Adding a Third Party Plug-In

All about our Cubase LE and Cubase AI OEM bundle software.

Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby ihavezippers » Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:03 pm

I am trying to add the Miroslav Philharmonik as a VST plug-in for Cubase LE4. Can anyone walk me through how to do this? The manual wasn't particularly helpful, Google wasn't either, and doing a search on this forum, I wasn't able to find any previous posts on the subject.

For some background information, when I go into the "Plug-in Information" tab, I am not seeing Miroslav listed. The program is successfully installed on my hard drive, and following the advice of another webpage, I also copied/pasted the .dll file from Miroslav into the Steinberg Plugins subfolder, but nothing...

Thanks
ihavezippers
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby Guest » Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:21 pm

Make a folder in the main Steinberg Program folder, not Cubase, and call it My Plugs. Put the .dll there and point to it in Plugin Info-VST 2.x paths. Restart Cubase.
Guest
 

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby ihavezippers » Sun Apr 10, 2011 3:10 am

Thank you for the information. I tried this, but it did not work. This is exactly what I have done, so please advise if I am missing something:

In Cubase LE4, I go to Devices: Plug-In Information.

I click on the "VST 2x Plug-in Paths"

I added the folder holding the Miroslav vst file (Philharmonik.dll). Only the DLL file is in this folder, not the entire program files for Miroslav. As instructed, I put this subfolder inside the Steinberg folder on my harddrive, but not actually in Cubase.

I click on the Miroslav mapping to "Set as Shared Folder"

I close Cubase, and restart (Cubase crashes when I close it, so I am forced to restart my computer entirely).

Upon restarting Cubase, I start a new project, go to Project: Add Track: Instrument.

Under the VST Instrument tab, there is only one option: HALion One (which shipped with Cubase).

Please help---I see someone else seems to be having a similar problem as I am in another post, so I will continue to watch this post and that post. Thanks
ihavezippers
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby ihavezippers » Sun Apr 10, 2011 3:16 am

I should add that when I load the Plug-In Information tab upon restarting, the Miroslav program is not listed in the list of VST Plug-Ins. Not sure if it should be or not---it is not listed anywhere, although the path to the Miroslav subfolder I created is saved under the VST 2x tab.

Please help, I've gone through this process several times now and I havent made any progress.
ihavezippers
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby Guest » Sun Apr 10, 2011 11:09 am

Is it VST2 or 3? Is it listed in the Blacklist.XML file? Look to my sig for info.
Guest
 

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby ihavezippers » Sun Apr 10, 2011 2:53 pm

Im not sure what you mean. When I open PlugIn Information, the default tab is "VST Plug-Ins". There are several here listed as .vst3 files....? Is that what you are asking? Looking at the paths in this folder, I tried pasting the Miroslav .dll file into these paths, and updated the PlugIn Information tab, but it is still not showing.

I am new to Cubase and computer-based sequencing in general, so please don't assume I know anything. Thanks
ihavezippers
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby Guest » Sun Apr 10, 2011 3:19 pm

Is Miroslav VST 2 or 3? Look for a button in Plug Info labeled VST2.x Paths and do what I said above.
Guest
 

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby ihavezippers » Sun Apr 10, 2011 3:43 pm

I only have a "VST 2.x Plug-in Paths" button within the Plug-In Information tab. WIthin this, I am only showing three file paths: one under Cubase labeled "VST Plug-Ins", one under Steinberg labeled "VST2", and one under Steinberg labeled "My Plug Ins".

I have pasted the Miroslav .dll file in all three of these paths, closed/reopened Cubase, and tried both looking within the "Plug-In Information" tab to point towards the Miroslav vst (it is still not showing) and creating a new Instrument track where the only VST showing is HALion.
ihavezippers
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby Guest » Sun Apr 10, 2011 4:01 pm

Ok, you should only put 1 .dll in the My Plugs folder and point to it. It may be Blacklisted so you need to check that Prefs file to see. My sig has more info on what/where.
Guest
 

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby ihavezippers » Sun Apr 10, 2011 4:16 pm

I do only have one .dll in the folder it is pointed to. I went to your signature page, and was directed to go to the following path for PC Windows XP:
"System drive \Documents and Settings\<your username>\Application data\Steinberg\[Application]"

I don't have such a path---when I get to my username, I have a few folders, but nothing named Application data...and nothing that would seem a likely substitute (I have folders like Start Menu, Desktop, My Documents).
ihavezippers
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby ihavezippers » Sun Apr 10, 2011 4:53 pm

I think I found the Blacklist file, in:C:\Documents and Settings\bardy\Application Data\Steinberg\Cubase LE 4\Vst2xBlacklist.xml


This is what was opened when I clicked on the Blacklist file:
<Vst2xBlacklist>
- <list name="Entries" type="list">
- <item>
<string name="Group" value="BlackList" />
- <member name="Values">
- <member name="BlackList">
- <list name="paths" type="obj">
- <obj class="FNPath" ID="201113776">
<string name="Name" value="Philharmonik.dll" />
<string name="Path" value="C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase LE 4\VSTPlugIns\Miroslav\" />
- <member name="FileType">
<int name="MacType" value="1936223330" />
<string name="DosType" value="dll" />
<string name="UnixType" value="dll" />
<string name="Name" value="Module" />
</member>
</obj>
- <obj class="FNPath" ID="202714928">
<string name="Name" value="Philharmonik.dll" />
<string name="Path" value="C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase LE 4\VSTPlugIns\Other\" />
- <member name="FileType">
<int name="MacType" value="1936223330" />
<string name="DosType" value="dll" />
<string name="UnixType" value="dll" />
<string name="Name" value="Module" />
</member>
</obj>
- <obj class="FNPath" ID="201112280">
<string name="Name" value="Philharmonik.dll" />
<string name="Path" value="C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase LE 4\VSTPlugIns\" />
- <member name="FileType">
<int name="MacType" value="1936223330" />
<string name="DosType" value="dll" />
<string name="UnixType" value="dll" />
<string name="Name" value="Module" />
</member>
</obj>
</list>
</member>
</member>
</item>
</list>
</Vst2xBlacklist>

Do I need to delete this file? As you can see, the Miroslav .dll file is listed.
ihavezippers
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby ihavezippers » Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:18 pm

Just in case your suggestion was to delete this file, I deleted it, then directed Cubase to the one PlugIn folder I have (which has the Miroslav .dll file in it), restarted Cubase, and still it is not locating Miroslav.
ihavezippers
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby Guest » Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:24 pm

Is it still listed after re-start? If so, it appears you can't use it.
Guest
 

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby ihavezippers » Sun Apr 10, 2011 8:52 pm

The blacklist regenerates itself after I restart, and the Miroslav program is once again listed. However, it can't be that I am not permitted to use it. I have seen substantial evidence on the web, including YouTube videos, of individuals using Miroslav Philharmonik with Cubase with no issues.
ihavezippers
New Member
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2011 9:57 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Adding a Third Party Plug-In

Postby Guest » Sun Apr 10, 2011 10:18 pm

Go to kvr audio and download a free plug and try it.
Guest
 


Return to Cubase LE and Cubase AI

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests