Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.

Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby swamptone » Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:08 pm

So I feel like doing some music for the first time in a couple of weeks, boot up Cubase and it has decided to scan EVERY SINGLE NOTE again. :twisted:
I have a lot of notes.
I am still weighting music heavily towards having more and more of them .............. but Cubase converts every one of them into tiny, little runes ..... like zeroes and ones, at the atomic level, inside a silicon chip!

And before anyone mentions time changes, it is irrelevant, it happens with every time signature I have used, 7/8, 9/8, 5/4 ..... all of them ....... because Steinberg have had years to connect the time sigs.

This is a common thing with Cubase, my random, pointless notes happening at inconvenient times from my skill, or lack thereof, to make music.

In Life, I can get started faster and get ideas down much faster on paper, but the mixing/sound is not as good, so I prefer Cuabse overall, because it is so frustrating when my brain freezes, yes .... I get virtual cortex blue screens (Yes in 2014! Miles did an album about it .... Kind Of Blue) which generally throws a spanner in my cranial works.

Steinberg are so completely the obvious solution to fix simple issues of my, otherwise, analog workflow (drawing flyspecks on notation paper).

I always say "Sort simple things out before adding more bells and whistles". Like doing the guitar overdubs before adding the tubular bells and penny-whistles.

But I know this will happen, as they are neither negligent, nor purposely making there (they're, their) product half finished so that everyone buys the next update in the hope they will be fixated on some new feature set.

I am in the process of going through all my Cubase projects and bouncing all over the studio all happy and gleeful, and when I am done, I am going to smell Cubase, the way I used to open vinyl albums and whiff in the *flower* essence, like perfume.

My notes have finally finished scanning, rant over...........

Spooference
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=198&t=57935
formerly known as prism
User avatar
swamptone
Member
 
Posts: 582
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby Jarno » Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:19 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Cubase4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl drumkit | Olympic by Premier drumkit | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier
User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1217
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby SteveInChicago » Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:21 pm

Finally. The calm voice of insanity.
Cubase 7.5.20 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4570
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 264 times

Re: Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby Scab Pickens » Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:31 pm

:D
User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1512
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Davenport, IA USA
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 60 times

Re: Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby DaveFry » Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:41 pm

Thanks for upflag there , Swamptone . In return I would like to warn everyone about Foreigncar .
I had been driving Foreigncars for years when I took mine to the local Foreigncar Dealers for a service . They borrowed ( learned , lent ) me a newer model for the day but it was FLOWER . The seat was so far back I couldn't even reach the break ( brake ? ) pedal so it crashed driving out of the four(fore)court .
Then , when I reversed back it crashed again because all the mirrors were USELESS , they just showed sky or the interior of the Foreigncar .
I am going to tell everyone to avoid all Foreigncars now . :evil:
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Music is it's own reward .
__________________________________________
i7 920 , 12GB RAM , Win 7 x64 ,
Cubase 6.0.7 x64 , The Grand 3.1.0 , Motu Electric Keys ,
Akai MPK 61 ,Yamaha N12
User avatar
DaveFry
Junior Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby curteye » Wed Apr 09, 2014 11:08 pm

ROTFLMAO!!!!!!!!
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Breaking in a Mac Pro. Will be on-line soon.

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4737
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 150 times

Re: Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby johngar » Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:26 am

Well done Sir.
PC | Nuendo 6.5 64bit | Cubase 7.5 64bit| i7920 | Windows 7 Pro 64bit | 12gb ram | Blackmagic Intensity Pro | NVIDIA GeForce GTX550Ti | RME9632 | Euphonix MC Control -Mix - Transport | Genelec |

MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz i7 | OS X 10.9 | MOTU 828MKII |

elfxi.com
User avatar
johngar
Member
 
Posts: 573
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:46 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby Jeff Hayat » Thu Apr 10, 2014 2:32 am

Copycat! :P
Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1121
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby curteye » Thu Apr 10, 2014 6:50 am

Jeff Hayat wrote:Copycat! :P


Yes.
Quite true; but also very well done.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Breaking in a Mac Pro. Will be on-line soon.

Location: On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 4737
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 150 times

Re: Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby NorthWood MediaWorks » Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:35 pm

:lol:
Robin
Join Us At The Forest

| Cubase 7.5.1 | Wavelab 8.0.3e | HSO | Padshop Pro | Win7 64 |
User avatar
NorthWood MediaWorks
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1577
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby mozizo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 2:41 pm

:lol: sarcasm at best, isn't it(does not it ?)
cubase 7.5.20 64bit ,halion 5
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win7 64bit 8gb
(PC Desktop AMD dual core win xp32 cubase 7-32)
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6 Kawai Mp4 Korg PA800.
cubasis,cubase ic pro
User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1199
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby iBM » Sat Apr 12, 2014 4:39 pm

Great :lol:

Where did i lay my meds? I need them fast :)
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems only.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 67 times

Re: Why Does Cubase Rune My Creativity Every Time?

Postby Dipmcus » Mon Jun 02, 2014 10:16 pm

If you're running low on bits, you can have my bucket. It's full of them.
Stuff, lots of it.
Dipmcus
New Member
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 3:50 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 1 time


Return to Steinberg Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests