Page 1 of 2

Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 8:41 pm
by TS-12
The CPU is at about 20%, Buffer is at 1024.
Audio Card: Presonus StudioLive16.4.2
WIn7 64bit, 8GB ram. HD 2TB, QuadCore i7-920 CPU.
no extra unneeded programs running in the background, Only Cubase and Plug-Ins (3x Kontakt 4s, Omnisphere, Stylus RMX, EWQLSO, Trillian) inside of it.

What is going on?

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 8:58 pm
by TS-12
I have replaced harddrives because i thought they are bad,
scanned for viruses, trojans etc,
HardDrives aren't fragmented

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:07 pm
by beatpete
Maybe a clock issue?

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:17 pm
by TS-12
Maybe. but I only have Presonus StudioLive and midi controller hooked up to the computer, nothing else.

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:20 pm
by el-russo
Does the crackling occur when you just play some music through a media player (with Cubase shut)?

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:24 pm
by TS-12
No, only in cubase.
and sorry I didn't mention this but it isn't constant crackling but occasional sometimes every 5 seconds few crackles or every half a second than no crackling at all for about 15 seconds than again.

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:44 pm
by Grim
Are you running 64 bit Cubase?

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:45 pm
by TS-12
Grim wrote:Are you running 64 bit Cubase?
32bit. 64bit plugins thru jbridge

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:42 am
by thermionic
Core parking? Sorry to post a Cakewalk thread but it's a DAW-wide issue;

http://forum.cakewalk.com/tm.aspx?high= ... =1#1852473

I hope this helps :ugeek:

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 3:19 am
by TS-12
hd softwares (hd tune pro etc) don't show any harddrive errors.

I've also disabled core parking.

Enabled "perfromance mode" in jbridged plugins.

But the crackling/popping still occurs.

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 3:42 am
by halljack
Check out "Crackling" at the old Cubase.net web site

http://www.cubase.net/phpbb2/viewtopic. ... c5148f0750

Hope this helps

Jack :D

Ps: Buffer size or Latency maybe the problem ;)

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 3:56 am
by TS-12
halljack wrote:Check out "Crackling" at the old Cubase.net web site

http://www.cubase.net/phpbb2/viewtopic. ... c5148f0750

Hope this helps

Jack :D

Ps: Buffer size or Latency maybe the problem ;)
I tried from 32 to 4096 buffer size, no luck,
same problem at all buffers
(except at the very low (32-64) buffers audio is stuttering sometimes, but that is normal)

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:16 am
by halljack
SOS magazine article - http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/oct09/a ... iolive.htm

From this article: Drivers & Latency

Installing the ASIO, WDM and Core Audio drivers is straightforward, and you use the Universal Control utility to adjust the sample rate and various buffer sizes of any PreSonus hardware connected to your computer. You’re also given a very basic DAW program called Capture. No matter how I set the buffer sizes, I couldn’t achieve software monitoring latency below about 24ms (in PC versions of Cubase 5 and Reaper 3, or with Logic 8 on a MacBook Pro). If you’re planning to do all your studio cue-mixing in the Studio Live itself, this may not be a problem, but if you want to use software monitoring (for tape-style automatic input/playback monitor switching, for example), or to play soft synths live, this degree of latency could feel cumbersome.

Universal Control utility

24ms :?: wow

My input Latency is 5.896 ms on a Tascam US-1641

TS-12: what does your input Latency say in CUBASE at the moment :?:

1. device
2. device setup
3. vst audio system - top right

Jack :D

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:44 am
by ns10fan
I know I'll get weird crackles and snaps if I have my wireless card enabled. Annoying, but maybe try disabling certain hardware to see if there's some unseen conflict? Best of luck!

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 5:25 am
by TS-12
here i uploaded a short mp3 file of the glitvhing/poppng sound, you can hear the popping sound at :04, :17, :20, :22. I later made the glitching parts louder so you can hear it better:
http://kiwi6.com/file/fr59jimpts

Also, I tried kontakt in standalone, no glitching, so maybe its related to cubase?

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:34 am
by Chris Beuermann
Hello,


are you running everthing with one harddrive ?

Cheers,

Chris

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 2:33 pm
by Hippo
Try turning off Multicore processing in the Kontakt vst plugin.

Hippo

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 5:05 pm
by hikarateboy
Definately sounds like classic example of clock issues. I've had exactly this issue when sample and bit rate in sounds card prefs were not exactly the same as the project prefs.

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:13 pm
by Nanowire
+1 on hikarateboy. My guess also. Clock issues.

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 6:25 am
by TS-12
i use 2 harddrives: 1) 500gb: Windows, Programs, plugins. 2)2TB: Audio, Samples, Projects.
I tried disabling multiprocessing in Kontakt, and tried disabling multiprocessing in cubase too, tried audio boost and normal.
I have internet and other unused stuff disabled. few hours ago i disabled all non-windows services besides presonus's universal control.

I tried Kontakt in standalone, no crackling. maybe it's not kontakt afterall, because I was working on a song and when I added more patches in omnisphere the crackling seemed to happen more often. but maybe it was effecting kontakt somehow.. I have also re-installed cubase.
none of this helped.

How can i check or set the clocks?
when I go into "system" directly in presonus studiolive it says "firewire", when i turn off the computer it goes into 44.1khz, in presonus software "universal control" it is set to 44.1khz, in cubase 44.1khz 16 bit.

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 8:54 am
by cubic13
Another track, maybe : how is your DPC (http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml) ?

I think it's worth a check... If there is a problem a more complete tool is process Explorer (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... s/bb896653).

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 3:37 pm
by Nanowire
If Cubase derives the clock from firewire, then your PreSonus is the master. In digital chains only one device can be the master. In this case you should look in the settings and knobs on your soundcard to see whether it is set to be the master. Now what will also be important is that any settings on the master should correspond with the project settings in Cubase. So if your master says 44.1KHz, your project should also be on 44.1KHz. Don't mind the bit depth as long as Cubase is equal or higher. We'll get into that another time.

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:02 pm
by funkman
i am having a similar problem. a project i am working on is sitting about 40% aon the asio meter,but every 10 secs or so i get clciking and the orange light flashes on asio meter
i am using saffire pro 24 buffer at 1024.
i checked another much more busy project,asio meter about 60%.but no clicking,and same settings.
anyone got any clues?

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 4:39 pm
by Conman
How low can you get that buffer? Some modern soundcards don't like to work that high. Try 256, then halve it down to a working level (128/64).
I work my lowly Emu down at these levels with no prob's. I suspect that if you get (more) trouble at these lower settings then it's time to contact your soundcard helpline to try for a solution or replacement.
Could also simply be a lead etc.

Re: Sound Crackling but CPU isn't spiking

Posted: Sat Oct 15, 2011 5:02 pm
by TS-12
cubic13 wrote:Another track, maybe : how is your DPC (http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml) ?

I think it's worth a check... If there is a problem a more complete tool is process Explorer (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... s/bb896653).

DPC latency checker showed very low green bars. and a messege "some device drivers on this machine behave bad and will probably cause drop-outs in realtime ausio and/or video." and than it basically told me to disable each device one by one untill I find the problem.

but than I clicked "reset" and can't get pdc checker to display that messege again.

now it only shows
"this machine should handle real-time audio without dorp-outs.
even though the crackling happens the dpc latency checker doesn't see it
and, I don't have much clue how to use that process explorer, I'm not that much computer literate I guess.