Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.

Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Keyplayer » Sat Feb 22, 2014 3:42 am

We've got Nuendo & Cubase and all the others. But I THOUGHT there would be a Nuage section by now. I, for one, would like to see more information on how owners are doing with the new platform.
Nuendo 1 - 6.5 | Windows 7 Pro (SP 1) | Intel i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67 Quad Core | 12GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | PNY ? 9500GT 1GB PCIe Dual Head DVI Video Card | Euphonix MC Control | Xkeys | UAD-1 Platinum | Isotope RX | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | Panasonic DA-7 desk | Mackie 824 & Equator D5 monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |
Keyplayer
Member
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby curteye » Sat Feb 22, 2014 11:24 am

Aloha K,

Not only here (and perhaps I missed them/it)
but other than a lil 'talk' @ KVR I could not find any
viable Nuage forums anywhere on the innertoobs.

I even checked the Yamaha site.

Sleepy now. I'll check gearslutz tomorrow.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
breaking in a Mac Pro.

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Keyplayer » Sat Feb 22, 2014 6:18 pm

This is really strange. It's their new FLAG SHIP! We're supposed to aspire to this rigg, right? How is there soooo little discussion about it after all of this time?
Nuendo 1 - 6.5 | Windows 7 Pro (SP 1) | Intel i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67 Quad Core | 12GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | PNY ? 9500GT 1GB PCIe Dual Head DVI Video Card | Euphonix MC Control | Xkeys | UAD-1 Platinum | Isotope RX | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | Panasonic DA-7 desk | Mackie 824 & Equator D5 monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |
Keyplayer
Member
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Bassman » Sat Feb 22, 2014 7:57 pm

Nuage are perfect maybe and the owners don't need any discussion ;o)
Quadcore 3Ghz / 12GB RAM
3 x 250GB HD + 1 x 1 TB HD
2 x UAD-1 / MaXiO XD
Win7 (64Bit) / Nuendo 6 (64Bit) / WLab 7
Bassists come most deeply !
Bassman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Rotund » Sat Feb 22, 2014 9:28 pm

I don't think Steinberg would want all us common folk to interact with the Nuagers.
Think of the possibilities...
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Studio One, Raydat, UAD X 2, UM-3EX, Glyph eSata Audio Drive, 6TB Storage, U-He ACE, Arturia Moog Modular & Jupiter8v, Korg Legacy (MS-20, MonoPoly, Wavestation), Portico 5043/5033.

Outboard:
AKG 414-B XLII (Matched Pair), AKG D 112, Neumann TLM-193, GrooveTubes GT-66, Shure SM-81 (Pair), Sennheiser e604 (3pack), SM-57 (Many), Beta SM-57, AT-3035, Many More, Panasonic DA-7, Event 20/20p, Alesis Monitor One, Philips MMS321 Multimedia Speakers, TLAudio, HHB, JoeMeek, dbx, Moog Model D, Nordlead 2, Korg MS2000, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo, Acoustic Drum Kit, Fender Stratocaster (USA), Ibanez EXSeries Bass, Laney VC-30.
User avatar
Rotund
Member
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby fenderchris » Sun Feb 23, 2014 1:12 am

Maybe there are not enough users to warrant a forum.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

i7 Quad core 2.66 15GB ram, Windows-7 64-bit, Nuendo-5.5.6 64-bit, Wavelab-6, 2x MR816CSX, RME FireFace UFX, SmartAV Tango, MOTU Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Halion-5, Kontakt-5, Roland V-Drums TD-20X
Cubase iC Pro for Android
Omnisphere, Trillian + loads of real instruments.
User avatar
fenderchris
Member
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby curteye » Sun Feb 23, 2014 1:44 am

fenderchris wrote:Maybe there are not enough users to warrant a forum.


+1
Agreed.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
breaking in a Mac Pro.

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby gatoazul » Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:34 am

I'm an Audio Engineering teacher at G Martell College of Music and Audio in Mexico City where we have a NUAGE system and it is AWESOME. We just had a certification exam and if all goes well we will be the first certified training center for NUAGE. We're still waiting for the exam results. :)
gatoazul
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:04 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby johngar » Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:35 am

gatoazul wrote:I'm an Audio Engineering teacher at G Martell College of Music and Audio in Mexico City where we have a NUAGE system and it is AWESOME. We just had a certification exam and if all goes well we will be the first certified training center for NUAGE. We're still waiting for the exam results. :)

That is great, who administered the exam?
It seems like Yamaha/Steinberg missed another marketing opportunity. I would be interested to know more about it.
PC | Nuendo 6.5 64bit | Cubase 7.5 64bit| i7920 | Windows 7 Pro 64bit | 12gb ram | Blackmagic Intensity Pro | NVIDIA GeForce GTX550Ti | RME9632 | Euphonix MC Control -Mix - Transport | Genelec |

MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz i7 | OS X 10.9 | MOTU 828MKII |

elfxi.com
User avatar
johngar
Member
 
Posts: 573
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:46 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Keyplayer » Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:42 am

So would I! Even if there's no formal forum section for Nuage users, they could post info on all of the places where it's being used, session notes highlights, SOMETHING! Since Fredo is the only one here that I know of who purchased one, I'd hoped he would've kept us up to date on how things were going with it in his studio. But, so far, nothing!

Listen up SB, there are a lot of us out here who are really interested in any, every and ALL aspects of what's going on with our platform! Please keep us in the loop!
Nuendo 1 - 6.5 | Windows 7 Pro (SP 1) | Intel i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67 Quad Core | 12GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | PNY ? 9500GT 1GB PCIe Dual Head DVI Video Card | Euphonix MC Control | Xkeys | UAD-1 Platinum | Isotope RX | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | Panasonic DA-7 desk | Mackie 824 & Equator D5 monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |
Keyplayer
Member
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Fredo » Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:30 am

Keyplayer wrote:Since Fredo is the only one here that I know of who purchased one, I'd hoped he would've kept us up to date on how things were going with it in his studio. But, so far, nothing!


Well, things are going like they have been going in the past.
With the only difference that everything has become easier and faster in the Nuage Room.
If there is something you want to know about the Nuage, just ask.

Fredo
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby curteye » Mon Feb 24, 2014 9:25 am

Aloha F,

Just those few words are a major comfort because we are
talking big $$$ here.

Mahalo.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
breaking in a Mac Pro.

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4777
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Helidream » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:09 am

Hi,

i'm actually integrating a control surface in my setup, and i have some problems with the macro engine.

The issue is described in this post :

viewtopic.php?f=194&t=56011

I would be grateful to know if this problem is present as well with the Nuage surface, or if it is limited to the midi remote subsystem. Trying with Eucon as well would be interesting.

Could someone try the macro i described from a Nuage and / or Eucon control surface and report the results ? If the issue is confirmed as well with Nuage and Eucon, then it will indicate that it is a deep problem in the macro engine code, and it will be fixed faster.

Thanks.
Helidream
New Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:19 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Dog and Pony » Mon Feb 24, 2014 8:17 pm

Well, I am wrapping my first film mix on our new Nuage and I agree with Fredo, easier and faster on the Nuage, even compared to the Euphonix MC Pro. Feel free to ask questions, I'll do my best to answer. john.
4 rooms with N5/N6, Nuage, Tango II, Euphonix MC Pro, Euphonix Artist, MacOSX 10.7.5 and many more toys.
Dog and Pony
Junior Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Sugar » Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:31 pm

Dog and Pony wrote:Well, I am wrapping my first film mix on our new Nuage and I agree with Fredo, easier and faster on the Nuage, even compared to the Euphonix MC Pro. Feel free to ask questions, I'll do my best to answer. john.


You mention MC Pro...

I like the dedicated, Nuendo related buttons on Nuage, but I'm concerned about the user assignable section.
I don't see any self-labeling LCD buttons (like on MC PRO), so what helps you remember the assignment?
Physically labeling the master section doesn't seem very elegant.
Sugar
New Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Dog and Pony » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:01 pm

Physically labeling the master section doesn't seem very elegant.


Agreed, especially since you can have more than one assignment on a button. I thought I would miss the self labeling buttons but muscle memory is working just fine, hasn't taken long at all to just know what buttons do what and, if you think about it, how often (after learning them) do you really read button labels? John.
4 rooms with N5/N6, Nuage, Tango II, Euphonix MC Pro, Euphonix Artist, MacOSX 10.7.5 and many more toys.
Dog and Pony
Junior Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Sugar » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:50 pm

It depends, I found myself not using the programmable buttons on MCTransport until I labeled them with a DYMO tape. Then it became effortless.
Sugar
New Member
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Helidream » Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:27 am

OLED Pushbuttons would be better than Dymo tape at this price level. Yamaha, Perhaps for Nuage mkII ?

And another option from the Nuage master manual :

The labels from the square buttons can easily be
replaced. These replacements can be made by cutting a
transparent or semi-transparent sheet into 10 x 10 mm
pieces. To install, simply remove the button’s cap, swap
out the current label, and replace the cap.


Not as easy as sending a new icon to an OLED pushbutton, but can do the job.
Last edited by Helidream on Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:39 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Helidream
New Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:19 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Keyplayer » Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:58 am

I'm finally finding some actually informative videos on Nuage online. It looks like they swiped a LOT of Tango's features (the retractable keyboard, the swipe function, etc.). Interesting!
Nuendo 1 - 6.5 | Windows 7 Pro (SP 1) | Intel i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67 Quad Core | 12GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | PNY ? 9500GT 1GB PCIe Dual Head DVI Video Card | Euphonix MC Control | Xkeys | UAD-1 Platinum | Isotope RX | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | Panasonic DA-7 desk | Mackie 824 & Equator D5 monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |
Keyplayer
Member
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Keyplayer » Tue Feb 25, 2014 1:01 am

Dog and Pony wrote:Well, I am wrapping my first film mix on our new Nuage and I agree with Fredo, easier and faster on the Nuage, even compared to the Euphonix MC Pro. Feel free to ask questions, I'll do my best to answer. john.

Would you post some pics of your new setup?
Nuendo 1 - 6.5 | Windows 7 Pro (SP 1) | Intel i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67 Quad Core | 12GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | PNY ? 9500GT 1GB PCIe Dual Head DVI Video Card | Euphonix MC Control | Xkeys | UAD-1 Platinum | Isotope RX | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | Panasonic DA-7 desk | Mackie 824 & Equator D5 monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |
Keyplayer
Member
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Fredo » Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:19 am

Hi John,

Welcome to the club!

Fredo
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Keyplayer » Tue Feb 25, 2014 7:12 pm

Fredo wrote:
Keyplayer wrote:Since Fredo is the only one here that I know of who purchased one, I'd hoped he would've kept us up to date on how things were going with it in his studio. But, so far, nothing!


Well, things are going like they have been going in the past.
With the only difference that everything has become easier and faster in the Nuage Room.
If there is something you want to know about the Nuage, just ask.

Fredo


Did you get Nuage I/O modules as well? If you use their I/O, does that make recording latency free, like using a desk?
Nuendo 1 - 6.5 | Windows 7 Pro (SP 1) | Intel i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67 Quad Core | 12GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | PNY ? 9500GT 1GB PCIe Dual Head DVI Video Card | Euphonix MC Control | Xkeys | UAD-1 Platinum | Isotope RX | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | Panasonic DA-7 desk | Mackie 824 & Equator D5 monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |
Keyplayer
Member
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Dog and Pony » Tue Feb 25, 2014 9:13 pm

Would you post some pics of your new setup?


Sure, just give me a few days, busy week here. john.
4 rooms with N5/N6, Nuage, Tango II, Euphonix MC Pro, Euphonix Artist, MacOSX 10.7.5 and many more toys.
Dog and Pony
Junior Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Fredo » Wed Feb 26, 2014 8:49 am

Keyplayer wrote:Did you get Nuage I/O modules as well? If you use their I/O, does that make recording latency free, like using a desk?


No, we didn't get the I/O's because we are Madi all over the place and I didn't feel like changing everything to Dante. Or have a conversion box inbetween. But basically, it doesn't make a difference. Both are using ASIO Direct Monitoring, which works perfect. The Nuage hardware has some extra features like build-in Bass management and calibration tools, but nothing I can't live without.

Fredo
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1344
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Why isn't there a Nuage Section?

Postby Dog and Pony » Wed Feb 26, 2014 5:51 pm

Did you get Nuage I/O modules as well? If you use their I/O, does that make recording latency free, like using a desk?


I did purchase the Nuage 16A/D but haven't had the chance to install yet, currently running my RME Multiface as the I/O. john.
4 rooms with N5/N6, Nuage, Tango II, Euphonix MC Pro, Euphonix Artist, MacOSX 10.7.5 and many more toys.
Dog and Pony
Junior Member
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests