7.5.20 Impressions...

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby d-_-b » Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:56 am

One man's bug is another man's feature ;-) It doesn't pay to cry wolf for some people as the masterminds will soon put you right ;-)
Win 7-64 bit | Rme| Cubase Latest version 64 bit | CMC's | Halion 5
d-_-b
Junior Member
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm
Has thanked: 27 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Przemek K. » Sat Apr 12, 2014 1:24 pm

lukasbrooklyn wrote:no forgetting the paid downgrades. you also paid for the engineers to go into the code and disable edit mode for scoring to picture in cubase.


Exactly, It was great using the edit mode with 7.5.0, so why did they take it away? I hope they give it back with 7.5.30.
Przemek K.
New Member
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:26 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby jpgtr » Sat Apr 12, 2014 1:53 pm

jluca wrote:I don't care about GUI problems I can survive with these issue of course, but the space waste is more more more than before.... very hard to use on Macbook.


Not sure what you mean here. You can modify any window to any size you wish. Yes, there are some things that still work better in 6.5 (less troublesome to access and modify sends, inserts, etc), but v7 is leaps and bounds more customizable in terms of appearance and setting up information you need on screen.

Im on Mac probably everything works better on PC....


Read through more threads (checking signatures) and you'll see the grass is not necessarily greener on the other side of that fence...
2012 Mac Pro 10.9.4, 24 GB RAM, Cubase 7.5 (and 6.0.7), UAD-2 Duo
jpgtr
Member
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 3:06 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby iBM » Sat Apr 12, 2014 4:15 pm

Przemek K. wrote:Exactly, It was great using the edit mode with 7.5.0, so why did they take it away? I hope they give it back with 7.5.30.

Because that was a reverse engineered hack, of a feature exclusive to Nuendo.
And you don't have to be a genius to grasp that Cubase and Nuendo share a great amount of the same code.
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby jxm » Sat Apr 12, 2014 5:46 pm

Rotund wrote:
I have both Reaper and Cubase 7.5.20,
Cubase is work of art. Reaper is functional but requires a lot of custom UI config to look decent.


All I had to do with Reaper was download the White Tie Imperial Theme.

http://www.houseofwhitetie.com/reaper/imperial/wt_imperial.html

Check it out if you haven't already, (It has been available for quite some time now)
It looks absolutely amazing! Professional, Functional, Solid.
Worth a look if you haven't seen it. The swiping of controls to enable
track arm, mute, solo etc. on multiple tracks is also very fast and works perfectly.


Thanks for the tip!
jxm
New Member
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:32 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby fenderchris » Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:30 pm

Rommelaar wrote:Great update, no more Vsti dropouts, and now I can have a buffersize of 128 in my audio-interface without pops and CLICKs.


This is weird - some people seem to be reporting INCREASED latency after installing the update.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

i7 Quad core 2.66 15GB ram, Windows-7 64-bit, Nuendo-5.5.6 64-bit, Wavelab-6, 2x MR816CSX, RME FireFace UFX, SmartAV Tango, MOTU Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Halion-5, Kontakt-5, Roland V-Drums TD-20X
Cubase iC Pro for Android
Omnisphere, Trillian + loads of real instruments.
User avatar
fenderchris
Member
 
Posts: 548
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Jenks » Sun Apr 13, 2014 1:03 am

fenderchris wrote:This is weird - some people seem to be reporting INCREASED latency after installing the update.


There may be a subtlety working here.

I have seen a very slight increase in the average "VST Performance" meter (green bar) but now the real-time value (red bar) is not randomly hitting the top (for no obvious reason) and causing an overload indication on the virtual LED at the top of the meter.

I can easily get the average VST Performance back down again by increasing the buffer size in the ASIO driver (thereby increasing latency). There is no point, in my set-up, since the average VST Performance is still less than 20% on the meter and the random real-time peaking that used to occur has now stopped (or at least significantly reduced). In fact, I can now reduce the buffer size (and therefore the latency) without the average performance going above 25%. Others though may have had their average VST performance nudged "over the edge" and so have to increase the buffer size (and therefore latency) to compensate.

This might go some way to account for some of us reporting less latency and other more.
Dual Boot Win 7 Sp1-64, Win 8.1-64 : Yamaha FW Driver 1.6.5 : C7.5.20 64-bit with Motif and N12 extensions : Motif XS8 : Yamaha N12 : Mackie Control : MOX6 : Behringer X32
Jenks
Member
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby renepmuzik » Sun Apr 13, 2014 1:46 pm

theRoyal1 wrote:
renepmuzik wrote:Loving the update so far, many great bugfixes. But I've noticed 2 weird things after 2 full days of usage. Dotted horizontal crosshair artifact (when moving midi clips left/right) and rare selection rectangle disappearance. More details here:
viewtopic.php?f=184&t=58211

Anyone else had this?
Just realized, This isn't a glitch!!

The lines are there so when you drag something across you can see a straight line.
Once you drag to another track the lines disappear so imo, I think it's a visual tool to help in keeping stuff easier to move around

:geek:


I'm not so sure about that. Move around back-n-forth while holding mouse and you get some weird lines. Doubt if it's a new feature :) Seems more like a crosshair redraw glitch
snip.PNG
artifact
(27.52 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Win7 x64
Cubase 7.5.20 32bit
Radeon HD 6950
renepmuzik
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:24 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby noise » Sun Apr 13, 2014 1:54 pm

Svenne wrote:Pity though, that there still seems to be no Key Commands for the Cue Channels buttons. It would have been great when controlling Cubase from IC Pro. Well, maybe in the future.


Can't you just add one in the Key Commands?
noise
noise
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:13 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby noise » Sun Apr 13, 2014 2:05 pm

Really like the new update. Much more readable over all with the increased contrast, and the lines with the divit is a great indicator that there are controls accessible below.

Would really love to be able to change the colour of the mixers metal body (so that the channels would be darker vertically).

I looked into the package and there is alot of fixed content, patches there. Perhaps list all the fixes that you do. GIve's us an excuse to explore the changes.

No UI issues or performance issues here so far. Mac iMac, OSX 10.8.5 with extra monitor.

Keep it up guys!

Gute Arbeit! Schnell! Schnell! (got that out of a movie so I think that's correct)
noise
noise
New Member
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 9:13 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby xphen0m » Sun Apr 13, 2014 2:46 pm

I absolutely love how MIDI notes have a corresponding color for their velocity in the piano roll. I loved that in REAPER and I love it here. :)
xphen0m
New Member
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 2:19 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Frog » Sun Apr 13, 2014 5:33 pm

xphen0m wrote:I absolutely love how MIDI notes have a corresponding color for their velocity in the piano roll. I loved that in REAPER and I love it here. :)


Lots of useful options in the Event Colors pop up. Besides Velocity, Pitch is another one I use frequently.
i5 MBP, internal SSDx2, OSX 10.9.2, Apollo Quad, Cubase 7.5.2, HAlion 5, guitars
User avatar
Frog
New Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 1:50 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Guillermo » Mon Apr 14, 2014 8:14 am

Hello,

Przemek K. wrote:
lukasbrooklyn wrote:no forgetting the paid downgrades. you also paid for the engineers to go into the code and disable edit mode for scoring to picture in cubase.


Exactly, It was great using the edit mode with 7.5.0, so why did they take it away? I hope they give it back with 7.5.30.


It is not coming back as, I already mentioned on many other posts and threads "Edit Mode" its a Nuendo only feature.

Best regards,
GN
Guillermo Navarrete, Online Product Specialist
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Guillermo
Moderator
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:50 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby BriHar » Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:41 am

lukasbrooklyn wrote:
BriHar wrote: trust however that this will become a mute point once they properly redo the windowing system architecture (originally planned for 7 but now I believe scheduled for 8) so I don't anticipate anything before the next major version.


what is the source of this bit of info btw?

From an early Cubase 7 Musotalk (german) video interview (Youtube) with a.o. Helge Vogt and a few of the actual Beta testers.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 7.5.30 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1929
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 134 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Ian s » Mon Apr 14, 2014 11:18 am

xphen0m wrote:I absolutely love how MIDI notes have a corresponding color for their velocity in the piano roll. I loved that in REAPER and I love it here. :)



That's been around for a long long time - since C5 at least. It's the default colouring option - others being MIDI channel etc.
C7.06 | W7 | MR816CSX | CC121| ES-175D | Es-345
Ian s
Junior Member
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:09 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby HowlingUlf » Mon Apr 14, 2014 12:35 pm

Ian s wrote:
xphen0m wrote:I absolutely love how MIDI notes have a corresponding color for their velocity in the piano roll. I loved that in REAPER and I love it here. :)



That's been around for a long long time - since C5 at least. It's the default colouring option - others being MIDI channel etc.


It's not enough to mention C5 for that feature. It's been there at least since C5 VST32 ... it's probably been there since Cubase left its black/white pre history? ;)
Gothenburg, Sweden
Cubase 7.5 32 | Intel i7 860 | 8GB | Win7 64 | Emu 1820M | BCR2000 | MPD16 via MIDI
and a few cables ... and some more stuff ... and even more than that, would you believe it ?!!?
User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby HowlingUlf » Mon Apr 14, 2014 12:38 pm

Just about all the little features in C7 -> C7.5.20 is exactly what I like when I see it. People are different. Right now I'm very happy with the directions Cubase is heading in!!! 8-) 8-) 8-)
Gothenburg, Sweden
Cubase 7.5 32 | Intel i7 860 | 8GB | Win7 64 | Emu 1820M | BCR2000 | MPD16 via MIDI
and a few cables ... and some more stuff ... and even more than that, would you believe it ?!!?
User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1571
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby abyss » Mon Apr 14, 2014 12:54 pm

Hey i like it ....

sure the things i want to see like Zoom being remembered in configs is not there but I'm sure they will get there eventually

Good Job Steiny !
abyss
Junior Member
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 7:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby Sam_Sam » Mon Apr 14, 2014 1:21 pm

abyss wrote:Hey i like it ....

sure the things i want to see like Zoom being remembered in configs is not there but I'm sure they will get there eventually

+1
Sam_Sam
New Member
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 11:47 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby chris995 » Mon Apr 14, 2014 2:37 pm

Would love to know the majority advice on this.

Im currently on the previous update and very happily working away, I'm using cubase in a full time capacity so question is the update worth it or am i better not touching anything, if its not broke etc...?
chris995
Junior Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:02 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby iBM » Mon Apr 14, 2014 2:53 pm

chris995 wrote:Would love to know the majority advice on this.

Im currently on the previous update and very happily working away, I'm using cubase in a full time capacity so question is the update worth it or am i better not touching anything, if its not broke etc...?

Ask G-string :mrgreen:
TSR - Now a division under The Tower Studio Suite - Run by my uncles nephew

Win7/Win8 x64 | Intel i5 2500/3570K | 16 GB RAM | MOTU PCIe-424 w/ 24io x 2 / 2408 / 308
Cubase 6.5.5 - Nuendo 5.5.6 | CC121 | Slate Digital | Softube | Sonnox | SoundToys | +++
C7.5/N6 is installed on several test systems.
Dynaudio BM15A | Universal Audio 8110/LA-610SE/2-610 | TLAudio 5052/C1/PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000/M3000/M-One/D-Two | +++
User avatar
iBM
Member
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:49 am
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby G-string » Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:01 pm

Oh thank you iBM
Thank you for the kind welcome back from my months prison sentence ;-)

The question is Chris995 is there anything you need to update for ? As you say if it isn't broken ;-)

First impression is Cubase runs smooth , graphics are ok , Asio doesn't spike now , the control room still suffers with *flower* loads of latency issues , try it for yourself , disable the control room and everything is tighter , re-enable the control room and your forever fighting latency ............... I feel another Ban coming on ;)
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b
G-string
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK
Has thanked: 843 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Tue Apr 15, 2014 12:30 am

possibly unimportant to most, i am glad the new update fixes the "show channels connected to the first selected channel" command. this previously only displayed channels routed to and from a selected channel, but omitted any busses routed to via sends.

i am still waiting for 'channel zapping' using control+click to be restored. :/
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.2, c6
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, ...

http://www.lukasturza.com
lukasbrooklyn
Member
 
Posts: 700
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby matz67 » Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:29 am

if I install 7.5 as an update to 5 can I still use 5?
matz67
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2014 1:54 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: 7.5.20 Impressions...

Postby AP » Tue Apr 15, 2014 2:50 am

matz67 wrote:if I install 7.5 as an update to 5 can I still use 5?


I have 6.5, 7 and 7.5 all installed as separate applications on my MBP. As well as many other members on this forum.

If you click on the first page of this topic you will notice other members are also running Cubase 5 to 7.5 all as seperate applications. I beleive the same goes for Mac and PC.

Cheers :)
Cubase 7.5.30, 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OSX 10.9.5 UR28M, CMC.
User avatar
AP
Member
 
Posts: 212
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Has thanked: 35 times
Been thanked: 33 times

PreviousNext

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests