldsson » Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:12 pm

If you drag the events on a track to a new project, it will create the track in the new project.
Best regards,
Hjörtur Blöndal

Hardware:
Apple - iMac 27" 3.2 GHz Intel Core i5 - 8GB Ram - OSX 10.9.3
HP - Pavilion dv6-3315sp Core i5-480M - 8GB Ram - Windows 7

Steinberg UR44 Audio Interface
PreSonus AudioBox 22VSL Audio Interface

Host:
Steinberg - Cubase 7.5 64 bit
Steinberg - WaveLab 8
Avid - Pro Tools 9
Apple - Final Cut Pro X
haraldsson
Junior Member
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:24 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 5 projects into 1?

Postby shadowfax » Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:19 pm

haraldsson wrote:If you drag the events on a track to a new project, it will create the track in the new project.


Hi, yeah but I want to bring in the instrument that is on the track also, just dragging the event doesn't bring the instrument with it....the advice from steveinchigago worked great so I thank him for the advice and thank you to you for looking in....Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1443
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: 5 projects into 1?

Postby haraldsson » Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:26 pm

If you drag the events and slip them, where there is no track (underneath you tracks - empty space) it will create exact the same track there.
Best regards,
Hjörtur Blöndal

Hardware:
Apple - iMac 27" 3.2 GHz Intel Core i5 - 8GB Ram - OSX 10.9.3
HP - Pavilion dv6-3315sp Core i5-480M - 8GB Ram - Windows 7

Steinberg UR44 Audio Interface
PreSonus AudioBox 22VSL Audio Interface

Host:
Steinberg - Cubase 7.5 64 bit
Steinberg - WaveLab 8
Avid - Pro Tools 9
Apple - Final Cut Pro X
haraldsson
Junior Member
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:24 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 5 projects into 1?

Postby shadowfax » Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:51 pm

haraldsson wrote:If you drag the events and slip them, where there is no track (underneath you tracks - empty space) it will create exact the same track there.



your right it does..but everytime i do it cubase stops working..damn!! such a good piece of advice..but I can't use it for whatever reason... :?
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1443
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 30 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jimmys69 and 8 guests