Window hierarchy uggg!

Post questions and find answers on our Cubase 6 releases here.

Window hierarchy uggg!

Postby James K » Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:15 am

Quite fed up with the window management here in C6...trying to resurface windows that have fallen in behind others...and yes I have "always on top" selected. It did not bother me quite as much when I used to work with 2x22 monitors but currently I'm working on one 27 in. iMac and I find it a pain. Especially comparing it to working with Logic 9 on this computer where nothing gets lost...windows resize..and less time is spent searching.
I'm sure this topic has been done here mega..and I suspect Steiny is aware and in the process of fixing this in C7 but I thought I'd just vent a little.... Cube is a stellar program ... just needs this fixed badly though!
Cheers!
iMac 2011 , 8 Gigs RAM , C 7.5 ….UR28M….CC121….all Steinberg VSTs, Massive, Nexus, Waves
James K
Junior Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Window hierarchy uggg!

Postby Stealth » Fri Jan 20, 2012 4:59 am

James K wrote:Quite fed up with the window management here in C6...trying to resurface windows that have fallen in behind others...and yes I have "always on top" selected. It did not bother me quite as much when I used to work with 2x22 monitors but currently I'm working on one 27 in. iMac and I find it a pain. Especially comparing it to working with Logic 9 on this computer where nothing gets lost...windows resize..and less time is spent searching.
I'm sure this topic has been done here mega..and I suspect Steiny is aware and in the process of fixing this in C7 but I thought I'd just vent a little.... Cube is a stellar program ... just needs this fixed badly though!
Cheers!

What windows are resizing? You're not hitting the "maximize" button on any of the windows are you?
i7 4800MQ 2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Steinberg UR22, Win7 64bit, Cubase 7.5 64bit
Stealth
Member
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Window hierarchy uggg!

Postby James K » Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:42 am

So if I open the mini browser or others ...then work on the arrange page...it slips behind the arrange and I need to reopen it or resize the arrange to grab it from behind. Also the transport alway slips behind the arrange window.
also if I have the piano roll window open then work in the arrange it will slip behind.
Logics tabbed windows are fantastic to work with.
Cheers!
Ps. I do like to work with the arrange page at full size.
iMac 2011 , 8 Gigs RAM , C 7.5 ….UR28M….CC121….all Steinberg VSTs, Massive, Nexus, Waves
James K
Junior Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Window hierarchy uggg!

Postby Stealth » Fri Jan 20, 2012 7:06 am

James K wrote:So if I open the mini browser or others ...then work on the arrange page...it slips behind the arrange and I need to reopen it or resize the arrange to grab it from behind.

I have the Mediabay and Pool setup vertically (similar to Logic) off to the right of the screen. If I need them I just use the key commands I have set up and they always pop up the same place every time. Sometimes, if I need to, I'll grab the right edge of the arrange window and drag it to the left edge of the Mediabay or Pool window which is super fast and easy for me.

James K wrote:Also the transport alway slips behind the arrange window.

Thats weird. The transport should always stay on top of the arrange window.

James K wrote:also if I have the piano roll window open then work in the arrange it will slip behind.

You might want to try "edit in place" (ctrl- shift- I)

James K wrote:Logics tabbed windows are fantastic to work with.

Eventually Cubase will have docked/tabbed windows like Logic. All the new versions of all the other Steinberg apps have it: Wavelab, Halion, Sequel, etc... Cubendo is next.
i7 4800MQ 2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Steinberg UR22, Win7 64bit, Cubase 7.5 64bit
Stealth
Member
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Window hierarchy uggg!

Postby James K » Fri Jan 20, 2012 9:09 am

Thanks for taking the time Stealth.

Ohhh I hate window dragging in C6 after using Logic :D

I was incorrect about the transport..me bad.. what I meant was that it would sometimes slip behind the mixer.

I would love to use the edit in place. Good idea! Is there any way to zoom in and have the midi notes thicker?....I know I can get them longer but they are so thin on my screen. Hard to manipulate even when the track is at maximum width.
iMac 2011 , 8 Gigs RAM , C 7.5 ….UR28M….CC121….all Steinberg VSTs, Massive, Nexus, Waves
James K
Junior Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Window hierarchy uggg!

Postby dorremifasol » Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:53 pm

I really like how they did in Halion 4. After some use is quite comfortable. I just hope they do the same in Cubase but with A LOT faster redraw speed.
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 6.5.5 / 7.5.20, Halion 5.0.1.88, Wavelab 8.3, RME Fireface 800 v3.0.89.
https://soundcloud.com/joemcalby/
User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Window hierarchy uggg!

Postby Stealth » Fri Jan 20, 2012 11:22 pm

James K wrote:Is there any way to zoom in and have the midi notes thicker?

Just hover the mouse over the piano keys till the pointer turns into a hand then move the mouse horizontally to make the midi notes thicker.
i7 4800MQ 2.7Ghz, 16GB RAM, Steinberg UR22, Win7 64bit, Cubase 7.5 64bit
Stealth
Member
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Window hierarchy uggg!

Postby James K » Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:01 am

Perfect ...looking promising. Now I'll just get the right zoom commands to zoom into the selected midi part and this will be very good indeed!
Ty Stealth


Shift E......giddyup! :D
iMac 2011 , 8 Gigs RAM , C 7.5 ….UR28M….CC121….all Steinberg VSTs, Massive, Nexus, Waves
James K
Junior Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Window hierarchy uggg!

Postby James K » Mon Aug 20, 2012 1:48 am

Just revisiting this after being quite frustrated with Beat Designer not having an "always on top" option....it keeps falling in behind the arrange window!!!

I want to know WHY it does not have the "always on top" like the other plugins do????
iMac 2011 , 8 Gigs RAM , C 7.5 ….UR28M….CC121….all Steinberg VSTs, Massive, Nexus, Waves
James K
Junior Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Window hierarchy uggg!

Postby HugoJacquet » Mon Aug 20, 2012 5:36 pm

Hello,

If you have a trackpad, APP exposé is the solution! In Lion/ Mountain Lion you enable it this way:

System preferences/ Trackpad/ More gestures/ App Exposé (whipe down with three fingers.

It is the same as exposé, but only the open windows of the app that has focus. Works incredible well with Cubase!

I am coming from windows and I think this way of working is even superior to "the mouse". Working on a Macbook pro and when I buy an Imac (one day...): no mouse, TRACKPAD!

Hugo
HugoJacquet
Junior Member
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:45 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Window hierarchy uggg!

Postby James K » Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:32 pm

Thanks for the info Hugo!
Cheers!
iMac 2011 , 8 Gigs RAM , C 7.5 ….UR28M….CC121….all Steinberg VSTs, Massive, Nexus, Waves
James K
Junior Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 11 times


Return to Cubase 6 | Cubase Artist 6 | Cubase Elements 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: leftarmover11 and 2 guests