Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Post general topics related to Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 here.

Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby Denicio » Tue Jun 03, 2014 2:20 pm

I've searched the fourm to no avail (as the word 'Copy' shows up in about 70% of posts!).

In nuendo when I wanted to copy and paste channel inserts there was this specific button on the left hand side of the screen. Well, that was Nuendo 5.1 and I am in Cubase 7.5 and I cant find it.

If I want to copy inserts to one or MANY channels, what is the trick?
Right now I am copying one plug at a time via Alt+Drag and its taking up a bit of time.

There has to be a way to copy the plugs and paste them on channels, right?

Dennis
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 7.5 ONLY!!
Win 7 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 2ea UAD Quads.
Stevn Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 4
User avatar
Denicio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby Limit54 » Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:44 pm

I don't know how to copy and paste but I save the insert channel as a preset and then open it on another channel. Works easy peasy.
AMD Quad Core 4.2 4gigs of ram Windows 7 32bit
Cubase 7.5-----Adam A7x & Alesis M1 active mk2's
To much crap to mention but still not turning out great music
Limit54
Junior Member
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:44 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby Denicio » Wed Jun 04, 2014 3:28 pm

Yeah, I know of that option. Maybe this was a Nuendo 5.1 option only.
You could copy the inserts and then highlight the rest of the tracks and click this paste icon and BAM it would put those plugs on all the highlighted tracks. When dealing with 40+ tracks this is ideal where your suggestion would take a while.

Anyone else have suggestions?

D
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 7.5 ONLY!!
Win 7 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 2ea UAD Quads.
Stevn Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 4
User avatar
Denicio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby Limit54 » Wed Jun 04, 2014 3:43 pm

If I remember I saw a video about that for cubase7. Check out the learning the mixer video pinned in this forum.
AMD Quad Core 4.2 4gigs of ram Windows 7 32bit
Cubase 7.5-----Adam A7x & Alesis M1 active mk2's
To much crap to mention but still not turning out great music
Limit54
Junior Member
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:44 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby Denicio » Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:15 pm

Limit54,
I have watched that video and its a great video. But it does not cover this one thing (as far as I could tell).

When I set up a mix template I put the Steven Slate VCC on Neve and drive it to 30%. In Nuendo I would copy that channel (Copy button on the lower left) then highlight all the tracks and paste it (again, button on lower left) and it would paste the exact plug in and settings across the mixer.

The function still has to be there....but where?

D
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 7.5 ONLY!!
Win 7 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 2ea UAD Quads.
Stevn Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 4
User avatar
Denicio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby Limit54 » Wed Jun 04, 2014 5:35 pm

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=QxtIWkWE-e ... I538mE5VFo

Just watched that video...not all of it but I'm going to finish it off now. Really great stuff. Anyway in the mix console hold down alt clack the pluging and drag it to the desired channel. That copies it. You can also do it in batches for as many channels as u want. I haven't watched the rest but it's in there.
AMD Quad Core 4.2 4gigs of ram Windows 7 32bit
Cubase 7.5-----Adam A7x & Alesis M1 active mk2's
To much crap to mention but still not turning out great music
Limit54
Junior Member
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:44 am
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby Denicio » Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:50 pm

Just got off the phone with Tech support about an eLicense issue that is vexing me. When asked about this copy and paste feature he checked and emailed me back. This was his reply....

"After checking further the answer is no, you can only move one VST across channels at a time. That feature you are describing is still an exclusive in Nuendo feature."
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 7.5 ONLY!!
Win 7 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 2ea UAD Quads.
Stevn Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 4
User avatar
Denicio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby BriHar » Wed Jun 04, 2014 9:23 pm

It's easier if you know what you intend to do first. You can just select all the channels, link or Qlink them, then select and setup your insert (or other) effect and it will automatically do the same on all selected channels.

If you've already setup the effect in one channel, then select the other channels using alt click, then using the triangle pull down menu at the top rightmost corner of the mixer, select 'copy first channels settings', then again and this time select 'paste to selected channels'. This will however indeed copy all channels settings.

If as above you've already setup the effect in one channel, but you only want to copy the particular insert effect, then select the other channels using alt click and then link the channels. Select the effect on the second selected channel and it will also appear on all selected channels. now go to the first channel and activate the effects window. Because all channels are linked, if you just do a tiny tweek of each of the controls (turn a knob 1 increment higher or lower then return it to it's previous position) all the specific effects on all the other selected channels will spring to the same settings.

Don't forget to de-link afterwards
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 7.5.30 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1983
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby Denicio » Wed Jun 04, 2014 9:28 pm

BriHar,
After watching Greg O's videos I was thinking along the lines of what you just typed. So THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for spelling it out to me (and future readers of this post).
I will give this a test drive tonight!

D
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 7.5 ONLY!!
Win 7 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 2ea UAD Quads.
Stevn Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 4
User avatar
Denicio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby SteveInChicago » Wed Jun 04, 2014 9:33 pm

I was scratching my head about why pasting to multple tracks wasn't happening. Thanks for that BriHar.
Cubase 7.5.30 | Mac 10.8.5 | i7-3770k Gigabyte Z77-UD5H | 16gb | TC Konnekt24D
User avatar
SteveInChicago
External Moderator
 
Posts: 4793
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Has thanked: 109 times
Been thanked: 293 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby Denicio » Thu Jun 05, 2014 4:09 pm

BriHar,
OK, your methods work great. Only one issue. When I paste 30 channels of plug ins....Cubase wants to open 30 instances of that plug in. Is there a way to paste these plugs without the GUI opening for each instance?

D
N1, N3, N4 and N5.1 but now using Cubase 7.5 ONLY!!
Win 7 64 Bit, Gigabyte MB, 16 gig ram, . 2ea UAD Quads.
Stevn Slate Drums, Slate VCC, Slate FGX, Vegas Pro 12. Native Instruments Kontakt 4
User avatar
Denicio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:55 pm
Location: Elvisville (Memphis TN)
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby BriHar » Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:02 pm

:( No I don't think you can get around this unfortunately.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 7.5.30 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 8GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1983
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby RdRm » Fri Jun 06, 2014 12:57 pm

Denicio wrote:BriHar,
OK, your methods work great. Only one issue. When I paste 30 channels of plug ins....Cubase wants to open 30 instances of that plug in. Is there a way to paste these plugs without the GUI opening for each instance?

D




Try This
Go to preferences
VST
Plug Ins
Untick Open Effects editor arfter loading it
Cubase 7.5.30
Mavericks 10.9.5
i7 4790k @ 4.5Ghz
8gig Crucial Vengance Ram @ 1600mhz
Crucial M500 120GB System Drive
Velociraptor session Drive /1TB Vsti Streaming Drive /1TB Samples Drive/1TB B.up Drive
SIIG Firewire Card
Focusrite Saffire Pro 14
Tc BMC-2 DA monitor controller

Loads of analogue goodies
RdRm
Junior Member
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby wcb123 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:01 am

Alt and drag one by one or just save it as a chain preset.
Windows x64 Pro
Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Intel i7 980 @3.33GHz (12 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory - 48Gb
______________

Cubase 7
NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250
Focusrite Saffire Pro24
Casio Privia 330
Quested s8r
wcb123
Junior Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:40 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby alexis » Wed Jun 11, 2014 12:44 pm

Thanks for this post - multiple ways to use the new mixer to copy plug-ins/inserts!
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro 2.5 Trial; 0.1 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2337
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 111 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: Copying Inserts and Pasting them??

Postby TobyShark » Mon Jun 16, 2014 10:57 pm

alt dragging works beautifully, the only thing you have to watch out for is that if you are using the side chain input, you have to recreate the send.
tobyshark.com
TobyShark
Junior Member
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:36 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 3 times


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Amplifix, hikarateboy and 9 guests