Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Post questions and find answers on Nuendo 5 release here.

Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Antonio Escobar » Thu Mar 03, 2011 8:54 pm

Hi all,

I'm testing deeply C6 due I'm writing a article for an important online magazine, so I've moved all my everyday production to C6. First, I have to say that C6 new features are pretty nice, but I miss some Nuendo-only routing things.

Anyway, I have to mix something in surround, so I moved back to Nuendo (routing things, as I said) and I realized HOW SLOW and painful is N5. C6 environment is A LOT of faster, and, that's funny, the CPU performance is BETTER!!!

Any feedback?

Regards.
Last edited by Antonio Escobar on Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Antonio Escobar
http://www.antipop.es

---
Nuendo 6.0.x / Cubase 7.5.x
Mac Pro 3,1 Octo 2.8 Mhz, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.8.4
RME HDSPe, UAD2 Quad, 6.5.2, Novation Nocturne (as MIDI device), Unitor 8 (x2), ESI Pro MIDI, Blackmagic Intensity Pro
MacBook Air 4,2 4GB RAM, OS X 10.9.2
User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Jason_Staczek » Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:04 pm

No feedback, but a question. Will C6 open N5 projects without any problems? Are there any issues to be aware of?

Thanks,

Jason
Cubase 7.5.1, Nuendo 5.5, SSL Alphalink MADI-AX, RME HDSPe MADI, Mac OS 10.8.4, PT9
Jason_Staczek
Junior Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:11 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Antonio Escobar » Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:28 pm

C6 opens N5 projects without any flaws but the routing.
N5 opens C6 but gives a "corruption" issue, though the project works.

I've tried C6 with half N5 buffer (double CPU load) and the graphic performance is still amazing.
Antonio Escobar
http://www.antipop.es

---
Nuendo 6.0.x / Cubase 7.5.x
Mac Pro 3,1 Octo 2.8 Mhz, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.8.4
RME HDSPe, UAD2 Quad, 6.5.2, Novation Nocturne (as MIDI device), Unitor 8 (x2), ESI Pro MIDI, Blackmagic Intensity Pro
MacBook Air 4,2 4GB RAM, OS X 10.9.2
User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Jason_Staczek » Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:00 pm

Is the issue with the routing that you lose multiple outputs per track? Are you limited to just the main output in C6?

Jason
Cubase 7.5.1, Nuendo 5.5, SSL Alphalink MADI-AX, RME HDSPe MADI, Mac OS 10.8.4, PT9
Jason_Staczek
Junior Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:11 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Antonio Escobar » Fri Mar 04, 2011 12:34 am

You lose any advanced routing, i.e. Multiple output or routing from a output to another (I use it all time)
Antonio Escobar
http://www.antipop.es

---
Nuendo 6.0.x / Cubase 7.5.x
Mac Pro 3,1 Octo 2.8 Mhz, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.8.4
RME HDSPe, UAD2 Quad, 6.5.2, Novation Nocturne (as MIDI device), Unitor 8 (x2), ESI Pro MIDI, Blackmagic Intensity Pro
MacBook Air 4,2 4GB RAM, OS X 10.9.2
User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby psvennevig » Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:59 am

Antonio Escobar wrote:Hi all,

I'm testing deeply C6 due I'm writing a article for an important online magazine, so I've moved all my everyday production to C6. First, I have to say that C6 new features are pretty nice, but I miss some Nuendo-only routing things.

Anyway, I have to mix something in surround, so I moved back to Nuendo (routing things, as I said) and I realized HOW SLOW and painless is N5. C6 environment is A LOT of faster, and, that's funny, the CPU performance is BETTER!!!

Any feedback?

Regards.


Yeah, C6 GUI is a lot better.
Let's hope we get that in N5.5 as well.

P
Nuendo 6.0.x, MAC pro, Macbook Pro 17" i7, RME MADIe, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.
psvennevig
Member
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Marsman » Fri Mar 04, 2011 3:45 am

what a cool idea to end the mac/pc forum separation. NOT.
are you talking about mac or pc, antonio? cant see it in your signature...
Nuendo 5.5.6 x64 + NEK, Windows 7 Professional x64
RME HDSP 9652, Dual Xeon 8-Core, Intel Chipset MB, Special Skills: Vanishing/Mind Manipulation
User avatar
Marsman
Member
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:03 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Antonio Escobar » Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:06 am

Sorry, I thought it is in my signature (it was in the old forum). I'm talking about OS X.
Antonio Escobar
http://www.antipop.es

---
Nuendo 6.0.x / Cubase 7.5.x
Mac Pro 3,1 Octo 2.8 Mhz, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.8.4
RME HDSPe, UAD2 Quad, 6.5.2, Novation Nocturne (as MIDI device), Unitor 8 (x2), ESI Pro MIDI, Blackmagic Intensity Pro
MacBook Air 4,2 4GB RAM, OS X 10.9.2
User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby neilwilkes » Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:27 am

Marsman wrote:what a cool idea to end the mac/pc forum separation. NOT.


Agreed - this was not a good move at all.
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request
neilwilkes
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1036
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Antonio Escobar » Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:27 am

Well, I was talking about Mac OS, so it's my mistake.
Antonio Escobar
http://www.antipop.es

---
Nuendo 6.0.x / Cubase 7.5.x
Mac Pro 3,1 Octo 2.8 Mhz, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.8.4
RME HDSPe, UAD2 Quad, 6.5.2, Novation Nocturne (as MIDI device), Unitor 8 (x2), ESI Pro MIDI, Blackmagic Intensity Pro
MacBook Air 4,2 4GB RAM, OS X 10.9.2
User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Marsman » Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:25 am

It´s about time Nuendo / Cubase make use of graphics acceleration of modern Nvidia cards.
Like Adobe programs make use of CUDA.
I recently got a new mid range graphics cards (GTX460TOP) and if I zoom into multiple waveforms and keep the position marker stationary the graphic transition of the waveforms is not at all fluid, looks like a framerate of "6-8", which is really poor performance for todays standards. SB, please make use of modern chip architecture and standards to make the interface feel "snappier". Hope this will be part of the free summer update.
Nuendo 5.5.6 x64 + NEK, Windows 7 Professional x64
RME HDSP 9652, Dual Xeon 8-Core, Intel Chipset MB, Special Skills: Vanishing/Mind Manipulation
User avatar
Marsman
Member
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:03 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby neilwilkes » Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:58 am

Marsman wrote:It´s about time Nuendo / Cubase make use of graphics acceleration of modern Nvidia cards.
Like Adobe programs make use of CUDA.
I recently got a new mid range graphics cards (GTX460TOP) and if I zoom into multiple waveforms and keep the position marker stationary the graphic transition of the waveforms is not at all fluid, looks like a framerate of "6-8", which is really poor performance for todays standards. SB, please make use of modern chip architecture and standards to make the interface feel "snappier". Hope this will be part of the free summer update.


The problem here is that things will get messy, quickly.
With Adobe's GPU implementations, only specific (and expensive) graphics cards are supported fully even though the text file that enables shall we say "additional" cards to be added is suspiciously easy to find.
There would be many, many problems.
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request
neilwilkes
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1036
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Antonio Escobar » Wed Mar 23, 2011 12:05 pm

Well, we have OpenGL, an open standard.
Antonio Escobar
http://www.antipop.es

---
Nuendo 6.0.x / Cubase 7.5.x
Mac Pro 3,1 Octo 2.8 Mhz, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.8.4
RME HDSPe, UAD2 Quad, 6.5.2, Novation Nocturne (as MIDI device), Unitor 8 (x2), ESI Pro MIDI, Blackmagic Intensity Pro
MacBook Air 4,2 4GB RAM, OS X 10.9.2
User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby jefgibbons » Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:09 pm

Hey Antonio, I've been running N5 for a few hours now, just finally made the upgrade. I'm on OS X Snow Leopard, 12 GB RAM, 8 core Mac Pro, and I have to agree with you. By graphic performance I'm referring to the meters (looks like they are video at about 8 frames a second) and the worst part is clicking on things and having to wait half a second for the click to kick in!

THis is becoming a frustration as the hours go by, I usually use the middle button to click and drag the window exactly where I want, I do this constantly as scrolling or waiting for autoscroll isn't really part of my workflow. This has actually gotten worse as the upgrades continue, and I was really hoping for Nu5 to be super snappy, but it's worse than 4!

Also, if the tune is running, I'll click in Stylus to adjust some knobs and again it takes half a second to register and start turning for me.

It seems ridiculous to be complaining about half a second, but it all adds up when you are used to working fast!

Is this the kind of behaviour you are referring to?

Are there new settings that might help alleviate this?

I played with buffer settings, and latency performance is no better than N4, adjusting buffers as high as they can go makes no difference.

I have about 1.5 GB of RAM used for N5 in this particular song.
Nuendo 5.5, Mac Pro 2.8 (2008) 12GB RAM, 2x26" LCD, 1x46" , MOTU896, UAD-1e
jefgibbons
New Member
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 8:01 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Jason_Staczek » Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:15 am

It sounds like there's something else going on with your machine. I'm on a quad-core Mac Pro with 16Gb of RAM and I would say it just feels sluggish, especially compared to other apps. Meters seem to be fine on mine. Definitely not what you're experiencing. I would have stopped it using it by now.

Do you have anything else running on that machine eating up CPU? What you're describing sounds exactly the way Pro Tools behaves when you open a session with missing audio and it starts searching the disk to reconnect media. Still works, but in slow motion. Possible that you have something beating up your disk like that?
Cubase 7.5.1, Nuendo 5.5, SSL Alphalink MADI-AX, RME HDSPe MADI, Mac OS 10.8.4, PT9
Jason_Staczek
Junior Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:11 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Jason_Staczek » Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:16 am

PS - What audio hardware are you using? Fill out your signature so we can see more details...
Cubase 7.5.1, Nuendo 5.5, SSL Alphalink MADI-AX, RME HDSPe MADI, Mac OS 10.8.4, PT9
Jason_Staczek
Junior Member
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:11 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby Antonio Escobar » Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:07 am

It's not that issue exactly. In my system, Nuendo reacts slow: i.e., press F3 for a 3 seconds waiting to get the mixer, but the mixer works quick when available.

It seems like the program is not optimized for speed.
Antonio Escobar
http://www.antipop.es

---
Nuendo 6.0.x / Cubase 7.5.x
Mac Pro 3,1 Octo 2.8 Mhz, 8GB RAM, OS X 10.8.4
RME HDSPe, UAD2 Quad, 6.5.2, Novation Nocturne (as MIDI device), Unitor 8 (x2), ESI Pro MIDI, Blackmagic Intensity Pro
MacBook Air 4,2 4GB RAM, OS X 10.9.2
User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Cubase 6 VS Nuendo 5 - Terrible graphic performance in N5

Postby maxhowarth » Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:33 am

hi antonio

can you post a project file up here so i can try it?

i totally agree with you though about the metering. it's naggingly slow on osx.
best wishes
max

http://www.redfacilities.com

2 x 3.3 6core mac pro | 12gb ram | mac os 10.7.3| n5.5 | rme multiset/audiolink96 | 3 x 19" flat panels | decklink xt | waves8 | altiverb7 | mc mix
maxhowarth
Member
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:14 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Nuendo 5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests