Is it really worth it ?

All topics on the Yamaha Vintage and RND Portico Plug-ins
Post Reply
Magnetic
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 8:36 pm
Contact:

Is it really worth it ?

Post by Magnetic » Tue Jul 19, 2011 10:11 am

Im going to try the RND Portico 5033 EQ and 5043 compressor
next mounth. They are probably good. But the price is to high
if you compare with other plugins in the same divison. Im mean
for the price of 711 Euro for the bundle for the EQ and the
compressor I can buy Waves Platinum Native Bundle for 769 Euro
witch is a collection of more than 30 plugins. Or I can
buy all of the Abbey Road Plugins for $620 where they also now
have 50% off for a limited time.

http://www.abbeyroadplugins.com/

http://www.waves.com/content.aspx?id=176

So,if I going to spend that money for plugins Ive got more out of
the box if I choose Waves or Abbey Road. I also get the RTAS included.

So my question is if its really worth it ? And why no RTAS ?
Cubase 6, Halion4. Halion Sonic, Halion Synphonic Orchestra, Wavelab 7. Also using Pro Tools 9, Sibelius 6, Reason & Record, Omnisphere, Sonar X1 producer, Native komplete 7. Motu 828 MK3. Doing comersial jingels and arrangement for film and TV located in Stockholm Sweden.

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Is it really worth it ?

Post by TimoWildenhain » Tue Jul 19, 2011 3:30 pm

Hello,

I would recommend you to try the plug-ins. Surely you can buy other stuff that is cheaper. But it depends on the viewpoint. Some people are "collecting" plug-ins, having dozens of them, changing them week by week. Others rely on very few plug-ins, which do the things they're designed for, pretty well. They work with these plug-ins day by day and won't use other EQs/Comps, as they want to develop a specific sound over the time. The RND Portico plug-ins are more made for these kind of use cases.

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

More Cowbell
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Is it really worth it ?

Post by More Cowbell » Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:34 pm

Timo, I would like to use Portico plugin as my standard arsenal BUT with hardware knobs. I own the CC121. Can i dream of them working together?. Otherwise i will sell my cc121. Want to use the EQ with pro plug.

User avatar
GIRO
Junior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:24 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Is it really worth it ?

Post by GIRO » Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:16 am

TimoWildenhain wrote:Hello,

I would recommend you to try the plug-ins. Surely you can buy other stuff that is cheaper. But it depends on the viewpoint. Some people are "collecting" plug-ins, having dozens of them, changing them week by week. Others rely on very few plug-ins, which do the things they're designed for, pretty well. They work with these plug-ins day by day and won't use other EQs/Comps, as they want to develop a specific sound over the time. The RND Portico plug-ins are more made for these kind of use cases.

Thanks,
Timo

Amen to that!! I have them and I'm glad I have them!

The SSL are also up there $$ but these are VCM BABY!

I would have loved to see a Portico 50XX Channel Strip version of this.. Load it once on each insert.. oh yeah!
Salvador Peláez
http://www.durotronik.com http://www.pristinestudio.com
System: ION - AMD 6 Core Phenom II 3.21ghz 16GB Ram
DAW: Nuendo 7 - Cubase Pro 9 - WL Pro 9 - HALion 6 - HALion Sonic 3 -
HW: MR816CSX - UR28M - UR824 - CC121 -

User avatar
GIRO
Junior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 9:24 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Is it really worth it ?

Post by GIRO » Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:28 am

More Cowbell wrote:Timo, I would like to use Portico plugin as my standard arsenal BUT with hardware knobs. I own the CC121. Can i dream of them working together?. Otherwise i will sell my cc121. Want to use the EQ with pro plug.
I have the RND Portico and CC121 and the AI knob works with the plug ins...
Salvador Peláez
http://www.durotronik.com http://www.pristinestudio.com
System: ION - AMD 6 Core Phenom II 3.21ghz 16GB Ram
DAW: Nuendo 7 - Cubase Pro 9 - WL Pro 9 - HALion 6 - HALion Sonic 3 -
HW: MR816CSX - UR28M - UR824 - CC121 -

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Is it really worth it ?

Post by TimoWildenhain » Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:41 am

GIRO wrote:
Amen to that!! I have them and I'm glad I have them!

The SSL are also up there $$ but these are VCM BABY!

I would have loved to see a Portico 50XX Channel Strip version of this.. Load it once on each insert.. oh yeah!
Hi GIRO, never say never ;-)
Thanks for being interested in the RND Porticos!

Thanks,
Timo
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1079
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Is it really worth it ?

Post by neilwilkes » Fri Jul 29, 2011 9:15 am

Magnetic wrote: So my question is if its really worth it ? And why no RTAS ?
Answer is simple - yes, they really are worth it.
RTAS? now you know how we feel when we see so much RTAS/TDM only stuff for PT. :D
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

C.LYDE
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 6:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Is it really worth it ?

Post by C.LYDE » Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:43 pm

My idea of 'worth it' involves both functionality and subjective quality, something I believe we all do when assessing any equipment/software.

I downloaded the trial version and set out to compare apples with apples - in this case the stock std Cubase EQ and UAD's Cambridge.

1)Portico : no low/hi pass cut-off filters (especially weak compared to Cambridge)
2)Portico : unable to invert band-pass filters .i.e less flexible (possible on both Cambridge & Cubase Eq)
3)Portico : no slope control on high pass/low pass (compared to Cambridge)
3) Portico : graphic interaction showing effect of individual bands is really useful and powerful

The audio effect of the filters is probably what everyone would be interested in - to this end I thought a spectrum analysis would make for better discussion, than "it sounds great"...
Android 4.1.2 : MACOSX 10.6.8 : Win7 32Bit : Win8 64bit : Samsung & Intel Processors: Nvidia Graphics: SeaGate and Western Digital HDDs : Dell Touchscreen
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Those who can't... hang out in forums and talk about it.

Post Reply

Return to “Yamaha Vintage and Rupert Neve Designs Portico Plug-Ins”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest