Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

Creativity First

Frankenstraße 18 b
20097 Hamburg

Tel: +49 (0)40 210 35-0
Fax: +49 (0)40 210 35-300

Removing the preferences of the sequencer

When uninstalling Cubase or Nuendo, preferences won´t be removed automatically. This is because the preferences contain your personal settings such like key commands, device maps, presets for VST plugins etc. The uninstaller only removes files which have been installed by it.

If you want to remove preferences please do this:

Mac OS X

  1. Exit Cubase resp. Nuendo. 
  2. Open the Finder and go to the folder: Users/*Your Username*/Library/Preferences/*Your Cubase resp. Nuendo version*
  3. Create a new empty folder on your desktop
  4. Select all files and folders from the preferences folder and move them into the empty folder on the desktop.
    The preferences folder needs to be empty after that.

Mac OS X 10.7 (Lion)

*The Library folder for  the main user account is not visible anymore on Lion, that means that users will not find it and will not be able to delete the preferences.
To access that folder you need to go to the menu "Go", then hold down the ALT key on your computer keyboard and click on the appearing "Library" entry.

Then you will be able to access the Library and delete the preferences.

Windows

  1. Exit Cubase resp. Nuendo.
  2. In Windows go to the Start menu > (All) Programs > *Your Cubase resp. Nuendo version*
  3. There, start "Open *Cubase resp. Nuendo* Application Data Folder"

    A new Explorer window opens with all files and folders of the preferences for the host application. As an alternative you can browse to this location by yourself using this path:

    XP: c:\Documents & Settings\*Your Username*\Application Data\Steinberg\*Your Cubase resp. Nuendo version*
    Vista: c:\Users\*Your Username*\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\*Your Cubase resp. Nuendo version*
    #
  4. Select all files and folders from the preferences folder and move them into the empty folder on the desktop.
    The host application preferences folder needs to be empty after that.

Mac & Windows

Now, when you start Cubase resp. Nuendo again, The program will use the default settings and the preferences files (which you've just removed) will be created freshly. If you need specific settings of preferences again, take the copy of the files in question in the backup folder on the desktop and move them back to the host applications preferences folder.

For details which file of the preferences is responsible for specific settings please refer to the operation manual of the host application for details, chapter "Customizing", section "Where are the settings stored?".

If you are sure that all preferences can be deleted you do not need to create a backup copy. Instead just delete the files and folders.

Rating

Did this article help you?

back