Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby Trailerman » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:01 pm

Hi

New user here - just in the process of migrating across from Logic.

Can anybody advise if there's an easy way to rename multiple channels in the mixer? For example, if I create 100 channels which I need to handle synths from Vienna Ensemble Pro, can I somehow rename them 'Synth 1' to 100 without having to name them all individually?

Thanks for any help.

Jules
Trailerman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby mozizo » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:54 pm

use the Project Logical Editor for this..
its in menu-> edit open the project logical editor..
inside the PLE go to presets-> naming folder and choose "rename and renumber audio tracks" preset

now change the code there to your needs.. and its ready to execute..
cubase 7.5.20 64bit ,halion 5
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win7 64bit 8gb
(PC Desktop AMD dual core win xp32 cubase 7-32)
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6 Kawai Mp4 Korg PA800.
cubasis,cubase ic pro
User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby Trailerman » Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:11 pm

Many thanks - sounds like exactly what I need. Will give it a look when I'm back in ther studio tomorrow.

Thanks again.

Jules
Windows 7 64bit
2xIntel Xeon E5 3.4GHz
128GB Ram
Cubase 7.5.2
Motu PCIe-424
Trailerman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby Trailerman » Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:18 pm

Mozizo - I'm not finding the preset you mention, just a bunch of presets relating to visibility.

Can you perhaps tell me where I woudl find presets relating to track renaming? Can you also confirm that this will work with mixer output channels in the mix console, as well as with tracks in the Project window?

Thansk again for your help.

Jules
Windows 7 64bit
2xIntel Xeon E5 3.4GHz
128GB Ram
Cubase 7.5.2
Motu PCIe-424
Trailerman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby Steve Helstrip » Thu Mar 20, 2014 9:16 pm

Blimey, when did Cubase get a Project Logical Editor? I've been using Logical Editor for years, but this one totally escaped me!

Thanks
Mac Pro i7, 12Gb, OSX10.9 MacBook Pro i7, 4Gb, OSX10.9
Cubase 7.5.20
Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial
User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby claesbjo » Thu Mar 20, 2014 10:52 pm

Steve Helstrip wrote:Blimey, when did Cubase get a Project Logical Editor? I've been using Logical Editor for years, but this one totally escaped me!

Thanks


It´s the best thing since sliced bread, especially for the visibility stuff that really help you show and hide stuff very freely.

I only have the visibility presets as well though..Would love to have the missing naming presets and others

cheers
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. OSX Mavericks. Cubase 7.5.2, Logic PRO 10.0.6
claesbjo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby greggybud » Fri Mar 21, 2014 3:46 am

Trailerman wrote:Mozizo - I'm not finding the preset you mention, just a bunch of presets relating to visibility.

Can you perhaps tell me where I woudl find presets relating to track renaming? Can you also confirm that this will work with mixer output channels in the mix console, as well as with tracks in the Project window?

Thansk again for your help.

Jules


Me too.

I'm not seeing presets relating to track renaming. I would be interested in this function too.
Windows 7 x64, Wavelab 8, Cubase 7.5 x64, i7, 16g, SSD, 4 monitors, iCon QconPro, 4 TB HD, UAD-2, NI, Waves Mercury, and way too many synthesizers.
User avatar
greggybud
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby Trailerman » Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:49 am

From what I can make out, the renaming function works for tracks in the project window, but not ouput channels in the Mixer. That said, I'm totally new to Cubase so I could be missing something.

If anyone finds out how to rename multiple mixer channels in one hit, I'd still be hugely grateful as I have a 1000 track template to try and rebuild.

Jules
Windows 7 64bit
2xIntel Xeon E5 3.4GHz
128GB Ram
Cubase 7.5.2
Motu PCIe-424
Trailerman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby greggybud » Sat Mar 22, 2014 5:14 am

I'm just wondering if there is an answer to the topic of this thread?

Mozizo suggested the project logical editor. Maybe I should look it up in the pdf but I can't find presets relating to track re-naming.
Windows 7 x64, Wavelab 8, Cubase 7.5 x64, i7, 16g, SSD, 4 monitors, iCon QconPro, 4 TB HD, UAD-2, NI, Waves Mercury, and way too many synthesizers.
User avatar
greggybud
Member
 
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby mozizo » Sat Mar 22, 2014 11:11 pm

look at this topic.. i think it should help with PLE presets too !

viewtopic.php?f=185&t=30941&p=203334&hilit=presets#p203334
cubase 7.5.20 64bit ,halion 5
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win7 64bit 8gb
(PC Desktop AMD dual core win xp32 cubase 7-32)
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6 Kawai Mp4 Korg PA800.
cubasis,cubase ic pro
User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby mozizo » Sat Mar 22, 2014 11:25 pm

Trailerman wrote:Mozizo - I'm not finding the preset you mention, just a bunch of presets relating to visibility.

Can you perhaps tell me where I woudl find presets relating to track renaming? Can you also confirm that this will work with mixer output channels in the mix console, as well as with tracks in the Project window?

Thansk again for your help.

Jules


im not sure if its possible to rename outputs with PLE.. didn't see a way to do it there.
maybe steveinchicago knows !! he is kind of cubase guru :!: :)
cubase 7.5.20 64bit ,halion 5
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win7 64bit 8gb
(PC Desktop AMD dual core win xp32 cubase 7-32)
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6 Kawai Mp4 Korg PA800.
cubasis,cubase ic pro
User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby SteveInChicago » Sat Mar 22, 2014 11:44 pm

My ears were burning. :lol: The trick about this is that Instrument returns are automation channels.
Image
note Boolean 'And'
the line with 'Kt' limits it to channels with Kt in the name.

And for the record, vic_france hipped me to a lot of the stuff I now know regarding the PLE, LE and Score Editor over the years, so it's he who's the guru. :P
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4614
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 270 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby mozizo » Sun Mar 23, 2014 12:24 am

:lol: :lol: i knew u are the man..!! ;)

maybe i'm wrong but to rename the outputs i had first to make them visible in the project window(i do it in kind of workaround thing, i select all of them Q-link them,write enable them move them up and down to zero again and all show up in the output folder in project window,, only then i could change their name with PLE)
cubase 7.5.20 64bit ,halion 5
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win7 64bit 8gb
(PC Desktop AMD dual core win xp32 cubase 7-32)
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6 Kawai Mp4 Korg PA800.
cubasis,cubase ic pro
User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1202
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby Patanjali » Sun Mar 23, 2014 9:29 pm

Now all I need is to be able to rename using regular expressions to select parts of the current name and formatable replaceable parameters, like project name, create date, modify date, track name, lane number, position, and I could have one preset that would rename all my files at once.

Or perhaps make project files (.cpr) XML and I could write my own transforms.
Patanjali
Half of the folk music duo, DevaKnighT. Music available from CD Baby (MP3/FLAC) and the usual culprits. All recorded and processed on Cubase 7.x at 192k.
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : 32GB : GV-N750OC-2GI : SSDx4+2 : UAD-2Q : Dell S2340Tx2 & Samsung 55" 4K.
HW: Nmn U87 Ai : JA251x2 : YRG : Korg padKontrol+uKEY2 : RME FF400+800 : M-Patch-2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win 8.1 Pro 64 : Cubase 7.5.20 64 : iC Pro : RX3Adv : Ozone5Adv : Goliath/SO PP/Pianos/Gypsy : Sup.Drum 2.0 : AT7.
User avatar
Patanjali
Member
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:37 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 43 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby SteveInChicago » Sun Mar 23, 2014 10:02 pm

Patanjali wrote:Now all I need is to be able to rename using regular expressions to select parts of the current name and formatable replaceable parameters, like project name, create date, modify date, track name, lane number, position, and I could have one preset that would rename all my files at once.

Or perhaps make project files (.cpr) XML and I could write my own transforms.

Yes, that would be very good, like Variables in the Score Editor. (of which a few more wold be nice!)
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4614
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 270 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby Trailerman » Tue Mar 25, 2014 9:32 pm

mozizo wrote::lol: :lol: i knew u are the man..!! ;)

maybe i'm wrong but to rename the outputs i had first to make them visible in the project window(i do it in kind of workaround thing, i select all of them Q-link them,write enable them move them up and down to zero again and all show up in the output folder in project window,, only then i could change their name with PLE)


Sorry to be dredging this up again Mozizo, but I cannot get my output tracks to appear in the project window. I've done what you suggested, grouped them together then written some automation to them, but I see no output tracks in the Project Window at all, and no option to show them in the track type filter. What am I missing?

And you're correct, unless I too am missing something, Steve's extremely helpful PLE template does not work on instrument outputs channels in the Mixer. I assume that until they're in the project window, the PLE doesn't see them.

Thanks again for your help.

Jules
Windows 7 64bit
2xIntel Xeon E5 3.4GHz
128GB Ram
Cubase 7.5.2
Motu PCIe-424
Trailerman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby sambosun » Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:26 am

Does anyone know how to rename multiple selected tracks in the project window?
Using Tapatalk
sambosun
Junior Member
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:10 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby jamusic » Thu Mar 27, 2014 7:08 am

sambosun wrote:Does anyone know how to rename multiple selected tracks in the project window?

Never tried that, but CTRL + click allows to select multiple tracks - so maybe doing that & then naming?
Give it a try.
-C7.5.20 -Win 7-x64 Home -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16 Gigs RAM
-Hyper 212+ CPU Cooler -3 SSDs -WD 1TB Black Caviar Hard Drive -2 WD & 1 Touro 1TB External USB 3 Drives
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Neumann TLM 103 Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre -Amp
-Yamaha P-200/88 & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules

User avatar
jamusic
Member
 
Posts: 433
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 28 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby sambosun » Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:48 pm

It does work and here is how
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1397072879.700544.jpg
(55.98 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Using Tapatalk
sambosun
Junior Member
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:10 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby Trailerman » Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:59 am

I'm not sure this works for instrument output channels, but I'll give it another look today.

Thanks for the pic.

Jules
Windows 7 64bit
2xIntel Xeon E5 3.4GHz
128GB Ram
Cubase 7.5.2
Motu PCIe-424
Trailerman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Rename Multiple Mixer Channels?

Postby Trailerman » Thu Apr 10, 2014 11:01 am

Sambosun

Your PLE profile works, but the tracks need to be visible in the Project Window. Do you know how to make Instrument Output channels visible in the Project Window?

Jules
Windows 7 64bit
2xIntel Xeon E5 3.4GHz
128GB Ram
Cubase 7.5.2
Motu PCIe-424
Trailerman
Junior Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 4 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Keres and 7 guests