[ISSUE]Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Everything else...

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:38 pm

Woodcrest Studio wrote:Sensibly?

What do you mean?


You know, a nice thread, like this one! Other threads often contain a lot of "whinin' an' moanin' " , which makes them hard to follow.
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:46 pm

And this thread has been a good one.

We stated the problems and forum users have found the solutions.

However, only Steinberg can fix the "Mixer in Focus" issue.

Somebody start a new thread on this matter please.
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Mon Nov 11, 2013 8:52 pm

By the way, how does this new thank you system work? I want to add a thank you to msterna's account from me.
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Woodcrest Studio » Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:56 pm

To the right of the "Quote" button in a members post is a thumbs up button. That gives thanks. :)
Tom Zartler

In person or from afar: helping make people's music a pleasurable listening experience.

::::Woodcrest Studio Homepage::::
::::Woodcrest on Facebook::::

Cubase 6.5, ProToolsHD10, 4 rooms, a hall, bathroom, kitchen, computer, mics, outboard and an excessive Imagination.

If in a creative blackout, stare at the dancing cow for inspiration.
User avatar
Woodcrest Studio
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1632
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:20 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby fishtank » Thu Nov 14, 2013 3:37 pm

Bump!

This one is really import for my workflow. I'm pleading for a resolution in the next update.
fishtank
Junior Member
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 3:12 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Thu Nov 28, 2013 10:23 pm

bump........yet again

Let's hope the mysterious update tomorrow fixes this
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby The Parlanchin » Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:53 pm

The Parlanchin wrote:And this thread has been a good one.

We stated the problems and forum users have found the solutions.

However, only Steinberg can fix the "Mixer in Focus" issue.

Somebody start a new thread on this matter please.


C7.5 has a "Sync Project and MixConsole" visibility option (see the C7.5 videos). This may get round the "mixer in focus" issue, but I'll wait and see.
http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/cu ... sub=Coming soon: Cubase 7.5
3mins in to first video
Cubase 7.5 (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM
User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby trashdinner » Sat Nov 30, 2013 9:40 pm

The Parlanchin wrote:
The Parlanchin wrote:And this thread has been a good one.

We stated the problems and forum users have found the solutions.

However, only Steinberg can fix the "Mixer in Focus" issue.

Somebody start a new thread on this matter please.


C7.5 has a "Sync Project and MixConsole" visibility option (see the C7.5 videos). This may get round the "mixer in focus" issue, but I'll wait and see.
http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/cu ... sub=Coming soon: Cubase 7.5
3mins in to first video


mmm interesting point! However I probably won't use the sync option because I never want midi files to show up in the mixer but I want them in my project :S
trashdinner
Member
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:43 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Backbeat » Tue Dec 10, 2013 4:29 pm

Thanks for this thread!

You don´t have to connect midi out in Generic Remote you only need midi in from your mackie control because the mackie has no led to show the status.
I´m wondering why the hide Midi,FX,Groups option for the Mackie Control doesn´t work in the Mackie Control settings and the Generic Remote....please Steinberg fix this!
DAW 1: Win 7 Ult.64 , i7 870 8GB Ram ,SSD 830 256GB ,2x 2TB HDD, RME Babyface , Gap Pre 73 Mk2, M-Audio DSM 3, Neumann U87Ai , T.Bone SC450 , Mackie Control Pro, BCR2000 , Kore Controller , MPD 24 , MPK 88 , NI Maschine , Adobe Audition 3 , NI Komplete 8U , jBridge etc.

DAW 2: Win 7 Pro 64, i7 2600 , 16GB Ram , 2x 2TB HDD , Mackie Control Pro, BCR 2000, FCB 1010 , M-Audio DSM 3 , NS10M , Nubert AW400 Sub , Yamaha AN1x , Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 , SPL Goldmike , BPM CR73 , AKG Perception 400

MySound

BCR2000 as Cubase Controller
User avatar
Backbeat
Member
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:58 pm
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 38 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby sorinv » Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:27 am

Could someone make an xml script (like our mighty Msterna's) to move 24 ch's at once with the "bank +" button, not by 8? I have a 24 track Tascam US2400 and this feature would be really useful for me (and for others maibe). I tried to edit his xml, but for no good...Thanks in advance
"Your best idea is already copyrighted"

W7x64, Cubase 8 x64, Wavelab 8.5.2 x64, RME Fireface 400 x 2, Qx9650, 8gb etc
Roland XV5080 (8 Exp), V-Synth 2 w VC1 & VC2 cards, A50, JP8000, SC8850, A880, Jupiter4, Kronos 61 v3 (4gb, 128Gb SSD & EXs10, EXs19 & EXs91), 05RW, TR-Rack, Triton Classic 61 (Fully Exp), NanoPad2, Virus TI2 Polar, Oberheim OB3², Moog Voyager PE, Yamaha S80 w BC3 and 2 PLGs, 01V Console (w 8 ins Expanded), Yamaha VL-1 w BC3, Line6 Variax Guitar, Charlie Labs Digitar, Motu Express 128 & Micro Express, Kenton Control Freak Studio, Tannoy Reveals, Avalon Compressors, Tascam US2400 console, more VST's that I want or need :), some mics & other small devices.
User avatar
sorinv
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 9:02 am
Location: Bucharest
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Cut-a-Corner » Thu Jan 23, 2014 3:40 pm

hmm... guys its cool that you found a xml solution for the fader bank buttons.
- but this would be solved if Steinberg simply switch the Fader Bank Buttons back .
it doesnt make real sense to me that they changed it to One Channel left /right...

or a simple switch in the preferences, were you can adress the fader bank / channel bank button to your taste.

Mr. Steinberg, this should be a matter of minutes for a programmer to change that back.
Just changing the Adresses of these Buttons? Seriously....
Last edited by Cut-a-Corner on Thu Jan 23, 2014 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- My DAW and Outboard :
... This ... And ... That ...
User avatar
Cut-a-Corner
Junior Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Ruhrgebiet (Germany)
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby HughH » Thu Jan 23, 2014 4:35 pm

Cut-a-Corner wrote:hmm... guys its cool that you found a xml solution for the fader bank buttons.
- but this would be solved if Steinberg simply switch the Fader Bank Buttons back .
it doesnt make real sense to me that they changed it to One Channel left /right...

or a simple switch in the preferences, were you can adress the fader bank / channel bank button to your taste.

why not guys?


http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=51282#p317710
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
User avatar
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Cut-a-Corner » Thu Jan 23, 2014 4:40 pm

yeah hughh, channel buttons are now page up down.
that makes sense.

that doesn't change the fact that most users dont use mainly channel left right, but fader bank left right.

the new mackie implementation is great otherwise.

that's why changing to the old mackie behavior isn't really an option.
- My DAW and Outboard :
... This ... And ... That ...
User avatar
Cut-a-Corner
Junior Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Ruhrgebiet (Germany)
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby HughH » Thu Jan 23, 2014 4:56 pm

Cut-a-Corner wrote:yeah hughh, channel buttons are now page up down.
that makes sense.

that doesn't change the fact that most users dont use mainly channel left right, but fader bank left right.

the new mackie implementation is great otherwise.

that's why changing to the old mackie behavior isn't really an option.


Not sure you understand.
Using "shift" once with the Bank buttons makes them Bank buttons again - as you say most users want.
After that using Shift with the Bank buttons makes them - temporarily, I think - single channel buttons - if needed.
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
User avatar
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby sorinv » Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:10 pm

Before msterna's xml in CB 7.5, my "bank+" button "moved" my console by one channel at right (and "bank=" one left). With that xml loaded in Generic Remote moved eight ch's.... I only hoped there's a simple way to modify the script for 24 ch's instead of eight. Tascam runs on Mackie's Control protocol, before 7.5 worked perfectly... :(
"Your best idea is already copyrighted"

W7x64, Cubase 8 x64, Wavelab 8.5.2 x64, RME Fireface 400 x 2, Qx9650, 8gb etc
Roland XV5080 (8 Exp), V-Synth 2 w VC1 & VC2 cards, A50, JP8000, SC8850, A880, Jupiter4, Kronos 61 v3 (4gb, 128Gb SSD & EXs10, EXs19 & EXs91), 05RW, TR-Rack, Triton Classic 61 (Fully Exp), NanoPad2, Virus TI2 Polar, Oberheim OB3², Moog Voyager PE, Yamaha S80 w BC3 and 2 PLGs, 01V Console (w 8 ins Expanded), Yamaha VL-1 w BC3, Line6 Variax Guitar, Charlie Labs Digitar, Motu Express 128 & Micro Express, Kenton Control Freak Studio, Tannoy Reveals, Avalon Compressors, Tascam US2400 console, more VST's that I want or need :), some mics & other small devices.
User avatar
sorinv
New Member
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 9:02 am
Location: Bucharest
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Cut-a-Corner » Fri Jan 24, 2014 12:10 am

Thx HughH, that solved my problem.
I do not use standart MCU with Cubase overlay, thats why i didn't understand the solution first.
I use Liine Lemur on iPad and send Midi Data to emulate Mackie Control...
now i can use the Fader Bank button, and i like the fact that they stay this way until you press SHIFT again
(switches temporarily to channel left / right until you release it)... like you discribed it.

To the other non- MCU Users:
it was a bit difficult to find this solution,
because the standart MCU overlay is different than Cubendo Overlay!
Standart on Mackie "Shift" is "UNDO" in Cubase Overlay (Midi CH1; note_on ; 70 )
And "Mixer" is "SHIFT" (CH1 ; note_on ; 83 )

if others have this problem on non-MCU devices that use Mackie Control,
try to find the "Mixer" function button ( if they use standart MCU overlay) and use it as "SHIFT" with the fader bank Buttons.


At least for me, the XML solution is now obsolete. (perhaps others will still find it useful!)
- My DAW and Outboard :
... This ... And ... That ...
User avatar
Cut-a-Corner
Junior Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:24 am
Location: Ruhrgebiet (Germany)
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby BriHar » Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:20 am

Switching cubases mackie mode to standard seemed to do the trick for me. I found it quite by accident, in previous versions there were never any options, so it was something of a surprise when suddenly i see I can select a mode.
I meant compatibility Mode, not standard :|
Last edited by BriHar on Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61.

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase 8.0.0 - 64bit | Cubase AI7 | WaveLab 8.5.20 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 7 Pro 64 Bit
User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2181
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 157 times

Re: [ISSUE]Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Guillermo » Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:14 am

Hello all,

I know I am very late to the party but I have some information for you about this subject.
This is intended behaviour. With Cubase 7.0.7 we introduce a new assignment for the Mackie Control buttons to support new support of Cubase 7. For backward compatibility a customer can change the "Bank" to "Compatibility" in the Device Set-up window. This will make the Mackie Control work like before, but the new Cubase 7 functions are not available.

We are working on a Knowledge base article that documents this new specifications.

Best regards,
GN
Guillermo Navarrete, Online Product Specialist
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Guillermo
Moderator
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:50 pm
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: [ISSUE]Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Michel Doucet » Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:03 pm

Hello

Any news on when they going to fix my Mackie control.

Thanks and have a nice day
Mac OSX 10.8.5 Dual Quad Core Xeon with 10G Ram, SATA 3 SSD Drive with SATA III Addon Board 1TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 3870 2 x 24" LCD, Cubase 7.5 and Logic Pro 9,
1 UAD2 Duo Nervana, RME FireFace 800, OctaMic, Native Instrument Komplet 8 Yamaha Motif XS8 Roland XV 5080, XP-30, FP-4 MOTU Midi Express 128
User avatar
Michel Doucet
Junior Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [ISSUE]Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby HughH » Wed Nov 05, 2014 11:15 pm

What's wrong with it?
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
User avatar
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 356
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: [ISSUE]Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Guillermo » Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:44 am

Hello,

Michel Doucet wrote:Hello

Any news on when they going to fix my Mackie control.

Thanks and have a nice day


As stated above it is not broken, the behaviour has changed.

Best regards,
GN
Guillermo Navarrete, Online Product Specialist
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Guillermo
Moderator
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 12:50 pm
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: [ISSUE]Mackie Control Fader Group Buttons in Cubase 7

Postby Michel Doucet » Fri Dec 05, 2014 6:36 pm

Hello.

I post the quick reply that may help someone else. My original problem was that my Mackie was not following Cubase when I was switching from Group preset view to Input track View or Audio Track View, so what I realize is that MixConsole 1 use to be problematic for me so I was always using Mixconsole 2 or 3 and it was the way my default template was setup, yesterday I was recreating a new template setup from scratch and I try Mixconsole 1 and BOOOM its back up now ! … will let you know how it goes in the future ...

I hope this will help some poor soul like me … Have a Great Day and a Cooolllll Week end
Mac OSX 10.8.5 Dual Quad Core Xeon with 10G Ram, SATA 3 SSD Drive with SATA III Addon Board 1TB HD, ATI Radeon HD 3870 2 x 24" LCD, Cubase 7.5 and Logic Pro 9,
1 UAD2 Duo Nervana, RME FireFace 800, OctaMic, Native Instrument Komplet 8 Yamaha Motif XS8 Roland XV 5080, XP-30, FP-4 MOTU Midi Express 128
User avatar
Michel Doucet
Junior Member
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 10:36 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Previous

Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests