still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Post questions and find answers on our Cubase 6 releases here.

still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby CosmicD » Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:50 am

Hello,

I found it a bit weird that steinberg offers no upgrade from cubase 5 studio to 6 artist. I DID read in the faq that it would actually be a downgrade but I don't see such a significant downgrade that it would actually impede the experience i have had with the studio line of upgrades I had over the past years.

I had 32 vsti's limit in 5 studio, I'm not feeling so limited by 64 audio tracks and i certainly think that i don't need all the stuff like control room and all full plugin set that cubase 6 offers. it would be just much more clutter on my screen honestly and stuff I don't want to deal with like surround, and beefed up workspace stuff...

So either I spend €200 in upgading to a system which is too much for me, or 300 on a "downgrade that isn't" because steinberg doesn't offer me it for €99 or so ?

The way I see it, I'm forced to buy cubase 6 for only the extra value of the plugins and some unlimited stuff I don't really need. I have bought alot of 3th party plugins.

Therefore, the aim of me to upgrade to a new cubase is to experience improved work flow and 64bit maturation.

So unless I really overlooked something, like maybe there will be not an in-note controller editor or something ? But if every workflow improvement will be in cubase 6 artist, then I just don't see why I must make the jump to the "high end" edition....

If you look at this page where they have the studio 5 comparison, and then look at the comparison for cubase 6. THe only significant thing I see that you go from 128 to 32 inputs/outputs. Really, i dont even come close to 16 outputs on my system because i just have (and never will) no need for so much outputs.

So I hope Steinberg will revise this policy :(
CosmicD
New Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby S4410 » Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:31 am

CosmicD wrote:I found it a bit weird that steinberg offers no upgrade from cubase 5 studio to 6 artist. I DID read in the faq that it would actually be a downgrade but I don't see such a significant downgrade that it would actually impede the experience i have had with the studio line of upgrades I had over the past years.

So I hope Steinberg will revise this policy :(


I have to agree on this.I saw the feature comparison between C6 and C6 Artist and i think that the Artist version is an upgrade to Studio really.More or less the same improvements. I chose to buy 2 Cubase licenses(see signature),one full and one lighter for the road,so i have both C5 and C5 Studio.When you sold and marketed the Studio version you knew there was a group of customers not interested for all the bells and whistles of the full version.So why are you forcing them to pay 200e now?

Steinberg makes no discounts whatsoever for dedicated customers like me (i also own Wavelab 7), i find this unfair and i hope sales people reconsider.
Windows 7 Home 64bit | i7 3770k | Intel DZ77BH-55K | 16GB | Asus AMD 6450 | RME HDSPe AiO | Cubase 7.5 | Wavelab 8.5 | HSO 16bit | NI Komplete 9 | VSL Special Edition | Ableton Live 8 Intro(rewired) | UAD-2 Quad

Macbook 2.4 | Mac OS X 10.7.5 | Cubase Elements 6
User avatar
S4410
Junior Member
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby Guest » Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:48 am

S4410 wrote:Steinberg makes no discounts whatsoever for dedicated customers like me (i also own Wavelab 7), i find this unfair and i hope sales people reconsider.


Maybe but there are features such as Batch Export that have been removed from the "defacto" studio version
Guest
 

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby DaDa » Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:38 am

Not a good move.
Some of my clients who own Studio5 ( due to my encouragement ),
will not pay 200,- for a full V6, which they don't need.
The only reason for them to upgrade, would be compatibility with my studio.

If this won't change, I will keep V5 installed and Steinberg will lose money ...
:?

bye, Jan
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4,2gHz | 8gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 19" LCDs | System SSD |7tb Data HDs
RayDat | ProFire 2626 | UR 824
Win7 64bit | Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | Samplitude 11 32bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore
User avatar
DaDa
Member
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby Guest » Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:45 am

Maybe "feature completeness" needs to be looked at in order to justify this kind of decision.

Personally for myself I will be chugging along on studio for some time yet as I don't have the power to run W7 and do upgrades very slowly but not so slow as to lag.

Anyway the feature list is nice but being from Australia I have no idea what a new version costs.

Does this mean that almost all prior 6 users are in the cold?
Guest
 

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby CosmicD » Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:28 am

my biggest projects have 24 vsti's maybe 3 or 4 insert vst's and 10/12 audio tracks and 36 to 40 midi tracks . This perfectly matches the way the "artist" line would click into my possibilities and needs.

Steinberg finds it important enough to see 128 ins/outs and unlimited trakcs as a full studio reaquirement. While I've always been making music in my little project studio that only has a hdsp52/96 and an beringher 8 in/out physical outputs. I just have too much "wasted potential software" if I would upgrade to cubase 6.

I wish I could have a deal with my dealer. What do they have to loose from the steinberg side ? Let them say "hah, he is so dumb he is paying 99 for a "doawngrade". :P But it's something that will be more suitable to me.
CosmicD
New Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby Crevalation » Fri Jan 14, 2011 10:47 am

Yeah, totally agreeable, I am on Cubase Studio 5 and to being "forced" to upgrade to Cubase 6 is paying for lots of capacity which I don't really need.
Crevalation
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby The Oracle » Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:47 am

Crevalation wrote:Yeah, totally agreeable, I am on Cubase Studio 5 and to being "forced" to upgrade to Cubase 6 is paying for lots of capacity which I don't really need.


The additional cost's you would be charged is 49,- Euro/Dollar compared to the regular update price.
You would get VST expression 2, Vari Audio, more instruments, more plugins, VST Amp Rack, multitrack editing, Surround, Control room and more.
If you believe this is not worth the price and you are happy with your current Studio version, why not stick with what you have?
The Oracle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: Frankfurt
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby Crevalation » Fri Jan 14, 2011 2:09 pm

The Oracle wrote:
Crevalation wrote:Yeah, totally agreeable, I am on Cubase Studio 5 and to being "forced" to upgrade to Cubase 6 is paying for lots of capacity which I don't really need.


The additional cost's you would be charged is 49,- Euro/Dollar compared to the regular update price.
You would get VST expression 2, Vari Audio, more instruments, more plugins, VST Amp Rack, multitrack editing, Surround, Control room and more.
If you believe this is not worth the price and you are happy with your current Studio version, why not stick with what you have?


Well, not exactly $49, technically Studio 4 to Studio 5 upgrade previously cost $99, so in this case it's an $100 upgrade for those features u mentioned. Appreciate your point on the extra features, just that I don't really use Vari Audio and I have enough plugins and virtual amps already. The only thing that got me interested is probably VST expression 2 as I uses Midi alot for orchestration programming. Don't think that would justify paying $200 for that.
Crevalation
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby CosmicD » Fri Jan 14, 2011 2:51 pm

I'd think that vst expression is also in the artist version right? but not 2.0. It's strange but i never even use it in cubase studio 5, i just do velocity mapping of my eastwest instruments oldschool because i'm used to it .

But still I would like to benifit from internal and workflow optimization + engine optimization. Because if you just stick with cubase 5 you will just be skipping version after version untill there's one that really becomes irresistible and then you're paying ful price again so it's only normal to want to evolve with cubase version if you already invested and dedicated yourself for using that program.
CosmicD
New Member
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:25 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby S4410 » Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:01 pm

The fact is Steinberg is not treating their customers right.
On Cubase 4 they introduced the Studio version and those 2 were the only compatible.I also owned the full version and i needed compatibility, a lighter feature set and a less expensive product..
Now 2 versions later they end the Studio line and introduce the Artist.Both compatible.OK..But we are NOT allowed to choose it! Even if it's a downgrade(which i doubt after seeing the comparison chart) ,why don't they support their product and the ''fools'' who bought it in an ethical way?
Windows 7 Home 64bit | i7 3770k | Intel DZ77BH-55K | 16GB | Asus AMD 6450 | RME HDSPe AiO | Cubase 7.5 | Wavelab 8.5 | HSO 16bit | NI Komplete 9 | VSL Special Edition | Ableton Live 8 Intro(rewired) | UAD-2 Quad

Macbook 2.4 | Mac OS X 10.7.5 | Cubase Elements 6
User avatar
S4410
Junior Member
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby The Oracle » Fri Jan 14, 2011 4:28 pm

Crevalation wrote:
The Oracle wrote:
Crevalation wrote:Yeah, totally agreeable, I am on Cubase Studio 5 and to being "forced" to upgrade to Cubase 6 is paying for lots of capacity which I don't really need.


The additional cost's you would be charged is 49,- Euro/Dollar compared to the regular update price.
You would get VST expression 2, Vari Audio, more instruments, more plugins, VST Amp Rack, multitrack editing, Surround, Control room and more.
If you believe this is not worth the price and you are happy with your current Studio version, why not stick with what you have?


Well, not exactly $49, technically Studio 4 to Studio 5 upgrade previously cost $99, so in this case it's an $100 upgrade for those features u mentioned.


I compared the 149.- for current C5 users with the 199.- for current CS5 users. So it's rather 50,- bucks but still a good deal when you compare the regular price for both full versions.
On the other side, if the new feature set does not fulfil your needs, any price would be too high anyway. No one is forced to buy the update, for some might it worthwhile to look after version 7. And doin' just music in the meantime.
The Oracle
Junior Member
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: Frankfurt
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby DaDa » Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:25 pm

The Oracle wrote:On the other side, if the new feature set does not fulfil your needs, any price would be too high anyway. No one is forced to buy the update, for some might it worthwhile to look after version 7. And doin' just music in the meantime.

Doin' music will not work, if it incorporates colaborating with other studios / musicians using V6.
Users needing to do so, would in fact be forced to upgrade to full V6.
Only if V5 and V6 are fully compatible in both directions, they would have a choice ...
But that would be a first.

Did the market analysts really say, it would bring more income,
to force a few studio users to pay 200,-, than having most studio users pay 99,- ??
I can't imagine, that this is true.
( OK, there's still the extra logistics, to offer a 2nd 'downgrade', but nevertheless ... )

In the name of my clients : Please reconsider.

bye, Jan
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4,2gHz | 8gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 19" LCDs | System SSD |7tb Data HDs
RayDat | ProFire 2626 | UR 824
Win7 64bit | Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | Samplitude 11 32bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore
User avatar
DaDa
Member
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby Crevalation » Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:48 am

Crevalation wrote:
The Oracle wrote:
Crevalation wrote:The additional cost's you would be charged is 49,- Euro/Dollar compared to the regular update price.
You would get VST expression 2, Vari Audio, more instruments, more plugins, VST Amp Rack, multitrack editing, Surround, Control room and more.
If you believe this is not worth the price and you are happy with your current Studio version, why not stick with what you have?


Well, not exactly $49, technically Studio 4 to Studio 5 upgrade previously cost $99, so in this case it's an $100 upgrade for those features u mentioned.


I compared the 149.- for current C5 users with the 199.- for current CS5 users. So it's rather 50,- bucks but still a good deal when you compare the regular price for both full versions.
On the other side, if the new feature set does not fulfil your needs, any price would be too high anyway. No one is forced to buy the update, for some might it worthwhile to look after version 7. And doin' just music in the meantime.


I am mainly a Midi user. Come to think about it, if it's just 99 to get VST Expression 2 plus Halion Sonic SE which can be used along with VST Exp 2, plus loopmash 2 and better hit point, then I will certainly pay that 99 from my point of view. But even that is true, I still have to splash some cash in getting a new system running on Window 7 as I am on Vista. Getting really expensive. But have to change as it is unlikely Steiny would fully support other systems judging from this announcement.
LIke what Dada said, collaboration with others will hit a bummer if I don't change. Sigh. So, in practice = FORCED to change
Crevalation
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:03 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby Guest » Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:49 am

The price to "upgrade" from CS5 to CA6 seems to be not much more that what it was going from CS4 to CS5 at the educational discount price.

How this can be interpreted as price gouging is ludicrous one would think.
Guest
 

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby S4410 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:20 pm

bump on this one

Is there a chance we get this?
If not,i still have the option to sell my CS5 licence and buy C6 Artist of course...
I would appreciate a response from the moderators
Windows 7 Home 64bit | i7 3770k | Intel DZ77BH-55K | 16GB | Asus AMD 6450 | RME HDSPe AiO | Cubase 7.5 | Wavelab 8.5 | HSO 16bit | NI Komplete 9 | VSL Special Edition | Ableton Live 8 Intro(rewired) | UAD-2 Quad

Macbook 2.4 | Mac OS X 10.7.5 | Cubase Elements 6
User avatar
S4410
Junior Member
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby Chris Beuermann » Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:29 pm

Hello,


I'm sorry, but there will be not an "downgrade" from Studio to Artist.

Cheers,

Chris
Chris Beuermann
 

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby S4410 » Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:32 pm

Chris Beuermann wrote:Hello,


I'm sorry, but there will be not an "downgrade" from Studio to Artist.

Cheers,

Chris



ok,thank you for answering
Windows 7 Home 64bit | i7 3770k | Intel DZ77BH-55K | 16GB | Asus AMD 6450 | RME HDSPe AiO | Cubase 7.5 | Wavelab 8.5 | HSO 16bit | NI Komplete 9 | VSL Special Edition | Ableton Live 8 Intro(rewired) | UAD-2 Quad

Macbook 2.4 | Mac OS X 10.7.5 | Cubase Elements 6
User avatar
S4410
Junior Member
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby DaDa » Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:44 am

Chris Beuermann wrote:I'm sorry, but there will be not an "downgrade" from Studio to Artist.

OK, will V6 projects load in V5.5 ?

bye, Jan
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4,2gHz | 8gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 19" LCDs | System SSD |7tb Data HDs
RayDat | ProFire 2626 | UR 824
Win7 64bit | Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | Samplitude 11 32bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore
User avatar
DaDa
Member
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby Guest » Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:56 am

DaDa wrote:
Chris Beuermann wrote:I'm sorry, but there will be not an "downgrade" from Studio to Artist.

OK, will V6 projects load in V5.5 ?

bye, Jan


Good question but why would you to do that if CA6 has had so many features "removed" and although it's a new product there is in my view considerable disenfranchisement on the part of Steinberg and I believe they should address the concerns of the userbase during the course of the next update cycle or face an indefinite backlash from the community.
Guest
 

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby dkalna » Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:08 am

Hi there, I wanted CS6 too, but hey, now I can get C6 for CHF 239,- . Isn't that cool? :-) Regards, Dalibor
Thanks you and best regards
Dalibor

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cubase Artist 7.5.2 64bit, Yamaha MO6, Focusrite Scarlett 6i6
User avatar
dkalna
New Member
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 9:58 pm
Location: Bern, Switzerland
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby Guest » Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:22 am

dkalna wrote:Hi there, I wanted CS6 too, but hey, now I can get C6 for CHF 239,- . Isn't that cool? :-) Regards, Dalibor


Hello

I don't really know what the prices are to upgrade from CS5 to C6 but the idea of buying Artist outright was good on first glace since it meant I could upgrade my old license down the track when the inevitable price reduction hits.

Now my hopes appear shattered and if Steinberg don't address the obvious deficiency with respect to audio handling then it will mean the view I will most likely form would be one of either contempt for Steinberg or in the very least I will see it as an opportunity missed therefore driving a dagger into the heart of a loyal user. :cry:
Guest
 

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby Suprawill1 » Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:26 am

C Artist 6 is a definite downgrade from CS5.

No batch export
No RoomWorks
No Studio Chorus
32 Instr Trks instead of 100
64 Audio Trks instead of 100

I could go on but these are mandatory needs for me. This "is" a force to go to the full version whether it's needed or not and as Crevalation mentioned, add the cost and time of converting to W7. I know of no other DAW or major program that doesn't have backward compatibility at least to Vista. I'm betting SBs motive there is to have a better success rate with all of Cubase's features and an easier time of determining user problems for the developers. I have no problem staying right where I'm at with CS5 unless I get saddled with V6 incompatibility from an adjoining work partner or client.
Home built Antec tower - Gigabyte EP45-UD3R - Intel Q9550@3.4G - Gemini cooler - Corsair CMPSU-550VX - 8G Crucial Ballistix - Dual monitor - Cubase Studio 5 - Vista Business 64 - Tascam FW-1082 mixer/card/controller/interface - Melodyne - Kore - Kontact - Halion Sonic - HSO - Addictive Drums - Morphology Etc Etc
Suprawill1
Member
 
Posts: 674
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby DaDa » Sat Jan 22, 2011 12:28 pm

Suprawill1 wrote:No batch export
No RoomWorks
No Studio Chorus
32 Instr Trks instead of 100
64 Audio Trks instead of 100
I could go on but these are mandatory needs for me.

Well, all Studio users I know, do not need any of these ...
And would pay, for an 'crossgrade' to Artist ( but not 200,- for and upgrade to full V.6 ).

bye, Jan
Intel Z87 | i5 4670K @ 4,2gHz | 8gb RAM | 6850 silent | 37", 2x 24", 19" LCDs | System SSD |7tb Data HDs
RayDat | ProFire 2626 | UR 824
Win7 64bit | Cubase 7.5.20 64bit | Samplitude 11 32bit
Sony VAIO | Intel 2x 2,4 gHz | Win 7 64bit | Cubase 6.5.5
Steinberg user since Commodore
User avatar
DaDa
Member
 
Posts: 459
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:22 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: still want to upgrade from 5 studio to 6 artist...

Postby S4410 » Sat Jan 22, 2011 12:38 pm

DaDa wrote:
Suprawill1 wrote:No batch export
No RoomWorks
No Studio Chorus
32 Instr Trks instead of 100
64 Audio Trks instead of 100
I could go on but these are mandatory needs for me.

Well, all Studio users I know, do not need any of these ...
And would pay, for an 'crossgrade' to Artist ( but not 200,- for and upgrade to full V.6 ).

bye, Jan


+1
But it seems Steinberg won't change their mind on this :(
And it would be so easy ,99 euros/dollars,and we could happily go on with our music...
I just don't understand their inflexibility sometimes...
Windows 7 Home 64bit | i7 3770k | Intel DZ77BH-55K | 16GB | Asus AMD 6450 | RME HDSPe AiO | Cubase 7.5 | Wavelab 8.5 | HSO 16bit | NI Komplete 9 | VSL Special Edition | Ableton Live 8 Intro(rewired) | UAD-2 Quad

Macbook 2.4 | Mac OS X 10.7.5 | Cubase Elements 6
User avatar
S4410
Junior Member
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:06 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Next

Return to Cubase 6 | Cubase Artist 6 | Cubase Elements 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests