UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase 7 and Cubase Artist 7 can be posted here.

UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby Headlands » Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:09 pm

This is an area in which Pro Tools and many other DAWs are superior to Cubase.

Here are two solid ideas to implement this now:

1. " Mixer Undo" with a separate "Mixer History" and a mod-key undo/redo
-or-
2. "Mixer Undo" inside the regular history with the option to "hide" the contained "Mixer data".

The ability to undo moves, etc., in the mix console window is a professional standard and an absolute necessity, especially because of how easy it is in the new mix console GUI to accidentally change things. Please bring this to the next update. Thanks!
Last edited by Headlands on Wed May 21, 2014 3:29 am, edited 5 times in total.
Nuendo 6 and Cubase 7.5, Win 7 x64, 16GB RAM, UAD2-QUAD, Lynx Aurora 8, RME HDSPe, lots and lots of toys.
Headlands
Member
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:13 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby Dejanco » Thu Apr 10, 2014 12:11 am

+1
Dejanco
New Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:05 pm
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby CubeDAW » Thu Apr 10, 2014 1:02 am

-1
User avatar
CubeDAW
Member
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:16 pm
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby claesbjo » Thu Apr 10, 2014 6:47 am

+1 here, needs to be very separated from the standard undo though, like only available from a mixer menu or only available as kc when mixer is in focus.
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. OSX Mavericks. Cubase 7.5.2, Logic PRO 10.0.6
claesbjo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby curteye » Thu Apr 10, 2014 7:08 am

Would be very nice.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac i7 2.8Gz 16GB 10.9...../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mbook 2.4Gz 4GB 10.7.5.../C5.5/6.5/7.5
Mac Pro w/3 4k monitors.
On-line in Jan 2015

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.
User avatar
curteye
Grand Senior Member
 
Posts: 5034
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 185 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby Prock » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:37 am

+1 again as this has been suggested before.

I doubt it but I hope someone at Steinberg somehow combines similar posts to tally the support for similar ideas/requests.
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase 7.5.30 (64bit), OS: Windows 7 x64 SP1, CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.5 GHz, RAM: 8GB, Graphics: 1024MB GeForce GTX 650, AI: PreSonus Firebox
User avatar
Prock
Member
 
Posts: 500
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby Brazas » Fri Apr 11, 2014 7:02 am

+1
Brazas
New Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 2:01 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby patcub » Fri Apr 11, 2014 9:14 am

+1
patcub
Member
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 22 times

Re: R: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby lordadb » Fri Apr 11, 2014 4:34 pm

+1
User avatar
lordadb
Junior Member
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:30 pm
Location: Rome, the heart of Italy.
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby peakae » Fri Apr 11, 2014 5:49 pm

-1
Cubase 7.5.30 , I7 3770K , win7x64, 16Gb Ram, Steinberg MR816x, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.
Cubase 6.5.4, Intel Q6600, WinXPx32, 4Gb Ram, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8000.
Yamaha MoXF, Waldorf blofeld, Yamaha CS1x, MusicMan Stingray 5, Yamaha TRB 5FL, Daking MicPre One, Safesoundaudio P1, TK audio BC1, Brauner Phanthera.
User avatar
peakae
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby Cubasesx2to5 » Fri Apr 11, 2014 6:23 pm

yep +1
Cubasesx2to5
New Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 8:47 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby beerbong » Sat Apr 12, 2014 2:59 am

If that is the main new feature in Cubase 8, then I am on board.
+1
BB
beerbong
Member
 
Posts: 428
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby ggc » Sat Apr 12, 2014 3:13 am

not trying to be repetitive (in+1 and prior request) but,
+1 :P

(meaning undo for mixer faders and strip etc) - basically an undo for anything i do.. looool:P
User avatar
ggc
Member
 
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby tex » Sun Apr 13, 2014 10:40 am

+1
i7 12GB, Acer desktop. Mark of The Unicorn-mk3 Ultra, cubase 7.5, Wave lab elements
tons of plugs and a few outboard, bag of vinyl. Mackie monitors and analogue desk
User avatar
tex
Junior Member
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 4:52 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby peakae » Sun Apr 13, 2014 3:15 pm

If it would be possible to turn off, then why not. But sorry I don't get the point, maybe for beginners or for the situations where you moved a control without looking ?
Cubase 7.5.30 , I7 3770K , win7x64, 16Gb Ram, Steinberg MR816x, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.
Cubase 6.5.4, Intel Q6600, WinXPx32, 4Gb Ram, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8000.
Yamaha MoXF, Waldorf blofeld, Yamaha CS1x, MusicMan Stingray 5, Yamaha TRB 5FL, Daking MicPre One, Safesoundaudio P1, TK audio BC1, Brauner Phanthera.
User avatar
peakae
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby claesbjo » Sun Apr 13, 2014 9:21 pm

peakae wrote: But sorry I don't get the point, maybe for beginners or for the situations where you moved a control without looking ?
You make an error, you may want to undo it..quite self explanatory imho.

cheers
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. OSX Mavericks. Cubase 7.5.2, Logic PRO 10.0.6
claesbjo
Junior Member
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby Cubasesx2to5 » Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:44 am

Because sometimes we make mistakes
Cubasesx2to5
New Member
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 8:47 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby Headlands » Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:43 am

peakae wrote:If it would be possible to turn off, then why not. But sorry I don't get the point, maybe for beginners or for the situations where you moved a control without looking ?


The most pro people in the world make mistakes or make mix decisions that they would like to undo -- all of the time. Trust me, I work with a lot of them (including myself, I humbly will say)! The undo feature in Pro Tools for the mix console gets used ALL of the time by some very, very well-known mixers that I sometimes get to work with.
Last edited by Headlands on Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:06 am, edited 2 times in total.
Nuendo 6 and Cubase 7.5, Win 7 x64, 16GB RAM, UAD2-QUAD, Lynx Aurora 8, RME HDSPe, lots and lots of toys.
Headlands
Member
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:13 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 29 times

UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby peakae » Wed Apr 16, 2014 4:51 am

I usually don't make mistakes just poor decisions :-)
Last edited by peakae on Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 7.5.30 , I7 3770K , win7x64, 16Gb Ram, Steinberg MR816x, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.
Cubase 6.5.4, Intel Q6600, WinXPx32, 4Gb Ram, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8000.
Yamaha MoXF, Waldorf blofeld, Yamaha CS1x, MusicMan Stingray 5, Yamaha TRB 5FL, Daking MicPre One, Safesoundaudio P1, TK audio BC1, Brauner Phanthera.
User avatar
peakae
Junior Member
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby Headlands » Wed Apr 16, 2014 5:04 am

peakae wrote:I usually don't make mistakes just poor decision :-)


Haha! That too. :D
Nuendo 6 and Cubase 7.5, Win 7 x64, 16GB RAM, UAD2-QUAD, Lynx Aurora 8, RME HDSPe, lots and lots of toys.
Headlands
Member
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:13 pm
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 29 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby arash.pakzad » Wed Apr 16, 2014 6:08 pm

+1
Don't listen to people stories, trust you ears
arash.pakzad
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 4:07 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby CubeDAW » Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:00 pm

You guys have alzheimer's? I don't get it. The mixer is not that complicated.
User avatar
CubeDAW
Member
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:16 pm
Has thanked: 84 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby ggc » Wed Apr 16, 2014 7:41 pm

sometimes, in a frenzy, I scroll around the console not looking where the mouse cursor is.. Sometimes the said mouse cursor is over a strip knob value.. then this value changes instead of the position of the console elements. A undo would be nice to return value X to what it was... I have also had situations where I would change the values of the faders for testing purposes and would like to go back to my initial "solid values" without having to remix the whole thing...
that is all..
I can see the positivity in this feature..

edit: what comes to mind now is *mix versions* like track versions in the arranger... I would make a solid mix, save the mix as *mix A* , make a different mix, save it as *mix B*... this way, we could A/B different mixes, play around and go crazy, and by pressing *mix A or mix X* return to those mix versions by the press of one button...
User avatar
ggc
Member
 
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby arash.pakzad » Wed Apr 16, 2014 9:48 pm

sometimes, in a frenzy, I scroll around the console not looking where the mouse cursor is.. Sometimes the said mouse cursor is over a strip knob value.. then this value changes instead of the position of the console elements.


That's the point!
Don't listen to people stories, trust you ears
arash.pakzad
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 4:07 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: UNDO for the mixer. Absolutely necessary!

Postby ggc » Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:10 pm

arash.pakzad wrote:That's the point!


Please elaborate on your reply.. I am having troubles understanding what exactly you mean. I am assuming that it is a of a positive nature.

If so - "that's the point" -> you are referring to *that's the point* of an undo option, then yes, I totally agree.

just in case, I will rephrase to disseminate any further uncertainties that may arise... edit: (for anybody reading)

"sometimes, in a frenzy, when I scroll around (up and down) the console not looking where the mouse cursor is and very speedily mind you.. Sometimes the said mouse cursor is accidentally over a strip knob value.. then this value changes instead of the position of the console elements which was initially intended"

Positive feedback or constructive criticism is always welcomed.
=)
Last edited by ggc on Thu Apr 17, 2014 8:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
ggc
Member
 
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 31 times

Next

Return to Feature Requests and Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests