All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube vid)

Post general topics related to Cubase 7, Cubase Artist 7 and Cubase Elements 7 here.

All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube vid)

Postby Kaan » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:46 am

Hi,

I have a basic problem.
I couldn't find this in manual, youtube or forum etc...

My problem is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJvj2YiRlcc

Thank you :)
User avatar
Kaan
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:06 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby droutloaf » Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:10 pm

The last 2 slots are post fader
Cubase 6.5, Cubase 7, Pro Tools 9, RME Fireface 800, Fireface UCX, A-Designs MP2A, Lavry AD10, Audient ASP008, Peavey 6505+, Mesa Boogie Mark V, Boogie Cabinet, Bogner Cabinet
droutloaf
Member
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:46 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:23 pm

Kaan wrote:Hi,

I have a basic problem.
I couldn't find this in manual, youtube or forum etc...

My problem is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJvj2YiRlcc

Thank you :)


if you want a pre-1st-insert gain, use the 'pre' section. if you need gain staging between the inserts, use a free gain plugin, like https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8yxNM7g ... redirect=1
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.2, c6
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com
lukasbrooklyn
Member
 
Posts: 906
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 95 times

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby Kaan » Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:57 pm

droutloaf wrote:The last 2 slots are post fader


Thank you for answer. :) But I need to other slots. Can't we change from any settings?
User avatar
Kaan
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:06 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby Kaan » Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:02 pm

lukasbrooklyn wrote:
Kaan wrote:Hi,

I have a basic problem.
I couldn't find this in manual, youtube or forum etc...

My problem is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJvj2YiRlcc

Thank you :)


if you want a pre-1st-insert gain, use the 'pre' section. if you need gain staging between the inserts, use a free gain plugin, like https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8yxNM7g ... redirect=1


Thank you my friend. I will try this. Then, we can't change any slots (post or pre) from any settings. Is it true?
User avatar
Kaan
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:06 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby Buchanan » Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:04 pm

Why? Been that way for decades so there must be a good reason. What are you doing wrong? :mrgreen:
Everyone wants perfect software. But nobody's perfect.
Buchanan
Member
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 10:15 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby Dastern » Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:11 pm

Just route your track into a new group. You have 256 of them! Don´t hesitate to use some of them... :-D

Very best regards and good luck!
Dastern
Junior Member
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:09 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby Kaan » Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:23 pm

Buchanan wrote:Why? Been that way for decades so there must be a good reason. What are you doing wrong? :mrgreen:


Dastern wrote:Just route your track into a new group. You have 256 of them! Don´t hesitate to use some of them... :-D

Very best regards and good luck!


Buchanan,

This is big mixing secret. I can't tell you he he :D

it's a joke :lol: I need to second or 3. etc slot for compressor. EQ cut, Compressor, EQ boost, reverb, limiter. This is OK. But, some channel did not fit :)

Dastern,

Today, you are my hero :D Thank you very much my friend :) It is working :)) But doesn't make sense. Why can't we make this? Maybe, I don't want to open group track. 100 track and for each track 1 group channel. = 200 :) (extreme example) Whatever...

Thank you for your help guys (good guys :p )
See you later. :)
User avatar
Kaan
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:06 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:33 pm

Kaan wrote:
Buchanan wrote:Why? Been that way for decades so there must be a good reason. What are you doing wrong? :mrgreen:


Dastern wrote:Just route your track into a new group. You have 256 of them! Don´t hesitate to use some of them... :-D

Very best regards and good luck!


Buchanan,

This is big mixing secret. I can't tell you he he :D

it's a joke :lol: I need to second or 3. etc slot for compressor. EQ cut, Compressor, EQ boost, reverb, limiter. This is OK. But, some channel did not fit :)

Dastern,

Today, you are my hero :D Thank you very much my friend :) It is working :)) But doesn't make sense. Why can't we make this? Maybe, I don't want to open group track. 100 track and for each track 1 group channel. = 200 :) (extreme example) Whatever...

Thank you for your help guys (good guys :p )
See you later. :)


the gain plugins are quite useful for this (like i mentioned, the sonalksis is excellent, has precise peak/rms metering, too). the ensuing issue however is, that soon you run out of insert slots, so you may end up with a group channel anyway.

i have to hope SB implements 'unlimited' # of inserts in the next cubendo iteration.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.2, c6
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com
lukasbrooklyn
Member
 
Posts: 906
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 95 times

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby sonicstate » Wed Mar 12, 2014 9:47 pm

Obviously you are using too many inserts. Steinberg did careful analysis of mixing process, and figured that 6 pre inserts is more than enough for any pro work, no way one could ever need more than 6. If you need more than 6 pre inserts, you are obviously doing something wrong. :)
Cubase Pro 8, Win 7 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...
User avatar
sonicstate
Member
 
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby Grim » Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:52 pm

If you need more than 6 pre inserts, you are obviously doing something wrong.


He doesn't need more than 6 pre inserts....he wants more than 2 post fade inserts.
i7 930@2.8, 12Gb, W7HP x64, Cubase 7.5.30 x64, Audient iD22, Alphatrack, Wavelab Elements 7.2.1.
User avatar
Grim
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1634
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby jaslan » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:33 pm

So use an FX channel... Or a Group channel...
Someone already said it I think...
J.L.
Core-i7 2820QM, 16GB RAM. Cubase 8 and Cubase 6.5.5 x64 on Windows 7. Scarlett 2i2. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Komplete 8. HALion 5. Jamstix 3.6. HSO VST Sound Set. Absolute VST+. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud
User avatar
jaslan
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2289
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Has thanked: 68 times
Been thanked: 128 times

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby Weasel » Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:13 am

Would this work?
Click Me
QuadCore 2.66 Nehalem w/16gbRAM - OSX 10.6.8 /10.10.1- C8.0.0/C7.5.3 - MOTU 424e/2804MkIII - PODxt - 2-MIDI Express 128's --- DualCore 2.8 iMac w/4gbRAM OSX 10.10.1 - C8.0.0/C7.5.3 - MOTU/ULmk3 --- D8B/V5.1 - GenX192

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....
User avatar
Weasel
Member
 
Posts: 508
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: All insert slots should be post fader (there is youtube

Postby Kaan » Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:46 am

lukasbrooklyn wrote:
Kaan wrote:
Buchanan wrote:Why? Been that way for decades so there must be a good reason. What are you doing wrong? :mrgreen:


Dastern wrote:Just route your track into a new group. You have 256 of them! Don´t hesitate to use some of them... :-D

Very best regards and good luck!


Buchanan,

This is big mixing secret. I can't tell you he he :D

it's a joke :lol: I need to second or 3. etc slot for compressor. EQ cut, Compressor, EQ boost, reverb, limiter. This is OK. But, some channel did not fit :)

Dastern,

Today, you are my hero :D Thank you very much my friend :) It is working :)) But doesn't make sense. Why can't we make this? Maybe, I don't want to open group track. 100 track and for each track 1 group channel. = 200 :) (extreme example) Whatever...

Thank you for your help guys (good guys :p )
See you later. :)


the gain plugins are quite useful for this (like i mentioned, the sonalksis is excellent, has precise peak/rms metering, too). the ensuing issue however is, that soon you run out of insert slots, so you may end up with a group channel anyway.

i have to hope SB implements 'unlimited' # of inserts in the next cubendo iteration.


I downloaded my friend. I try it. Thank you for everything :)
User avatar
Kaan
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:06 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron