East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Post questions and find answers on our Cubase 6 releases here.

East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby aevans » Fri Feb 18, 2011 12:28 am

I'm getting stuck notes using East West QL Pianos on C6. It's random, like some notes here and there aren't getting note off messages. If I open up the automation all the sustain pedal cc info is there just as I played it.
It doesn't happen if I use Cubase 5, and also if I record the piano using the PLAY vsti in Cubase 5, then save the file and open it up in Cubase 6 it plays fine. It seems to be something to do with the recording of the part in C6. It doesn't happen if I use Halion. It happens regardless of PLAY being loaded in the VSTi rack or as a VST instrument track. Anyone else having the problem?
Thanks
aevans
New Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 12:18 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby aevans » Fri Feb 18, 2011 7:02 am

Jsut as an addition to this, I recorded a part using Play QL Pianos in Cubase 6 and the notes were sticking. Saved the file and reopened it in Cubase 5 and it played fine. Then saved it and reopened it in Cubase 6 and no more sticking notes. BUT if I recorded new piano further down on the same midi track in the Cubase 6 project, notes started sticking again.
aevans
New Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 12:18 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby 0liver » Fri Feb 18, 2011 7:35 am

I had a similar problem with notes sticking in Cubase 5 with EWQL Pianos.
0liver
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby aevans » Fri Feb 18, 2011 8:47 am

THanks for the reply Oliver. Did you try the upgraded Play version 2.1.1? It's working flawlessly in Cubase 5, but the stuck notes have only started on Cubase 6. It's a bit bizarre how if I open the file in C5 and resave it as a C5 project, it then plays back fine in C6.
It's as if C6 is handling midi differently or adding data and C5 strips whatever the problem is out of the midi data.
Cheers.
aevans
New Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 12:18 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Bach » Mon Aug 01, 2011 5:36 pm

Same thing here as well.
Cubase 7.5.1/6.5.3, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC: Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.7.5
Motif ES8
CC121
Bach
Member
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Francomedardo » Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:01 pm

I have absolutely the same problem!!! :evil:
I'm in contact with the eastwest support for a year, and nothing changes. It's incredible! I feel like driving a super car with broken breaks. Stuck notes randomly, they occur after having played a certain amount of notes, it occurs on my brandnew Mac Book pro and on both of my big Mac pro, both high end professional computers.
Does anybody know a solution?
I can't work with this stuff! Which is a pity, because it sound very good... :cry:
Francomedardo
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Francomedardo » Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:02 pm

I wanted to add, that in my case it's an absolute CC64 problem, the notes don't get the pedal off message... :!:
Francomedardo
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Bach » Sun Aug 28, 2011 5:27 pm

I suspect I have the same problem. How did you solve it? Did Eastwest suggest a solution?
Cubase 7.5.1/6.5.3, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC: Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.7.5
Motif ES8
CC121
Bach
Member
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Francomedardo » Sun Aug 28, 2011 11:06 pm

I didn't solve the problem. I'm glad. I'm not the only one in the world with that problem, because this is what soundsonline tried to make me believe.
It must be a severe bug, if you use Cubase on Mac, cause I have the same problem on three different systems.
I also wrote to Cubase support.
Soundsonline proposed to put the content in another drive and put it back then, this hepled.....not at all, of course!!! I wrote them the first time 10 months ago, they promised me to fix it...nothimg happened so far, it's REALLY embarrassing!
Francomedardo
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Francomedardo » Sun Aug 28, 2011 11:22 pm

aevans wrote:THanks for the reply Oliver. Did you try the upgraded Play version 2.1.1? It's working flawlessly in Cubase 5, but the stuck notes have only started on Cubase 6. It's a bit bizarre how if I open the file in C5 and resave it as a C5 project, it then plays back fine in C6.
It's as if C6 is handling midi differently or adding data and C5 strips whatever the problem is out of the midi data.
Cheers.


I had the same problem in Cubase 5 and 6. Did you solve the problem?
Francomedardo
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 4:55 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Sonik » Mon Aug 29, 2011 3:38 am

And with the last update 3.0.21?
MacPro 8 core 12gb HD 5770 10.8.5|Cubase 7.5.20|Wavelab 8.03|Protools 10|Logic X|3xUAD-2|
Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|API 512c|Avedis MA5|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Neumann M147|Apogee Symphony|Apogee Rosetta 200|RME Fireface 800|Euphonix McMix x2|
Halion Sonic|Komplete8|Korg Legacy|Stylus RMX|VSL Strings|EW|ReFx Nexus 2|Autotune 7|Waves 9|Vocalign 3|Melodyne|Soundtoys|Softube|Brainworx|SPL
i7 3,40ghz|Asus P8P67|16GB GSkill 12800|GTS450 1gb|Win7 64|Cubase 6.5.4|UAD-1|UA-25|
User avatar
Sonik
Member
 
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Bach » Mon Aug 29, 2011 1:57 pm

It happened here with Cubase 5 and Play 2. It continued to happen with Cubase 6 and Play 2 and still happens with Cubase 5/6 and Play 3.021
Cubase 7.5.1/6.5.3, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC: Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.7.5
Motif ES8
CC121
Bach
Member
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby edc » Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:32 am

I'm having the same problem in 6.04... I switched to 6.04 because i was having the problem in 6.0. I haven't contacted east west yet, but from what i see some of you writing is that their responses have been poor or non existent(or the usual blame game) .. I read this is common from them. I will add however that their standalone player for this does not have the same problem. I will try it with protools if i can get it working properly and sawstudio... I'll keep all informed.

Thanks
Ed Croxford
edc
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Bach » Tue Nov 08, 2011 12:15 pm

edc wrote:I'm having the same problem in 6.04... I switched to 6.04 because i was having the problem in 6.0. I haven't contacted east west yet, but from what i see some of you writing is that their responses have been poor or non existent(or the usual blame game) .. I read this is common from them. I will add however that their standalone player for this does not have the same problem. I will try it with protools if i can get it working properly and sawstudio... I'll keep all informed.

Thanks
Ed Croxford


Hello Ed,

I know that Eastwest support may seem arrogant and unhelpful sometimes, but sometimes they really listen. And due to the user feedback about this issue they seem to take it into account. I would strongly suggest that you contact their support as every single user's report is really important.

That said, it seems that this problem only happens with the PLAY/Cubase combination. Does not happen in Logic or standalone.
Cubase 7.5.1/6.5.3, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC: Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.7.5
Motif ES8
CC121
Bach
Member
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby dlpmusic » Tue Nov 08, 2011 5:37 pm

I have this problem as well. I am using it through Cubase attached to VE PRO. I can confirm this was not a problem in Logic. It also appears from forums that this might only be happening on the EW Piano's and not their other libraries. I question if that is really the case. Unfortunately this issue spooks me from using their PLAY interface.
Cubase 7.52, I7 6 Core, 24 gb
Halion 5.x
dlpmusic
Junior Member
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Bach » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:25 pm

dlpmusic wrote:I have this problem as well. I am using it through Cubase attached to VE PRO. I can confirm this was not a problem in Logic. It also appears from forums that this might only be happening on the EW Piano's and not their other libraries. I question if that is really the case. Unfortunately this issue spooks me from using their PLAY interface.


I can assure you it happens with EVERY PLAY library out there. I am composing music for a documentary right now, and I have had this with Symphonic orchestra AND Gypsy. I am going nuts with this problem.
Cubase 7.5.1/6.5.3, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC: Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.7.5
Motif ES8
CC121
Bach
Member
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby charliewonder7 » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:38 pm

I feel your pain. Do we know if its only with Cubase?
Mac Pro 2010, 3.33Ghz, 10g RAM

OSX 10.6.8, Cubase 6.5.1,

Aurora 16, AES PCI-e,

charliewonder7
Junior Member
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 1:07 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Bach » Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:03 pm

charliewonder7 wrote:I feel your pain. Do we know if its only with Cubase?


I thought that until recently, but then a guy showed up in the EW forums and reported having the same problem with Digital Performer as well.
Cubase 7.5.1/6.5.3, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC: Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.7.5
Motif ES8
CC121
Bach
Member
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby popmann » Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:19 am

Having the same deal with PLAY 2 and C6 (x64). Only with the QLSO. I'm not using sustain pedal CC, so it's not that.

Never happens stand alone.

Never happened with Play 1 and C4 (my previous set up). Didn't notice it right away with this system, as I tend to use VSL and LASS more...but, using it for some woodwinds on the latest arrangement...and it's sticking like nuts.
popmann
Member
 
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 6:42 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby dlpmusic » Wed Nov 09, 2011 5:01 pm

Bach wrote:
dlpmusic wrote:I have this problem as well. I am using it through Cubase attached to VE PRO. I can confirm this was not a problem in Logic. It also appears from forums that this might only be happening on the EW Piano's and not their other libraries. I question if that is really the case. Unfortunately this issue spooks me from using their PLAY interface.


I can assure you it happens with EVERY PLAY library out there. I am composing music for a documentary right now, and I have had this with Symphonic orchestra AND Gypsy. I am going nuts with this problem.



YIKES! Sad to say but I own many PLAY libraries but resample most of them to get them in Kontakt. They make such great libraries I really wish they could get PLAY to work without these show stopping issues.
Cubase 7.52, I7 6 Core, 24 gb
Halion 5.x
dlpmusic
Junior Member
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby 0liver » Thu Nov 10, 2011 4:12 am

I have been getting sticking notes from all of the play libraries lately. Running play 2.0 still... but apparently, the same behaviour is happening with play 3.0
0liver
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:59 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby edc » Fri Nov 11, 2011 4:39 am

After a bit more research into several other programs I find that.. 1. This problem does not occur in pro tools 9 2. This problem does not occur in sawstudio 5.0 .
Your mileage may vary. I notice that a new version of Cubase is coming out next week. I see reference to disparate sample rates and overlapping lanes... hmmm might be part of the issue. This weekend I will try to reproduce the problem in reaper. Caveat though... pro tools and Sawstudio are 32bit.... I'm running cubase 64.

thanks
Ed Croxford
edc
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:38 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Dudleys100 » Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:27 am

I have had this problem for the last year and a half I believe and it drives me fricken CRAZY!!!!!

I run 64 bit Cubase on Windows 7 64 bit.
Dudleys100
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 9:35 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby tucksterble » Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:54 pm

Hi,

I had this problem with EWQL Symphonic Orchestra Play 3.0.21 and Cubase 6.0.5. For me it was only an issue when hitting the stop button after playback or recording. I solved it by going to File -> Preferences -> Midi and ticking "Reset on Stop".

I hope this helps.

T.

EDIT:- Apologies. This clearly doesn't help when the problem occurs during recording which I realise I'm still getting.
Last edited by tucksterble on Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
tucksterble
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 12:40 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: East West QL Piano - Stuck notes

Postby Bach » Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:13 pm

For me it also happens while recording so it is really a showstopper.
Imagine trying to record a piano or string part and having the previous chords held forever while you keep recording.

Worst thing ever...
Cubase 7.5.1/6.5.3, Wavelab 7.2.1, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5,Halion Sonic 2, Virtual Guitarist 2, Neo Soul Keys
PC: Intel i74930, 3.4Ghz, Asus P9X79, 32GB RAM, ASUS GT610 Silent PCI-E
Audio Interface: RME UFX
Laptop: MacBook Pro i7 2.2 8GB RAM, OSX 10.7.5
Motif ES8
CC121
Bach
Member
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:47 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Next

Return to Cubase 6 | Cubase Artist 6 | Cubase Elements 6

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests