Screwed up chord track

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Screwed up chord track

Postby shadowfax » Wed Mar 05, 2014 6:52 pm

Hi, can anyone tell me why when i have the chord D on the chord track and all tracks are set to follow chord track I have one track at D and another track at F#m7..why isn't it doin what it's supposed to do?

help much appreciated..thank you, Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby SteveInChicago » Wed Mar 05, 2014 7:11 pm

Probably has to do with the Chord settings on "another track". What are they?
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4710
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby shadowfax » Thu Mar 06, 2014 9:06 am

Hi and thanks for responding...all the other midi tracks are set the same "follow chords" can't think think of anything else I should do, it's really weird, all other tracks are at D at this one will not budge from F#m7, I've used the chord track a few times and it's a powerful tool but now I'm spending more time trying to figure out whats wrong and negating the advantage of the tool....in another area I have Em7 while all the other tracks are at C..I suppose I'm doing something stupid but the chord track is supposed to force the midi to it's will ...is it not?

cheers, Kevin
Last edited by shadowfax on Thu Mar 06, 2014 9:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby SteveInChicago » Thu Mar 06, 2014 9:08 am

If you want to zip the cpr and post it I can have a look.
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4710
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby shadowfax » Thu Mar 06, 2014 9:36 am

Well now your losing me...what"s a cpr and dunno how to zip my trousers never mind a cpr...
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby vanhaze3000 » Thu Mar 06, 2014 9:50 pm

He just means your Cubase Project Folder, where your Cubase project file (.cpr file) lives in.
To "zip" a file is to compress it, so it shrinks in size and better protected against file coruption when transferring the file.

I am a Mac user but i think in Windows, if you ctrl-mouseclick on your Cubase Project Folder, you get a context menu where there is a compress (zip) function.

Hope this Helps !

Robbie
Hackintosh I7 3.5 Ghz 32 Gig RAM * OSX 10.9.2 * Cubase 7.5.1 (64bit) * Maschine Studio * Novation Impulse * Lots of legal plugins.
vanhaze3000
Junior Member
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby shadowfax » Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:59 am

thanks for that Robbie...I'm a bit stupid with computers...Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby shadowfax » Fri Mar 07, 2014 10:14 am

SteveInChicago wrote:If you want to zip the cpr and post it I can have a look.


Been trying to do it but I'm told the file is too big...it's just over 2MB and apparently 2MB is the limit..so looks like I've had it..thanks anyway.......Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby vic_france » Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:21 pm

shadowfax wrote:
Been trying to do it but I'm told the file is too big...it's just over 2MB and apparently 2MB is the limit..so looks like I've had it..thanks anyway.......Kevin

Surely, you can save an edited version, maybe without audio tracks, and the VST instruments unloaded, for example?
Anyways, I'm pretty sure that Steve was asking you if any of the MIDI tracks were using Follow Chord Track in the mode "Scales" (or at least, something other than the option "Chords")
Mac Pro Quad-Core 2.66 gHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV l Mac OS X 10.8.5 l Mac OS X 10.6.8 | Cubase 7.5.20| Cubase 7.0.7| Cubase 6.5.5 | Cubase 5.5.3
User avatar
vic_france
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2269
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 114 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby shadowfax » Fri Mar 07, 2014 4:07 pm

vic_france wrote:
shadowfax wrote:
Been trying to do it but I'm told the file is too big...it's just over 2MB and apparently 2MB is the limit..so looks like I've had it..thanks anyway.......Kevin

Surely, you can save an edited version, maybe without audio tracks, and the VST instruments unloaded, for example?
Anyways, I'm pretty sure that Steve was asking you if any of the MIDI tracks were using Follow Chord Track in the mode "Scales" (or at least, something other than the option "Chords")



Hi, I did get rid of audio tracks and stuff..didn't realize I can get rid of vst's also, all the midi tracks in question are in follow chords mode..I'll have another go at zipping it without vst's...I just use Cubase as a big tape recorder, I'm not up with all the stuff that is possible (unfortunately) should study it I know but my eye's just glaze over !!..I thank you guy's for taking the time to help...Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby shadowfax » Fri Mar 07, 2014 4:44 pm

Hi, so I think (hope) I've done this correctly..the zip/rar is done..I think Steve has got fed up and left this thread ( can't really blame him) so If anyone takes a look a "for instance" is on bar 12..all tracks are on a D chord but one of em is on F#m7..would love to know what I'm doing wrong because that surely is the reason for this problem...me!!!

thanks ...Kevin
Attachments
Night love day classical ver.rar
(173.95 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby SteveInChicago » Fri Mar 07, 2014 5:28 pm

I'm still lurking...

All the tracks have 'Chords' mode active.

While there's no actual 4 note F#m7 chord, but there is an E, F# and A on the cello track. When I switched the chord mode off and back on again, using "syncronize... first" the notes were transposed to only include notes from a D maj chord.

So that's the fix. Since it's possible to edit notes in this mode they can get out of sync with the chord track. Doubtlessly, there are other workarounds as well.

Would have been nice for you to have actually said which track of the seven your question was about, instead of "one of em" but I managed to find it just the same. Maybe next time. ;)
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4710
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby shadowfax » Fri Mar 07, 2014 5:50 pm

I apologize profusely for not giving you the full info and I thank you profoundly for getting me through this...to me it was a huge problem and I would have ended up dumping the chord track but it is after all a very powerful tool..

thank you again steve and thanks to all who took time to help.......Kevin
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby SteveInChicago » Fri Mar 07, 2014 5:57 pm

Best of luck to you,
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4710
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 285 times

Re: Screwed up chord track

Postby shadowfax » Fri Mar 07, 2014 6:29 pm

Well...It's still screwing with me..on a C chord it's giving me a D note..no matter what I do...go figure....gonna have to not use the chord track on this project, this has put a large dent in my chord track future..it's giving me more problems than it solves...
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1444
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests