Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2545
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by Arjan P » Mon May 07, 2012 10:04 pm

Subpantelis wrote:Waves needs an activated networking device as the computer's ID.
What a joke! And people here complain about the eLicencer dongle? No Waves for me, that's for sure.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0 | Cubase 10.0.50 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

CinStudios
Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:35 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by CinStudios » Tue May 08, 2012 4:03 am

This has been happening to me, but only when I open/close the GUI of the plugin. It happens in Reaper and in Cubase 6.5. (tried 32 and 64 bit and they both do it)

The weird thing is that it happens on my laptop (W7 home edition) 64 bit OS with a 32 or 64 bit Cubase/Reaper. HOWEVER, it DOESN'T happen on my studio PC (W7 Ultimate) in Cubase, but does happen in Reaper.

Let's stay on this with Waves and Steinberg and see if we can get this fixed.

CinStudios
Member
Posts: 226
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:35 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by CinStudios » Mon May 14, 2012 7:10 pm

I updated my drivers for my graphics card and chip set and... FIXED!

Try that if you're having problems with the GUI giving errors. To the OP not sure if it will help...

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1388
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by mr.roos » Mon May 14, 2012 11:19 pm

Checking back in and wanted to add that - and I just tried this to be sure - Waves is automatically downloading and installing the latest V9 version for you. Also, FWIW, I still don't have the guts to try loading the plugins key on my HD somewhere! I am still using a USB flashdrive, burned once, etc., and it is working fine.

FWIW, I am having no issues with Waves and C6.5.1 and all is working very well here.
Cubase 10 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (1903 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), M-Audio Keystation 61es controller via an M-Audio Midi-Sport 1X1.

User avatar
MoPro
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:02 pm
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by MoPro » Thu May 17, 2012 9:43 pm

CinStudios wrote:I updated my drivers for my graphics card and chip set and... FIXED!

Try that if you're having problems with the GUI giving errors. To the OP not sure if it will help...
I have the most current chipset and graphics chip drivers for my laptop! I've also tried Waves V9r2... It does not work for me with Cubase 6.x.x!! , It does however work with both 32 bit and 64 bit versions of Wavelab 7.2.

Waves V8r13 works just fine with Cubase 6.5.1, so I guess that is the last version that will operate on the HP DV9000t laptop. ( I'll bet you won't see that on the hardware minimum requirements page !) ;)

I still have not tried Cubase 6, and Waves V9 on a different computer, but since there doesn't seem to be a major flood of people having the same problems as I am, I don't really expect Waves or Steinberg to offer a solution for my situation, so I 'll stick with what works for now!

Too bad...it always sucks to fall through the cracks! :|

Al
PC Cubase Pro 9.5.30 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.20 (64bit) | HALion 5 (64bit) | Win 7 Ultimate (64bit)
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | AVID Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3

alibeethe1st
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 7:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by alibeethe1st » Mon Oct 01, 2012 8:02 pm

I have had the same problem of Waves V9.2 hanging with Cubase 6 all versions. This happens as i try to exit a project and all plugins work fine whilst in use. I tried reinstalling both Cubase and waves but still had the problem. I would like to point out that i am running two Pcs in my studio, one is a Windows XP pro 32 bit Dual Core Intel, the second is Windows 7 Home 64 bit with Cubase 6.5 64 bit, 8Gig ram. Both machines had the same problem. I am saying HAD because i noticed a comment somewhere about making sure the latest Video Driver is installed. On the XP machine i am using an Nvidia 8800GT card and on the Widows 7 64bit machine it has an onboard Intel HD Video system. I updated the Video Drivers on Bothe machines and now all is working fine. Hope this helps.

User avatar
MoPro
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:02 pm
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by MoPro » Mon Oct 01, 2012 9:22 pm

alibeethe1st wrote:On the XP machine i am using an Nvidia 8800GT card and on the Widows 7 64bit machine it has an onboard Intel HD Video system. I updated the Video Drivers on Bothe machines and now all is working fine. Hope this helps.
Yes and No! In my particular situation, there hasn't been a video driver update for the Nvidia GeForce Go 7600 since 2009...so I have the latest driver but it does not fix the problem! :(

Because this computer is a laptop I don't have a choice to upgrade the video chip...so as a result I'm stuck waiting for a driver update from Nvidia, or a solution from Waves and or Steinberg. I'm not holding my breath for either! :(

What it means for me is a computer upgrade, which I'm currently in the process of building a desktop X79 platform...then I can graduate to a new set of hurdles! :lol:

Thanks for the reply though...I still hope that a solution will be found, but don't expect it will.
Al
PC Cubase Pro 9.5.30 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.20 (64bit) | HALion 5 (64bit) | Win 7 Ultimate (64bit)
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | AVID Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3

User avatar
Jalcide
Member
Posts: 720
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by Jalcide » Tue Oct 02, 2012 1:58 am

fyi, the Waves Shell for all its plugins is kind of odd in that it uses OpenGL for all its GUI calls. So, it's very sensitive to details surrounding your graphics card: the make, model, driver version, OpenGL version, etc.

if all else fails, seek out beta drivers, even. perhaps even OpenGL specific drivers, libraries or OpenGL settings, if need be.

i was also told, by a Waves support engineer, that this is why Waves tends to have less issues on OS X, as OpenGL is fully baked into the OS at a very low-level. Basically, there are less variables regarding OpenGL on Macs.

in short, make sure everything regarding your graphics card is up-to-date when dealing with Waves.
http://soundcloud.com/jalcide

4 DAW Network:

Main: Studio One V3 (Cubase Pro 9.0.1 on ice until future update solves some issues), Win 7 64-bit, i7-4790K @ 4.6GHz, ASUS Maximus VI Gene Z87 mATX, 16GB, EVGA GTX 760, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 on a Vantect FireWire 400 PCIe (UGT-FW200), CMC Controllers (2 FDs, PD, QC, CH, AI, TP), 2 NI Kontrol F1 Controllers, Roland JD-Xi, rtpMIDI, Bome MIDI Translator Pro

Node 1 - VSTi Hosting via VEP: VEP 6 (& Sonar Platinum), Win 7, i7-4770K @ 4.0Ghz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, NI Kore 1 Controller, rtpMIDI

Node 2 - 16 Channel Stem Summing via VEP: VEP 6, Win 10, i5-4690K 3.9Ghz, Gigabyte Z97MX, 16GB, Intel HD 4600 Gfx, rtpMIDI

Node 3 - 2 Channel Mastering Chain via ADAT Optical: Reaper, Win 7, i5-4670K @ 4.1GHz, Asrock Pro 3 ATX, 16GB, Nvidia GeForce 210, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, rtpMIDI

lastguy
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by lastguy » Tue Oct 02, 2012 6:24 pm

Been having the same problem since getting waves 9 back in August

updated video driver.....fixed the problem

Thanx Jalcide

lastguy

User avatar
MoPro
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:02 pm
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by MoPro » Fri Oct 12, 2012 5:56 pm

Jalcide wrote:in short, make sure everything regarding your graphics card is up-to-date when dealing with Waves.
I thought the version of OpenGL you use is hardware, and operating system dependent! As I understand, the NVidia GeForce Go 7600 supports OpenGL ver. 2.1 and that the version of OpenGL pertinent to this video card is updated by the NVidia video driver. So as far as I can tell, I can't just upgrade my OpenGL to version 4.x and expect the video card to function properly!

According to NVidia, to use an OpenGL version 3.0 or higher… I need a GPU of at least G80, which signifies the GeForce 8 series. So again as far as I can tell, I have the latest support for this particular video card. Thanks for the heads-up though!

Waves do not even specify on their website which OpenGL version you need to properly run their plugins, so I guess that warrants a phone call to Waves tech support!

If you have more detail about OpenGL and the NVidia GeForce Go 7600, or you feel that what I've said is in error...please let me know!
Al
PC Cubase Pro 9.5.30 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.20 (64bit) | HALion 5 (64bit) | Win 7 Ultimate (64bit)
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | AVID Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3

User avatar
MoPro
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:02 pm
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by MoPro » Mon Nov 26, 2012 11:04 pm

Well...

I just built a new DAW! :o Oh my what have I done!!! :mrgreen:

Oh yea, and Waves 9 works really well on this machine! :D

Al
PC Cubase Pro 9.5.30 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.20 (64bit) | HALion 5 (64bit) | Win 7 Ultimate (64bit)
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | AVID Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1388
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by mr.roos » Mon Nov 26, 2012 11:36 pm

Ha! Glad to hear this Al. It was fun rereading this very long post. Everything is still working fine over here, BTW, and I still keep my Waves on a USB flash drive. Haha, still no guts on HD storage thing after what happened to me, although I hear it is working for most everybody. Oh well. I also read recently an interview with a Waves bigwig where they asked him if the transition to the Cloud was difficult he replied, 'No, it was really pretty easy'. :lol:
Cubase 10 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (1903 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), M-Audio Keystation 61es controller via an M-Audio Midi-Sport 1X1.

User avatar
MoPro
Member
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 6:02 pm
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by MoPro » Mon Nov 26, 2012 11:41 pm

mr.roos wrote: Oh well. I also read recently an interview with a Waves bigwig where they asked him if the transition to the Cloud was difficult he replied, 'No, it was really pretty easy'. :lol:

Well...there you go!

Marketing 101... It's always user error! :twisted:

And yea...I also keep my Waves license on a USB flash drive. Since my new system uses SSD's... I'm still a little skittish about the technology. I do realize SSD's are basically "souped-up" flash drives and have also had USB flash drives become unreadable, and non-formattable for no apparent (to me) reason. It took a little research, but the USB flash drives are repairable, but also require a format process... so you still lose all the previous data!

Right now I'm just enjoying the fact that I have so much more headroom! (lower buffer / higher sample rate)

This machine just screams, and I'm not overclocking! :D
PC Cubase Pro 9.5.30 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.20 (64bit) | HALion 5 (64bit) | Win 7 Ultimate (64bit)
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | AVID Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3

bryantx512
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 3:41 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6 and Waves 9 [ CRASHES! ] on exit!

Post by bryantx512 » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:44 pm

Glad I found this thread. I couldn't for the life of me figure out why the system associated with my Waves license was suddenly gone. I disable the Wlan card when I don't need it. Of all things to tie the license to. Not sure what I'll do. I have already recovered my license once, and I don't trust flash drives. They fail at the worst times.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 9 guests