7.5.20 Impressions...

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Steve Helstrip » Fri Apr 11, 2014 1:30 pm

KDEF2004 wrote:...Hitpoints work as expected... Audiowarp works as expected... My color scheme looks insane... My mixer does not open wide no more(f3)... No more pop/crackle ASIO crap... and yet, more still to discover. Just my impression at the moment.


So basically, what we paid for over 1 year ago is now usable! Yay to that :)
Mac Pro i7, 12Gb, OSX10.9 MacBook Pro i7, 4Gb, OSX10.9
Cubase 7.5.20
Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial
User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Fri Apr 11, 2014 1:36 pm

Steve Helstrip wrote:
KDEF2004 wrote:...Hitpoints work as expected... Audiowarp works as expected... My color scheme looks insane... My mixer does not open wide no more(f3)... No more pop/crackle ASIO crap... and yet, more still to discover. Just my impression at the moment.


So basically, what we paid for over 1 year ago is now usable! Yay to that :)


no forgetting the paid downgrades. you also paid for the engineers to go into the code and disable edit mode for scoring to picture in cubase.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.2, c6
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, ...

http://www.lukasturza.com
lukasbrooklyn
Member
 
Posts: 674
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 55 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby iBM » Fri Apr 11, 2014 1:38 pm

lukasbrooklyn wrote:[you also paid for the engineers to go into the code and disable edit mode for scoring to picture in cubase.

After someone enabled it ;)
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems only.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 68 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Dejanco » Fri Apr 11, 2014 2:12 pm

studioton wrote:This is the best update ever ! Thanks steinberg

+1
Dejanco
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:05 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby worxone » Fri Apr 11, 2014 2:59 pm

I think, a bug is found.

1) Import any mp3 file into (empty) project.
2) Divide it by scissors in any place.
3) Delete any of the divided part. One part will remain.
4) Open the pool and select "Minimize File" on imported file, then do not save project, press "Later" button (but if you'll press "Save Now" button you'll got the same result).
5) Then in the project window try to open the sample editor by doubleclickin' this remained part - Cubase will crash.

Can anyone confirm this?
worxone
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:40 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby BriHar » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:18 pm

Generally I'm very happy with the update. I was a little disappointed to see that with the revamping of the control room, they still forgot (once again) to include the AI control coding for many of the controls - i.e. there are still a number of controls which do not respond to the AI knob!
Regarding the AOT, they need to add a AMOT ('aways more on top' or AOOT 'over the top') :lol: But seriously, they could perhaps use an organizational layering technique so that one can specify what is truly "on top". I trust however that this will become a mute point once they properly redo the windowing system architecture (originally planned for 7 but now I believe scheduled for 8) so I don't anticipate anything before the next major version.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1913
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby jxm » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:26 pm

Maxim Komov wrote:Here we go again :lol:

Working on 7.5.20 for last week. Seems stable so far. But I'm doing more work in Reaper these days, cuz I'm tired of Cubase ugly and buggy mixer.

Steinberg! Hire a good UI designer! Your software costs a lot of money, you can afford it :mrgreen:


I have both Reaper and Cubase 7.5.20,
Cubase is work of art. Reaper is functional but requires a lot of custom UI config to look decent.

For Cubase -- besides being very user friendly (except the H/W rack for UR44) , it is a beautiful UI. I record using dual 24" monitors on windows but I mix on a 27" iMac where it is an amazing visual experience.

Many thanks to Steinberg for this update!

P.S. - Get rid of the dongle - it's not laptop friendly
jxm
New Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:32 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby renepmuzik » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:28 pm

theRoyal1 wrote:
renepmuzik wrote:Loving the update so far, many great bugfixes. But I've noticed 2 weird things after 2 full days of usage. Dotted horizontal crosshair artifact (when moving midi clips left/right) and rare selection rectangle disappearance. More details here:
viewtopic.php?f=184&t=58211

Anyone else had this?

Confirmed, I thought it was just me...

Also I'm getting a little more lag in terms of video. Zooming, scrolling etc...
Doesn't affect the audio


:geek:


Great, then it's not just me. Plus my friend has the same thing on his setup, after update.

I haven't noticed any GUI lag though, feels exactly same as earlier version.
Win7 x64
Cubase 7.5.20 32bit
Radeon HD 6950
renepmuzik
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:24 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:32 pm

BriHar wrote: trust however that this will become a mute point once they properly redo the windowing system architecture (originally planned for 7 but now I believe scheduled for 8) so I don't anticipate anything before the next major version.


what is the source of this bit of info btw?
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.2, c6
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, ...

http://www.lukasturza.com
lukasbrooklyn
Member
 
Posts: 674
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 55 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby lordadb » Fri Apr 11, 2014 4:58 pm

worxone wrote:I think, a bug is found.

1) Import any mp3 file into (empty) project.
2) Divide it by scissors in any place.
3) Delete any of the divided part. One part will remain.
4) Open the pool and select "Minimize File" on imported file, then do not save project, press "Later" button (but if you'll press "Save Now" button you'll got the same result).
5) Then in the project window try to open the sample editor by doubleclickin' this remained part - Cubase will crash.

Can anyone confirm this?

No, I tried to do it with no bad result. Everything is gone well.

worxone wrote:press "Later" button

Where? I divided the mp3 by scissor, keeping just one part. When I'm in the pool and choose "Minimize file", Cubase does it and stop.
User avatar
lordadb
Junior Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby worxone » Fri Apr 11, 2014 9:04 pm

Where? I divided the mp3 by scissor, keeping just one part. When I'm in the pool and choose "Minimize file", Cubase does it and stop.


After minimizing it does always for me:

Image

Cubase 7.5.20 , Win7 x64

Btw, Cubase 7 doesn't have this crash issue for me.
worxone
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:40 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby estrica2000 » Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:26 pm

it works has i expected many months ago! which is nice because now seems pretty stable but not nice since i shouldn't had to wait so long for this, so please Steiny don't do this again.

dee
estrica2000
Junior Member
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Rotund » Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:52 pm

I have both Reaper and Cubase 7.5.20,
Cubase is work of art. Reaper is functional but requires a lot of custom UI config to look decent.


All I had to do with Reaper was download the White Tie Imperial Theme.

http://www.houseofwhitetie.com/reaper/imperial/wt_imperial.html

Check it out if you haven't already, (It has been available for quite some time now)
It looks absolutely amazing! Professional, Functional, Solid.
Worth a look if you haven't seen it. The swiping of controls to enable
track arm, mute, solo etc. on multiple tracks is also very fast and works perfectly.
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Studio One, Raydat, UAD X 2, UM-3EX, Glyph eSata Audio Drive, 6TB Storage, U-He ACE, Arturia Moog Modular & Jupiter8v, Korg Legacy (MS-20, MonoPoly, Wavestation), Portico 5043/5033.

Outboard:
AKG 414-B XLII (Matched Pair), AKG D 112, Neumann TLM-193, GrooveTubes GT-66, Shure SM-81 (Pair), Sennheiser e604 (3pack), SM-57 (Many), Beta SM-57, AT-3035, Many More, Panasonic DA-7, Event 20/20p, Alesis Monitor One, Philips MMS321 Multimedia Speakers, TLAudio, HHB, JoeMeek, dbx, Moog Model D, Nordlead 2, Korg MS2000, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo, Acoustic Drum Kit, Fender Stratocaster (USA), Ibanez EXSeries Bass, Laney VC-30.
User avatar
Rotund
Member
 
Posts: 413
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby d-_-b » Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:00 pm

11 hours constant today and not a quiver .Absolutely rock solid and i will stick my neck on the line here and say that that was the perfect session ;-)

Love it Steinberg ,in 27 years this is the most stable Cubase ive ever used ;-)
Win 7-64 bit | Rme| Cubase Latest version 64 bit | CMC's | Halion 5
d-_-b
Junior Member
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: R: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby lordadb » Fri Apr 11, 2014 11:03 pm

worxone wrote:
Where? I divided the mp3 by scissor, keeping just one part. When I'm in the pool and choose "Minimize file", Cubase does it and stop.


After minimizing it does always for me:

Image

Cubase 7.5.20 , Win7 x64

Btw, Cubase 7 doesn't have this crash issue for me.


That's strange. I have no such a warning. Are you tried to change files? When importing mp3, did you choose "copy file in working directory" (or something like this)?
User avatar
lordadb
Junior Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: R: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby worxone » Sat Apr 12, 2014 12:15 am

lordadb wrote:
That's strange. I have no such a warning. Are you tried to change files? When importing mp3, did you choose "copy file in working directory" (or something like this)?


lordadb, Thanks for trying to help me! ;)

Yes, I tried change properties "copy file in working directory", result is the same crash. But something is start clearing up after a few hours of the hard searching. When the option "automatic hitpoint detection" is turned OFF - Cubase works without this crash! But, I find strange that you do not have "You should save the project now!" alert, because it must be. :? You just can open the Operation Manual PDF for Cubase 7.5, and there on page 390 (The Pool) you will see this:

Operation Manual Cubase 7.5 wrote:
1.Select the file(s) you wish to minimize.
2.Select “Minimize File” on the Media menu.
An alert appears, informing you that the entire Edit History will be cleared. Click Minimize to proceed or Cancel to stop the process.
3.After the minimizing is finished, another alert appears, because the file references in the stored project have become invalid.
Click Save Now to save the updated project or click Later to proceed with the unsaved project.


This implies, that this "You should save the project now!" alert is must be there, but nothing is happened in your case after minimizing. Strange behavior, is bug-like.
worxone
New Member
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 04, 2014 4:40 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby AP » Sat Apr 12, 2014 1:04 am

I've been working hard with 7.5 for around 4 months without any issues or crashes. It's rock solid :D
Cubase 7.5.20, 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OSX 10.9.4 UR28M, CMC.
User avatar
AP
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Has thanked: 34 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby paulpaul » Sat Apr 12, 2014 2:08 am

Cubase is totally stable and a joy to work with on my MacBook Pro.
Awesome!
Regards,
Paul
Cubase 7.5.2 - Macbook Pro Mid 2010 - MAC OS 10.9.2 - Lots of Plug Ins - SPL Crimson
paulpaul
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2014 7:44 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Richard Herbert » Sat Apr 12, 2014 2:29 am

lukasbrooklyn wrote:
Steve Helstrip wrote:
KDEF2004 wrote:...Hitpoints work as expected... Audiowarp works as expected... My color scheme looks insane... My mixer does not open wide no more(f3)... No more pop/crackle ASIO crap... and yet, more still to discover. Just my impression at the moment.


So basically, what we paid for over 1 year ago is now usable! Yay to that :)


no forgetting the paid downgrades. you also paid for the engineers to go into the code and disable edit mode for scoring to picture in cubase.


AFAIK the edit mode is a Nuendo feature. If you want that feature I think you should have a Nuendo licence.

Be nice to have it in Cubase though.
Richard Herbert
Junior Member
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:03 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby PMF » Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:22 am

Working absolutely fine here too. Thanks for the update guys.
Multitrack/Mastering HW: ASUS P8Z77-V LX, i7 3770 3.4GHZ, 16GB RAM, Graphics: ATI Radeon HD7750, 2 HD Seagate ST2000DX001: SYS C: 2TB, Data E:2TB, 1 ST2000DM001: Backup 2TB, Soundcard RME HDSP 9652, ADAT HD24, OS WIN-7 64bit, Cubase 7.5.20 64bit, Sequel3 and Samplitude PRO-X 64bit.
User avatar
PMF
Junior Member
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:18 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: R: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby lordadb » Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:34 am

worxone wrote:
lordadb wrote:
That's strange. I have no such a warning. Are you tried to change files? When importing mp3, did you choose "copy file in working directory" (or something like this)?


lordadb, Thanks for trying to help me! ;)

Yes, I tried change properties "copy file in working directory", result is the same crash. But something is start clearing up after a few hours of the hard searching. When the option "automatic hitpoint detection" is turned OFF - Cubase works without this crash! But, I find strange that you do not have "You should save the project now!" alert, because it must be. :? You just can open the Operation Manual PDF for Cubase 7.5, and there on page 390 (The Pool) you will see this:

Operation Manual Cubase 7.5 wrote:
1.Select the file(s) you wish to minimize.
2.Select “Minimize File” on the Media menu.
An alert appears, informing you that the entire Edit History will be cleared. Click Minimize to proceed or Cancel to stop the process.
3.After the minimizing is finished, another alert appears, because the file references in the stored project have become invalid.
Click Save Now to save the updated project or click Later to proceed with the unsaved project.


This implies, that this "You should save the project now!" alert is must be there, but nothing is happened in your case after minimizing. Strange behavior, is bug-like.


What about your project settings? Sample rate?
Maybe, working at 48 KHz as I did, Cubase converts the files (pop window asks me if I want to do it and I flag yes, so already there's a new version of original file). Now, I'll try to work at 44.1 KHz...

EDIT: Nothing happens, no alert for me and my file get minimized with no issue. Maybe, again, because anyway Cubase converts mp3 to wav during import, so it isn't "original file". I don't know.
Last edited by lordadb on Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
lordadb
Junior Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby theRoyal1 » Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:57 am

K, As I stated earlier I am getting Video/display Lagging when I zoom in. The audio is not affected but the video stutters.

Now, I am also having issues w/ Track versions. Either I haven't grasped the way to handle it or there is a bug.

Every time a make a track version Multiple instruments get copied.

So if I just want my bass line to have a copy it seems to be copying every added track version and adding a new instrument..

I'm going to research further but this is kicking my mass right now..lol

Other than that..loving the update.


:geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 @ 1600 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | MSI BigBang XPower II | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | 2x SanDiskSSDX12 + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Corsair H100 | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI
Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby droutloaf » Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:12 am

So far it's been stable for me. I definitely enjoy the change to the control room UI (still wish it were the pre v7 CR) as I don't have to constantly click tabs and pause to search for functions. I do wish they hadn't broken the "save selected channels" in the mixer for instrument tracks again though; it really makes for mixing an album a royal PITA. anyway, so far, so good(mostly).
Cubase 6.5, Cubase 7, Pro Tools 9, RME Fireface 800, Fireface UCX, A-Designs MP2A, Lavry AD10, Audient ASP008, Peavey 6505+, Mesa Boogie Mark V, Boogie Cabinet, Bogner Cabinet
droutloaf
Member
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:46 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby lordadb » Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:32 am

I notice that my mixconsole (cubase in generally) doesn't look good with color shades, but it's flat, everything is blue/gray. I saw other screen around the web with beautiful shades on mixconsole. I don't remeber if 7.5.10 looks so, anyway I'm curious to know why...
Win 7 64 bit, ATI Radeon HD 4850. Any idea?
User avatar
lordadb
Junior Member
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby theRoyal1 » Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:47 am

renepmuzik wrote:Loving the update so far, many great bugfixes. But I've noticed 2 weird things after 2 full days of usage. Dotted horizontal crosshair artifact (when moving midi clips left/right) and rare selection rectangle disappearance. More details here:
viewtopic.php?f=184&t=58211

Anyone else had this?
Just realized, This isn't a glitch!!

The lines are there so when you drag something across you can see a straight line.
Once you drag to another track the lines disappear so imo, I think it's a visual tool to help in keeping stuff easier to move around


:geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz | 32GB GEIL Evo Corsa DDR3 @ 1600 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | MSI BigBang XPower II | Enermax Platimax 1200w 80+ Platinum | 2x SanDiskSSDX12 + 2x WD2500 HDD+ 2xWD4001 HDD | Corsair H100 | Coolermaster Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI
Main Gear: Access Virus Ti ,Virus C | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Roland XV-5080, JV-2080 | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU 2408mk3, MidiXT | Mackie HR824 | Seiki SE50UY04
theRoyal1
Member
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 24 times

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests