Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Read only! All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 can be found here.

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby luiza177 » Fri Feb 28, 2014 5:27 am

+1 for sure. At least make it an option.
luiza177
Junior Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:43 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby necromorbus » Fri Feb 28, 2014 7:18 am

+1 to an option
necromorbus
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:29 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby BriHar » Fri Feb 28, 2014 2:43 pm

+1 to an Option.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2171
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby Cut-a-Corner » Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:40 pm

claesbjo wrote:+1 and why even have group and fx channels? Why not just use a generic bus/aux system. Can´t see any real benefit with the current system, its kind of backwards.

automation inside the project window.
- My DAW and Outboard :
... This ... And ... That ...
User avatar
Cut-a-Corner
Junior Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Ruhrgebiet (Germany)
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby claesbjo » Sun Mar 02, 2014 6:33 pm

Cut-a-Corner wrote:
claesbjo wrote:+1 and why even have group and fx channels? Why not just use a generic bus/aux system. Can´t see any real benefit with the current system, its kind of backwards.

automation inside the project window.


Absolutely, but if you look at Logic, it has got a general purpose aux/bus system where you can show the auxes as tracks(that you can automate) in the project window. Basically the same thing so maybe it does´t matter really.
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. OSX Mavericks. Cubase 7.5.2, Logic PRO 10.0.6
claesbjo
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby Cut-a-Corner » Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:20 pm

claesbjo, to change cubase into that "state" of logic:
project visability options and just
turn group channels off.

i personally don't see why the drag and drop option is a problem.
it is a "one click" solution.
if you create an option (insert after selected track)
you have to click on that track before,
at least have the correct track selected.
- My DAW and Outboard :
... This ... And ... That ...
User avatar
Cut-a-Corner
Junior Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Ruhrgebiet (Germany)
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby JMCecil » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:25 am

Cut-a-Corner wrote:it is a "one click" solution.

Nope it is several click solution to open the folder and drag to the desired location. Then do it for the next one and the next and the next.
if you create an option (insert after selected track)
you have to click on that track before,
at least have the correct track selected.

again, incorrect. I am usually already on the track for which I wish to add something below. I actually can't think of any other rational location for an inserted track. Also, have you noticed how arbitrary even adding a regular track is? In large projects it can be like finding a needle in a haystack. The current methodology makes no sense in any workflow.
HOVER HATERS UNITE -- DOWN WITH HOVER
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4004
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 186 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby Cut-a-Corner » Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:20 am

JMCecil wrote:
Cut-a-Corner wrote:it is a "one click" solution.

Nope it is several click solution to open the folder and drag to the desired location. Then do it for the next one and the next and the next.
if you create an option (insert after selected track)
you have to click on that track before,
at least have the correct track selected.

again, incorrect. I am usually already on the track for which I wish to add something below. I actually can't think of any other rational location for an inserted track. Also, have you noticed how arbitrary even adding a regular track is? In large projects it can be like finding a needle in a haystack. The current methodology makes no sense in any workflow.

i just leave the group folder open and at the bottom of the project.
then it is one click drag and drop.
yeah that isn't a modern solution.
perhaps i am just used to it.
man is a creature of habit.

yes, i noticed that cubase sometimes adds a new track at a random place in large projects.
It seems to me as if this occurs most of the time when i playback while adding a new track.
that really blocks every workflow.
- My DAW and Outboard :
... This ... And ... That ...
User avatar
Cut-a-Corner
Junior Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Ruhrgebiet (Germany)
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby mpayne0 » Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:29 pm

Has anyone else ever noticed that sometimes you're working really fast and somehow "lose" one of your tracks, look around and lo behold, it's inside a group folder below?

It has happened on several occasion, I wonder if I have some muscle movement that has me unknowingly taking the steps to move the track...
mpayne0
Member
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby snook » Thu Mar 06, 2014 8:52 pm

+1 this idea. Often the reason I add a bus/group track is so I can layer particular tracks in a project and effect them the same way, it's really annoying having to find where it's added the bus to locate the channel and then have to relocate the tracks you want to use it with.. and then having to drag it to it's desired spot...

A simple solution - there could just be an added function on each individual track... like right mouse click and it gives you the option to create a new bus which the track will automatically be routed to, and then place the bus channel underneath.. doing this you could keep the current standard way but give the user more flexibility by having an extra option.
Setup - Cubase 7.5.3, Mavericks OSX 10.9.5, Macbook pro retina..
snook
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby necromorbus » Fri Mar 07, 2014 6:41 am

snook wrote:A simple solution - there could just be an added function on each individual track... like right mouse click and it gives you the option to create a new bus which the track will automatically be routed to, and then place the bus channel underneath.. doing this you could keep the current standard way but give the user more flexibility by having an extra option.


That would be really, really good. It was great when they added the feature to put selected tracks in a folder. Rightclick->"Send selected tracks to new bus" would be brilliant.
necromorbus
New Member
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:29 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby Cut-a-Corner » Mon Mar 10, 2014 1:45 pm

i personally would prefer this option inside the window
that pops up when you create a new track.
it remembers your last decision.

then if you use a midi controller, you can simply add a track / group / folder in that way you decided last time.

BTW: if you create a folder, after you selected some tracks, it would be VERY nice to include the tracks inside.
- My DAW and Outboard :
... This ... And ... That ...
User avatar
Cut-a-Corner
Junior Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Ruhrgebiet (Germany)
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby GargoyleStudio » Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:24 pm

+1 please
[Win7x64, Cb7.5.30]
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby bendish » Wed Nov 19, 2014 11:27 am

any more knowledge on this issue?
bendish
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:29 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby NoMad92 » Wed Nov 19, 2014 1:44 pm

+1
Win7 sp1 x32, 4gb, i5-2550
Cubase 7.5/pro 8, M-Audio audiophile 2496, Novation nocturn, Korg padKontrol, Korg nanoKontrol
User avatar
NoMad92
Junior Member
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:56 am
Location: Paris FR
Has thanked: 59 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby dmbaer » Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:18 pm

+1 - this should have been an option from day 1.
David Baer

Hardware: Intel I7 4-core hyper-threaded; 8M RAM; Dual hard drives; Roland Quad Capture
OS: Win 7 64-bit
DAW: Cubase 7.5 64-bit (and SONAR X2 64-bit)
Synths and effects: More than I care to contemplate, but only the 64-bit stuff ever gets used
dmbaer
New Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby ErikG » Sat Nov 22, 2014 6:06 pm

Many users use programs in different ways.
I NEVER want to have my groups next to my source tracks, and always bundled together with all the other groups. So,for,me the current workflow is the best one.
I wouldn't mind a pref to be able to make you guys to choose, but changing would make things worse in my book.
Europa Sound
6xNuendo, 7xPT, scandinavias largest Nuendo owner?
Nuendo 5 on OSX 10.6.4
ErikG
Junior Member
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby estrica2000 » Sat Nov 22, 2014 6:18 pm

+1 (at least add an option)
estrica2000
Junior Member
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby beerbong » Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:46 pm

I don't want my groups or effects going either to the bottom of the track lists non in folders.

+1
BB
beerbong
Member
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby fantasiom » Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:55 pm

+1. many of the other track types appear right below your selection. when you have a template with 1000 tracks it is quite time consuming moving group tracks around.
fantasiom
Junior Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:03 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby kotsias83 » Sun Nov 23, 2014 1:12 am

+ 1
Ioannis Andriotis

MacBookPro 13'' 2011 Model - OS 10.9
Cubase 7.5 / ProTools 11/ MaxMSP 6/ Reaper 4/ UA Apollo Twin Duo
kotsias83
New Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:19 am
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby GargoyleStudio » Sun Nov 23, 2014 12:31 pm

I've have a procedure that might help in the mean time... This is what I do to bring the Group track to its source tracks.

The key to this is that if you select multiple tracks that aren't next to each other in the project window and move them then they get put together. You can use this to quickly spring a group track from the end of the mixer to exactly where you want it.

a) Create a new group track (however you like to do that)
b) In the Project Window, select the track you want the group track to be next to
c) Using the Visibility panel on the Project Window, scroll down to the bottom and add the new group channel to your selection (Ctrl-Click)
e) In the Project Window, grab the first selected track and move it up one track, you will see that the group track has joined it!
f) Move the tracks back to where you want them (usually just drag back down one track)

But obviously I'd much prefer a preference to make Cubase do this for me automatically.

Mike.
[Win7x64, Cb7.5.30]
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1248
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby Jalcide » Mon Nov 24, 2014 7:48 pm

+1 for the option.

for some of us, this would be a massive workflow improvement.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

Rack-mounted DAW1 (Main): Cubase Pro 8.0.0 64-bit, Win 7 64-bit, i7-4770K @ 4.0GHz OC, Stock Cooling, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX Motherboard, 16 Gigs DDR3, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe card (UGT-FW200), Two 30" ACDs

Rack-mounted DAW2 (Real-time Mastering Chain connected to DAW1 via ADAT Optical): Reaper 64-bit, Win 7 64-bit, i5-4670K @ 4.0GHz, 16 Gigs DDR3, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, One 20" ACD
User avatar
Jalcide
Member
 
Posts: 408
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby TheNavigator » Mon Nov 24, 2014 8:08 pm

+1

This is one of the worst "functions" of Cubase. :-D
Chris, The Navigator... Keyboards, songwriting, CTO and aspiring coproducer for Visions of Atlantis.

PC watercooling and overclocking afficionado.

Main device: Cubase 8.0 64 bit on Windows 8.1 (4930k @ 4.1 GHz, 32 GB of RAM, 3 SSDs), Halion 5, Padshop Pro, RME Hammerfall DSP + Multiface, Avid Artist Control V2, Roland A88, AKG K701 headphones, lots of other nice stuff
Mobile cutlery: iPad Air Retina, Cubasis (always the latest version), Audio Bus 2, Focusrite iTrack Dock, one or the other cheap USB MIDI keyboards

Favorite synthesizers: u-he DIVA, Padshop Pro, Halion 5

"Storms can't kill the faith in rainbows"
User avatar
TheNavigator
Member
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 6:39 pm
Location: Vienna, European Union
Has thanked: 113 times
Been thanked: 72 times

Re: Stop putting FX and Group channels into folders

Postby dmbaer » Tue Nov 25, 2014 12:17 am

+1
David Baer

Hardware: Intel I7 4-core hyper-threaded; 8M RAM; Dual hard drives; Roland Quad Capture
OS: Win 7 64-bit
DAW: Cubase 7.5 64-bit (and SONAR X2 64-bit)
Synths and effects: More than I care to contemplate, but only the 64-bit stuff ever gets used
dmbaer
New Member
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Previous

Return to Feature Requests and Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest