Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.

Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby alexis » Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:03 pm

http://north-america.beyerdynamic.com/v ... tudio.html

I wonder if this is a reasonable alternative to the VRM box?
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro3; 0.2 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2439
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby Mr M » Sun Apr 14, 2013 7:08 pm

Thanks for posting, Ill have to check this out. The VRM box was recently blown out on Musicians Friend "Stupid Deal" for $25.
i7-3930k @3.20Ghz 16gb Win7 64x Cubase 7 Komplete8 Maschine Axon50 and 11 hardware synths
Mr M
Member
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby NorthWood MediaWorks » Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:16 pm

alexis wrote:http://north-america.beyerdynamic.com/virtual-studio.html

I wonder if this is a reasonable alternative to the VRM box?


Thanks Alexis!
Robin
Join Us At The Forest

| Cubase 7.5.1 | Wavelab 8.0.3e | HSO | Padshop Pro | Win7 64 |
User avatar
NorthWood MediaWorks
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1605
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:51 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby Makumbaria » Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:47 pm

Thanks a lot!

I will try it now!
Cubase 7.5.30 / 6.5.5 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC / Halion Sonic 1.6.3 / Padshop Pro 1.1.0 / HSO 1.0.1 / The Grand SE 3.1
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / M-audio Fast Track Pro

Ivory II Italian Grand / Addictive drums & Keys / GPO / Alicia Keys Piano / Abbey Road Modern Drums / Ezdrummer / Sampletank / Miroslav Philharmonik CE / VSL / POD Farm / Amplitube / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 / PSP Audioware / Nugen Audio Visualizer / Voxengo Redunoise / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 / Softube / Toneboosters EBULoudness
User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby thermionic » Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:11 pm

Where does the beyerdynamicVS.data file go? Sorry to be so dim :(
thermionic
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 5:56 pm
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby Makumbaria » Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:16 pm

Move both (dll and vs file) to your plugin folder
Cubase 7.5.30 / 6.5.5 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC / Halion Sonic 1.6.3 / Padshop Pro 1.1.0 / HSO 1.0.1 / The Grand SE 3.1
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / M-audio Fast Track Pro

Ivory II Italian Grand / Addictive drums & Keys / GPO / Alicia Keys Piano / Abbey Road Modern Drums / Ezdrummer / Sampletank / Miroslav Philharmonik CE / VSL / POD Farm / Amplitube / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 / PSP Audioware / Nugen Audio Visualizer / Voxengo Redunoise / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 / Softube / Toneboosters EBULoudness
User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 40 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby trax4katz » Sun Apr 14, 2013 11:55 pm

alexis wrote:http://north-america.beyerdynamic.com/virtual-studio.html

I wonder if this is a reasonable alternative to the VRM box?


Many thanks alexis for making me aware of this - I'm downloading it right now!

Kat :)
trax4katz
Junior Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby Guest » Mon Apr 15, 2013 1:53 am

This is a hunk of crap. :roll:
Guest
 

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby Mr M » Mon Apr 15, 2013 3:22 am

I downloaded this and set it up. Looking at the video on the site they're showing a number of presets that I can't find. I have the .dll and the data file, how do I get to the presets?
i7-3930k @3.20Ghz 16gb Win7 64x Cubase 7 Komplete8 Maschine Axon50 and 11 hardware synths
Mr M
Member
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby trax4katz » Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:31 am

Immortal wrote:This is a hunk of crap. :roll:


Although I try hard to be open minded - I'd be inclined to agree considering its just totally and utterly killed my installation of C7 which is now playing back all VST instruments (not audio recordings) at double speed (as though I'd upped the sample rate) - what!? :o

Hopefully i'll manage to get it back to normal (I've deleted it by the way) but C7's still going mad currently :cry: why god... :x

I have to admit though I downloaded it purely out of interest to see what it does etc, its free after all - what harm can it do (cough)! :roll: I didn't really know much about this VRM style technology until reading through this thread and following it up online. There is an interesting review/article by Mike Senior (Sound on Sound/Mixing Secrets) for the 'VRM Box' which doesn't pull any punches:

http://www.cambridge-mt.com/ms-ch2_FocusriteVRM.htm

And another more general review by Sam Inglis of Sound On Sound magazine which is more favorable/positive:

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/apr11/a ... vrmbox.htm

I think with technologies such as this it really is highly subjective (as mentioned in Mike Seniors article) because the algorithms/psycho acoustics are all based on generalized HRTF's and everybody is unique and headphones differ drastically so some people might find it useful and other will just hate it (i.e. as is the case here with two people who write for sound on sound with contrasting opinions).

Man I wish I lived in America, $25 to play around with the VRM Box; in England it costs £80 ($123) *sigh*

I still think its cool of Beyer Dynamic to do this for free though - I guess I must have done something wrong when I installed it as no else is complaining about their copy of C7 blowing up! :lol:

You have to realise this is only version one however, given time they might begin to add more sophisticated functionality like studio monitor modeling as with the 'VRM Box' (which also uses software and not hardware DSP from what I understand)!

Anyway excuse me babbling as ever kat :)
Last edited by trax4katz on Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
trax4katz
Junior Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby trax4katz » Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:06 am

trax4katz wrote:
Immortal wrote:This is a hunk of crap. :roll:


Although I try hard to be open minded - I'd be inclined to agree considering its just totally and utterly killed my installation of C7 which is now playing back all VST instruments (not audio recordings) at double speed (as though I'd upped the sample rate) - what!? :o

Hopefully i'll manage to get it back to normal (I've deleted it by the way) but C7's still going mad currently :cry: why god... :x


Phew... just to let you know after deleting it and a restarting windows C7 is behaving again *panic attack* :shock:
trax4katz
Junior Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby Mr M » Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:12 am

Its not a "hunk of crap" You have to listen with headphones. Would be good if Cubase didn't kill the presets
i7-3930k @3.20Ghz 16gb Win7 64x Cubase 7 Komplete8 Maschine Axon50 and 11 hardware synths
Mr M
Member
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby trax4katz » Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:27 am

Mr M wrote:Its not a "hunk of crap" You have to listen with headphones. Would be good if Cubase didn't kill the presets


Hi Mr M, I didn't get a chance to check it out properly as I panicked when C7 went mental (I heard its effect but as everything was playing double speed it was hopeless), but I noticed that on the Beyer Dynamic video they were using it with Cubase 5 (which seemed a bit odd for a new plug in?)...

I was a bit confused also as to where I was supposed to put the plugins in that when I tried using the x64 version I put the dll/data files in the x64 area (i.e. C:\Program Files\Vstplugins) but Cubase 7 couldn't see them (I checked in plugins but no joy) so then I put them in the Steinberg folder instead (i.e. C:\Program Files\Steinberg\VSTPlugins) at which stage Cubase could see them but then it went mental - so I gave up! :?

Any help/advice anyone?

Anyway when you say there are no presets, do you mean that the buttons at the bottom of the VST aren't already mapped to Studio, 5.1, Car and Big Venue?

Or were you expecting there to be additional ones - because upon watching the video the guy hovers around in the directory twice making you think that he was going to load something but then scoots off somewhere else (like he lost track) - who knows - perhaps they will make some presets available in due course!

By the way what headphones are you using it with? I'm on Beyer 250's/80 Ohm - as you can tell I'm a fan of theirs 8-)

This article is old but covers some awesome headgear - I wish I could afford some Sennheiser HD650's as they're highly respected, as it is the DT250's receive negative press here because of the cost/quality ratio - quoted at £183.61 (but as I got mine for £80 I'm sure they would have had a different opinion - I love em anyway so who cares): :)

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jan10/a ... phones.htm
trax4katz
Junior Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby curteye » Mon Apr 15, 2013 6:39 am

Aloha a, and tanx for the post and link.

Before downloading this I am wondering if any Mac users
have yet tried this?

TIA
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby BriHar » Mon Apr 15, 2013 8:57 am

I never even realized there was a video...
I downloaded the W64 bit version into my 64bit steinberg plugin folder, fired up Cubase figured the logcal place was as an insert in the master output channel, everything went without a hitch.
The presets I though were kind of odd in that there is no evident way of adjusting the patches or altering the sound so there would be nothing to save as a user preset (surely they couldn't mean the routing); perhaps they might make other Factory püresets available later.
As to quality, effectiveness, useability, I reserve judgement for the time being - that needs time.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2175
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 156 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby trax4katz » Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:47 am

BriHar wrote:I never even realized there was a video...
I downloaded the W64 bit version into my 64bit steinberg plugin folder, fired up Cubase figured the logcal place was as an insert in the master output channel, everything went without a hitch.
The presets I though were kind of odd in that there is no evident way of adjusting the patches or altering the sound so there would be nothing to save as a user preset (surely they couldn't mean the routing); perhaps they might make other Factory püresets available later.
As to quality, effectiveness, useability, I reserve judgement for the time being - that needs time.


Hey BriHar, thanks for you post - that's strange I wonder why my copy of cubase went crazy as I seemed to have done the same thing as you (however I did put the files in the wrong place initially so that might have screwed things up), perhaps I'll try it again and see if I have more luck - thanks for verifying I did the right thing with the plugins anyway! :)

Yeh from what I understand the presets are supposed to be factory created impulse files (they have used some kind of convolution technique in the creation of them) so that side of things seem to be hidden - the only thing I can figure is that they intend to release more impulse files in future and then perhaps you can create a preset group of your favorite impulse models (i.e. if they go down the studio monitor route then you could create a collection of your favorite reference monitors for testing mix's) - but I'm just guessing - so forgive me if I'm totally wrong :oops: - the video is a little vague at best :lol:
trax4katz
Junior Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby trax4katz » Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:09 am

Yipee it works - I must have messed up Cubase when I put the dll's in the wrong place earlier but all is well (its been a great week I scored 'TrueCowbells' and the 'Virtual Studio' thingy for free) awesome 8-)
trax4katz
Junior Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby Guest » Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:48 pm

BriHar wrote:I never even realized there was a video...
I downloaded the W64 bit version into my 64bit steinberg plugin folder, fired up Cubase figured the logcal place was as an insert in the master output channel, everything went without a hitch.
The presets I though were kind of odd in that there is no evident way of adjusting the patches or altering the sound so there would be nothing to save as a user preset (surely they couldn't mean the routing); perhaps they might make other Factory püresets available later.
As to quality, effectiveness, useability, I reserve judgement for the time being - that needs time.


why on earth should they give you tweakability for something that has been designed for beyer headphones , If you use akg then you need an akg program ,if you use shure then ............it's simple really isn't it ;)
Guest
 

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby Mr M » Mon Apr 15, 2013 7:05 pm

filterfreak wrote:
BriHar wrote:I never even realized there was a video...
I downloaded the W64 bit version into my 64bit steinberg plugin folder, fired up Cubase figured the logcal place was as an insert in the master output channel, everything went without a hitch.
The presets I though were kind of odd in that there is no evident way of adjusting the patches or altering the sound so there would be nothing to save as a user preset (surely they couldn't mean the routing); perhaps they might make other Factory püresets available later.
As to quality, effectiveness, useability, I reserve judgement for the time being - that needs time.


why on earth should they give you tweakability for something that has been designed for beyer headphones , If you use akg then you need an akg program ,if you use shure then ............it's simple really isn't it ;)


nothing about this says that its made to use with beyer headphones. Usually programs of this type are made to be used across product lines, especially since every maker produces a variety of headphones. ....its really simple,isn't it?
i7-3930k @3.20Ghz 16gb Win7 64x Cubase 7 Komplete8 Maschine Axon50 and 11 hardware synths
Mr M
Member
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby Guest » Mon Apr 15, 2013 7:22 pm

really so how would you work this with closed cup and open cup and ear buds then ? and I would love to here some mixes done with other manufactures headphones and see how simple it really wont be ;)
Guest
 

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby Mr M » Mon Apr 15, 2013 7:33 pm

filterfreak wrote:really so how would you work this with closed cup and open cup and ear buds then ? and I would love to here some mixes done with other manufactures headphones and see how simple it really wont be ;)


Your question answers itself. This product doesn't promise a perfect environment, just a different one. Therefore it can work with anyone's headphone and any style. If it were tailored for Beyer headphones then they,d have to make a specific version for each model they make and they have dozens.
i7-3930k @3.20Ghz 16gb Win7 64x Cubase 7 Komplete8 Maschine Axon50 and 11 hardware synths
Mr M
Member
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby curteye » Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:59 pm

Aloha guys,

Ok I tried it.
Seems like what you want to do is make your mix sound as
good as it can sound in all 4 environments.

I start with the 'Big Venue' setting and then bounce between
the 'Car' and the 'Studio' settings until the mix sounds as good as it
can in all three settings. (I have not used the 5.1 setting yet)

No EQ'ing. Just volume mixing

Interesting.

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5274
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby BriHar » Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:03 pm

Nobody's forcing you to use it.
The proof is in the pudding for those willing to give it a try, and if it compares favorably with the material actually played in the physical environments being simulated then it's a good thing. If it doesn't pass muster then it's crap. It's not crap just because you decide it must be.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2175
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 156 times

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby trax4katz » Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:39 pm

BriHar wrote:Nobody's forcing you to use it.
The proof is in the pudding for those willing to give it a try, and if it compares favorably with the material actually played in the physical environments being simulated then it's a good thing. If it doesn't pass muster then it's crap. It's not crap just because you decide it must be.


I agree totally, only time/experience will tell as I honestly didn't think much of it at a glance (mainly because I didn't understand it) but I've been using it throughout the day now and its definitely growing on me - the modelling behind it is really interesting. I've been trying to put my finger on what its doing; and initially it just sounds like a convolution reverb...

...but then; through A/B comparison you begin to realize that it functions like 'Dolby Headphone' also in that when you turn on say 'Stereo Studio' - you immediately realize that it decouples the sound from each side of your head and projects it in front of you - interesting stuff! I understand that there are a few tools out there that achieve similar effects such as 'redline monitor':

http://112db.com/redline/monitor/

So clearly there are a variety of things going on and I would imagine there is substantial research and hard work behind this (I mean look at the collabarotars HOFA Studios, Bauer Studios, Institute of Technical Acoustics etc). Its never good to judge something at face value, as this is shallow, I mean, on the surface if you are expecting some really snazzy looking VST interface full of intricate controls and you're actually presented with this bland box with a few buttons - its easy to just dismiss it, but I think its got some interesting potential and I'm excited to see how it develops! :)
trax4katz
Junior Member
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:02 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Beyerdynamics releases free room simulator for headphones

Postby alexis » Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:44 pm

curteye wrote:Aloha guys,

Ok I tried it.
Seems like what you want to do is make your mix sound as
good as it can sound in all 4 environments.

I start with the 'Big Venue' setting and then bounce between
the 'Car' and the 'Studio' settings until the mix sounds as good as it
can in all three settings. (I have not used the 5.1 setting yet)

No EQ'ing. Just volume mixing

Interesting.

{'-'}

Aloha, curteye! I was wondering ...

How different was the end result from your previous "normal" mix ... when played on your usual speakers?
Alexis

One way to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here.
- A more detailed explanation for how to get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here!
- And here for MIDI

Some ways to render virtual instruments to audio here.

Tips Tricks and Workflow Goodness

CubaseTutorial.net - very nice collection of instructional youtubes

Cubase 7.5.20 64 bit; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W7 SP1 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio Drive; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo, Jamstix 3.3, BCF2K; TC Helicon VoiceOne; RevoicePro3; 0.2 Woodlocked
alexis
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2439
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Next

Return to Steinberg Lounge

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: shadowfax, VinnieD and 1 guest