Key Command for track volume??

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Key Command for track volume??

Postby kendallob » Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:30 pm

Hi all,

Is there a key command default or assignable for track volume?? Not overall master volume..

Besides assigning a midi control..

Manual/ google/forums searches have yielded nothing.

Thanks for any advice or help you can give!!
Cubase 7.5 (64bit)
OSX 10.8
2.7 GHz intel Core i5
16 GB ram
User avatar
kendallob
Junior Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:31 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Key Command for track volume??

Postby Rotund » Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:34 pm

(Alt + up/down arrows)
Though it doesn't work unless you have the focus set to the little
db read out at the bottom of the fader. (Directly under the fader)

So yes, it does have a key command but you have to click first to set the focus.
Or try and tab your way around to it.
Kind of defeats the purpose of having a short cut in the first place.

If the channel is selected it should just work.
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Studio One, Raydat, UAD X 2, UM-3EX, Glyph eSata Audio Drive, 6TB Storage, U-He ACE, Arturia Moog Modular & Jupiter8v, Korg Legacy (MS-20, MonoPoly, Wavestation), Portico 5043/5033.

Outboard:
AKG 414-B XLII (Matched Pair), AKG D 112, Neumann TLM-193, GrooveTubes GT-66, Shure SM-81 (Pair), Sennheiser e604 (3pack), SM-57 (Many), Beta SM-57, AT-3035, Many More, Panasonic DA-7, Event 20/20p, Alesis Monitor One, Philips MMS321 Multimedia Speakers, TLAudio, HHB, JoeMeek, dbx, Moog Model D, Nordlead 2, Korg MS2000, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo, Acoustic Drum Kit, Fender Stratocaster (USA), Ibanez EXSeries Bass, Laney VC-30.
User avatar
Rotund
Member
 
Posts: 453
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Key Command for track volume??

Postby kendallob » Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:46 pm

Thank you!

Yes you are right.. i would unfortunately have to select the db volume of the track first for this to work.

If simply the track is selected then alt+arrow up/down only adjusts the track height.

Definitely defeats the purpose :(

If event is selected(and by preferences, track of event is highlighted) it'd be nice if i could simply key command a volume.. or even better: im trying to assign a power mate knob controller to default all track volumes in projects.

I suppose midi controller sliders for volume are the only way to go with this...
Cubase 7.5 (64bit)
OSX 10.8
2.7 GHz intel Core i5
16 GB ram
User avatar
kendallob
Junior Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:31 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Key Command for track volume??

Postby curteye » Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:13 am

Aloha guys,

AFAIK it has been since C7 when behavior changed.

I use Cubase live on weekends and the old behavior of using one arrow key
was great for quickly adjusting fader levels while on stage.

Since C7 I now I have to:
1-Make sure the mixer is in focus.
2-Make sure the db volume or fader of the track is selected.
3-Hold down shift/command and which ever arrow key for up/down.

In Steiny's defense;
I really cannot complain because Cubase was not designed for the
way I use it in a live situation but it sure used to be easier to do so.

In fact this was one of the reasons I could use Cubase on stage in the 1st place.

Oh well maybe it will change back. Never say never.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5148
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 196 times

Re: Key Command for track volume??

Postby kendallob » Thu Feb 27, 2014 11:14 pm

curteye wrote:Aloha guys,

AFAIK it has been since C7 when behavior changed.

I use Cubase live on weekends and the old behavior of using one arrow key
was great for quickly adjusting fader levels while on stage.

Since C7 I now I have to:
1-Make sure the mixer is in focus.
2-Make sure the db volume or fader of the track is selected.
3-Hold down shift/command and which ever arrow key for up/down.

In Steiny's defense;
I really cannot complain because Cubase was not designed for the
way I use it in a live situation but it sure used to be easier to do so.

In fact this was one of the reasons I could use Cubase on stage in the 1st place.

Oh well maybe it will change back. Never say never.
{'-'}


Hopefully we'll see a simple key command or shortcut to track volume adjustments on the fly in a coming update!

or maybe C8 :) ..
Cubase 7.5 (64bit)
OSX 10.8
2.7 GHz intel Core i5
16 GB ram
User avatar
kendallob
Junior Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:31 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 1 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Limit54, williedavid and 5 guests