Tune Up Utilities

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby monsterjazzlicks » Sat May 03, 2014 6:31 pm

CWS wrote:Mine is around 95 GB and it will ask you where you want the image backed up to. Mine takes around 45 minutes...


95 GB, gee that's a lot !! So it would need to go straight to an external HD.

Does it burn the data as a Image File (ISO) ??
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wallasey, Wirral
Has thanked: 519 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby CWS » Sat May 03, 2014 7:07 pm

The size of the image is the size of OS and programs on your hard disc drive. Not sure what format the data is burned in.
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Cubase Pro 8 64 Bit
PC I 7 processor HT Enabled
18 GB Ram
USB 3.0
Presonus FireStudio
2- 512 GB SSD
GIGABYTE GV-R725XOC-2GI
CWS
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby monsterjazzlicks » Sat May 03, 2014 7:09 pm

CWS wrote:The size of the image is the size of OS and programs on your hard disc drive. Not sure what format the data is burned in.

Thanks again
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wallasey, Wirral
Has thanked: 519 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby CWS » Sat May 03, 2014 7:41 pm

You are welcome
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Cubase Pro 8 64 Bit
PC I 7 processor HT Enabled
18 GB Ram
USB 3.0
Presonus FireStudio
2- 512 GB SSD
GIGABYTE GV-R725XOC-2GI
CWS
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby jamusic » Sun May 04, 2014 5:11 am

CWS wrote:Yes that is it. Be sure to save on an external HDD using USB 2.0. Do not use USB 3.0 for the back up Windows does not recognize 3.0 when doing a restore.

Boy, I'm sure glad you've remembered to mention that CWS.
I just bought my second USB 3.0 1TB external drive specifically for this purpose and have it plugged into a USB 3.0 port, but I'll just plug it into USB 2.0 instead.

Thanks for your input & help here!
-C7.5.20 -Win 7-x64 Home -Intel i7-2600k -ASUS P8Z68 V-Pro -Antec High Current 520w -16 Gigs RAM
-Hyper 212+ CPU Cooler -3 SSDs -WD 1TB Black Caviar Hard Drive -2 WD & 1 Touro 1TB External USB 3 Drives
-TC Electronic SK 48 Audio Interface -Presonus StudioLive 16.4.2 Mixer -Roland UM-550 MIDI Interface
-Neumann TLM 103 Mic -DBX 376 Tube Channel Strip Pre Amp/Comp -ART DPS II Tube Pre -Amp
-Yamaha P-200/88 & Nektar Panorama P6/61 Keyboards -V-Drums/Roland TD-6
-4003 Rickenbacker Fireglow Bass -5 Guitars -4 Sound Modules

User avatar
jamusic
Member
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 6:49 pm
Location: An Hour East Of Vancouver, BC
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby monsterjazzlicks » Mon May 05, 2014 3:22 am

CWS wrote:Yes that is it. Be sure to save on an external HDD using USB 2.0. Do not use USB 3.0 for the back up Windows does not recognize 3.0 when doing a restore.

Are you referring to a Port or a type of transfer here please ?? Or is it something that I select during the 'prompts' ?? I only just noticed this remark because of the above posting !

Thanks
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wallasey, Wirral
Has thanked: 519 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby CWS » Mon May 05, 2014 3:41 am

The prompts ask you where you want to save it to
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Cubase Pro 8 64 Bit
PC I 7 processor HT Enabled
18 GB Ram
USB 3.0
Presonus FireStudio
2- 512 GB SSD
GIGABYTE GV-R725XOC-2GI
CWS
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby monsterjazzlicks » Mon May 05, 2014 3:42 am

CWS wrote:The prompts ask you where you want to save it to


Ta mate.
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wallasey, Wirral
Has thanked: 519 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby knuckle47 » Mon May 05, 2014 4:04 am

I feel for you... This happens to me if I allow Google Chrome to install when Adobe reader updates something. I have done re formats at least 7 times in the last 7 years or so. Not counting windows upgrades. And my last reformat was last week with over 250 windows updates over the course of 24 hours.

I have had to learn way more than I would have thought about the registry than I'd ever wanted.

The image backup is much less painful despite the effort involved even when you really don't feel like doing it.
Cubase Pro 8 | Win 7 ultimate | MOTU 896HD | I7 4770K 32gb Corsair Dominator Ram |ASUS Maximus mobo
User avatar
knuckle47
Member
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 10:24 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby CWS » Mon May 05, 2014 4:34 am

I agree . I never allow any programs to do automatic updates, I turn them off and do them when I want to. Look at windows services and turn them off ! :-)
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Cubase Pro 8 64 Bit
PC I 7 processor HT Enabled
18 GB Ram
USB 3.0
Presonus FireStudio
2- 512 GB SSD
GIGABYTE GV-R725XOC-2GI
CWS
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby BriHar » Mon May 05, 2014 10:19 am

CWS wrote:Yes that is it. Be sure to save on an external HDD using USB 2.0. Do not use USB 3.0 for the back up Windows does not recognize 3.0 when doing a restore.

Many modern External Drives are USB 2/3 capable; backup restoration only works over a USB 2 interface - okay, but the actual backup creation could still be made over USB 3 could it not not?
:?:
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2181
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 157 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby monsterjazzlicks » Mon May 05, 2014 2:25 pm

knuckle47 wrote:I feel for you... This happens to me if I allow Google Chrome to install when Adobe reader updates something. I have done re formats at least 7 times in the last 7 years or so. Not counting windows upgrades. And my last reformat was last week with over 250 windows updates over the course of 24 hours.

I have had to learn way more than I would have thought about the registry than I'd ever wanted.

The image backup is much less painful despite the effort involved even when you really don't feel like doing it.


Ta Knuckle,

Yes, the same thing happened to me a couple of times were I updated Adobe and inadvertently installed Google Chrome toolbar. Ended up having to wind back to a restore-point.

My PC is booked in for a service and software check up and if the guy tells me it needs to be re-formatted then I will just go along with it this time (the store will perform this for me under warranty). But for any future situations I will use the System Image option.

Ta,

Paul
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wallasey, Wirral
Has thanked: 519 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby monsterjazzlicks » Mon May 05, 2014 2:26 pm

BriHar wrote:Many modern External Drives are USB 2/3 capable; backup restoration only works over a USB 2 interface - okay, but the actual backup creation could still be made over USB 3 could it not not?

How can you tell if you external HD is USB 2 or 3 please ??
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wallasey, Wirral
Has thanked: 519 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby BriHar » Mon May 05, 2014 3:39 pm

Product Specifications! ;)
A tech could probably tell from the plug - I know the cable is different cause my USB3 drive in a USB3 port over a USB (2) extention cable prompted a message stating that I would get better performance if I plugged the drive into a USB 3 port - :?
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2181
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 157 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby monsterjazzlicks » Mon May 05, 2014 4:03 pm

BriHar wrote:Product Specifications! ;)
A tech could probably tell from the plug - I know the cable is different cause my USB3 drive in a USB3 port over a USB (2) extention cable prompted a message stating that I would get better performance if I plugged the drive into a USB 3 port - :?


Oh, ok ta. I have three external (Seagate) HD's and I think there are 2 x USB lead sizes between them (ie. the metal terminal which goes directly into the external HD).
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wallasey, Wirral
Has thanked: 519 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby Jarno » Mon May 05, 2014 5:42 pm

BriHar wrote:A tech could probably tell from the plug

Usually the plastic part inside the plug (where the metal connectors are attached to) is color-coded as follows:
White - USB 1
Black - USB 2
Blue - USB 3
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Usb#Colors
Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier
User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby Glyn Powell » Mon May 05, 2014 7:41 pm

+ 1 for Win 7 backup/restore sytem image.

When reinstalling, I do about five images to cover the process from 'vanilla win 7' to 'absolutely everything installed' - so if, for example, I'm updating Adobe Lightroom, I'll go back to image number three which has solid Cubase and essentials like Drumkit Superior. It is pre Lightroom install, so I add the updated Lightroom and reinstall only what came later.
Image
User avatar
Glyn Powell
New Member
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 12:08 am
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby CWS » Mon May 05, 2014 9:26 pm

And yes you can do the backup using USB 3.0. If you would need to restore make sure it is plugged into a USB 2.0 port. WINDOWS 7, not sure about 8, does not recognize USB 3.0 during start up.
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Cubase Pro 8 64 Bit
PC I 7 processor HT Enabled
18 GB Ram
USB 3.0
Presonus FireStudio
2- 512 GB SSD
GIGABYTE GV-R725XOC-2GI
CWS
Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby monsterjazzlicks » Mon May 05, 2014 9:28 pm

CWS wrote:And yes you can do the backup using USB 3.0. If you would need to restore make sure it is plugged into a USB 2.0 port. WINDOWS 7, not sure about 8, does not recognize USB 3.0 during start up.


No worries, I am going to check with my local PC store when I drop it off for a service. Best to double check !
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wallasey, Wirral
Has thanked: 519 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby BriHar » Tue May 06, 2014 7:55 am

CWS wrote:And yes you can do the backup using USB 3.0. If you would need to restore make sure it is plugged into a USB 2.0 port. WINDOWS 7, not sure about 8, does not recognize USB 3.0 during start up.

AHA! :idea:
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2181
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 157 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby monsterjazzlicks » Tue May 13, 2014 8:16 pm

Got my PC's back from the comp shop today. They seem to be running fine now that the dreadful 'Tune Up Utilities' has been 100% removed.

In particular, Grand 3 fires up with no issues and all the slots load with the correct file associations.

AVOID any kind of 3rd party Registry Cleaner or otherwise, at all costs !! :evil:
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wallasey, Wirral
Has thanked: 519 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby thermionic » Thu May 15, 2014 5:47 pm

I've been using Ccleaner (http://www.filehippo.com/download_ccleaner) for years and never had a problem. It doesn't do any in-depth registry stuff but it does clean things up nicely after software installation and Windows updates etc. ;)
thermionic
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:56 pm
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby monsterjazzlicks » Thu May 15, 2014 7:00 pm

Hi Themonioc,

If it works for you then great. I may have installed this a couple of years ago had I of known about it, but I am just not going to take the risk again now. I have only just managed to shake of most of the issues I have been experiencing since February.

Ta,

Paul
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Member
 
Posts: 960
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wallasey, Wirral
Has thanked: 519 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby thermionic » Thu May 15, 2014 7:19 pm

You're traumatised monsterjazzlicks!

Ccleaner was written by computer professionals who know what to mess with and what to leave alone. If you get clogged up again you can use it with confidence but I understand your reluctance after your recent experience! :)
thermionic
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:56 pm
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Tune Up Utilities

Postby Jeff Hayat » Thu May 15, 2014 9:19 pm

I wouldn't go near Ccleaner. It may work ok for some, but there is no guarantee that it will work as advertised for all, and that it won't mess you up in some way shape or form.

"Ccleaner was written by computer professionals who know what to mess with and what to leave alone."

Doesn't matter who it was written by. Many computer professionals who really know their shoot, would not even give this consideration.

My advice is to stay away from ALL of these apps - especially the freebies like this one.

Cheers.
Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1221
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 40 times

PreviousNext

Return to Steinberg Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests