7.5.20 Impressions...

Post general topics related to Cubase 7, Cubase Artist 7 and Cubase Elements 7 here.

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby greggybud » Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:12 pm

Dejanco wrote:
greggybud wrote:
Dejanco wrote:Always on top still dont work for plugins in second monitor.


How are you working? Do you mean plug-ins being hidden behind the full screen mix console? Or is your mix console simply maximized? Is your mixer set to AOT? I'm assuming your plugins are set to AOT.

See why with Steinberg giving the user so many options this gets confusing quickly?

AOT will work for plugins in any monitor as long as you keep everything in the Cubase "shell" and you have stretched that "shell" over all your monitors.
1. Don't have AOT turned on for mixers1-3. (you can tell the difference because the mixer corners are slightly sharper with AOT turned on)
2. Don't use mixers 1-3 in full screen mode.
3. Don't windows maximize the mixer

It works. I have been stretching Cubase over all 4 monitors since the days of CubaseSX with an expensive video card.



Does not work when it is included in the example Full Screen Monitor 2. It would be good if it worked. Looks nicer.


Yes, and I believe they know about it.
Plug-ins vanish behind the full screen mix console regardless of how many monitors you have. The only solution I know of is don't work with mix console at full screen. Instead just make the mix console as large as you can (without windows maximizing) and turn off AOT for the mix console. It won't look quite as nice and as Da da said you will lose a track of screen space.

The other way is to use a key command to turn on/off the full screen mix console so you can see the plug-in that is being hidden by the full screen mix console.
Windows 7 x64, Wavelab 8, Cubase 7.5 x64, i7, 16g, SSD, 4 monitors, iCon QconPro, 4 TB HD, UAD-2, NI, Waves Mercury, and way too many synthesizers.
User avatar
greggybud
Member
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Dejanco » Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:23 pm

It would be nice to work Full Screnn Mode. Otherwise, what is it for you if you can not use ...
Dejanco
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:05 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby hikarateboy » Thu Apr 10, 2014 5:21 pm

It seems ok however I experienced my first crash ever with cubase after installing and working on a previously created project, seemed ok the rest of the session but I did have a couple instances where it completely froze my computer for about 30 seconds and the session was not huge nor is my computer under powered. The point is I have never seen that before.

I also still have cpu spikes from 60% immediately to clipping thru out out the session even though I froze any tracks using cpu. This only showed up when I moved to 7. Guess I have some digging still to do.
Cubase 8, Win 8.1, AMD FX 6100 Black Edition, 16 gigs Ram, 2 graphics card, running 4 displays, RME Hamerfall 5296, 24 ch of A/D - I/O, CC121, Slate VCC, VTM & FG-X. Avatar taken in worlds record holder for quietest place on earth.
User avatar
hikarateboy
Junior Member
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:41 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby jluca » Thu Apr 10, 2014 5:43 pm

is possibile print score pdf under osx? external instruments could be saved as a preset? instrument rack is back on the slim version? thanks
jluca
Junior Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 7:46 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby studioton » Thu Apr 10, 2014 6:30 pm

Dejanco wrote:It would be nice to work Full Screnn Mode. Otherwise, what is it for you if you can not use ...


yes, not working in the full screen monitor 1 or 2 .. just working in the normal mode :) it would be nice if the steinberg include this fix in the next update !
User avatar
studioton
Junior Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:45 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Jalcide » Thu Apr 10, 2014 6:58 pm

hikarateboy wrote:Guess I have some digging still to do.


Yeah, I'm attempting to solve all my 3rd party plugin issues once and for all. New computer just for DAW, fresh Cubase install. Testing each plugin, one by one. If it crashes during install, use, during scanning, during plugin window updating or on close of Cubase, that it, it's gone. I will do zero troubleshooting on it. Cutting my losses and moving on.

So far, I did find one rotten apple in the bunch. Loved that plugin, too. :cry:
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

Rack-mounted DAW1 (Main): Cubase Pro 8.0.0 64-bit, Win 7 64-bit, i7-4770K @ 4.0GHz OC, Stock Cooling, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX Motherboard, 16 Gigs DDR3, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe card (UGT-FW200), Two 30" ACDs

Rack-mounted DAW2 (Real-time Mastering Chain connected to DAW1 via ADAT Optical): Reaper 64-bit, Win 7 64-bit, i5-4670K @ 4.0GHz, 16 Gigs DDR3, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, One 20" ACD
User avatar
Jalcide
Member
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby DenisSalois » Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:00 pm

@Jalcide - out of curiousity, which plugin was that ?
User avatar
DenisSalois
New Member
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 5:19 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby alexis » Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:04 pm

I don't have C7, but should be loading it up in the next week or two. So please forgive this ignorant question re: problems w/ "full screen" mixer ...

Why wouldn't hitting F3 to close the mixer and expose the VST/plug-in windows for editing be an effective and simple solution to the "hiding" problems described above? Then when finished in the VST/plug-in windows, hit F3 again to get the mixer up?

Thanks, I'm just doing what I can by reading the C7 forums to hit the ground running as much as possible when I load up the C7 I've purchased.
Last edited by alexis on Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro3; 0.2 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2439
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby d-_-b » Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:06 pm

Jalcide
That's exactly what i done last year , no other programs on my comp apart from Steinberg Cubase and Wavelab, Halion 5 , automap , UAD and a few very good plugin's and i have ZERO issues with loading and saving . Best move you'll make ;-)
Win 7-64 bit | Rme| Cubase Latest version 64 bit | CMC's | Halion 5
d-_-b
Junior Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Jalcide » Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:13 pm

DenisSalois wrote:@Jalcide - out of curiousity, which plugin was that ?


Mathew Lane's wonderful, DrMS spatial processor (basically a M/S control on steroids). Version 4.0.1; Windows, 64bit VST version; running under Windows 8.1 x64.

Such a great plugin, but I do have many other plugins that offer enough methods of M/S control, to cover my bases.

It'll probably take a few more days, but glad I'm doing this exercise.

Btw, this is under 7.5.10. I'm doing this refresh before the 7.5.20 update so that I have a clean 7.5.10 to revert to if .20 causes problems.

Painstaking, but once it's done, it's done -- I'll never have to do this again, cuz I've got a system in place now to image my drive before each update.


d-_-b wrote:Jalcide
That's exactly what i done last year , no other programs on my comp apart from Steinberg Cubase and Wavelab, Halion 5 , automap , UAD and a few very good plugin's and i have ZERO issues with loading and saving . Best move you'll make ;-)


Great to hear. Yeah, that's what I'm thinkin'.

Time to cull the herd and start from a place of known stability.

A computer that one has to update for work and other things is almost impossible to "snapshot" in a way that could actually be restored to, without too many other considerations. But a dedicated DAW computer -- no problem. Nothing important happens on it except the project files and sound libraries, which are saved on other drive(s).
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

Rack-mounted DAW1 (Main): Cubase Pro 8.0.0 64-bit, Win 7 64-bit, i7-4770K @ 4.0GHz OC, Stock Cooling, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX Motherboard, 16 Gigs DDR3, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe card (UGT-FW200), Two 30" ACDs

Rack-mounted DAW2 (Real-time Mastering Chain connected to DAW1 via ADAT Optical): Reaper 64-bit, Win 7 64-bit, i5-4670K @ 4.0GHz, 16 Gigs DDR3, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, One 20" ACD
User avatar
Jalcide
Member
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Xtigma » Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:57 pm

Just thought I would throw this in here...

A new icon was added for 'automation follows events' seems a little strange to just add this icon after all these years..

my guess?
Automation overhaul in v8... :)
Intel i7 64bit 16gb ram - Windows 8.1 - Rme Fireface UCX - Uad Octo - Uad quad
Xtigma
Junior Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:32 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby d-_-b » Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:20 pm

Jalcide wrote:
Great to hear. Yeah, that's what I'm thinkin'.

Time to cull the herd and start from a place of known stability.

A computer that one has to update for work and other things is almost impossible to "snapshot" in a way that could actually be restored to, without too many other considerations. But a dedicated DAW computer -- no problem. Nothing important happens on it except the project files and sound libraries, which are saved on other drive(s).


Im still running the same machine as you and because it's so dedicated , no other Daw software to conflict with it runs like a dream , no crashes , i use Camel plugin's and Alchemy , Sugar Bytes , Ill formed ,sonic charge , fabfilter and this 3770k with 32gb and SSD's and this thing flies for 7 hours a day ;-)
Win 7-64 bit | Rme| Cubase Latest version 64 bit | CMC's | Halion 5
d-_-b
Junior Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Jalcide » Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:50 pm

d-_-b wrote:
Jalcide wrote:
Great to hear. Yeah, that's what I'm thinkin'.

Time to cull the herd and start from a place of known stability.

A computer that one has to update for work and other things is almost impossible to "snapshot" in a way that could actually be restored to, without too many other considerations. But a dedicated DAW computer -- no problem. Nothing important happens on it except the project files and sound libraries, which are saved on other drive(s).


Im still running the same machine as you and because it's so dedicated , no other Daw software to conflict with it runs like a dream , no crashes , i use Camel plugin's and Alchemy , Sugar Bytes , Ill formed ,sonic charge , fabfilter and this 3770k with 32gb and SSD's and this thing flies for 7 hours a day ;-)


Nice!

Cubase, since 7.04 has been amazingly stable for me, 3rd party plugins aside. But I'm looking forward even more stability with plugins and peace of mind when updating. Waves v9r15 took me out of commission for several months. I was especially busy with day job, so it worked out, but I can't let that happen again.

Ha, just noticed Waves release v9r18 yesterday. Here we go again. This time, I'm ready!

I need to update my signature, this new dedicated DAW is actually a i7 4770K. Too early to tell, but it looks like it will be beating my overclocked 3770K, even without much OC -- slightly. I think the floating point is getting better with these new processors (finally). The 3770K is still a beast though, no need to upgrade for that alone.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

Rack-mounted DAW1 (Main): Cubase Pro 8.0.0 64-bit, Win 7 64-bit, i7-4770K @ 4.0GHz OC, Stock Cooling, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX Motherboard, 16 Gigs DDR3, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe card (UGT-FW200), Two 30" ACDs

Rack-mounted DAW2 (Real-time Mastering Chain connected to DAW1 via ADAT Optical): Reaper 64-bit, Win 7 64-bit, i5-4670K @ 4.0GHz, 16 Gigs DDR3, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, One 20" ACD
User avatar
Jalcide
Member
 
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Has thanked: 19 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby renepmuzik » Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:51 pm

Loving the update so far, many great bugfixes. But I've noticed 2 weird things after 2 full days of usage. Dotted horizontal crosshair artifact (when moving midi clips left/right) and rare selection rectangle disappearance. More details here:
viewtopic.php?f=184&t=58211

Anyone else had this?
Win7 x64 / Win 8.1 / OSX Mavericks
Cubase 8 Pro
renepmuzik
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:24 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby d-_-b » Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:57 pm

Jalcide wrote:Nice!

Cubase, since 7.04 has been amazingly stable for me, 3rd party plugins aside. But I'm looking forward even more stability with plugins and peace of mind when updating. Waves v9r15 took me out of commission for several months. I was especially busy with day job, so it worked out, but I can't let that happen again.

Ha, just noticed Waves release v9r18 yesterday. Here we go again. This time, I'm ready!

I need to update my signature, this new dedicated DAW is actually a i7 4770K. Too early to tell, but it looks like it will be beating my overclocked 3770K, even without much OC -- slightly. I think the floating point is getting better with these new processors (finally). The 3770K is still a beast though, no need to upgrade for that alone.


Go for it , This 3770k i bought 2 weeks before the 4770k was available so it's still pretty new and with no new software apart from cubase updates being installed ( of course i have the spare cloned ssd for the fail save ) it's as you say a monster , mean and lean and lean is just the way you need to keep it if you want a stable DAW ;-)
Even Automap is nearly perfect ;)
Win 7-64 bit | Rme| Cubase Latest version 64 bit | CMC's | Halion 5
d-_-b
Junior Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Rommelaar » Thu Apr 10, 2014 9:32 pm

Great update, no more Vsti dropouts, and now I can have a buffersize of 128 in my audio-interface without pops and CLICKs.
Rig: i7-5960X, Asus X99 Deluxe, Corsair LPX DDR4 32 GB RAM, 3 x 24" LED, Windows 8.1 64-bit
Audio hardware:Waldorf Blofeld & Pulse 2, Akai MAX49, Steinberg UR44, Steinberg CMC: AI, 4xFD, CH, QC, TP, PD
Steinberg Software: Cubase Pro 8, Wavelab 8.5, Halion 5, Padshop Pro, Grand 3, Absolute VST Collection, Groove Agent 4
User avatar
Rommelaar
Junior Member
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 4:09 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby sambosun » Thu Apr 10, 2014 9:52 pm

Guillermo wrote:Hello,

sambosun wrote:
Antonio Escobar wrote:No EuCon or Video Out fixes (major errors, btw). Maybe in Cubase 8...


Oh no. And probably also no fix on the editMode which is broken since 7.5.10.


This is not a bug!
That is a Nuendo only feature.

Best regards,
GN


Thanks for the info Guillermo,

I'll have to sell Cubase then.
Using Tapatalk
sambosun
Junior Member
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2014 5:10 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 11 times

7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby AP » Thu Apr 10, 2014 10:02 pm

So far mixing and remixing with 7.5 feels as solid as 6.5 but way faster...

Thanks for all the improvements including reset EQ in the edit channel window :D
Cubase 7.5.30, 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OSX 10.10 UR28M, CMC.
User avatar
AP
Member
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Has thanked: 46 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby serenity » Fri Apr 11, 2014 1:22 am

My Cubase dont now crash while loading projects. Thank you Steinberg for update.
Pawel

Windows 7 Pro 64 bit / Cubase 8 Pro 64 Bit / RME Fireface 400
User avatar
serenity
Member
 
Posts: 490
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:35 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby claesbjo » Fri Apr 11, 2014 5:49 am

I´m impressed with this update. ASIO guard is much better and audiowarping is much improved.

Thanks Steinberg!
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. OSX Mavericks. Cubase 7.5.2, Logic PRO 10.0.6
claesbjo
Member
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 25 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby jluca » Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:24 am

I was so excited about the new update and I went to test in my friend in studio....... :D

Melodyne works better but still crash cubase when removed from the insert slot.....I've tried with Asio Guard Enabled and latency from 32 to 2048.... always same, this is a very important application, I don't think there is some professional user without Melodyne on their weapons. For me is a big part of my job for voices arranging and effects on guitar tracks. I don't care about GUI problems I can survive with these issue of course, but the space waste is more more more than before.... very hard to use on Macbook. I don't know who designed the Interface but is not a musician of course :lol:
I've noticed also the Vst connection External FX cannot be saved since Cubase 4, it's so hard to do it?
New Control Room looks good but Mono/Stereo doesn't work why? I cannot ear the mono.
Instrument Rack is toooooooo big c'mon make it slim like before by user choice.

In this moment Cubase 7.5.20 is not compatible with my workflow... I will stay on C6.5 for a loooooong time.. when cubase will "work as expected".

Im on Mac probably everything works better on PC....
jluca
Junior Member
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 7:46 am
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby KDEF2004 » Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:58 am

The best cubase/update ever!!! My computer feels faster... Midi timing is tighter... :shock: Hitpoints work as expected... Audiowarp works as expected... My color scheme looks insane... My mixer does not open wide no more(f3)... No more pop/crackle ASIO crap... and yet, more still to discover. Just my impression at the moment.

Great Job!

PS. If we can get polyphonic material with VariAudio and Multiple tracks using AudioWarp (ala Pro...T) in CB8. I'm straight.
HP ENVY 17 Notebook PC TOUCH
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4510U CPU @ 2.00GHz
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
12GB DDR3 System Memory, 1.5TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive,17.3-inch (1920 x 1080)
Beats Audio C8.0 X64 WIN8.1 X64 Reason 7,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://soundcloud.com/kdef
User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby vespesian » Fri Apr 11, 2014 7:05 am

Great update, ASIO way smoother, super stable...and thank god those f%^&* mute bugs were fixed.
vespesian
Junior Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby theRoyal1 » Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:31 am

renepmuzik wrote:Loving the update so far, many great bugfixes. But I've noticed 2 weird things after 2 full days of usage. Dotted horizontal crosshair artifact (when moving midi clips left/right) and rare selection rectangle disappearance. More details here:
viewtopic.php?f=184&t=58211

Anyone else had this?

Confirmed, I thought it was just me...

Also I'm getting a little more lag in terms of video. Zooming, scrolling etc...
Doesn't affect the audio


:geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 1600 | MSI BigBang XPower II | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | Corsair H100 | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | SanDiskSSDX12 + Samsung 840EVO 1TB + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 8 64bit
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Maschine Studio | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 306
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby studioton » Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:43 am

This is the best update ever ! Thanks steinberg
User avatar
studioton
Junior Member
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:45 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 8 times

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests