How do I color channels like this:

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

How do I color channels like this:

Postby jayadams » Thu Mar 20, 2014 11:27 am

Hey guys,

have seen some photos and videos where the whole track is colored.

I know how to color the bars and what is in the arrangement but how do I color the channel?


Here is an example:
http://youtu.be/0VU7wgvVKEw
Macbook Pro 2.2 Ghz i7
Mac OSX 10.9.3 (Maverick)
8 GB RAM
750 GB Harddisk
Apogee Duet Firewire
Cubase 7.5.20 64-bit
jayadams
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:51 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby mpayne0 » Thu Mar 20, 2014 2:35 pm

I feel kinda silly, but how DO you do that, or have I already done it, can't remember?
mpayne0
Member
 
Posts: 603
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby funkygas » Thu Mar 20, 2014 3:59 pm

I thought - 'that's easy you just go to here and do this' . . . . .

but then I couldn't do it either. The little bit before, then the track - but that dang bit in the middle - I'd like to know also!
Lexicon Lambda | Rode NT2A | Pod X3 Live | Halion Sonic 2 | Symphonic Strings | Superior Drummer 2 | Alesis SR-16 | Yamaha QY300 | Beyer DT770 Pro Headphones
funkygas
Junior Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:17 am
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby HughH » Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:01 pm

Yeah.

I've been hoping for that, too.

Maybe (reaching here) that's 7.5.2?

A couple times beta testers (I'm supposing) have posted tutorials or whatever revealing new versions prior to release - inadvertently, I'm sure :?

Or is it a preference?

Hugh
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby Buchanan » Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:16 pm

Gold glitter would be nice. Or paisley. :mrgreen:

ps: Toolkit / Color dropper.
Last edited by Buchanan on Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Everyone wants perfect software. But nobody's perfect.
Buchanan
Member
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 10:15 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby Cut-a-Corner » Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:18 pm

same here, i searched the preferences and didn't find the feature to color the track overlay inside the project window. i also do wonder if he is a beta tester.

btw, the color tool doesn't work on project tracks every time.
sometimes i need to use the dropdown menu inside the mixconsole.
is it the same for you guys?
- My DAW and Outboard :
... This ... And ... That ...
User avatar
Cut-a-Corner
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Ruhrgebiet (Germany)
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby SteveInChicago » Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:26 pm

Best hidden feature ever ;) (prefs>Event Display>Tracks)
Image
Cubase 7.5.30 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4797
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 294 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby HughH » Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:34 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:Best hidden feature ever ;)


Dammit, Steve, that's a beautiful thing!

Thank you!

Hugh
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby SteveInChicago » Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:37 pm

You're welcome!
Cubase 7.5.30 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4797
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 294 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby HughH » Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:38 pm

While we're at it . . .

How about a way to turn the track name permanently Black - not just when it's selected?
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby SteveInChicago » Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:42 pm

Yeah, that's a little problem here- the text color doesn't automatically change to keep a good contrast between the track color and the text.

I just keep the setting on the low side so it's not a problem. I guess you could also use dark track colors...
Cubase 7.5.30 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4797
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 294 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby Cut-a-Corner » Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:01 pm

yeah it looks a bit grey in grey ... i hope that under 7.5.20 this is part of
"several improvements to make your cubase experience smoother"

thx steve for that kind explanation of this feature!
- My DAW and Outboard :
... This ... And ... That ...
User avatar
Cut-a-Corner
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Ruhrgebiet (Germany)
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby shadowfax » Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:13 pm

Just came across this..Steve is a God!! he knows everything... :mrgreen:
https://soundcloud.com/knmac ... https://knmac.bandcamp.com/... Cubase 7 64 bit on W7 intel i7-2700 CPU@3.50GHz, 2xSSD's..16GB ram, Yamaha N8, Genelec 8030BPM/Genelec7050BPM monitors...SPL track one, Shure KSM32 and a homemade soundbooth.
User avatar
shadowfax
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1461
Joined: Sun May 20, 2012 3:21 pm
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby SteveInChicago » Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:20 pm

Thanks, Kevin. Where do I send the check?
Cubase 7.5.30 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4797
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 294 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby Makumbaria » Thu Mar 20, 2014 6:28 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:Thanks, Kevin. Where do I send the check?


You can send it to me! Thanks!

:lol:
Cubase 7.5.30 / 6.5.5 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC / Halion Sonic 1.6.3 / Padshop Pro 1.1.0 / HSO 1.0.1 / The Grand SE 3.1
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / M-audio Fast Track Pro

Ivory II Italian Grand / Addictive drums & Keys / GPO / Alicia Keys Piano / Abbey Road Modern Drums / Ezdrummer / Sampletank / Miroslav Philharmonik CE / VSL / POD Farm / Amplitube / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 / PSP Audioware / Nugen Audio Visualizer / Voxengo Redunoise / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 / Softube / Toneboosters EBULoudness
User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby jayadams » Thu Mar 20, 2014 8:30 pm

Brilliant!!!! Thanks Steve!
Macbook Pro 2.2 Ghz i7
Mac OSX 10.9.3 (Maverick)
8 GB RAM
750 GB Harddisk
Apogee Duet Firewire
Cubase 7.5.20 64-bit
jayadams
New Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:51 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: How do I color channels like this:

Postby funkygas » Fri Mar 21, 2014 3:49 am

:D Awesome Steve!

"The wise man does not lay up his own treasures. The more he gives to others, the more he has for his own" - Lao Tzu
Lexicon Lambda | Rode NT2A | Pod X3 Live | Halion Sonic 2 | Symphonic Strings | Superior Drummer 2 | Alesis SR-16 | Yamaha QY300 | Beyer DT770 Pro Headphones
funkygas
Junior Member
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 5:17 am
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests