VSTi sidechain input

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

VSTi sidechain input

Postby Cubic Spline » Thu Apr 17, 2014 9:31 am

Hello,

Why is vst3 side chain input on instruments missing ?
This has never worked since cubase 4 and has been a feature request ever since. Now the sidechain button isn't showing at all.

Will this get fixed one day ?

Thanks.
Cubic Spline
New Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VSTi sidechain input

Postby BriHar » Thu Apr 17, 2014 1:45 pm

You're saying it worked before Cubase 4? So its broken functionality and not a FR.
Could you describe where said button is/was to be found on any given VST3 instrument?
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1913
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: VSTi sidechain input

Postby Cubic Spline » Thu Apr 17, 2014 3:52 pm

It has never worked, because before cubase 4 there wasn't VST3.

Sidechain input is part of the VST3 specification, but has never been implemented on cubase for instruments.

There is a link about that and a steinberg statement, 5 years ago : http://www.infekted.org/virus/showthread.php?t=31437
Cubic Spline
New Member
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: VSTi sidechain input

Postby msy » Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:11 am

You are not alone in wanting this feature since Cubase 4. I guess all owners of Virus TI wants this.
But it is probably never gonna happen in Cubase. :(

In the mean time you can use the Virus TI as an Insert FX - but with the MAJOR drawback that you will loose the possibility to use the Virus as an Instrument at the same time. You will not be able to use all the 3 outputs and 16 channels of the Virus.....

All the other big (and small) DAWs has this feature though.
Cubase 7.5.20 (64bit) on Windows 7 (64bit) using jBridge for 32bit plugins.
HALion 5.0.1 (64bit)
Soundcard: Focusrite Saffire Pro 10 I/O
DAW: Intel Core i7 3820 |
ASRock X79 Extreme4 | 6GB DDR3 1600MHz | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB | 2x2TB SATA2 | Sapphire Radeon HD 3450 256MB (with drivers from the original CD)
Comp. related hardware: Access Virus TI, 2xUAD-2 Duo, Behringer BCF-/BCR2000, Akai APC40, Eventide TimeFactor, ...
msy
Member
 
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: VSTi sidechain input

Postby Elektrobolt » Fri Apr 18, 2014 5:10 pm

Maybe we could have a comment from the Steinberg folks on this? ("Pretty please, with sugar on top?") ;)

Seeing that this has been "on the plate" for a while, any information, good or bad, is better than no words at all.

Imagine HALion with the VSTi sidechain input, a realtime audio oscillator, or even better an audio input buffer being the actual (grain) sample source. Now that is something worth dreaming about. :)
With Note Expression (VST3.5), individual notes contain their own set of controller data when played polyphonically.
VST Expression, Steinberg VST
Cakewalk Sonar X3 now supports VST3!
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: VSTi sidechain input

Postby TobyShark » Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:33 pm

I've always thought it rather strange that steinberg makes a VSTi specification and then fails to implement it properly in it's own products.. why?

I own a virus..
tobyshark.com
TobyShark
Junior Member
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:36 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: VSTi sidechain input

Postby Elektrobolt » Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:01 pm

Perhaps they have a lot on their plate, and the priority rule is in the way. :)
With Note Expression (VST3.5), individual notes contain their own set of controller data when played polyphonically.
VST Expression, Steinberg VST
Cakewalk Sonar X3 now supports VST3!
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: VSTi sidechain input

Postby BriHar » Tue Apr 22, 2014 2:34 pm

Perhaps because VST3 hasn't been as well received and picked up by 3rd parties as had been hoped, and the further development of the spec has been put on hold. Perhaps it will be revamped in a more palatable form (by other SW vendors) and we'll see a VST4 introduced.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 7.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1913
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: VSTi sidechain input

Postby Elektrobolt » Wed Apr 23, 2014 3:26 am

Absolutely could be!
With Note Expression (VST3.5), individual notes contain their own set of controller data when played polyphonically.
VST Expression, Steinberg VST
Cakewalk Sonar X3 now supports VST3!
User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1380
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 61 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests