Cubase "forgets" Generic Remote Mappings

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Cubase "forgets" Generic Remote Mappings

Postby dayvancowboy » Mon May 26, 2014 5:07 am

Hi everyone,

I am trying to set up a BCR 2000 to control different softsynths using the Generic Remote feature in Cubase 7. My problem is that after creating my map in the Device Setup, everything looks and works fine, but when I close and reopen Cubase, some (not all) of the mappings are messed up - the MIDI controllers are still there, but they're not mapped to anything anymore, or to the wrong parameters. Interestingly it's always the same mappings that disappear/change, not matter how often I re-map them.

I've tried to export the mappings as XML as soon as everything seems to be working, but even when I'm loading the seemingly clean XML file after re-launching Cubase, the mappings are corrupt.

I've been wondering if a reason might be that during the process of creating the map I loaded the XML file into an editor (Aptana) because in certain cases it's way faster to edit it that way than using the Device Setup window. But the code looks fine to me, and when I export it from Cubase it should be clean again (I guess), but it still keeps messing up things.

Another thing I was wondering about was if my setup is too "extensive". Right now I have about 200 controllers mapped to different parameters, maybe that's too much to handle...? (If it's of any help here, I can elaborate a little more on my setup.)

I've already spent a lot of time working on this setup, so any help or hint would be highly appreciated! Thank you so much!
Cubase 7.07 / OS X 10.6.8 / Macbook Pro 2 GHz 16 GB RAM
dayvancowboy
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 4:06 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase "forgets" Generic Remote Mappings

Postby Rhino » Mon May 26, 2014 8:29 am

Welcome to the weird GR setup !
Gotta say however, I have two BCR 2000s fully mapped out (one static BCR preset) including a bunch of plugin specific GR layers, and as long as I export and save after each GR programming session, forgetting is not an issue here.
Even loading the GR setup in another Cubase version works fine, you might have to assign the correct MIDI ports though, obviously.
Do yourself a favour and check out BC Manager, while it is far from being intuitive too, and can't be open alongside Cubase, it gives you access to detailed control over every single button and rotary, you can even remap all the right hand "preset management" buttons for GR too, well worth the headache imho.
In 6.5 and earlier all this works perfectly, if you absolutely have to use 7.x, you better forget about GR and keycommands alltogether and go back to mouse operation, the mixer focus bug (still not fixed) makes any advanced control absurd.
ymmv,
Rhino
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say.
(George R.R. Martin)
Rhino
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:20 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Cubase "forgets" Generic Remote Mappings

Postby dayvancowboy » Mon May 26, 2014 4:17 pm

Thanks for the advice, Rhino - I'm already using BC Manager, programming the BCR "manually" would be a nightmare...

I've just tried to open and fix the XML file in Cubase 6.5, with the same sad results. Well, since the only explanation I see right now is that editing the XML in Aptana has messed something up, I guess I'll have to try and go through the pain of rebuilding my entire map in the Generic Remote window... :-/

Unless someone else has an idea how to fix this - any suggestions are welcome!
Cubase 7.07 / OS X 10.6.8 / Macbook Pro 2 GHz 16 GB RAM
dayvancowboy
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 4:06 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase "forgets" Generic Remote Mappings

Postby Rhino » Mon May 26, 2014 6:08 pm

Sometimes with XMLs it helps to have a reference - do a small one in Cubase and compare both side by side in Beyond Compare (demo will do), just look at the main sections, not the specific stuff, it might be a stupid little detail like the encoding or whatever.
I've seen Wordpad mess up XMLs while doing the same edits in Notepad worked fine ...
Sorry, I don't have a specific solution.
good luck,
Rhino
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say.
(George R.R. Martin)
Rhino
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:20 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 54 times

Re: Cubase "forgets" Generic Remote Mappings - SOLVED

Postby dayvancowboy » Mon May 26, 2014 6:58 pm

Ok, I've figured it out, thanks to comparing two XMLs, just as you said!!!

The problem was that since I wanted to set up several synth plugins, I had used the same Control Names (like OSC1 Vol, LFO1 Rate etc.) several times. They were still assigned to different MIDI controllers and showed up in their own separate lines in the GR setup, but apparently this is something that messes up things. I could also see that in the XML - the respective <entry> tabs had two values assigned, which is probably the point where Cubase got confused. By giving each control unique names the problem could be solved, and everything is working beautifully now.

Thank you so much, Rhino - you saved me from a lot of pain and frustration!!! Two thumbs up! :)
Cubase 7.07 / OS X 10.6.8 / Macbook Pro 2 GHz 16 GB RAM
dayvancowboy
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 26, 2014 4:06 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase "forgets" Generic Remote Mappings

Postby Rhino » Mon May 26, 2014 7:58 pm

wow, great job ! 8-)
glad to hear you figured it out.
let's face it, trying to make quirky hardware play nice with a quirky software interface using a quirky editor can give you some headscratching moments. :?
Been there, done that ...
But once it works, it works beautifully - with the restrictions mentioned above, unfortunately.
Enjoy your success,
Rhino
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say.
(George R.R. Martin)
Rhino
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:20 am
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 54 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: badvibes, Chad Johnson, Sonico and 9 guests