[ISSUE]Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Everything else...

[ISSUE]Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Thu Apr 18, 2013 5:29 pm

Mackie Control fader group buttons don't work with new C7 mixer. This should be an easy fix for your programmers.

Please see forum discussion below for details

http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 75&t=38269
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Albatrossone » Thu Apr 18, 2013 8:53 pm

Just came here to do this and you beat me to it - thanks! :)

Yes come on Steinberg - this should have been sorted when the mixer hidden channels were fixed for control surfaces. Surely ten mins work to assign these buttons properly in 7.04!

As well as the thread referenced above, this was asked for in the original issue report for the hidden channels. Questions have also been asked about its inclusion in discussions about the 7.03 patch.

Many thanks
Albatrossone
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Thu Apr 18, 2013 10:12 pm

It is also the same issue for Nuendo users: they share the new mixer.

Don't misunderstand me , I really like the new mixer and C7; it just needs refining. This is normal. Have patience.

Great job Steinberg. We await the refinements patiently.

Parlanchin
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Albatrossone » Mon May 20, 2013 11:22 am

Bump to try and make sure this doesn't get lost. Not fixed as of 7.0.4.

Even making this function assignable would really help because we could assign this to the MCU function buttons - but the channel and rack view presets seem to be about the only thing in the mixer not assignable - though you can do this in 6.5.

Many thanks
Albatrossone
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 8:07 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Mon May 20, 2013 4:04 pm

Thanks for bumping this. This is the no. 1 thing that has prevented me from buying cubase 7.
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Home Studio 87 » Mon May 20, 2013 6:21 pm

+1
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 / Intel Corei7 2600k / 16384 Mo DDR3 / Seven x64 / UAD2 Quad & 2x UAD2 Duo / RME HDSP Multiface PCIe / CMC Controllers / Faderport / iPad 3 / Cubase 7.5 x64...
User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby AlakaLazlo » Mon May 20, 2013 9:49 pm

+1
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 66, Cubase 7.5.20/64, Ableton Live 9.1/64, W7Pro/64, i7920/EX58UD5/9Gigs Dominator1600, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, MCU + 2 Extenders, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet9, Omnisphere, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax700, Alembic Orion 5, LP Giovannis...
Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...
User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby AlakaLazlo » Thu May 23, 2013 10:18 pm

Bump! Still don't work in 7.04
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 66, Cubase 7.5.20/64, Ableton Live 9.1/64, W7Pro/64, i7920/EX58UD5/9Gigs Dominator1600, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, MCU + 2 Extenders, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet9, Omnisphere, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax700, Alembic Orion 5, LP Giovannis...
Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...
User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby HughH » Sat May 25, 2013 2:55 pm

The Parlanchin wrote:Mackie Control fader group buttons don't work with new C7 mixer. This should be an easy fix for your programmers.

Please see forum discussion below for details

http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 75&t=38269


+ 1227

Hugh
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
User avatar
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Infinite Beat » Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:07 pm

+1

At least let the buttons control which of the four mixer config presets that are active. And add four more so we can use all eight buttons.
http://www.ibproductions.se
http://www.infinitebeat.se
-------------------------------------------------------
MacBook Pro i7 (late 2010), 8Gb OSX 10.9 // RME Fireface 400 / Novation Remote SL61 / HW Synths / MCU Pro + XT etc
-------------------------------------------------------
Software: Cubase 7.5 / Wavelab 7 / Waves Mercury + SSL / VEP 5 Pro / NI Komplete 9 / Nexus 2 / Sylenth1 / Autotune Evo / East West Symphony Orchestra, VOP, SD / etc...
Infinite Beat
New Member
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:33 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby MW3330 » Tue Jun 04, 2013 9:18 am

+1
Really need to see this working properly, especially with this very common surface.
Mike (Sydney Australia)
Cubase 7.5 : Windows 7.5.30 64bit SP1 : HP Pavilion h9-1020a (Intel i7 - 2600 3.4Ghz, 16GB Ram, Radeon HD6850) : 3 x 24"and 1 x 17" Screens : Yamaha MM6 : Novation UltraNova : Novation SL25MKII : Automap 4.7 : Yamaha MG166cx-USB : Focusrite Saffire Pro40 : Focusrite Octopre dynamic : Presonus HP60 : Mackie MR8 monitors : Mackie MCU Pro
MW3330
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:05 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Home Studio 87 » Tue Jun 04, 2013 1:24 pm

well a little bump on this ! ;)
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 / Intel Corei7 2600k / 16384 Mo DDR3 / Seven x64 / UAD2 Quad & 2x UAD2 Duo / RME HDSP Multiface PCIe / CMC Controllers / Faderport / iPad 3 / Cubase 7.5 x64...
User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
 
Posts: 546
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby AlakaLazlo » Wed Jun 05, 2013 11:43 pm

Yes please...
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 66, Cubase 7.5.20/64, Ableton Live 9.1/64, W7Pro/64, i7920/EX58UD5/9Gigs Dominator1600, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, MCU + 2 Extenders, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet9, Omnisphere, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax700, Alembic Orion 5, LP Giovannis...
Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...
User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:57 am

well, I hate to say it because it freezes me in an older version of Cubase, but Steinberg, since they haven't commented on this, reveals nothing is going to happen anytime soon. this is going by history and seeing similar situations happen in the past
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Thu Jun 06, 2013 8:36 pm

Dear Y'all

This is a question to help me quantify Steinberg's potential will/eagerness to fix this problem.

Can anyone tell me if other popular controllers (e.g. Eucon) have hardware buttons (or equivalent tactile methods) that work the same as the Mackie MCU fader group buttons?

Parlanchin
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Fri Jun 21, 2013 11:46 pm

Friday bump
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby HughH » Sat Jun 22, 2013 1:20 am

Well . .

It appears they have key commands for the Fader Banks in 7.05.

Do you suppose this might mean they threw in MCU Fader Bank buttons function, also?
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
User avatar
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Sun Jun 23, 2013 3:31 am

Just going to speculate here for a moment: the new mix system has a boatload of issues having looked in the forum. I think steinberg is devoting their resources to sorting it out and when they do, I bet the function may come back. Until then, c7 users who need this function are kinda screwed unless there is some way to configure a translation of the mcu MIDI message from the keypress to key command using something like bome MIDI translator.
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby -Nico- » Tue Jun 25, 2013 3:14 pm

+1...Got the same problem...

Any feedback Mr Steinberg?
-Nico-
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 10:34 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Thu Jun 27, 2013 4:17 pm

Hi Everyone,

So I've just installed C7.0.5.

So far I'm able to select the "Mixer and Channel strip configuration"s 1,2 3... etc. by using the Mackie F1 or shift/F1 etc . These shortcuts are now assignable in Devices->device setup->Mackie control (user commands table).

Can't yet assign to the fader group buttons but have not fished trying yet.

Parlanchin
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Thu Jun 27, 2013 4:33 pm

OK' it looks as though we have a working solution for now. :D We'll have to use the Mackie F1, F2... buttons for now instead of the Fader group buttons, unless somebody has another workaround.

Let's be glad for now that the Mackie F1...F8 hardware buttons can do many more jobs (including fader group selection) :)

Anybody know what User A and User B buttons are in the assignment table?!

Parlanchin
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Fri Jun 28, 2013 1:59 am

You could try translating the fader groups to a command of your desire using this:
www.bome.com/products/miditranslator
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:59 pm

Woodcrest Studio wrote:You could try translating the fader groups to a command of your desire using this:
http://www.bome.com/products/miditranslator


I may look into it. It sounds useful/ interesting regardless of this thread's specific issue.

Let's be fair. Steinberg have promptly provided a fix to this issue (in the form of many more shortcuts for the Mackie F1..F8 keys). I, for one, am very grateful.

Parlanchin
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby AlakaLazlo » Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:22 pm

BUMP!
While I appreciate being able to use the 8 other buttons for mixer groups, this hasn't fixed the fact that the proper group buttons still don't work. PLEASE FIX! This should be easy...
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 66, Cubase 7.5.20/64, Ableton Live 9.1/64, W7Pro/64, i7920/EX58UD5/9Gigs Dominator1600, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, MCU + 2 Extenders, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet9, Omnisphere, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax700, Alembic Orion 5, LP Giovannis...
Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...
User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Tue Jul 02, 2013 3:08 am

The Parlanchin wrote:]Let' be fair. Steinberg have promptly provided a fix to this issue (in the form of many more shortcuts for the Mackie F1..F8 keys). I, for one, am very grateful.

Parlanchin


Um, where have you been? Cubase 7 was released November of 2012. 8 months is not prompt to me. I would still be grateful though.
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1633
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Next

Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests