Cubase 7.5 - Option to auto load last project

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 can be posted here.

Cubase 7.5 - Option to auto load last project

Postby Maincat » Fri Dec 13, 2013 12:32 pm

I was hoping that the option to have C7.5 auto load the last project on startup was going to come back, but unless I've missed it, it hasn't.

Please bring back that option, as I found it really useful and a time saver.
Steve
Cubase 7.5.30 64 Bit
Windows 8 Professional 64 Bit
Maincat
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:34 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 - Option to auto load last project

Postby dorremifasol » Fri Dec 13, 2013 12:55 pm

I wouldn't recommend such option, as it can be dangerous. Imagine you have a corrupted project (or non working plugin), and Cubase crashes every time when it tries to load it upon starting. It's very likely that this will happen in one moment or another.

In the other hand, I don't think it would save much time than just going to File -> Recent Projects and selecting the project.

Cheers!
Intel i5 750, Windows 7 64 bit, 16g RAM, Cubase 7.5.30, Halion 5.0.1.88, Wavelab 8.3, RME Fireface 800 v3.094.
User avatar
dorremifasol
Member
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:20 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 - Option to auto load last project

Postby Maincat » Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:13 pm

dorremifasol wrote:In the other hand, I don't think it would save much time than just going to File -> Recent Projects and selecting the project.


That's what I do now. I agree that it's not a big deal, but the option has been there in the past.
Steve
Cubase 7.5.30 64 Bit
Windows 8 Professional 64 Bit
Maincat
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:34 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 - Option to auto load last project

Postby stingray » Fri Dec 13, 2013 1:51 pm

Maincat wrote:I was hoping that the option to have C7.5 auto load the last project on startup was going to come back, but unless I've missed it, it hasn't.

Please bring back that option, as I found it really useful and a time saver.

You are not alone. I also found that useful.
stingray
Junior Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:55 am
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 - Option to auto load last project

Postby ETB » Fri Dec 13, 2013 2:15 pm

I'd rather it were a splash screen on startup.
W7 64, C7.5 64, CI1
ETB
Junior Member
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 1:57 pm
Has thanked: 23 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 - Option to auto load last project

Postby Maincat » Fri Dec 13, 2013 2:37 pm

ETB wrote:I'd rather it were a splash screen on startup.


Doesn't the Steinberg Hub screen sort of do that already? I don't use the Hub on startup, (just seems a bit bloaty).
Steve
Cubase 7.5.30 64 Bit
Windows 8 Professional 64 Bit
Maincat
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:34 pm
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 - Option to auto load last project

Postby JMCecil » Fri Dec 13, 2013 2:38 pm

+1 Really want the load last project option back.
cpu:i7 980x - RAM:24gb - OS:Win8.1x64 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 8 |Cubase 6.5/7.5| H5, HS2, HSO, Padshop Pro
User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3886
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 170 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 - Option to auto load last project

Postby rustman » Fri Dec 13, 2013 4:28 pm

I've grown to appreciate the hub. I have it set to load on startup, which means a double click on the top project on the list puts me right into the last project I was working on. If I want to start a new project, my template is there, and I don't have to close a project first (I prefer not to have more than one open at a time). That said, the option to open the last project automatically couldn't hurt.
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit, i7 2600K @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 Gb RAM @ 2133, Radeon HD 5650 x2 in Crossfire, 27" Viewsonic monitors x3, Novation 61SL mk2, Roland Quad-Capture, SSD boot and recording drives, SATA drive for sample library, Komplete 9 Ultimate, Alchemy, Omnisphere, Stylus RMS, Trilian, Synthmaster, Zebra2, ZebraHZ, Iris, Total Studio 3, Melodyne Editor, Entire Image-Line product Catalog, Reason 6.5, Reaper, MFM2, Filterscape, Blue Cat goodies, Melda Productions Total bundle, SD2, SSD4 Platinum, POD Farm2, >100K midi drum loops. -----> and DIVA!!!!
rustman
New Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2013 11:58 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 - Option to auto load last project

Postby Prock » Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:49 pm

I too like using the hub. I would not use a "start last project" option but I suppose it can't hurt to have it if it is a user preference.
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase 7.5.30 (64bit), OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1, CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.5 GHz, RAM: 8GB, Graphics: 1024MB GeForce GTX 650, AI: PreSonus Firebox
User avatar
Prock
Member
 
Posts: 518
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 42 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 - Option to auto load last project

Postby CubeDAW » Tue Dec 17, 2013 8:45 am

I would love to have it back but I am afraid people were freaked out when their project would not load. Of course you can simply load another project by double clicking on it but maybe some stupid people would not think of that and contact support?
User avatar
CubeDAW
Member
 
Posts: 408
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:16 pm
Has thanked: 87 times
Been thanked: 17 times

Re: Cubase 7.5 - Option to auto load last project

Postby Centralmusic » Tue Dec 17, 2013 12:54 pm

Prock wrote:I too like using the hub. I would not use a "start last project" option but I suppose it can't hurt to have it if it is a user preference.


+ 1
Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 3566
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Has thanked: 184 times
Been thanked: 135 times


Return to Feature Requests and Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests