IK Multimedia CSR

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers

IK Multimedia CSR

Postby SuStudio » Tue Feb 18, 2014 8:58 pm

Saw these guys at NAMM and they said that CSR is now 64-bit compatible however, I can't get it to work without the VST Bridge and I've got the latest versions installed as well as their T-Racks Custom Shop freeware that is supposed to keep everything up to date. Is anyone running CSR in 64 bit?

Thanks!
Cubase 6.5 & 7.5 - Cubasis & ICPro
Macbook Pro 2.66 i7 - OS 10.8.5 8GB Ram - Dual internal drives
NI Audio6, Novation SLMKII, True P-Solo, Numerous VSTi & plug-ins.
SuStudio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 9:44 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: IK Multimedia CSR

Postby Scab Pickens » Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:42 am

SuStudio wrote:Is anyone running CSR in 64 bit?


Yes.

Did you do the "restore my gear" deal in the Custom Shop?
Main: Win 7 64 | Cubase 7.5.30 64 | WaveLab Elements 8.0.3 64 | i7-950 3.1 12GB | Focusrite PRO 40
Mobile: Win 7 64 | Cubase Elements 7.0.7 64 | Core2Duo 2.4 8GB | Tascam US-144MKII
User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1631
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: IK Multimedia CSR

Postby curteye » Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:45 am

Aloha S,

CSR still at 32 bit here.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5133
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 194 times

Re: IK Multimedia CSR

Postby SuStudio » Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:55 am

Thanks Scab...yes I did the RESTORE MY GEAR function a couple of times. Just to confirm with you, I never see a completion message box when the process is complete...the UPDATING SYSTEM message box just disappears after a few seconds after beginning the process. Also, are you running the single plug-ins in Cubase as inserts and sends or through the TR CS suite in Cubase? Every project that I try and use the single plugs I get the VST BRIDGE startup message and then the small blank GUI when accessing the plug-ins. The info button on each reverb shows version 1.1.1 as well.

Thanks Curt....glad to know I've got company...might be a Mac thing?!?! Don't waste your time with IK support....it's comatose!
Cubase 6.5 & 7.5 - Cubasis & ICPro
Macbook Pro 2.66 i7 - OS 10.8.5 8GB Ram - Dual internal drives
NI Audio6, Novation SLMKII, True P-Solo, Numerous VSTi & plug-ins.
SuStudio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 9:44 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: IK Multimedia CSR

Postby mpayne0 » Wed Feb 19, 2014 2:40 pm

IK M has the best support in the business imo, I have contacted them numerous time over the years (decade) and always had an immediate response that was not dropped until resolution, even if it took IK bending their own policy with regards to license renewals, transfers.

That's not to say anything about their marketing, and their transition from 32 to 64 bit. I actually directly asked on of the reps and a 64 CSR is not in any planning stage either, they only told me that we would have the reverb internally for Sampletank.

I was hoping they could just retain/port the algos, and use a 64 bit shell just like any other reverb, I guess it's more complicated.
mpayne0
Member
 
Posts: 618
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 62 times

Re: IK Multimedia CSR

Postby Scab Pickens » Wed Feb 19, 2014 3:29 pm

SuStudio wrote:... are you running the single plug-ins in Cubase as inserts and sends or through the TR CS suite in Cubase?


Single plug-ins (see screenshot).

I'm not a Mac guy, so I probably can't be of much help to you.

What I do know is that when I last re-installed everything from scratch on my DAW machine, I didn't install the original version of CSR (32). Is it possible Cubase isn't "seeing" the folder where the new versions reside? Can you locate the folder where the new versions are installed and make sure Cubase is searching that folder in it's plug-in paths? Maybe try moving the old CSR files so Cubase doesn't see them?
Attachments
CSR Image.jpg
(613.78 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Main: Win 7 64 | Cubase 7.5.30 64 | WaveLab Elements 8.0.3 64 | i7-950 3.1 12GB | Focusrite PRO 40
Mobile: Win 7 64 | Cubase Elements 7.0.7 64 | Core2Duo 2.4 8GB | Tascam US-144MKII
User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
 
Posts: 1631
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Colorado Springs, CO USA
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: IK Multimedia CSR

Postby ChrisW » Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:38 pm

CSR is working for me on a Mac in 64 bit - used as a send via T-RackS CS. I didn't bother to install the original CSR on my new MacBook Pro, but seem to remember that the 64 bit versions of the individual reverb plugins had different names to the original, after I'd updated. There's a new version of T-RackS CS out today, so it might be worth trying that.
MacBook Pro 13" Intel Core i5 2.5Ghz 4GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.9, Apogee Duet Firewire, Yamaha S90, Cubase 7.5, Komplete 9, HALion 5.0.1
User avatar
ChrisW
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:27 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: IK Multimedia CSR

Postby SuStudio » Wed Feb 19, 2014 7:25 pm

Thanks again guys for the info. ChrisW: I am able to run CSR in 64 bit within TR CS too but that's not a desirable method of working especially if I only want to use the verbs...why must we use their host program to get 64-bit? What happens when you try and run CSR by itself as a send or insert...do you get the VST Bridge message as well for 32-bit operation?

Also, I downloaded TR CS 4.5 and still no 64-bit operation for the single CSR plugs.
Cubase 6.5 & 7.5 - Cubasis & ICPro
Macbook Pro 2.66 i7 - OS 10.8.5 8GB Ram - Dual internal drives
NI Audio6, Novation SLMKII, True P-Solo, Numerous VSTi & plug-ins.
SuStudio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 9:44 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: IK Multimedia CSR

Postby ChrisW » Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:12 pm

SuStudio, since upgrading to TR CS 4.5 I am able to run the reverbs directly as inserts and sends, and in 64-bit mode (I checked the activity monitor and there's no sign of the bridge). The 64 bit reverbs have new names though prefixed by 'T-Racks CS' (see attached screenshot) and are listed alongside T-Racks CS in the effects list. Have you tried deleting the old CSR VST plugins then reinstalling 4.5?
Attachments
HSSE_Main__Ins__1_-_T-RackS_CS_CSR_Hall_and_MixConsole_-_Handel_Source_B.png
(290.36 KiB) Not downloaded yet
MacBook Pro 13" Intel Core i5 2.5Ghz 4GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.9, Apogee Duet Firewire, Yamaha S90, Cubase 7.5, Komplete 9, HALion 5.0.1
User avatar
ChrisW
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:27 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: IK Multimedia CSR

Postby SuStudio » Thu Feb 20, 2014 4:12 pm

Thanks Chris! That's good news but I haven't been able to find the old plug-ins and IK has been silent on the correct procedure for removing just the CSR portion. I've waited 3 days for these guys to tell me the proper way to proceed and I'm getting crickets! Do you know? Would you just uninstall everything then start from a download of TR CS only? I'm thinking both versions of CSR are installed in different locations for the bridge to keep loading on me. But I'm glad it's working for you so I'm nearly there. :D
Cubase 6.5 & 7.5 - Cubasis & ICPro
Macbook Pro 2.66 i7 - OS 10.8.5 8GB Ram - Dual internal drives
NI Audio6, Novation SLMKII, True P-Solo, Numerous VSTi & plug-ins.
SuStudio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 9:44 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: IK Multimedia CSR

Postby ChrisW » Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:58 pm

I'd be inclined to start from a download of the latest TR CS. This seems to put all available T-RackS processors into /Library/Audio/Plugin-/VST and just activates the ones you've purchased. I've only got CSR so deactivated the others from the Cubase Plug-In Information window as it was a bit annoying seeing them listed. I've attached another screenshot showing how they look on my Mac.

I'm pretty sure the old CSR plugins were named differently, without the T-RackS prefix - have you tried a Spotlight search?

Good luck!
Attachments
Plug-in_Information.png
(96.66 KiB) Not downloaded yet
MacBook Pro 13" Intel Core i5 2.5Ghz 4GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.9, Apogee Duet Firewire, Yamaha S90, Cubase 7.5, Komplete 9, HALion 5.0.1
User avatar
ChrisW
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:27 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: IK Multimedia CSR

Postby SuStudio » Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:43 pm

Thanks Chris...ok the lightbulb just went on. TR CS doesn't overwrite (or update) the 32 bit plugs so I've got both versions installed as do you with the T-Racks plugs. I deactivated the 32 versions but will uninstall them as well as my T-Racks S3 legacy plugs. Stupid update really....it should have "updated" as indicated and not simply append. Thanks so much for the help Chris and others!
Cubase 6.5 & 7.5 - Cubasis & ICPro
Macbook Pro 2.66 i7 - OS 10.8.5 8GB Ram - Dual internal drives
NI Audio6, Novation SLMKII, True P-Solo, Numerous VSTi & plug-ins.
SuStudio
Junior Member
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 9:44 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: IK Multimedia CSR

Postby ChrisW » Thu Feb 20, 2014 10:36 pm

Glad you got it sorted!
MacBook Pro 13" Intel Core i5 2.5Ghz 4GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.9, Apogee Duet Firewire, Yamaha S90, Cubase 7.5, Komplete 9, HALion 5.0.1
User avatar
ChrisW
Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:27 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 6 times


Return to VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests