Midi track no sound

Everything else...

Midi track no sound

Postby realizment2 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:47 pm

In a session i have 6 or 7 midi tracks. One which has nexus as the output has stopped playing the notes that recorded. If i click the editor and click on the notes i can hear them fine, also playing the keyboard on the track triggers notes. but the midi parts are not triggering the notes. No mute automation, all outputs are correct etc. Havent seen this happen before any ideas?
realizment2
Junior Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:19 am
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby vic_france » Sat Feb 15, 2014 1:44 pm

And you are certain that neither the MIDI Part(s) nor the MIDI track itself, are muted?
Mac Pro Quad-Core 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 8.0| Cubase 7.5.30| DP 8.0.7| Logic Pro X 10.0.7| ProTools 11.2.1| Ableton Live 9.1.6
User avatar
vic_france
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2378
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 138 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby realizment2 » Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:35 am

vic_france wrote:And you are certain that neither the MIDI Part(s) nor the MIDI track itself, are muted?


110%. After i made this post i found another post someone else with same issue. very odd.
realizment2
Junior Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:19 am
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby curteye » Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:51 am

realizment2 wrote:In a session i have 6 or 7 midi tracks. One which has nexus as the output has stopped playing the notes that recorded. If i click the editor and click on the notes i can hear them fine, also playing the keyboard on the track triggers notes. but the midi parts are not triggering the notes. No mute automation, all outputs are correct etc. Havent seen this happen before any ideas?


Aloha r,

Since C7 and continuing with C7.5 I have had this happen more and more.
I have spent time trying to figure it with no luck.

My 'save time' work-a-round is to:

1-Find a track that is working.
2- Duplicate it.
3-remove all MIDI data from the copied track
4-Paste in MIDI data from the not working track
and 'bob's yer uncle'.

Good Luck.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5277
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 208 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby HughH » Sun Feb 16, 2014 1:21 am

Curteye . . . you've had this issue multiple times?

Bleak.

I had it on one track - An Instrument Track - and fixed it (workaround) by creating a new MIDI Track, pasting the same data there, and pointing it to the Instrument Track.
The Instrument still plays . . and just like realizment2 it plays live with the track in record AND when editing - just no playback.

I had thought my issue had to do with freezing and unfreezing the track - which I was doing a lot with all the tracks and that's when it occurred.

Posted about it here: http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=55476&p=337905#p337218

But you both mention having it on a MIDI Track and realizment2 wasn't doing any freezing.

Has this been reported?
Any comment from Steinberg?

Hugh
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
User avatar
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby Limit54 » Sun Feb 16, 2014 2:43 am

Just happened to me. I'm working on a session from cubase5 that I just upgraded to 7.5 and some midi tracks don't work....that is very bad!! Not good steinberg not good!!
AMD Quad Core 4.2 4gigs of ram Windows 7 32bit
Cubase 7.5-----Adam A7x & Alesis M1 active mk2's
To much crap to mention but still not turning out great music
Limit54
Member
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 3:44 am
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby realizment2 » Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:17 am

Yea Lets all report this, its quite a major issue. Especially for anyone running complex sessions. Lets say tired and doing early morning bounces, they could miss some vital data.

EDIT: I have logged this with support I suggest you all do the same so it will receive immediate attention. Thanks
realizment2
Junior Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:19 am
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby HughH » Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:02 pm

realizment2 wrote:Yea Lets all report this, its quite a major issue. Especially for anyone running complex sessions. Lets say tired and doing early morning bounces, they could miss some vital data.

EDIT: I have logged this with support I suggest you all do the same so it will receive immediate attention. Thanks


I just sent support the following Book Length (brevity was never my strong point) support request:

This has been documented Here: <http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=55476&p=337905#p337218> by myself and here <http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=181&t=55548#p337643> by myself and others.

As I wrote, I have a project where I was doing a lot of freezing and unfreezing. At a point after unfreezing, one of the Instrument Tracks would not play back it's MIDI data.
I could put the track in record and play the VSTi (EWQL Play). I could open the MIDI editor and sound notes by selecting them. I could record new MIDI data into the track (hearing it while recording.
But nothing would play back.
I found a workaround by copying the MIDI data from the VSTi track into a new MIDI track - and pointing it to the original Instrument Track.

After posting my issue, I discovered a number of other users having similar issues - including several very experienced long time users (like myself). In their cases it had nothing to do with Freezing - or even Instrument Tracks. MIDI Tracks - seemingly randomly - stop playing, displaying the same characteristics I experienced (live playback. Editing playback, but no linear playback).
This might seem a minor - though irritating issue.
However, if one has to check every offline mixdown from end to end to assure everything's there . . or listen several times, intently, to complex projects to assure all the parts are playing before rendering -and again after - never sure when something subtle might go missing . . then it becomes a serious problem.

Is Steinberg aware of this issue?
Is there any known trigger that could be avoided until a fix?
Would you like me to send you my project (seems very project related)?

In my case the project was begun in 7.5.10 and has remained on the same DAW throughout.

Looking forward to your timely response!

Thanks!
Hugh
Cubase 7.5.2 64bit
W7 i7 12G ASUS MB Studio Machine, Dual Monitors
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn) / Novation AutoMap (Nocturn)
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP5
W7 i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Slave/Remote Machine
RME Digiface PCIe for both
User avatar
HughH
Member
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby realizment2 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 11:51 pm

Steinberg are asking me to uninstall everything steineberg and reinstall 7.5. I guess ill give it a go. What happens your plugins when you uninstall i forget they stay safe right? i should copy the vst folder anyways right?
realizment2
Junior Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:19 am
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby LeroyNL » Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:15 pm

Having the same issue in C7.5.10.

In some projects a few tracks simply won't play. Copying the data isn't an option, since we would need to copy automation as well. Please correct me if i'm wrong.

It's like the MIDI signals from the key part aren't sent to the VSTi.

Steinberg needs to fix this ASAP. I have submitted a report as well.
Intel Core i7-4771, 16GB, M-Audio Delta 1010LT, Windows 7 x64, Cubase 7.5.10
LeroyNL
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:03 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby realizment2 » Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:13 am

This happened again last night on an instrument track I created minutes after creating and laying a bassline. I had to copy midi data to new track re open and find patch of VST. Hope this addressed soon Major issue.
realizment2
Junior Member
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:19 am
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby LeroyNL » Thu Mar 27, 2014 9:04 pm

Check this topic for a temporary solution: viewtopic.php?f=196&t=52622
Intel Core i7-4771, 16GB, M-Audio Delta 1010LT, Windows 7 x64, Cubase 7.5.10
LeroyNL
New Member
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:03 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby lukasbrooklyn » Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:50 am

meh, just had this exact issue happen to me on 7.5.2. you are getting boring steinberg.
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.2, c6
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com
lukasbrooklyn
Member
 
Posts: 912
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 96 times

Re: Midi track no sound

Postby JMarz » Mon May 05, 2014 9:58 am

Me too, recently upgraded to 7.5.2 and just noticed one of the channels on a project stopped working. If I hit solo it plays, but not un-soloed??? Had to un mute EVERYTHING (loads of other tracks) then re mute them and the affected track seems to work.... weird
JMarz
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 2:08 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time


Return to Miscellaneous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests