audio panning

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

audio panning

Postby dark-mantra » Sat Mar 01, 2014 2:46 pm

Hi,

I can pan midi channels but not audio. The pan slider is there and works. It just doesn't have any effect on what comes out of the speakers. The audio channels are mono routed to a stereo bus. Am I doing something stupid?

Thanks,

Steve
Pentium I7, 16Gb RAM., Widows 7 64 bit, Echo Layla, Focusrite pre-amp. Cubase 7 artist, Wavelab 7 elements.
dark-mantra
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 11:34 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: audio panning

Postby george682 » Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:32 pm

dark-mantra wrote:Hi,

I can pan midi channels but not audio. The pan slider is there and works. It just doesn't have any effect on what comes out of the speakers. The audio channels are mono routed to a stereo bus. Am I doing something stupid?

Thanks,

Steve


bounce
george682
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: audio panning

Postby Elien » Tue Mar 04, 2014 12:42 pm

Hi, it does not seem to be something stupid you are doing.

Can you describe your whole Routing a Little bit more in Detail?
Interface, which ports in use, etc.?

Cheers, Ernst
Cubase 7.5.30 on Win 7 ultimate 64 Bit, Intel i7, 2x Matrox Graphics Card, 5 Monitors. RME RayDat. Presonus Firestudio, DigimaxFS, Art Tube Preamp, Line6 x3 pro, lexicon mx400, Headphone preamp, Digipatch Digital Patchbay, TCHelicon VoicePro. Yamaha HS80M plus Subwoofer, Behringer MS40. Euphonix MC Control V2; Euphonix MC Mix, AKai MPD18, Novation RemoteSL 61, Novation Zero SL MKII, Automap 4. Yamaha Motif XF8; Komplete 9 Ultimate, GPO, Garritan Jazz&Bigband, ARC System, Miroslav Philharmonic, Jamstix, Various Applied Accoustic Instruments, Melodyne
Elien
Junior Member
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:31 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: audio panning

Postby Dastern » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:08 pm

Make sure your panner is turned ON!

;-)
Dastern
New Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:09 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: audio panning

Postby george682 » Tue Mar 04, 2014 4:00 pm

Cubase 7 Operation_Manual page 186
george682
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: audio panning

Postby dark-mantra » Wed Apr 02, 2014 3:21 pm

I am sorry people. The panning is working. However, what made me think that it wasn't is that the send effects have their own panning which masks the main channel. Is this the way it is supposed to work or again am I doing something stupid? The time lapse from my original post is because my computer has been broken.

Thanks,

Steve
Pentium I7, 16Gb RAM., Widows 7 64 bit, Echo Layla, Focusrite pre-amp. Cubase 7 artist, Wavelab 7 elements.
dark-mantra
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 11:34 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: audio panning

Postby nonlocal » Wed Apr 02, 2014 5:47 pm

There is an option in preferences where you can choose to have send panning follow channel panning automatically, or to be freely adjustable.
nonlocal
Junior Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 1:09 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: audio panning

Postby Paul Coyle » Mon Apr 07, 2014 11:17 am

Hiya Steve,

Open the Channel Settings window for the audio channel.
In the Sends section of the Channel Settings window, on the Panning tab, each send is shown with a pan fader. On the Functions menu, you can activate the “Link Panners” option. The send panners will then follow the pan for the channel, making the stereo imaging as clear and true as possible. This behavior can also be set as default for all channels. The corresponding setting is available in the Preferences dialog (VST page).

Hope this helps,

PC
DAW W7 32Bit-Cubase 7.5.2-Wavelab 8.0.3-Core2 Quad Q9400-4 Gb Ram-Lots of HDD's-Dual Monitors-Old, but solid! Interface AD/DA Focusrite Liquid 56 (Mix Control 3.2)-Focusrite Octopre Platinum (Via Twin Light-pipe)-DBX 386 dual valve Pre (Via AES/EBU)Monitoring Genelec 1029A's-Yamaha HS10W Sub Console Yamaha PM2000 24/8-146kg of analogue goodness
User avatar
Paul Coyle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2012 1:17 pm
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 53 times

Re: audio panning

Postby dark-mantra » Mon Apr 07, 2014 4:24 pm

Thanks people. The last two posts seem to imply that there needs to be an FX track for each channel that uses a send. So there can't really be a many to one relationship. I can't try this out at the moment because my Cubase is broken ( R6025 - pure virtual function call ).

Mind you all the stuff about sends should be in the manual. But does anybody know of a hardcopy manual or relevant book ( even one for a Kindle ) because I just cannot bring myself to try and read a 900 page .pdf file?

Thanks,

Steve
Pentium I7, 16Gb RAM., Widows 7 64 bit, Echo Layla, Focusrite pre-amp. Cubase 7 artist, Wavelab 7 elements.
dark-mantra
New Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 11:34 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Buzz, G-row12 and 6 guests