Iconica - NO Legatos work

All topics on VST Sound Instrument Sets, VST Sound Loop Sets and Sequel Content Sets
Post Reply
lightsound
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:02 pm
Contact:

Iconica - NO Legatos work

Post by lightsound » Sun Jan 19, 2020 1:28 am

Hi all,

New to Iconica. Gotta big problem stumping me.
1- Selecting any instrument
2- Select Legato
3- Make or play a chord
4- All notes will play momentarily (Stacatto?) then only one note will sustain.

I am not using key switches or expression maps.
Doesn't matter what instrument is selected (i.e. Standard, dynamics, etc) all the articulation EXCEPT legato work properly.
The problem is present in Iconica Ensembles and Iconica Sections & Players.

I'm guessing this is a Halion problem?

Cubase 10.5
Latest Halion
Win 10
Ryzen 8 core
64GB RAM
yada yada

lightsound
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Iconica - NO Legatos work

Post by lightsound » Sun Jan 19, 2020 4:45 pm

As an experiment, I tried the same things with Halion SE instead of Halion. The problem persists.

lightsound
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Iconica - NO Legatos work

Post by lightsound » Tue Jan 21, 2020 3:01 am

Experiment #2: Running a stand alone instance of Hal 6. Load Iconica Sections & Players, Legato still does not work.

lightsound
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Iconica - NO Legatos work

Post by lightsound » Wed Jan 22, 2020 1:17 am

Anybody out there?
Am I missing something super basic, like legato does not support multiple voicing?

lightsound
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Iconica - NO Legatos work

Post by lightsound » Fri Jan 24, 2020 6:00 pm

I'm NOT CRAZY after all. Called Steinberg. They see the same problem.
Now I just wait.

Zoberflote
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 6:12 am
Contact:

Re: Iconica - NO Legatos work

Post by Zoberflote » Mon Feb 03, 2020 12:50 am

I've experienced this same problem...but I thought maybe it's supposed to be that way. Because the special "legato" of Iconica works by taking a single note you're playing and making as smooth a transition as possible to the next note you play. If you were playing multiple notes at once, maybe it wouldn't know which note to connect to the next one? So it can only do one at a time...? This is just an idea I had. Still it's kind of lame...

Zoberflote
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue May 16, 2017 6:12 am
Contact:

Re: Iconica - NO Legatos work

Post by Zoberflote » Mon Feb 03, 2020 12:51 am

I'm curious, what did Steinberg say when you contacted them about this?

David W
Member
Posts: 275
Joined: Sun May 12, 2019 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Iconica - NO Legatos work

Post by David W » Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:18 am

Zoberflote wrote:
Mon Feb 03, 2020 12:50 am
I've experienced this same problem...but I thought maybe it's supposed to be that way. Because the special "legato" of Iconica works by taking a single note you're playing and making as smooth a transition as possible to the next note you play. If you were playing multiple notes at once, maybe it wouldn't know which note to connect to the next one? So it can only do one at a time...? This is just an idea I had. Still it's kind of lame...
I'm fairly certain it is by design as you describe it.

If you want to play chords, use the sustain articulation.

The legato articulation is a special articulation for smooth transitions between single notes. If there is more than one note in the part, how is the engine supposed to know which note transitions into which?

dr
Member
Posts: 436
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Iconica - NO Legatos work

Post by dr » Fri Feb 14, 2020 11:06 am

David W wrote:
Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:18 am
I'm fairly certain it is by design as you describe it.
this is what I assumed too

and don't expect SB support to understand what it's supposed do - I'm willing to bet they have zero experience of the Iconica.

Post Reply

Return to “VST Sound Instrument Sets and Content Sets”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest