Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.

Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby MRedZac » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:08 pm

Hello !

As an answer to broken dongles and quality complains about the dongles housing here at the forum, I developped together with a friend some kind of solution to make our dongles 100 % rock solid - in a customizeable design.
The idea is as easy as genius: 2 pieces of well-designed stuff around and nothing can damage your expencive licenses anymore ! - But the best of it all: You can choose the colours or even the material by yourself. No matter if you want to have it in stable plastic, metal, wood, aluminium - even pure silver or gold is possible, too...
If you were looking for a solution, solving the "Dongle Problem", which doesn´t look like self made handicrafts and without loosing the warranty, this has to be YOUR choice ! ;)

See here how it works and what I´m talking about:

Image

Now the dongle goes to the carriage:

Image

The carriage goes into the holster:

Image

Finally:

Image

By putting a ring thru the hole at the end, you can make sure the carrier is fixed completely and your dongle is safe for carrying around with a bunch of keys or to be hung around your neck.

Want to have it ? Have any ideas to make it better ? - Then don´t hasitate to send me some PN and I´ll provide all the details to you !

:)

Cheers
Garfield
Last edited by MRedZac on Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DAW 1: Commodore C64, 64 k Ram, Windows Basic, Cinch out, Datasette and 1541 Floppy
DAW 2: Dell E5520 mit i5 2,3 GHz, 8 GB, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
DAW 3: Intel i7-2600K, 16GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Focusrite RedNet PCIe
DAW 4: Dell Precission 390, 4 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x86, Cubase 7 x86, Dante Virtual Sound Card und RME HDSP 9652
DAW 5: Dell Poweredge 860, 8 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
DAW 6: Lenovo ThinkPad T430u, i5, 8 GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
Anderes Zeug: Focusrite RedNet 3, 3x Steinberg MR816x, Cubase iC pro, 2x Behringer ADA8000, Frontier Tranzport, Native Instruments Kore 2, Yamaha LS9-32 mit 2x MY16-AUD Dante Cards, Yamaha 03d, 2x CME UF70, JBL L90, Tannoy 600 als 5.1 System, Sony D7, Sony R7, 2x Sony DVP55M, Lexicon LXP15, Yamaha MU100R, Korg i30, Korg x3, Korg i3, Korg Kronos, u.v.m. - http://www.mediacoustics.eu
User avatar
MRedZac
Junior Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby Guest » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:20 pm

Nice try, but I can see many issues with it. Won't elaborate as I'm not getting paid to. Besides, selling stuff on the forums is prohibited.
Guest
 

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby MRedZac » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:33 pm

mashedmitten wrote:Won't elaborate as I'm not getting paid to. Besides, selling stuff on the forums is prohibited.


I´m not selling anything here... Just making contacts, collecting ideas - that´s all. Anyway, thanks for having a look to it ! :)
DAW 1: Commodore C64, 64 k Ram, Windows Basic, Cinch out, Datasette and 1541 Floppy
DAW 2: Dell E5520 mit i5 2,3 GHz, 8 GB, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
DAW 3: Intel i7-2600K, 16GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Focusrite RedNet PCIe
DAW 4: Dell Precission 390, 4 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x86, Cubase 7 x86, Dante Virtual Sound Card und RME HDSP 9652
DAW 5: Dell Poweredge 860, 8 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
DAW 6: Lenovo ThinkPad T430u, i5, 8 GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
Anderes Zeug: Focusrite RedNet 3, 3x Steinberg MR816x, Cubase iC pro, 2x Behringer ADA8000, Frontier Tranzport, Native Instruments Kore 2, Yamaha LS9-32 mit 2x MY16-AUD Dante Cards, Yamaha 03d, 2x CME UF70, JBL L90, Tannoy 600 als 5.1 System, Sony D7, Sony R7, 2x Sony DVP55M, Lexicon LXP15, Yamaha MU100R, Korg i30, Korg x3, Korg i3, Korg Kronos, u.v.m. - http://www.mediacoustics.eu
User avatar
MRedZac
Junior Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby Guest » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:36 pm

Sure reads like a commercial to me.
Guest
 

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby MRedZac » Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:01 pm

mashedmitten wrote:Nice try, but I can see many issues with it. Won't elaborate as I'm not getting paid to. Besides, selling stuff on the forums is prohibited.


mashedmitten wrote:Sure reads like a commercial to me.


That's just sour grapes... ;)
DAW 1: Commodore C64, 64 k Ram, Windows Basic, Cinch out, Datasette and 1541 Floppy
DAW 2: Dell E5520 mit i5 2,3 GHz, 8 GB, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
DAW 3: Intel i7-2600K, 16GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Focusrite RedNet PCIe
DAW 4: Dell Precission 390, 4 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x86, Cubase 7 x86, Dante Virtual Sound Card und RME HDSP 9652
DAW 5: Dell Poweredge 860, 8 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
DAW 6: Lenovo ThinkPad T430u, i5, 8 GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
Anderes Zeug: Focusrite RedNet 3, 3x Steinberg MR816x, Cubase iC pro, 2x Behringer ADA8000, Frontier Tranzport, Native Instruments Kore 2, Yamaha LS9-32 mit 2x MY16-AUD Dante Cards, Yamaha 03d, 2x CME UF70, JBL L90, Tannoy 600 als 5.1 System, Sony D7, Sony R7, 2x Sony DVP55M, Lexicon LXP15, Yamaha MU100R, Korg i30, Korg x3, Korg i3, Korg Kronos, u.v.m. - http://www.mediacoustics.eu
User avatar
MRedZac
Junior Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby Guest » Tue Jul 12, 2011 9:13 pm

Simple but effective, love it 8-)

You could protect the connector too with a smaller (intergrated) version of this, so you have sort of a cap you don't have to remove.
Guest
 

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby SirJoseph » Wed Jul 13, 2011 6:35 am

Not a fan of making the dongle WIDER than it is. I have an iLok thats *knuf* HUGE and SHAPED LIKE A KEY!?!?!? already and they BARELY plug in next to each other on my MB.
Too bad you cant Daisy Chain these STUPID *flower*. bassdrum take away my *knuf* USB ports when I pay for their software? THANKS!
Meanwhile hackers steal it and have no such problems. Awesome hey?
Kinda like gun control, only making it harder for the LAW ABIDING citizens to purchase guns. Criminals get it cheaper/faster with NO RULES.
End rant.
15'' Macbook Pro Mid 2012 2.3 10.9+ 8gb 750gb 7200rpm, 500gb 5400
MOTU Ultralite | Motif XS6 + FW | Akai MPK25 | Korg K25
Rode NT1 | Shure BETA 87A | Audix OM2
Cubase SX2, 4, 5, 6, 7+
NI Komplete 5, 7 | EWQL Symphonic Choirs
Tascam VL-X5 | Sony MDR-V900 | MDR-7509 | Audio Technica ATH-M50 | Technics SA-GX650 | KLH 8s, 15s
Stanton STR8-60 (2) | Stanton SK-ONE
SirJoseph
Junior Member
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 6:02 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby Centralmusic » Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:39 am

For me, it reads also like a commercial to me. Sorry....

ok. I prefer a Dongle like this (metal, flat, indestructible, for the keychain, for the neck, waterproof):
Image

Opinions?
Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3299
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby matjones » Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:19 am

I don't think it came across in a full on commercial manner, ok possibly pushing the rules just a touch but i can see one fatal design flaw in it straight away unfortunately.
Cubase 6.5/7/7.5 Asus P6TSE, i7 920 @ 2.67GHz, 18GB Corsair 1600 RAM, ATI HD4890, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, Duende NE, UAD2 Solo/Quad, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM, Waves Gold 9, HALion 4, The Grand 3 SE, BFD2 (+ Expansions), WL8 elements, Melodyne Editor 2, MOTU Midiexpress 128 , Various toys, Neumann, AKG, SE Mics, Adam A7X, Aventone Monoblock monitors, AKG K702, Warwick, Spector, and Peavey Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.
User avatar
matjones
Member
 
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby savadious » Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:33 am

Centralmusic wrote:For me, it reads also like a commercial to me. Sorry....

ok. I prefer a Dongle like this (metal, flat, indestructible, for the keychain, for the neck, waterproof):
Image

Opinions?


I have this EXACT same item. It has its drawbacks. Mainly - sometimes you have to tilt it towards the contacts or it is not recognized due to being to much longer than teh actual contacts themselves - there is a lot of 'play'.


Mine is just a 4gig USB memory 'key' I carry with my car keys - just in case.... I ever need an emergency USB
Savadious
Free 2gig online music data storage account here ---> http://db.tt/vbuo2sX Great FREEbie. Cubase 6 | Windows 7 Pro x64 | a dozen other personal machines -DAW 2x, HTPC, Router, Gaming PCx, Linux, OSX, etc each with its own duties- (not listed due to sig space)
savadious
Member
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2011 3:14 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby ruddy duck » Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:10 pm

I refer the honourable gentlemen to the post I made a few moments ago.
ruddy duck
Junior Member
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby MRedZac » Wed Jul 13, 2011 1:45 pm

Centralmusic wrote:For me, it reads also like a commercial to me. Sorry....

ok. I prefer a Dongle like this (metal, flat, indestructible, for the keychain, for the neck, waterproof):
Image

Opinions?


Hi Central,

the problem is not to develop a dongle cover like this for the existing dongles, replacing the plastic all around - the problem is much more, that if you cover your dongle inlays like this, that you will loose all your warranty on it and all assurances from steinberg or other companies, replacing the licenses, once they got lost from it...
Last edited by MRedZac on Thu Jul 14, 2011 3:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DAW 1: Commodore C64, 64 k Ram, Windows Basic, Cinch out, Datasette and 1541 Floppy
DAW 2: Dell E5520 mit i5 2,3 GHz, 8 GB, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
DAW 3: Intel i7-2600K, 16GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Focusrite RedNet PCIe
DAW 4: Dell Precission 390, 4 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x86, Cubase 7 x86, Dante Virtual Sound Card und RME HDSP 9652
DAW 5: Dell Poweredge 860, 8 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
DAW 6: Lenovo ThinkPad T430u, i5, 8 GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
Anderes Zeug: Focusrite RedNet 3, 3x Steinberg MR816x, Cubase iC pro, 2x Behringer ADA8000, Frontier Tranzport, Native Instruments Kore 2, Yamaha LS9-32 mit 2x MY16-AUD Dante Cards, Yamaha 03d, 2x CME UF70, JBL L90, Tannoy 600 als 5.1 System, Sony D7, Sony R7, 2x Sony DVP55M, Lexicon LXP15, Yamaha MU100R, Korg i30, Korg x3, Korg i3, Korg Kronos, u.v.m. - http://www.mediacoustics.eu
User avatar
MRedZac
Junior Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby matjones » Wed Jul 13, 2011 3:16 pm

Steve Fogal wrote:At least the VST 5 serial donlge was solid and well secured...unlike a USB dongle. Steinberg really needs to come up with a better solution themselves.


lol yeah that was one chunky bit of kit alright.
You could do some damage if you threw it as someone! :lol:
Cubase 6.5/7/7.5 Asus P6TSE, i7 920 @ 2.67GHz, 18GB Corsair 1600 RAM, ATI HD4890, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, Duende NE, UAD2 Solo/Quad, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM, Waves Gold 9, HALion 4, The Grand 3 SE, BFD2 (+ Expansions), WL8 elements, Melodyne Editor 2, MOTU Midiexpress 128 , Various toys, Neumann, AKG, SE Mics, Adam A7X, Aventone Monoblock monitors, AKG K702, Warwick, Spector, and Peavey Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.
User avatar
matjones
Member
 
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby Centralmusic » Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:47 pm

@ MRedZac: thank you for you statement. I think, agree with you.
Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3299
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby HowlingUlf » Thu Jul 14, 2011 8:41 pm

Just plug a USB extension cable into the computer and make a hole on the side of a plastic lunchbox for the other end. Run the cable through the hole and then attach the dongle to the cable and close the box. 8-)
Gothenburg, Sweden
Cubase 7.5 32 | Intel i7 860 | 8GB | Win7 64 | Emu 1820M | BCR2000 | MPD16 via MIDI
and a few cables ... and some more stuff ... and even more than that, would you believe it ?!!?
User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby MRedZac » Fri Jul 15, 2011 7:03 am

HowlingUlf wrote:Just plug a USB extension cable into the computer and make a hole on the side of a plastic lunchbox for the other end. Run the cable through the hole and then attach the dongle to the cable and close the box. 8-)


And this is what you call a professional solution ? - You want to hang your lunchbox around your neck or carry it around with a bunch of keys ? - Hm... :D
DAW 1: Commodore C64, 64 k Ram, Windows Basic, Cinch out, Datasette and 1541 Floppy
DAW 2: Dell E5520 mit i5 2,3 GHz, 8 GB, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
DAW 3: Intel i7-2600K, 16GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Focusrite RedNet PCIe
DAW 4: Dell Precission 390, 4 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x86, Cubase 7 x86, Dante Virtual Sound Card und RME HDSP 9652
DAW 5: Dell Poweredge 860, 8 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
DAW 6: Lenovo ThinkPad T430u, i5, 8 GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
Anderes Zeug: Focusrite RedNet 3, 3x Steinberg MR816x, Cubase iC pro, 2x Behringer ADA8000, Frontier Tranzport, Native Instruments Kore 2, Yamaha LS9-32 mit 2x MY16-AUD Dante Cards, Yamaha 03d, 2x CME UF70, JBL L90, Tannoy 600 als 5.1 System, Sony D7, Sony R7, 2x Sony DVP55M, Lexicon LXP15, Yamaha MU100R, Korg i30, Korg x3, Korg i3, Korg Kronos, u.v.m. - http://www.mediacoustics.eu
User avatar
MRedZac
Junior Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby HowlingUlf » Fri Jul 15, 2011 7:23 am

MRedZac wrote:
HowlingUlf wrote:Just plug a USB extension cable into the computer and make a hole on the side of a plastic lunchbox for the other end. Run the cable through the hole and then attach the dongle to the cable and close the box. 8-)


And this is what you call a professional solution ? - You want to hang your lunchbox around your neck or carry it around with a bunch of keys ? - Hm... :D


Well, drop the box and just use the extension cable? Try to understand the essence? Your very professional solution doesn't really solve the problem with having the dongle broken off if plugged directly into a laptop and some intoxicated musician is dancing by and break both the "protected" dongle in half and the jack in the computer as well. The computer is probably fixable but the contact of the very expensive dongle is bent out of shape. Just don't place it that close to the danger was the message.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Cubase 7.5 32 | Intel i7 860 | 8GB | Win7 64 | Emu 1820M | BCR2000 | MPD16 via MIDI
and a few cables ... and some more stuff ... and even more than that, would you believe it ?!!?
User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1526
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby MRedZac » Fri Jul 15, 2011 7:36 am

HowlingUlf wrote:
MRedZac wrote:
HowlingUlf wrote:Just plug a USB extension cable into the computer and make a hole on the side of a plastic lunchbox for the other end. Run the cable through the hole and then attach the dongle to the cable and close the box. 8-)


And this is what you call a professional solution ? - You want to hang your lunchbox around your neck or carry it around with a bunch of keys ? - Hm... :D


Well, drop the box and just use the extension cable? Try to understand the essence? Your very professional solution doesn't really solve the problem with having the dongle broken off if plugged directly into a laptop and some intoxicated musician is dancing by and break both the "protected" dongle in half and the jack in the computer as well. The computer is probably fixable but the contact of the very expensive dongle is bent out of shape. Just don't place it that close to the danger was the message.


Well, after several tests, I can tell you, that the dongle in the up above presented dongle protector will survive without damage if somebody running against it, while it is connected to a USB port, since we changed the load balance point at the USB tip... And it will not damage the USB Port on the computer that much anymore as it would be without dongle protector, since it has larger place around the USB-Port now, filled up with plastic, which wasn´t there like this before. But of course, it cannot be said for sure, that the USB Port in computer will not be damaged at all, once somebody will run against it - just the chance, that the USB-Port gets damaged if somebody will run against a simple cable connector of a USB prolongation cable, or somebody by accident will catch the cable in any way, which in your way of solution is hanging down to your lunch box, is even higher than an impact on a connected dongle in dongle protector...

On this picture you can see, how close the dongle protector comes to the laptop and this provides much more stability in terms of accidential impacts to the dongle, than it would be without or with just a cable connector:

Image
DAW 1: Commodore C64, 64 k Ram, Windows Basic, Cinch out, Datasette and 1541 Floppy
DAW 2: Dell E5520 mit i5 2,3 GHz, 8 GB, Win 7 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
DAW 3: Intel i7-2600K, 16GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Focusrite RedNet PCIe
DAW 4: Dell Precission 390, 4 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x86, Cubase 7 x86, Dante Virtual Sound Card und RME HDSP 9652
DAW 5: Dell Poweredge 860, 8 GB Ram, Win 7 Pro x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
DAW 6: Lenovo ThinkPad T430u, i5, 8 GB Ram, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7 x64, Nuendo 6 x64, Dante Virtual Soundcard
Anderes Zeug: Focusrite RedNet 3, 3x Steinberg MR816x, Cubase iC pro, 2x Behringer ADA8000, Frontier Tranzport, Native Instruments Kore 2, Yamaha LS9-32 mit 2x MY16-AUD Dante Cards, Yamaha 03d, 2x CME UF70, JBL L90, Tannoy 600 als 5.1 System, Sony D7, Sony R7, 2x Sony DVP55M, Lexicon LXP15, Yamaha MU100R, Korg i30, Korg x3, Korg i3, Korg Kronos, u.v.m. - http://www.mediacoustics.eu
User avatar
MRedZac
Junior Member
 
Posts: 150
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:12 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Dongle Quality Problem ? - Here is the solution !

Postby likelystory » Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:14 pm

likelystory
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times


Return to Steinberg Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: swamptone and 3 guests