Running Cubase 5 in Parallel on Macbook Pro non-retina

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software

Running Cubase 5 in Parallel on Macbook Pro non-retina

Postby RockingGarage » Thu Dec 12, 2013 5:04 am

Hi Guys, I plan to buy a MacBook Pro non-retina, and I plan to run Cubase 5 32-bit (This is what I have now) in Parallel Desktop (Windows 7), will it work? I don't own any audio interface and I would prefer Parallel over BootCamp due to it can be easily switch between Windows and OSX. In cubase 5, I just doing the editing and Mixing job, I am not using any virtual instrument or midi or sound recording, so I will get all the tracks in wav form and just putting effect chain into the track (Fabfilter plugin), can Parallel handle this smoothly?

Thanks
RockingGarage
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 4:28 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Running Cubase 5 in Parallel on Macbook Pro non-retina

Postby Reiknir » Fri Dec 13, 2013 5:10 am

You will have timing issues, but there are a number of users on various forums that claim to do just this, althou I am not 100% sure what their user case is and it is more than possible that this will be OK for you, perhaps with an occasional hickup. I would not and would use boot camp. Warm booting does not really take that long and is more of a minor inconvenience than a major

Suck it and see, install Cubase under parallels and if that does not work as hoped you can always install boot camp later on
User avatar
Reiknir
Member
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Running Cubase 5 in Parallel on Macbook Pro non-retina

Postby RockingGarage » Fri Dec 13, 2013 6:54 am

Thanks for your advice, will look at it and will post my review here after I got my Macbook.
RockingGarage
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 4:28 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Running Cubase 5 in Parallel on Macbook Pro non-retina

Postby sasha-che » Fri Dec 27, 2013 6:26 pm

Just curious, why would you want to run Cubase under Windows under Parallels under OS X? Why not just run it under OS X?
Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 8Gb | OSX Mavericks 10.9 | Cubase 7.5.20, 6.0.7, 5.5.3 | Logic 9.1.8 | Logic X | Halion Sonic 2 | HSO | WIVI Band
Yamaha P90 | AKAI EWI USB | AKAI MPK MINI
Godin Freeway SA | Yamaha SLG100NW | Ibanez AEG-10E
Line PODxt | Roland VG-8 | Roland GR-30
sasha-che
New Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:54 am
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Running Cubase 5 in Parallel on Macbook Pro non-retina

Postby Reiknir » Sat Dec 28, 2013 4:14 pm

sasha-che wrote:Just curious, why would you want to run Cubase under Windows under Parallels under OS X? Why not just run it under OS X?


V5 of Cubase does not run on the latest MAC OSX due to API changes
User avatar
Reiknir
Member
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Running Cubase 5 in Parallel on Macbook Pro non-retina

Postby sasha-che » Sun Dec 29, 2013 7:23 am

Reiknir wrote:
sasha-che wrote:Just curious, why would you want to run Cubase under Windows under Parallels under OS X? Why not just run it under OS X?


V5 of Cubase does not run on the latest MAC OSX due to API changes


Actually it does:

http://d.pr/i/QJxJ
Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 8Gb | OSX Mavericks 10.9 | Cubase 7.5.20, 6.0.7, 5.5.3 | Logic 9.1.8 | Logic X | Halion Sonic 2 | HSO | WIVI Band
Yamaha P90 | AKAI EWI USB | AKAI MPK MINI
Godin Freeway SA | Yamaha SLG100NW | Ibanez AEG-10E
Line PODxt | Roland VG-8 | Roland GR-30
sasha-che
New Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 6:54 am
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Running Cubase 5 in Parallel on Macbook Pro non-retina

Postby Reiknir » Sun Dec 29, 2013 11:11 pm

sasha-che wrote:
Reiknir wrote:
sasha-che wrote:Just curious, why would you want to run Cubase under Windows under Parallels under OS X? Why not just run it under OS X?


V5 of Cubase does not run on the latest MAC OSX due to API changes


Actually it does:

http://d.pr/i/QJxJ


Not for all, apparently has something to do with the display
User avatar
Reiknir
Member
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Running Cubase 5 in Parallel on Macbook Pro non-retina

Postby deloco » Sun Dec 29, 2013 11:37 pm

I had no Problem in running Cubase Studio 5 on the newest Retina MacBook Pro. Just set Cubase on Low-Res-Mode (infos on Cubase.app).
deloco
New Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 1:49 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Running Cubase 5 in Parallel on Macbook Pro non-retina

Postby RockingGarage » Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:50 am

Hi guys, after trying to use Cubase 5 in Parallel, I found out it is not a good place to get in, I need to set the buffer to at least to 4096 to get it smooth. By default it is 2048, and I got crackling sound when I play it, for mixing maybe it still workable, but for recording totally useless... So at the end I go for Bootcamp and to get rid of others portential problem in the future......

Note that I am using MacBook Pro 13 inch without retina and without any audio interface.
RockingGarage
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 4:28 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Running Cubase 5 in Parallel on Macbook Pro non-retina

Postby Reiknir » Thu Jan 30, 2014 7:35 am

Thanks, this is pretty much as expected since the OS on the virtual system cannot gain control over the supervisor on the processor (its emulated in the virtual machine) and therefore not control the timing. But it is helpful to have that confirmed since a number of people claim to be using Parallels , would make sense for an editing app but not for a DAW
User avatar
Reiknir
Member
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 1:47 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 10 times


Return to Older Cubase versions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests