autosave not working?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
funkman
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:52 pm
Contact:

autosave not working?

Post by funkman » Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:09 pm

i have autosave selected in preferences.set to 5 min interval.
i had made changes to a saved piece,and after about 10 mins accidentally shut cubase down.when i restarted it the changes werent saved.
should they not have been saved when i have autosave on?
PC, Windows 10,AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Processor,3.20GHz,8GB Ram. Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 Interface,Novation Nocturn 25.

johngar
Member
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: autosave not working?

Post by johngar » Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:08 pm

You need to open the back-up file created by auto save.

If you activate the Auto Save option in the Preferences dia- log (General page), Cubase will automatically save backup copies of all open projects with unsaved changes.
These backup copies are named “<project name>-xx.bak”, where xx is an incremental number. Unsaved projects are backed up in a similar way as “UntitledX-xx.bak”, with X being the incremental number for unsaved projects. All backup files are saved in the project folder.
• Use the “Auto Save Interval” setting to specify the time intervals in which a backup copy will be created.
• Usethe“MaximumBackupFiles”optiontospecifyhow many backup files will be created with the Auto Save function.
When the maximum number of backup files is reached, the existing files will be overwritten (starting with the oldest file).
PC | Nuendo 8 | Cubase 8 | i7-4930k | Win10 | 32gb ram | Intensity Pro | Radeon HD7700 | RME9632 | Euphonix MC Control -Mix - Transport | Genelec |

MacBook Pro 2.2Ghz i7 | OS X 10.9 | MOTU 828MKII |

artifactdetroit.com

funkman
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:52 pm
Contact:

Re: autosave not working?

Post by funkman » Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:24 pm

thanks.
PC, Windows 10,AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Processor,3.20GHz,8GB Ram. Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 Interface,Novation Nocturn 25.

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1168
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: autosave not working?

Post by mr.roos » Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:12 am

Woah, I cannot find the 'auto save' box or window. Yeah pretty dumb here I guess. :oops: So where do I find this dialog box? I would love to limit my auto saved projects! Thanks.

Woah again, I did find it finally and pretty much where you said it was, although it didn't really jump out at me. Thanks! 8-)
Cubase 9.5 (9.5.1) from SX3, WaveLab Elements 9.5, iC Pro remote app, LoopMash HD, Win7 64-bit, Intel C2Q9550@2.83GHz, 8G ram, Radeon HD 6570, Gigabyte X48-DS5 MB, Mackie 1640i (FireWire), M-Audio Keystation 61es controller via an M-Audio Midi-Sport 1X1.

sultanmakende
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 1:59 pm
Contact:

Re: autosave not working?

Post by sultanmakende » Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:29 pm

On my 6.5.5 : Even though I have the backup option enabled, it only seems to randomly backup files when it feels like it.
I have backup enabled for every 5 mins with a max of 20 backup files.
But when I go and look in the project folder, I see that it only has 2 backup files, saved over an hour after the last manual save.
Yesterday, I had a crash and the main .cpr file kept crashing when I tried to re-open the project.
There were only 2 backup (.bak) files there which I opened by changing the extension to .cpr but they were both about 2 hours old, so I lost 2 hours of work!
Anyone know why this is happening?
Mac Mini -16Gb memory - OSX 10.9 cubase 6.5 - Apogee Duet.

User avatar
Prock
Senior Member
Posts: 2989
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: autosave not working?

Post by Prock » Sat Sep 08, 2018 4:32 pm

I don't believe that autosave will work during recording or playback modes (can't remember exactly if during both or only one of these modes). So if you are doing a lot of that, then yes... you could get less saves than what you had hoped for. Try setting it to save more often with less total max files saved.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: erikdsalvesen and 9 guests