MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software

MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby dgaggi » Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:42 pm

OK, I'm totally new to midi. I have a Casio ctk-5000 and an Alesis Q25. Both use usb midi. I can not figure out how to get them to work with cubase. I'm running XP 32 bit and have a Line 6 UX1 for sound. Any help or tutorial would be greatly appreciated. I'm beyond frusted.
dgaggi
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby Guest » Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:30 pm

Did you turn them on before opening Cubase? Are they listed in Device Setup MIDI Port Config.? You do know if you want the sounds from them you need audio cables in addition to the MIDI and an Audio track in Cubase set up to monitor the audio, right? A better explanation of exactly what you're trying to do and where it goes pear-shaped would help.
Guest
 

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby dgaggi » Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:55 pm

Yes, I did turn them on before opening cubase. I would like to use them as controllers, but when I open the midi device manager neither are listed. In my windows device manager I see they install as a usb audio device, but I do not see them any where in Cubase. I tried selecting GM device and midi device manager and that didn't work. I can get sound with Halion using the virtual keyboard, but not with either of the keyboards. Is there any guide that breaks this down "barney" style for the midi challenged like me?
dgaggi
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby Guest » Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

You don't want the Device Manager, you want to see if they're listed in the location I mentioned. If so, you select one as the input of a MIDI track and a VSTi you've loaded in the Rack as the output and monitor enable the track. Playing should produce sound.
Guest
 

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby Guest » Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:01 pm

Make sure the track is set to No Map, also.
Guest
 

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby dgaggi » Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:03 pm

I don't see them in the device setup either. Should unistall the general midi from the Midi device manager?
dgaggi
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby Guest » Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:10 pm

Device Mgr shouldn't matter as long as No Map is selected on the track. Are the devices using generic Windows drivers or did they come with their own? Have you tried re-starting the entire system? Screenshot of the Device Setup window?
Guest
 

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby dgaggi » Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:34 pm

Using generic windows drivers. Just for grins I plugged the q25 into my laptop and it did come up in cubase. No sound but I saw the input levels moving. I'll try to get a screen shot on my desk top. Not too sure how to do that.
dgaggi
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby Guest » Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:48 pm

Hit Print Screen, open Paint, paste there then save as JPG and attach it to a post.
Guest
 

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby dgaggi » Sat Apr 02, 2011 12:05 am

[img]C:\Documents%20and%20Settings\Dave\My%20Documents\My%20Pictures\sreen%20shot.JPG[/img] Not sure if this will work or not.
dgaggi
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby dgaggi » Sat Apr 02, 2011 12:06 am

Where do I check to ensure the No Map is not active?
dgaggi
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby Guest » Sat Apr 02, 2011 12:42 am

You need to attach the file via the section below the post window. The No Map is on the MIDI track.
Guest
 

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby dgaggi » Sat Apr 02, 2011 12:45 am

Ok, here it is.
Attachments
sreen shot.JPG
(253.54 KiB) Not downloaded yet
dgaggi
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby dgaggi » Sat Apr 02, 2011 12:49 am

I do not have Map selected either.
dgaggi
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby Guest » Sat Apr 02, 2011 1:55 am

Close Cubase and trash Prefs then re-start Cubase. You'll have to select the correct ASIO driver etc. after. My sig has a link as to how.
Guest
 

Re: MIDI Noob needs help cubase 5 essential

Postby dgaggi » Sat Apr 02, 2011 3:26 am

Thanks! seems to be working now. Shows up in device set up and controls halion fine. Appreciate it.
dgaggi
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 8:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time


Return to Older Cubase versions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: roel and 0 guests