Elements 7.5 external instruments

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Elements 7.5 external instruments

Postby Wando64 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 9:49 pm

Hi all, it is my understanding that Elements will not allow the use of external instruments, however is it possible to use it to just play an external midi keyboard via midi out (cubase) to midi in (keyboard)?
Thanks.
Wando64
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Elements 7.5 external instruments

Postby Grim » Sat Feb 22, 2014 1:22 am

Yes of course you can do this if you have a midi interface with an output.
If you use the same keyboard as your controller then you'll need to switch "local off" in it's midi settings.

Cubase "External Instruments" is just a feature that I guess is trying to make hardware seem like a part of the software...it does not disallow the use of actual hardware external instruments in any way.
Just means they don't integrate in the same way as with full versions External Instruments set up.
i7 930@2.8, 12Gb, W7HP x64, Cubase 7.5.20 x64, Steinberg UR28M, Alphatrack, Wavelab Elements 7.2.1.
User avatar
Grim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1554
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 114 times

Re: Elements 7.5 external instruments

Postby Wando64 » Sat Feb 22, 2014 1:46 am

Great. Is there any way someone could suggest some resources (or which part of the manual) that deals with this? I have been trying for hours but I just cannot make it happen. I am not sure what I am supposed to be using in the output setting of the track. All that there is to select are the software instruments or no VST instrument. The audio interface and the keyboard should be appropriately set-up as far as I can see from the midi setting.

EDIT: I should also point out that any "how to" I have found so far, points me to the "external instruments" feature which is obviously missing from Elements.
Wando64
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Elements 7.5 external instruments

Postby Grim » Sat Feb 22, 2014 2:17 pm

What is your interface?
i7 930@2.8, 12Gb, W7HP x64, Cubase 7.5.20 x64, Steinberg UR28M, Alphatrack, Wavelab Elements 7.2.1.
User avatar
Grim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1554
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 114 times

Re: Elements 7.5 external instruments

Postby Wando64 » Sat Feb 22, 2014 5:54 pm

The interface is Alesis IO2 and the keyboard is a M-Audio Prokeys 88.
As well as the interface having I/O Midi, the Prokeys can also do Midi over USB.
Neither seem to work.

The IO2 is setup in the Midi device manager as standard GM Voices.
The Midi port for the IO2 shows as Activer in the Port Setup screen.
The Device Driver is the standard Windows Midi.
Still I cannot see the device as an option in the output for the midi track.
Wando64
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Elements 7.5 external instruments

Postby Wando64 » Sat Feb 22, 2014 6:27 pm

I've just discovered my error.
The track I was using is an instrument track (not Midi).
If I create a Midi track from scratch all seems in order.

Thanks for your help, it made me look at things again.
Wando64
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Farhod, greggybud, massforce, paaltio and 15 guests