Waves 9 Plugins blank GUI on Wavelab 6, Nuendo 5 ok (Help)

For users of legacy Steinberg Wavelab software
Post Reply
frankyl
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:54 pm
Contact:

Waves 9 Plugins blank GUI on Wavelab 6, Nuendo 5 ok (Help)

Post by frankyl » Sat Sep 13, 2014 6:25 pm

Hello,

got a problem with my "older" Studio PC.

all Waves 9 plugins GUI are empty when i use it with wavelab 6. using them on nuendo 5, everything is fine without any GUI problems.

i've heard that it might has something to do with graphic card drivers (opengl) but when it works on nuendo the problem should be on wavelab and not the graphic card, shouldn't it? already got the latest graphic card drivers installed.

ok, i could update wavelab but i won't do that before i buy a new PC, that's the reason why i want leave it as it is by now.

does someone know how i could fix that GUI problem with wavelab + waves?

using the following:
Windows 7 64-bit
Nuendo 5 32-bit
Wavelab 6 32-bit
Waves 9 (latest version) 32-bit

many thanks in advance
frank

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2228
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Waves 9 Plugins blank GUI on Wavelab 6, Nuendo 5 ok (Hel

Post by bob99 » Sun Sep 14, 2014 10:40 am

Maybe of no help, but I solved the same problem with Waves v7, Wavelab 6, Win 7 64, by replacing my ATI card with an Nvidia Gforce. There might have eventually been a workaround for the ATI, but I finally gave up and just got a different card.
Or I've seen it suggested that you try reverting to an XDDM driver if you're using a WDDM driver.
Windows 7, Windows XP

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1323
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Waves 9 Plugins blank GUI on Wavelab 6, Nuendo 5 ok (Hel

Post by Raphie » Sun Sep 14, 2014 10:45 am

use the latest driver from AMD.com for the videocard
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

almosely
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 10:16 am
Contact:

Re: Waves 9 Plugins blank GUI on Wavelab 6, Nuendo 5 ok (Hel

Post by almosely » Mon Sep 21, 2015 10:22 am

Although this thread is already old (the problem maybe not), I want to reply a solution because I stumbled upon the same problem these days. I am using WaveLab 6 and Waves 9 and got blank GUIs within WaveLab 6 but not within Foobar2000 for example. So, within WaveLab 6 you just have to use XLUTOP Chainer as a step inbetween and load your Waves VSTs within this VST-Chainer. And (maybe) you have to use XLUTOP Shell2VST (once, additionally) to make Chainer recognize the Waves VSTs. Have fun :-)

Post Reply

Return to “Older Wavelab versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest