Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.

Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby islandmusicpro » Fri Apr 04, 2014 2:01 pm

Hi all,
when I designed my workstation, I installed 32 GB of RAM just because it fit the budget and I thought, you know, "You never know!"... ;)
Now I notice that my typical project never uses anywhere north of 10GB, and I'm wondering: Any ideas on how to use the extra memory? RAMdisk? Virtual machines? Something else I can't think of?
The machine is running fine, no crashes or abnormal behavior.

Thanks for your thoughts!
Benji
Cubase Pro 8.0.0 x64, Windows 8.1 Update 1 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe, Superior Drummer 2.3 NY extensions
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 32GB Crucial ULP 1.35V RAM
Allen & Heath ZED R16, UA LA610 Mk2, Neumann TLM49, Shure SM7B, Mackie HR624 Mk2
https://www.facebook.com/islandmusicpro
User avatar
islandmusicpro
Junior Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby mpayne0 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 2:12 pm

I'm not 100% sure this will work, but if I PM you an address, and you ship 16GB to that address, I can try... TRY to see if I might be able to use if for you. Again no guarantees.
mpayne0
Member
 
Posts: 647
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby bjones306 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 2:25 pm

You sir are using far too few virtual instruments....... For shame, for shame. :)
Cubase 7.5 64bit -- Windows 8.1 64bit -- Intel I7 Ivy bridge -- Asus Sabertooth z77 MB -- 32 gig ddr3 ram -- 2x MR816csx -- Steinberg CC121 -- Radeon HD 6800 Series Video Card
User avatar
bjones306
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby Keith99 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:06 pm

Set up a virtual drive, I do that and it really speeds things up, you just have an intial time spent loading thing into ram and then from then on wards access speeds are huge.
Keith99
Member
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby Makumbaria » Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:20 pm

islandmusicpro wrote: Too much RAM


There is no such thing! :lol:
Cubase 7.5.30 / 6.5.5 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC / Halion Sonic 1.6.3 / Padshop Pro 1.1.0 / HSO 1.0.1 / The Grand SE 3.1
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / M-audio Fast Track Pro

Ivory II Italian Grand / Addictive drums & Keys / GPO / Alicia Keys Piano / Abbey Road Modern Drums / Ezdrummer / Sampletank / Miroslav Philharmonik CE / VSL / POD Farm / Amplitube / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 / PSP Audioware / Nugen Audio Visualizer / Voxengo Redunoise / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 / Softube / Toneboosters EBULoudness
User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby islandmusicpro » Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:49 pm

mpayne0 wrote:I'm not 100% sure this will work, but if I PM you an address, and you ship 16GB to that address, I can try... TRY to see if I might be able to use if for you. Again no guarantees.

:mrgreen: Sure.... ;)
Cubase Pro 8.0.0 x64, Windows 8.1 Update 1 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe, Superior Drummer 2.3 NY extensions
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 32GB Crucial ULP 1.35V RAM
Allen & Heath ZED R16, UA LA610 Mk2, Neumann TLM49, Shure SM7B, Mackie HR624 Mk2
https://www.facebook.com/islandmusicpro
User avatar
islandmusicpro
Junior Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby islandmusicpro » Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:51 pm

bjones306 wrote:You sir are using far too few virtual instruments....... For shame, for shame. :)

Last time I put up a nice orchestral backing, I got hit by the singer for "kitschy"-ness... oh well... :P
Rock chicks... :roll:
Cubase Pro 8.0.0 x64, Windows 8.1 Update 1 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe, Superior Drummer 2.3 NY extensions
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 32GB Crucial ULP 1.35V RAM
Allen & Heath ZED R16, UA LA610 Mk2, Neumann TLM49, Shure SM7B, Mackie HR624 Mk2
https://www.facebook.com/islandmusicpro
User avatar
islandmusicpro
Junior Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby islandmusicpro » Fri Apr 04, 2014 3:53 pm

Keith99 wrote:Set up a virtual drive, I do that and it really speeds things up, you just have an intial time spent loading thing into ram and then from then on wards access speeds are huge.

Good point, so what virtual drive software are you using and what do you put on there?

Thanks,
B.
Cubase Pro 8.0.0 x64, Windows 8.1 Update 1 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe, Superior Drummer 2.3 NY extensions
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 32GB Crucial ULP 1.35V RAM
Allen & Heath ZED R16, UA LA610 Mk2, Neumann TLM49, Shure SM7B, Mackie HR624 Mk2
https://www.facebook.com/islandmusicpro
User avatar
islandmusicpro
Junior Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby JCschild » Fri Apr 04, 2014 5:51 pm

yes you bought too much
virtual drives (ram drives) are near pointless and all data is gone when you reboot/turn off/crash.
buying an SSD is a far better option.
Scott
ADK
Home of the "Kentucky Fried Daw"
JCschild
Member
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:12 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby bjones306 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 6:59 pm

Nope.... you can NEVER have too much RAM :twisted: :)

But a virtual or ram drive is the absolute definition of volatile storage and unreliability :)
Cubase 7.5 64bit -- Windows 8.1 64bit -- Intel I7 Ivy bridge -- Asus Sabertooth z77 MB -- 32 gig ddr3 ram -- 2x MR816csx -- Steinberg CC121 -- Radeon HD 6800 Series Video Card
User avatar
bjones306
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby JCschild » Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:27 pm

so having 16 gig sitting there being wasted is a wise investment..
I tell guys all the time calling to buy a system that 32 is way too much for what they are doing..
I have clients I tell don't waste your money past 8 gig you wont need it.
conversely some composers need 64Gig..

so yes 32 was a waste for him, unless he suddenly and drastically changes his work flow
Scott
ADK
Home of the "Kentucky Fried Daw"
JCschild
Member
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 5:12 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby Jarno » Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:16 pm

JCschild wrote:virtual drives (ram drives) are near pointless and all data is gone when you reboot/turn off/crash.
buying an SSD is a far better option.

INDEED! Only time a RAM-drive would be useful, is if you know in advance what files on your hard drive you will need every now and then during the session, but need them as quickly as possible. But to find out these files, you need to be a hard-core computer scientist specialized on system performance and be able to write a program/script to preload these files into RAM-drive. BTW: I'm a hard-core computer scientist specialized on system performance ... and I don''t bother to set up a RAM disk on my DAW ... using SSD instead, just like Scott says.
Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier
User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1265
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby islandmusicpro » Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:44 pm

JCschild wrote:yes you bought too much
virtual drives (ram drives) are near pointless and all data is gone when you reboot/turn off/crash.
buying an SSD is a far better option.

Hey Scott, thanks for all your input over the years, great source of inspiration!
Alas, there's already 2 SSDs chugging away in my system... :mrgreen:

B.
Cubase Pro 8.0.0 x64, Windows 8.1 Update 1 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe, Superior Drummer 2.3 NY extensions
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 32GB Crucial ULP 1.35V RAM
Allen & Heath ZED R16, UA LA610 Mk2, Neumann TLM49, Shure SM7B, Mackie HR624 Mk2
https://www.facebook.com/islandmusicpro
User avatar
islandmusicpro
Junior Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby bjones306 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:41 pm

JCschild wrote:so having 16 gig sitting there being wasted is a wise investment..
I tell guys all the time calling to buy a system that 32 is way too much for what they are doing..
I have clients I tell don't waste your money past 8 gig you wont need it.
conversely some composers need 64Gig..

so yes 32 was a waste for him, unless he suddenly and drastically changes his work flow


Nah, considering how cheap ram is now, better to have it and not use it. You never know when the need might arise.
Cubase 7.5 64bit -- Windows 8.1 64bit -- Intel I7 Ivy bridge -- Asus Sabertooth z77 MB -- 32 gig ddr3 ram -- 2x MR816csx -- Steinberg CC121 -- Radeon HD 6800 Series Video Card
User avatar
bjones306
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby Jarno » Fri Apr 04, 2014 11:15 pm

bjones306 wrote:Nah, considering how cheap ram is now, better to have it and not use it. You never know when the need might arise.

Have to disagree. Most of us have fixed (or semi-fixed) budget for a DAW computer. Would you spend your extra money to
a. extra nonused RAM
or
b. SSD system disk
or
c. faster processor
or
d. better quality silent PSU
or ..... ?

Hint: in case of b,c & d, if you want to upgrade, you have to replace existing hardware (expensive) ... in case of a, you can just add more hardware (cheap).
Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier
User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1265
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby bjones306 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 11:44 pm

I can understand a fixed income, but for most of us who have been building DAW's for years, 16gig of ram for around $140.00 is pretty damn cheap. Guess I'm just old enough to remember when ram was a REALLY expensive factor. Now, it's one of the cheap components when doing a system build. :)
Cubase 7.5 64bit -- Windows 8.1 64bit -- Intel I7 Ivy bridge -- Asus Sabertooth z77 MB -- 32 gig ddr3 ram -- 2x MR816csx -- Steinberg CC121 -- Radeon HD 6800 Series Video Card
User avatar
bjones306
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby roel » Thu Apr 10, 2014 3:50 pm

switch off disk reading in your romplers and load the entire project in your ram.
but don't forget to turn it back on before you run again to the shop to buy extra memory. :)
Cubase 7.5.x, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, W170, i7 2760Qm, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, +touch screen
Slave: desktop: Titanus, Q8440, 8 gig, 2x WD HDD + SSD
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb)
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, and a lot of others
roel
Member
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby islandmusicpro » Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:17 pm

roel wrote:switch off disk reading in your romplers and load the entire project in your ram.
but don't forget to turn it back on before you run again to the shop to buy extra memory. :)

Roel,
I already set max memory usage in Ivory 2 and Superior Drummer, the drum sampler has full bleed on and around 2 GB in memory. Ivory runs with no voice restrictions, all available layers and half-pedaling on pulling around 300 voices in some passages. Machine doesn't break a sweat at 24/48 and 128 buffers...
I could start a 16 GB RAMDisk, and use that for an audio recording location, but where I live, we have frequent power outages and I don't have a backup battery (yet)...

Thanks for your thoughts though, I guess I just have to use more VI's !!! ;)

Cheers,
Benji
Cubase Pro 8.0.0 x64, Windows 8.1 Update 1 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe, Superior Drummer 2.3 NY extensions
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 32GB Crucial ULP 1.35V RAM
Allen & Heath ZED R16, UA LA610 Mk2, Neumann TLM49, Shure SM7B, Mackie HR624 Mk2
https://www.facebook.com/islandmusicpro
User avatar
islandmusicpro
Junior Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby bjones306 » Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:36 pm

islandmusicpro wrote:Roel,
I already set max memory usage in Ivory 2 and Superior Drummer, the drum sampler has full bleed on and around 2 GB in memory. Ivory runs with no voice restrictions, all available layers and half-pedaling on pulling around 300 voices in some passages. Machine doesn't break a sweat at 24/48 and 128 buffers...
I could start a 16 GB RAMDisk, and use that for an audio recording location, but where I live, we have frequent power outages and I don't have a backup battery (yet)...

Thanks for your thoughts though, I guess I just have to use more VI's !!! ;)

Cheers,
Benji


Yeah, dodgy power issues certainly aren't conducive to running a ram disk, or a stable studio for that matter. Get an UPS or backup generator on that shtuff ASAP..... ;)
Well.... in the end... having too much RAM really isn't a bad problem to have. Think of it as a one percenter type problem :)
Cubase 7.5 64bit -- Windows 8.1 64bit -- Intel I7 Ivy bridge -- Asus Sabertooth z77 MB -- 32 gig ddr3 ram -- 2x MR816csx -- Steinberg CC121 -- Radeon HD 6800 Series Video Card
User avatar
bjones306
Junior Member
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2014 12:30 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby islandmusicpro » Fri Apr 11, 2014 2:29 am

I loooove having luxury problems... :mrgreen:

Case closed. thx all!!

B.
Cubase Pro 8.0.0 x64, Windows 8.1 Update 1 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe, Superior Drummer 2.3 NY extensions
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 32GB Crucial ULP 1.35V RAM
Allen & Heath ZED R16, UA LA610 Mk2, Neumann TLM49, Shure SM7B, Mackie HR624 Mk2
https://www.facebook.com/islandmusicpro
User avatar
islandmusicpro
Junior Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby roel » Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:31 pm

i think i have found a way to blow your mem to max.
buy the Vienna bosendorfer and load that one with close and far mic settings in your mem.
That is 50 gigs on its own :P
Then add a nice east west ludwig kit and use all three mic positions, also in mem.
and you need some voices, so there you can use symphonic choirs from east west, also with different mic positions

but i agree that it is not good for a memory module to be there in a system an never ever get any call.
that is just not done...

kind regards,
R.
Cubase 7.5.x, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, W170, i7 2760Qm, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, +touch screen
Slave: desktop: Titanus, Q8440, 8 gig, 2x WD HDD + SSD
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb)
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, and a lot of others
roel
Member
 
Posts: 478
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 64 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby islandmusicpro » Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:36 pm

This is really not much more off-topic than other posts I've seen around here... :-)
Cubase Pro 8.0.0 x64, Windows 8.1 Update 1 x64
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe, Superior Drummer 2.3 NY extensions
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H, 32GB Crucial ULP 1.35V RAM
Allen & Heath ZED R16, UA LA610 Mk2, Neumann TLM49, Shure SM7B, Mackie HR624 Mk2
https://www.facebook.com/islandmusicpro
User avatar
islandmusicpro
Junior Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Too much RAM, any ideas? :-)

Postby jamusic » Mon May 12, 2014 8:56 am

Geez, when I built my custom DAW rig a few years ago, I put 16 Gigs of RAM in it, and sometimes wonder if I should have thrown 32 G in instead.

If I had 32, I'd be smilin' for sure. Like having the secure feeling of extra gas in the tank for that long, impromptu, spur of the moment trip.

So far no troubles with 16 G though.
-C7.5.20 -Win 7-x64 Home -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16 Gigs RAM
-Hyper 212+ CPU Cooler -3 SSDs -WD 1TB Black Caviar Hard Drive -2 WD & 1 Touro 1TB External USB 3 Drives
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Neumann TLM 103 Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre -Amp
-Yamaha P-200/88 & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules

User avatar
jamusic
Member
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 29 times


Return to Computer / Studio Hardware & Setup

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests