Nuendo 6.5?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby marciojhs » Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:21 pm

mrtomcat wrote:Fredo that workflow used to work until version 6. I was always very happy with Nuendo but something has gone wrong here... first off I don't have a problem paying for an upgrade as long as it's not just bug fixes. N6 as it stands is not a professional product anymore...take alone the microscopic scroll bar on the bottom of the mix window...I think that annoys me more that anything... the constant crashes, the insane amount of additional clicks, the fact that plugins disappear behind the mix window when in full screen mode and so forth...these are all issues that present themselves after just a few minutes in the system. Why after a year have those not been fixed? And I am fairly certain they won't be fixed in 6.5
Now having to pay for that??? By keeping unwanted (or better un-asked-for) features to a minimum and focusing on requested features and bug fixes SB would keep their user community happy for the most part much more than recent.
We are not talking about millions of Nuendo users here...my guess it's a few thousand at most with a very outspoken community on here of professional engineers using this product... so why not listen and react a bit more like SB used to?


+1
marciojhs
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 12:50 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby TimoWildenhain » Mon Mar 31, 2014 9:30 am

Trailerman wrote:FWIW, as a new convert to Cubase (from Logic) and potential Nuendo user (just as soon as 6.5 comes out), I find it pretty refreshing that these kind of discussions can even take place with genuine developers and their representatives. Try having open discourse with Apple devs on Logic, or even Avid regarding ProTools (both products I've used for upwards of 10 years) and you'll get nowhere unless you raise a support case - something you usually have to pay for.

No developer will please everyone all the time, but the fact that they appear here and make honest contributions in public space is a major credit to Steinberg.

[fan mode off]

Jules


Hi Jules,

thank you for your comment and comparison to other platforms / manufacturers.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Product Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!
TimoWildenhain
Moderator
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby TimoWildenhain » Mon Mar 31, 2014 9:31 am

marciojhs wrote:I just bough nuendo 6 (update from 5) and yesterday was horrible. Just on one mixing the program stoped so many times, that i stoped counting. Changed the Buffer time, nuendo stoped... I open a new plugin, nuendo stoped..Try to save work, "can not save this file because its corrupt". How is this possible? in one afternoon i've encounter so many problems, just mixing one track...How can you release this?? Horrible...
I'm a user sense nuendo 1.0 and If someone wants to buy my nuendo, i seal it for half price. I'm tired of shames in front of customers.


Hello,

that should not happen. What is your system setup please?

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Product Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!
TimoWildenhain
Moderator
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby DG » Mon Mar 31, 2014 10:02 am

marciojhs wrote:I just bough nuendo 6 (update from 5) and yesterday was horrible. Just on one mixing the program stoped so many times, that i stoped counting. Changed the Buffer time, nuendo stoped... I open a new plugin, nuendo stoped..Try to save work, "can not save this file because its corrupt". How is this possible? in one afternoon i've encounter so many problems, just mixing one track...How can you release this?? Horrible...
I'm a user sense nuendo 1.0 and If someone wants to buy my nuendo, i seal it for half price. I'm tired of shames in front of customers.

PM me if you want to sell. I already have two copies, but need one for Studio 3.

DG
Nuendo 6.07
Intel Xeon 3.0GHz 10 Core 20 Threads
32GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
nVidia GT 640 graphics card
DG
Member
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby Big K » Mon Mar 31, 2014 12:12 pm

Hello dear fellows in misery…
Is it at all possible that I sense a whiff of discontent and unhappiness amongst the community about N6 ? Even from those who politely used to tell me: ”Get used to it, ol’ fart, welcome to the future”?? Oh, Joy!... All is not lost, yet!
But certainly, I don’t want to brag around that I always said N6 is badly in need of major improvements and changes.
;-)
By now, I got used to receive a more or less strong yellowish liquid beam from SB hitting my left knee…when it comes to complaints about customer service. That actually seems to slowly change for the better, lately, but still on the far side of a dark tunnel, that is.

And then.., making N6.5 subject to a charge is quite a bit cheeky, I think. With most users just hoping for necessary Bug Fixes you get a buck-fix prescribed instead …lol…

Well, I am staying on N5.6, anyway, as long as I don’t see any substantial improvements, especially in regards of handling / GUIs. Meanwhile, dear friends, keep ‘em busy..

Cheers, Big K ( sipping on a bottle of Augustiner Edelstoff…)
Presonus Studio ONE, Harrison Mixbus!, Nuendo 5.6 (6), WL6 (7), RME, UAD, PoCo, Win7 64, i7 3930K, 16 GB RAM, Intensity, Melodyne, Spectrasonics, VSL, Brainworx, Genelec 5.1, sevaW lla, LAWO, Sony DASH 3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware & excellent acoustic studio design, ...SB user *1989 ✝2014
User avatar
Big K
Member
 
Posts: 419
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby DG » Mon Mar 31, 2014 1:35 pm

Whilst I'm a great believer in giving change a chance, I still find N6 incredibly ugly and clunky to use. I don't think that it's a case of not being used to it. I find it as useless and ugly now as I did when I first saw it. Some of the new features do save time, but that saving is outweighed by all the extra clicking around.

I also find it strange that some of the really silly bugs, such as using the glue tool changing your MIDI notes, haven't been fixed. If they are not fixed in the coming update and the mixer is still as ugly, there will be no reason for me to upgrade either of my studios.

DG
Nuendo 6.07
Intel Xeon 3.0GHz 10 Core 20 Threads
32GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
nVidia GT 640 graphics card
DG
Member
 
Posts: 577
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby marciojhs » Mon Mar 31, 2014 3:39 pm

TimoWildenhain wrote:
marciojhs wrote:I just bough nuendo 6 (update from 5) and yesterday was horrible. Just on one mixing the program stoped so many times, that i stoped counting. Changed the Buffer time, nuendo stoped... I open a new plugin, nuendo stoped..Try to save work, "can not save this file because its corrupt". How is this possible? in one afternoon i've encounter so many problems, just mixing one track...How can you release this?? Horrible...
I'm a user sense nuendo 1.0 and If someone wants to buy my nuendo, i seal it for half price. I'm tired of shames in front of customers.


Hello,

that should not happen. What is your system setup please?

Thanks,
Timo


Pc - Intel Quad core with Windows 7 - Motu 424 Pci with 2408 MkII
marciojhs
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 12:50 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby Rotund » Tue Apr 01, 2014 12:27 am

I seriously think we, as Nuendo Users, don't have the numbers to affect a change here.

Sad...

You either go along, (grape is my favorite flavor) and develop your own work arounds,
or move on to something else. Those appear to be the only options Steinberg is willing to offer.
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.07, Nuendo+Nek 5.5.6, Reaper 4.591, Studio One, Raydat, UAD X 2, UM-3EX, Glyph eSata Audio Drive, 6TB Storage, U-He ACE, Arturia Moog Modular & Jupiter8v, Korg Legacy (MS-20, MonoPoly, Wavestation), Portico 5043/5033.

Outboard:
AKG 414-B XLII (Matched Pair), AKG D 112, Neumann TLM-193, GrooveTubes GT-66, Shure SM-81 (Pair), Sennheiser e604 (3pack), SM-57 (Many), Beta SM-57, AT-3035, Many More, Panasonic DA-7, Event 20/20p, Alesis Monitor One, Philips MMS321 Multimedia Speakers, TLAudio, HHB, JoeMeek, dbx, Moog Model D, Nordlead 2, Korg MS2000, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo, Acoustic Drum Kit, Fender Stratocaster (USA), Ibanez EXSeries Bass, Laney VC-30.
User avatar
Rotund
Member
 
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby Domilik » Thu Apr 03, 2014 7:27 pm

I just stumbled upon the online-promotion of N6's new features:

http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/nu ... ml#c174671

Under "time savers for professionals" it says:
Optimized for mouse-free operation

I've never been forced to use my mouse that much like in N6, all those tabs to open and switch...this can't be meant seriously!
Nuendo 6 | Win7 x64, Intel i7 2600k, Asus P8P67Pro | Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 | JBL LSR4328 | Tannoy Reveal 6 | Marian Marc A | Mackie Control Universal | DDX 3216 | X-Keys Joystick | BCR 2000 | Novation Nocturn | Pro Tools 10 | SSL Pro-Convert | AATranslator
User avatar
Domilik
Member
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:58 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby johngar » Thu Apr 03, 2014 8:39 pm

Domilik wrote:I just stumbled upon the online-promotion of N6's new features:

http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/nu ... ml#c174671

Under "time savers for professionals" it says:
Optimized for mouse-free operation

I've never been forced to use my mouse that much like in N6, all those tabs to open and switch...this can't be meant seriously!

I agree.
It might be "optimized mouse free" if you buy a Nuage.
PC | Nuendo 6.5 64bit | Cubase 7.5 64bit| i7920 | Windows 7 Pro 64bit | 12gb ram | Blackmagic Intensity Pro | NVIDIA GeForce GTX550Ti | RME9632 | Euphonix MC Control -Mix - Transport | Genelec |

MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz i7 | OS X 10.9 | MOTU 828MKII |

elfxi.com
User avatar
johngar
Member
 
Posts: 568
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:46 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby Big K » Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:55 pm

Domilik wrote: ....
Under "time savers for professionals" it says:
Optimized for mouse-free operation
I've never been forced to use my mouse that much like in N6, all those tabs to open and switch...
this can't be meant seriously!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This day today wasn't a realy good day till ... just 15 minutes before it ends ...I read your post...
It truly made my day..lol.
I have rarely come across such strangly warped sense of reality than manifested in this one remark.
Optimzed for mouse-free operation.. How the hell do you manouver through this dreaded software?
ESP ?? Telekinese?? A BlueTooth stick up your ... errr.. nose??
I wonder...

Big K
Presonus Studio ONE, Harrison Mixbus!, Nuendo 5.6 (6), WL6 (7), RME, UAD, PoCo, Win7 64, i7 3930K, 16 GB RAM, Intensity, Melodyne, Spectrasonics, VSL, Brainworx, Genelec 5.1, sevaW lla, LAWO, Sony DASH 3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware & excellent acoustic studio design, ...SB user *1989 ✝2014
User avatar
Big K
Member
 
Posts: 419
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby iBM » Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:45 pm

Domilik wrote:I just stumbled upon the online-promotion of N6's new features:

http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/nu ... ml#c174671

Under "time savers for professionals" it says:
Optimized for mouse-free operation

I've never been forced to use my mouse that much like in N6, all those tabs to open and switch...this can't be meant seriously!

Have they ever tried the new Control Room? Come on Steinberg, this is a click fest galore. I cannot for my life of it understand how they were able to destroy one of their best features, let alone unique in the DAW world???

The new Mix Console may be great if you do 8 tracks of audio, and like two inches wide channels. Also to much clicking and hovering (aaah, there was the button).
Why on earth does the pop-ups have to tell me that an insert slot is empty? I can kinda see that :? :o :shock:

And the Focus frame "following" you around (annoying as annoying can be). I know when I touch a fader or pan knob, or....... God damn it, all that excess information having no mission at all, but being disturbing.

And the new "intelligent" name abbreviations. Not very intelligent at all, if you ask me. I do not want to zoom in on the mixer channels to read what plugin residing in what slot (I have tried to populate the insert slots the same for all channels, making it consistent (for me)).
Again, it may be easy to remember all your plugins and placement when having a few tracks/channels of audio. But NOT in a larger session, in conjunction with with narrower mixer channels.

The Cubase 7/7.5 and Nuendo 6 cycle has been a big dissapointment for me, except for 3 things (in C7.5):
Track Visibility (didn't have to change everything GUI wise to implement this IMO).
Track Versions (finally, after many many requests).
Tab to Transient (which in fact doesn't use the Tab key????)

I gotta quit now, before my head hurts.
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems only.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby oxelamp » Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:12 am

Any news on grace period?
Just bought our N6 upgrades, not sure, if i can activate them now or must i wait til official n6.5 announcment.
oxelamp
New Member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:08 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby drorh4 » Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:48 am

TimoWildenhain wrote:Hello,

Nuendo 6.5 will be released end of May. It will incorporate new Nuendo-exclusive features,
all Cubase 7.5 features, all product maintenance and feature refinements done until then as
well as some extra QA testing.

Thanks,
Timo


Hello,

- What do you mean "all Cubase 7.5 features"? As with something from the NEK? VST expression? Drum editor? Score editor? the extended chord track?

I don't care what VSTi Steinberg has to offer, but as a Film Composer_Sound designer I feel that Steinberg just betrayed the Nuendo music users.

Are we gonna get back our Music-Midi features after paying three times more than any Cubase owner?
NEK can be the promised land for SB VSTi's and Libraries.
drorh4
Junior Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby iBM » Tue Apr 15, 2014 10:42 am

I'm so tired of the whole NEK - Cubase Music Tools for Nuendo story, that I almost have to puke.

For Steinberg to make such a fuzz, of what should've been nothing, I really don't get it :roll:
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems only.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby drorh4 » Tue Apr 15, 2014 10:53 am

I can't agree more.

Sometime, even when only sound editing for DOC movie, I wanna have my own temp music or Sampler running stuff - the features as we all know, r already there! I paid for Nuendo cause I'm working a lot for the media so I need some of the Nuendo features (and Im with Nuendo since ver 3). I don't ask for much- just the midi-score features and the normal chord features.

Most of the time I just want to compose on my good old(new) Nuendo with basic Cubase features.

So dumb...
drorh4
Junior Member
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby Breeze » Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:13 pm

I'm as disappointed as any of you about this state of affairs, but I don't know why you're all surprised. Several years ago, Steinberg-Yamaha decided that Nuendo would be their upscale post-production suite product and despite any intimations to the contrary, they have continued on this plan. The introduction of Nuage was pretty much the death bell on any hope of keeping this software agnostic from any specific hardware. Nuendo is being optimized for Yamaha hardware and as the owners of the company, they can pretty much decide what they want their products to do.

Yamaha is a HARDWARE company; it's in their DNA and in fact every attempt they've made to enter the software field has been a pretty lame failure (mLan, DS2416...). They now have the opportunity to leverage a software acquisition to push their hardware expansion plans. Because this doesn't work with our needs, we're all up in arms, but is it really unexpected?

I see the NEK as an olive branch extended to those of us who need Nuendo's advanced features over Cubase, but with the Nuage optimizations, hardware-agnostic workflow has been impaired. So now we're at a crossroads where the NEK is no longer sufficient to "pacify" us and where there really should be another fork in the Nuendo story, one where optimizations would be made for non-Nuage users.

But think about that for a minute: facing incredible odds from a very well-entrenched competing platform, how likely is it that a hardware company is going to sabotage their chances of launching a complete post-production hardware/software suite by offering a software-only alternative that works as well without the hardware? Slim to none if you ask me.

The other real problem now is that Steinberg spent considerable time unifying Cubase and Nuendo development to the point that Cubase is now inheriting the hardware-dependent workflow problems evident in Nuendo. However Cubase does not have a hardware interface alternative (yet?), so that is the bigger issue in the longer term.

Well... that or the Carpal Syndrome issues we're all going to be developing... ;)
Last edited by Breeze on Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Breeze
Member
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 7:48 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby Fredo » Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:19 pm

Thank you for making me laugh ...

Fredo
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1311
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby Breeze » Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:21 pm

Fredo wrote:Thank you for making me laugh ...

Fredo

You're welcome. Am I really completely delusional?
Breeze
Member
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 7:48 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby Fredo » Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:50 pm

Breeze wrote: Am I really completely delusional?

On each and every point you try to make.


Fredo
User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
 
Posts: 1311
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby Lydiot » Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:58 pm

something about sarcasm and being constructive and all that
Please PM for conversation.
User avatar
Lydiot
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1329
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby fenderchris » Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:04 pm

I tend to think that Breeze is probably spot on.

This could mean the end of Steinberg being able to keep up with, or beat, the competition as far as hardware-agnostic software (nice phrase) goes.

This would more than likely bring to an end my long association with Steinberg (since the PRO-24 days), although I am less motivated these days and may be getting a bit too old to think about learning a new GUI - I could perhaps give up completely and start re-organising my stamp collection (much overlooked for the past 40 years!). This would bring an end to my financial support for Steinberg while at the same time being an unwitting beta-tester for every new release.

Looking at the Cubase site, it seems that there may still be a lot of things that have not been fixed with the release of v.7.5.20 but let's hope that they will be fixed before the release of Nuendo 6.5 - that's what's supposed to happen isn't it?
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

i7 Quad core 2.66 15GB ram, Windows-7 64-bit, Nuendo-5.5.6 64-bit, Wavelab-6, 2x MR816CSX, RME FireFace UFX, SmartAV Tango, MOTU Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-500, TC-Fireworx, Halion-5, Kontakt-5, Roland V-Drums TD-20X
Cubase iC Pro for Android
Omnisphere, Trillian + loads of real instruments.
User avatar
fenderchris
Member
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby iBM » Tue Apr 15, 2014 7:48 pm

fenderchris wrote:Looking at the Cubase site, it seems that there may still be a lot of things that have not been fixed with the release of v.7.5.20 but let's hope that they will be fixed before the release of Nuendo 6.5 - that's what's supposed to happen isn't it?

I'm just about to re-start my mixing career:
viewtopic.php?f=181&t=58451

After 18 months I'm still don't "feel at home" in the Cubase 7.5 and N6 mixer. Probably never will. I just "hate" the new Control Room and "strongly dislike" the new Mix Console.
I still work greatly in N5.5 and C6.5, but owe it to my self to look for a more long-term mixing solution. For all other work, like recording, editing, midi and composing Nuendo and Cubase is still my DAW of choice. Probably always will. I just need another and better mixing environment (for me).

PS. I also tend to think that Breeze is probably spot on. He was at least sarcastic in a constructive way (thanks Lydiot).
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems only.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby Rickard » Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:22 am

I have to say that I am surprised by the the # of people who are struggling with the new mixer. I have been needing to go back and forth between N6 and N5.5 almost daily and N5.5 is a little frustrating to use because of many of the missing features.

Having inserts and sends in the mixer at the same time without clicking is a real time saver for me. Finding effects is much faster (though required learning a new way) and finding a track in a 300+ channel project is much faster. Agents is amazing for mixing large projects . Visibility and Zones are now essential to me. I also love having an FFT on each channel not to mention the Studio and Post EQs. All of these things save me time and I wish I didn't have so many of my "need-to-recall" projects in N5.5.

That being said, I am in agreement about the mouse-over buttons. It would be great if these could be fixed buttons. There must be a way to do it and I haven't heard anyone say they like it as is. I am still missing the invert gain on the channel EQ. Why did that go away? I have all hardware monitoring so I don't use the Control Room but there seems to be universal agreement that this is a mistake. So I am in support of this getting fixed.

My 2 cents.

Dean
Win7|i7|12gig ram|LynxAES16|Lynx2C|Lynx Aurora|N6 + Nek|PT10 HD|UAD Quad x2| UM-3EX|Midex 8|Mackie Control + 2 extenders|too many mics and preamps to list
Rickard
Junior Member
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Nuendo 6.5?

Postby CHAOS » Wed Apr 16, 2014 12:43 am

Rickard wrote:I have to say that I am surprised by the the # of people who are struggling with the new mixer. I have been needing to go back and forth between N6 and N5.5 almost daily and N5.5 is a little frustrating to use because of many of the missing features.

Having inserts and sends in the mixer at the same time without clicking is a real time saver for me. Finding effects is much faster (though required learning a new way) and finding a track in a 300+ channel project is much faster. Agents is amazing for mixing large projects . Visibility and Zones are now essential to me. I also love having an FFT on each channel not to mention the Studio and Post EQs. All of these things save me time and I wish I didn't have so many of my "need-to-recall" projects in N5.5.

That being said, I am in agreement about the mouse-over buttons. It would be great if these could be fixed buttons. There must be a way to do it and I haven't heard anyone say they like it as is. I am still missing the invert gain on the channel EQ. Why did that go away? I have all hardware monitoring so I don't use the Control Room but there seems to be universal agreement that this is a mistake. So I am in support of this getting fixed.

My 2 cents.

Dean


I agree with you. I also do not use the control room, and I know this has been a great frustration for other users, I cannot comment. But as for the mixer itself, it prefer the new one much more. I can see everything at once and get to it quickly.

It is hard to understand not having Cubase automatically integrated into Nuendo... NEK is a bit of a complication. Also, charging for .5 upgrades is questionable. Even more when they are just mostly fixes for bugs already there.

I mean we all just want solid, reliable software, that when bugs are found, they are fixed in a timely matter, and not charged for.

As for Yamaha hardware theories... Plausible. These are businesses trying to make business plans for the future. I for one am not going to be a hardware customer for them, and I suppose the more they hear from their client base, the better. Hence this topic and discussion.
Tune out the humming, turn on the stereo...

Windows 7 64bit, Nuendo 6, CPU: Core i7 980X Extreme, RAM: 24Gig, VGA: Gigabyte 1GB GTX, Motherboard: Gigabyte X58 USB3 Chipset
CHAOS
New Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 3:34 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests