"select from cursor to end" doesn't always work - bug?

Post general topics related to Cubase 7, Cubase Artist 7 and Cubase Elements 7 here.

"select from cursor to end" doesn't always work - bug?

Postby JT3Jon » Sat May 24, 2014 9:04 pm

I'm having a very frustrating issue with the command "select from cursor to end," as it doesn't seem to work 100% of the time! I'm trying to use it mainly in the key editor and I can get it to work probably 50% of the time. I'm even selecting it directly from the menu as I thought my key command was broken. I make sure the key editor is the window at the front (i.e. double clicked a region from the project page), and its still a guessing game if its going to work.

A typical example of when it goes wrong is I open a midi part and its selecting all the expression map data and none of the notes! Its only when I hide all controller lanes does it finally select the notes. Re-open the controller lanes and its back to just selecting the expression map data. Like I said, this only happens about 50% of the time, the other 50% it works great, controller lanes and all.

Any ideas whats going on? Is this a bug? Wanted to get some feedback before posting in the "issues" forum. Thanks!
Cubase 7.5.2 OS10.8.5 MacPro 8-core 2.93Ghz, 32GB RAM, UA Apollo
JT3Jon
Junior Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:16 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: "select from cursor to end" doesn't always work - bug?

Postby SteveInChicago » Sun May 25, 2014 12:45 am

Looks like a bug to me. It seems to only happen when the Articualtions/Dynamics lane is open, if it's not open and any other CC lane is, or if no CC lane is open the command works fine.

Is that what you're seeing?
Cubase Pro 8 | Mac 10.10.1 | 8gb | UR44
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 5006
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 129 times
Been thanked: 338 times

Re: "select from cursor to end" doesn't always work - bug?

Postby JT3Jon » Sun May 25, 2014 9:18 pm

YES!! Thank you very much for your help in narrowing down exactly what causes it not to work. I will be posting this into the "issues" forum in the hopes that it can be resolved.

Thanks again SteveInChicago!! Your help in these forums is very, VERY much appreciated!! THANK YOU!!

edit: here is a direct link to my bug submission: viewtopic.php?f=184&t=60110
Cubase 7.5.2 OS10.8.5 MacPro 8-core 2.93Ghz, 32GB RAM, UA Apollo
JT3Jon
Junior Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:16 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: "select from cursor to end" doesn't always work - bug?

Postby Rotund » Sun May 25, 2014 10:14 pm

Confirmed...This happens here as well.
I've just been working around it for awhile.
I have 5 key commands set up to select 5 different controller lane presets.
Preset 5 has no controllers visible. I use this when I need to use the command in question.
Inboard:
Win7Pro 64Bit, i7 3770k, Gigabyte Z77-UHD5, 12gb Corsair (1600Mhz), Nuendo+Nek 6.5, Reaper 4.591, Studio One, Raydat, UAD X 2, UM-3EX, Glyph eSata Audio Drive, 6TB Storage, U-He ACE, Arturia Moog Modular & Jupiter8v, Korg Legacy (MS-20, MonoPoly, Wavestation), Portico 5043/5033.

Outboard:
AKG 414-B XLII (Matched Pair), AKG D 112, Neumann TLM-193, GrooveTubes GT-66, Shure SM-81 (Pair), Sennheiser e604 (3pack), SM-57 (Many), Beta SM-57, AT-3035, Many More, Panasonic DA-7, Event 20/20p, Alesis Monitor One, Philips MMS321 Multimedia Speakers, TLAudio, HHB, JoeMeek, dbx, Moog Model D, Nordlead 2, Korg MS2000, Triton Le, Boss Dr. Rhythm DR-55, Sound Gizmo, Acoustic Drum Kit, Fender Stratocaster (USA), Ibanez EXSeries Bass, Laney VC-30.
User avatar
Rotund
Member
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 8:37 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: "select from cursor to end" doesn't always work - bug?

Postby JT3Jon » Mon May 26, 2014 12:50 am

Thank you for confirming as well Rotund. Guess its good to see its a problem in both mac and PC versions. My work around was to assign "hide/show controller lanes" to a key command, but the principal of the work around is the same. Hopefully they can fix this issue so a work around is no longer needed.
Cubase 7.5.2 OS10.8.5 MacPro 8-core 2.93Ghz, 32GB RAM, UA Apollo
JT3Jon
Junior Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:16 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: "select from cursor to end" doesn't always work - bug?

Postby JT3Jon » Fri May 30, 2014 8:27 am

Anyone know why they moved my bug report to the Nuendo collected issues forum? Should I submit it again? viewtopic.php?f=184&t=60110
Cubase 7.5.2 OS10.8.5 MacPro 8-core 2.93Ghz, 32GB RAM, UA Apollo
JT3Jon
Junior Member
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:16 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: "select from cursor to end" doesn't always work - bug?

Postby Luis Dongo » Fri May 30, 2014 11:15 am

JT3Jon wrote:Anyone know why they moved my bug report to the Nuendo collected issues forum? Should I submit it again? viewtopic.php?f=184&t=60110

Hi JT3Jon,

sorry, my bad. I actually wanted to move it to the Cubase collected issues forum (which I have done by now). No need to report it again.

All the best.
Luis Dongo, Technical Support
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Luis Dongo
Site Admin
 
Posts: 650
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 108 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests