Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Interested in Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7? Having questions regarding the update or upgrade to the latest version? Please post here!

Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby serenity » Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:01 pm

Hi,

After Helge mentioned that Cubase 7.5 with all content will be 4GB download, I wonder with way of update will be right. Can I just click update on specific file or unistall whole Cubase 7.0.6 and all content and then install Cubase 7.5 (4GB download version) ?
Pawel

Windows 7 Pro 64 bit / Cubase 7 64 Bit / RME Fireface 400
User avatar
serenity
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:35 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby vespesian » Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:06 pm

Wondering the same thing. Are settings/templates retained, or carried over?

Also, will the update re-install new versions of every steinberg VST, or just 'over-write' any that have not been updated? I have Padshop Pro, and want to know if I'll have to re-install the "pro" update again, after installing 7.5.
vespesian
Junior Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby djaychela » Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:35 pm

If it's anything like the 6/6.5 setup (and I don't see any reason why it shouldn't be) then they will be completely independent versions installed; all versions of Cubase I've seen on PC inherit settings from the currently-installed version, so it should be transparent.

Can't see any reason you'd need to re-install PadShop Pro - as per most VSTs, it should be an independent entity in that respect; certainly I've never had a situation on any client's system where an upgrade led to a reinstall being necessary.

Also, given the previous problems with stability, I'd strongly recommend keeping 7.0.6 when you get 7.5!
djaychela
Member
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:22 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby Flavor4Daze » Mon Dec 02, 2013 8:42 pm

These are very important questions as i will be upgrading myself, because wouldn't like 2 version of Cubase on my hard drive........... It would be nice, if SB would give us a heads up. Please
Mac Pro 5.1 - OS X 10.9
Intel Xeon 3.2GHz Quad-Core
16GB Ram - 1TB x 4 Hard Drives
Motu Ultralite Mk3
Cubase 7.5
Halion 5
Studio Logic-VMK 176Plus
Flavor4Daze
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 2:38 am
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby thinkingcap » Mon Dec 02, 2013 9:21 pm

The requirements are posted on the download page.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby papi61 » Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:20 pm

As with 5.5 and 6.5, it's a new and independent application, but it uses the same preferences and plug folders as version 7 (including the links to your own, if any), so you won't have to reinstall anything. You don't even have to delete 7.0.x.
Desktop: i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, nVidia GTX770 + GT640-DCSL fanless, 3 monitors (30" 2560x1600 + 2x 27" 1920x1080), 256 GB SSD (OS), 2 TB SATA III (audio), 3 TB SATA III (sample libraries), 3x 3 TB USB 3.0 (backup/archives), RME UFX, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Slaves: 2x i7 2700k, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 3 TB SATA III, Win 8.1 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5.

Laptop: 17" HP EliteBook 8770w (i7 3820QM 2.7 Ghz/3.7 Ghz max OC, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, 1 TB SATA III), RME Babyface, Win 7 Pro x64, Vienna Ensemble Pro 5, Cubase 7.5, Sonar X3.
User avatar
papi61
Member
 
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 48 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby forthwith » Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:33 pm

Run the core (7.0.5) installer, and then update to 7.5 or 7.0.7 as appropriate.
forthwith
Junior Member
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2013 10:23 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby willynanita » Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:40 pm

papi61 wrote:As with 5.5 and 6.5, it's a new and independent application, but it uses the same preferences and plug folders as version 7 (including the links to your own, if any), so you won't have to reinstall anything. You don't even have to delete 7.0.x.


In my case, I installed C6 and all updates after that, then I installed 6.5 and the installer didn't create a new folder, instead, Cubase 6 became 6.5 (version 6 was overwritten).

Of course, 6.5 was downloaded as an update, not as full DVD installers.

I think that If I have C7 already installed and then I download the update to 7.5, C7 will be replaced by C7.5. Also, the download size should not be as big as it could be for a new fresh C7.5 install.

I guess Helge was referring to the full Box or Download install, not the update from 7 to 7.5 per se.
My Songs

Wilfredo Nanita
Windows 8.1 Pro 64bits • Intel Core i7 3770 3.40 GHz • Ram: 16GB
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 Audio Interface • M-Audio Axiom 61 Midi Controller
M-Audio DMP3 Dual Mic Preamp • Yamaha HS 50M Monitor Speakers
Toontrack Superior Drummer • Cubase 7.5 - 64bits
User avatar
willynanita
Junior Member
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:49 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby Jaymo99 » Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:47 pm

Grrrrrrr just seen that my retailer has updates to 7.5 available on the 4th for every version of Cubase except 7>7.5 eta 09/12/1013. and seeing as i LIVE IN GERMANY that seems really odd...
My studio
Intel Xeon 2 x X5355 2.83 quad core/16 GB ram/ SSD main drive/Windows 7 64 bit/ Motu Ultralite Firewire 2G/ Ipad mini w/Cubase IC/CMC QC/CMC AI/Cubase 7.5/Waves V9/EZ Drummer/SD 2/EZ MIX/ Brainworx/Amplitube 3/MarkBass plug in/a bunch of NI stuff/ some Guitars/Basses/Roland XP60/POD v2.0 blah blah blah =o)
Jaymo99
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:02 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby jonsolo » Tue Dec 03, 2013 2:39 am

Jaymo99 wrote:Grrrrrrr just seen that my retailer has updates to 7.5 available on the 4th for every version of Cubase except 7>7.5 eta 09/12/1013. and seeing as i LIVE IN GERMANY that seems really odd...


Ha ha ha, this is almost funny...might have to do the online thing, eish!
http://www.solosounds.net
http://www.soundcloud.com/the-jon-solo
http://www.twitter.com/thejonsolo

Windows 8.1 Pro | Intel i7 4770 | 24 GB RAM | Scarlett 6i6 | Dual 27" monitors
Nektar Panorama P6 | Korg Kronos 88 | Blue Baby Bottle | Launchpad S | JBL LSR308
Cubase 7.5 | Reason 8 | Ableton Live 9 | FL Studio 11
User avatar
jonsolo
New Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 8:35 pm
Location: Charleston
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby Jaymo99 » Tue Dec 03, 2013 6:15 am

jonsolo wrote:
Jaymo99 wrote:Grrrrrrr just seen that my retailer has updates to 7.5 available on the 4th for every version of Cubase except 7>7.5 eta 09/12/1013. and seeing as i LIVE IN GERMANY that seems really odd...


Ha ha ha, this is almost funny...might have to do the online thing, eish!



yes its almost funny except i like to have the boxed version and at the moment its not possible for me to pay online anyway sooooo. but ill figure out something.

But it just seemed weird to me that they have every other incarnation of the update except for the one i want and the most logical one.

:roll:
My studio
Intel Xeon 2 x X5355 2.83 quad core/16 GB ram/ SSD main drive/Windows 7 64 bit/ Motu Ultralite Firewire 2G/ Ipad mini w/Cubase IC/CMC QC/CMC AI/Cubase 7.5/Waves V9/EZ Drummer/SD 2/EZ MIX/ Brainworx/Amplitube 3/MarkBass plug in/a bunch of NI stuff/ some Guitars/Basses/Roland XP60/POD v2.0 blah blah blah =o)
Jaymo99
Junior Member
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:02 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby Ed Doll » Tue Dec 03, 2013 9:27 am

The Cubase 7.5 update itself is only around 1 GB per platform but the new HALion Sonic SE 2 content adds up to that. The update itself needs a Cubase 7 on the system and you should simply use that to move to 7.5. However, we will also provide the complete ISO image for download as well. That is 7 GB plus the new content (3 GB).
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby vespesian » Tue Dec 03, 2013 9:59 am

Ed Doll wrote:The Cubase 7.5 update itself is only around 1 GB per platform but the new HALion Sonic SE 2 content adds up to that. The update itself needs a Cubase 7 on the system and you should simply use that to move to 7.5. However, we will also provide the complete ISO image for download as well. That is 7 GB plus the new content (3 GB).



So, in that case, will 7.5 stand as a separate program from 7.06 - or will 7.06 'vanish' after 7.5 is installed?

TIA.
vespesian
Junior Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby thinkingcap » Tue Dec 03, 2013 10:30 am

vespesian wrote:
Ed Doll wrote:The Cubase 7.5 update itself is only around 1 GB per platform but the new HALion Sonic SE 2 content adds up to that. The update itself needs a Cubase 7 on the system and you should simply use that to move to 7.5. However, we will also provide the complete ISO image for download as well. That is 7 GB plus the new content (3 GB).



So, in that case, will 7.5 stand as a separate program from 7.06 - or will 7.06 'vanish' after 7.5 is installed?

TIA.

Cubase 7.5 is Cubase 7 (which is why - as stated - it needs a Cubase 7), and just like any other previous version vanished with an update, 7.06 will "vanish" after installing 7.5 - dead simple and the same for any version ever since...
EDIT:Corrected by EdDoll - see next post...
Last edited by thinkingcap on Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...
thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 6771
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 99 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby Ed Doll » Tue Dec 03, 2013 10:51 am

It can actually be parallel installations on the same system. There will be a Cubase 7 and a Cubase 7.5 folder.
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby Flavor4Daze » Tue Dec 03, 2013 12:10 pm

Ed Doll wrote:It can actually be parallel installations on the same system. There will be a Cubase 7 and a Cubase 7.5 folder.


Just brought Cubase 7, last month. I wanted to know if I can install 7.5 by itself as a fresh installation or will 7 have to be in my computer first ?
Mac Pro 5.1 - OS X 10.9
Intel Xeon 3.2GHz Quad-Core
16GB Ram - 1TB x 4 Hard Drives
Motu Ultralite Mk3
Cubase 7.5
Halion 5
Studio Logic-VMK 176Plus
Flavor4Daze
New Member
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 2:38 am
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby Ed Doll » Tue Dec 03, 2013 3:36 pm

You can install Cubase 7.5 directly as the essential part will be covered. Additional stuff like videos and external content is not part of the updater but again, it's not essential. If you want everything, go for the ISO image.
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby TabSel » Tue Dec 03, 2013 3:45 pm

So I can point the ISO full installer to my "cubase 7" folder and it will overwrite all cubase related stuff? Will it detect installed content?
Win7x64Prof, Cubase 6 x64
TabSel
Member
 
Posts: 836
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:56 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby Ed Doll » Tue Dec 03, 2013 3:47 pm

You should only use the ISO if want to install from scratch. There is no reason to let it install into an existing Cubase 7 folder. Regularly installed content will be detected of course.
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby silhouette » Tue Dec 03, 2013 10:30 pm

For someone like me who has snail internet it would take a couple of days to download the full package. Is there not going to be a boxed version from 7.0,6 > 7.5. I am getting a bit confused by all the comments here and will soon need to go and lie down. I have never used an iso version of the installer. Is it a weather system? What do you do with it?

I get a bit fed up with the assumption that everyone can download increasingly large files as programs get more and more complicated.
Intel i7 64bit - 3.4 x 6 - 12 gig RAM - Windows 7 - RME Fireface UC - UAD Solo + Duo - Komplete 8 - All uhe - S-Gear/Revalver 3.5/Amplitude3 - Alchemy
User avatar
silhouette
Member
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby Ed Doll » Tue Dec 03, 2013 11:16 pm

There is more info on that here: viewtopic.php?f=198&t=51146
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby Ed Doll » Wed Dec 04, 2013 12:28 pm

Sorry, I have to correct myself here. A complete clean installation is only possible when using the ISO image! Using the update installers won't be enough as content that hasn't been updated or added with Cubase 7.5 is only available with the Cubase 7.0 initial installer. I was confused... too many different Cubase installations on my system ;-)
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby silhouette » Wed Dec 04, 2013 6:18 pm

Ed Doll wrote:Sorry, I have to correct myself here. A complete clean installation is only possible when using the ISO image! Using the update installers won't be enough as content that hasn't been updated or added with Cubase 7.5 is only available with the Cubase 7.0 initial installer. I was confused... too many different Cubase installations on my system ;-)


Now I am even more confused.
Look - I have 7.0.6. I want to upgrade to 7.5. I don't want to download 2.5 gig of the update installer on my slow internet - what do I do?
Does your system support download managers? 2.5 gig is 6 hours on my internet connection - usually with interruptions.
Intel i7 64bit - 3.4 x 6 - 12 gig RAM - Windows 7 - RME Fireface UC - UAD Solo + Duo - Komplete 8 - All uhe - S-Gear/Revalver 3.5/Amplitude3 - Alchemy
User avatar
silhouette
Member
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby Ed Doll » Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:33 am

Because of the new content you'll have to download a comparably large amount of data unfortunately. Maybe it is possible for you to buy a boxed update at a dealer?
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!
User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 56 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 update or reinstall ?

Postby silhouette » Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:00 pm

Hi
Is the new content in the 2.5 gig update file as I could download that at a friends.
Intel i7 64bit - 3.4 x 6 - 12 gig RAM - Windows 7 - RME Fireface UC - UAD Solo + Duo - Komplete 8 - All uhe - S-Gear/Revalver 3.5/Amplitude3 - Alchemy
User avatar
silhouette
Member
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Next

Return to Presales

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests