POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Locked

Are you getting occasional "hang on exit" problems with C6?

64bit - Yes
191
34%
64bit - Never
110
20%
32bit - Yes
107
19%
32bit - Never
150
27%
 
Total votes: 558

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by orchetect » Sat Jul 16, 2011 3:11 am

I've been getting random hangs on quit, but also hangs on project unloading. Only happens sometimes, and I can't trace the problem for the life of me.

Makes me wonder... does Steinberg keep "dirty" systems to test/debug on? Systems that have been OS upgraded and used in a regular fashion with all manner of 3rd party plug-ins, so they can catch some of these mysterious unreplicatable bugs. Not just satellite beta testers, but in-house machines that aren't "sterile" testing machines.
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film/TV | Custom iPad control surface developer | website | imdb
DAW: Mac Pro 6,1 (trashcan) 3.5GHz 6-core 64GB RAM, 4TB SSD, macOS 10.14.6, Cubase 10.5.0 GM, Dorico 2.1
Converters/Monitoring: UA Apollo Duo Thunderbolt x 2, Apollo 16 Thunderbolt, Focal Trio6/Sub6
Gear: Vertigo VSM-2, Pultec EQM-1S3 pair, Manley Massive Passive, Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Manley ELOP, Manley Nu Mu, API 2500, Smart C2, Dangerous Compressor, Millennia STT-1 & HV-3C, Aurora GTQ2 x 2, Manley Core, Neumann M149 / U87ai / TLM170R pair / KM184 mt, Schoeps CMC64 stereo pair, Gefell UM70S, AT5040 & AT5045, Yamaha CP33, 5 iPads running custom DAW control surface software

Mamad
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Mamad » Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:25 pm

Yes,I'm also having the same problem when quitting C6,
Any fix for this,..very annoyable


My system:
PC wIN 7 uLTIMATE 64BIT
Processor Intel Core Duo 2.66
Ram 4gb
Graphics ATI Radeon HD 4670
M-Audio Firewire 1814 Sound Interface

Mamad
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Mamad » Sat Jul 16, 2011 12:49 pm

I am also using Sequel 2 Trial and the same hang on experience on exit.I hope this might help to fix the issue

Guest

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Guest » Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:34 pm

Not C6, but I'm getting the same symptoms on Studio 5(.5.3)

I've done some analysis which seems to suggest (in my case, at least) that it 'hangs' for 2-5 minutes writing to the default.xml - because it opens the file, writes a few bytes, closes the file, opens the file, writes a few bytes, closes the file, opens the file, writes a few bytes, closes the.... about 2million times. I'd have thought that windows' disk caching would have taken care of that, but our users' home folders are on a network share, and so don't benefit from that. (we're a secondary school)

Just out of curiosity, does anyone experience this with disk caching turned on?

jconstantine
Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by jconstantine » Tue Jul 19, 2011 9:01 pm

Hanging here too on win 7-64 Cubase 64.

The issue appears randomly 50% of the times.

Updated to 6.0.3 and hang crash on exit 100% of the times.

Core 2 Quad 6600
8 GB Ram
Win 7 64 Ultimate
Last edited by jconstantine on Fri Aug 05, 2011 3:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 10 64 ,i7 7700k 4.2 Ghz,32 RAM DDR4,Asus Prime Z270-A ,Nvidia GForce GT710,SSD 250 GB,RME UFX+,RME AIO,Apollo 8,Macbook Air i5 2017,Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, GA4,Pro Tools 12.8, UAD 2, SSL Native, Waves Gold,hardware synths & samplers.
Kronos2, Avid Artist Mix,Yamaha 01v96i,NS10,Behritone,Genelec 8050a and VXT8

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Jeff Hayat » Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:57 pm

stbirinus wrote:.... that it 'hangs' for 2-5 minutes writing to the default.xml - because it opens the file, writes a few bytes, closes the file, opens the file, writes a few bytes, closes the file, opens the file, writes a few bytes, closes the.... about 2million times.
Interesting. What exactly are you looking at to see that it opens the file, writes a few bytes, closes the file, etc?

TS-12
Junior Member
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by TS-12 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 6:14 pm

it doesn't bother me when it hangs on exit,
but it is annoying when I try to open a (Big) project and it hangs :(
Win7 64bit/i7-920/8GB RAM/ASUS P6T/e-GeForce 7200GS
-Cubase / PreSonus StudoLive 16.4.2
Korg Tr-rack/ Fantom G6

Mamad
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Mamad » Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:12 pm

To virtz,I have tried loading the demo Live Forever but C6 still freeze on exit,have to end process with task manager

Perah
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Perah » Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:28 pm

Crash on exit with click the X to close the window. File -> quit works...

User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by AlakaLazlo » Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:51 pm

Since 6.03, hangs on exit 100% of the time.
Moog IIP, One, and MiniMoog, Dot.Com 110, Cubase 10.0.5, Ableton Live 9.6/64, W10 Pro/64, i75820/GAX99SLI/16Gigs HyperX 2133, 3xSSD, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, and SL41MkII, Slate Raven MTI2, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet10, Omnisphere 2.5, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax (heavily customized) JTV69S (the Hexstainocaster) and 700... Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...

Keith99
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Keith99 » Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:52 pm

Yep 100% of the time for me as well (hangs and needs killing)

Guest

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Guest » Thu Aug 04, 2011 11:27 pm

8 pages of posts

12,500 views

And still no Steiny comment? :shock:

User avatar
Johnny B Richman
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Johnny B Richman » Fri Aug 05, 2011 12:06 am

Yeah, come on Steiny!
Win7 x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K 3,4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3, RME Fireface 400, MIDISport 4x4, MSI GeForce GTX 1060 + 2x HP ZR2440w displays
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, WaveLab 9.5.50, HALion 6

jconstantine
Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by jconstantine » Fri Aug 05, 2011 3:11 am

Don't know why,but changing to "Administrator" and compatibility with "Vista" fixed my "crash on exit" problem which was 100% of the times since 6.0.3 update. :D


Win 7 Ultimate 64
Core 2 Quad 6600
8 GB Ram
Windows 10 64 ,i7 7700k 4.2 Ghz,32 RAM DDR4,Asus Prime Z270-A ,Nvidia GForce GT710,SSD 250 GB,RME UFX+,RME AIO,Apollo 8,Macbook Air i5 2017,Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, GA4,Pro Tools 12.8, UAD 2, SSL Native, Waves Gold,hardware synths & samplers.
Kronos2, Avid Artist Mix,Yamaha 01v96i,NS10,Behritone,Genelec 8050a and VXT8

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Jeff Hayat » Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:11 am

changing to "Administrator"

Change what to admin?

jconstantine
Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by jconstantine » Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:05 am

Change what to admin?
I meant the "Privilege Level" (Run this program like administrator) and "Compatibility Mode" (Run this program in compatibility mode for..) on the Cubase.exe Properties.

Win 7 Ultimate 64
Windows 10 64 ,i7 7700k 4.2 Ghz,32 RAM DDR4,Asus Prime Z270-A ,Nvidia GForce GT710,SSD 250 GB,RME UFX+,RME AIO,Apollo 8,Macbook Air i5 2017,Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, GA4,Pro Tools 12.8, UAD 2, SSL Native, Waves Gold,hardware synths & samplers.
Kronos2, Avid Artist Mix,Yamaha 01v96i,NS10,Behritone,Genelec 8050a and VXT8

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Jeff Hayat » Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:51 am

Ok, just set up my shortcut to have C5 run as admin.

It doesn't happen all the time here, so I am going to have to wait a while to see if this works. Will report back.

Thanks for the tip!

Slooby
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2011 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Slooby » Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:38 am

Wow. Just changing the compatibility to Vista on mine seems to resolve all the crash on exit EVERY time since I updated to C6. Didn't have to set the 'run as administrator'.

Thank you so much. I never thought I'd ever touch anything 'Vista' but it does seem to have fixed the crashes, even by clickin on the red X with the project file still open, and can even save the project when closing cubase.

Windows 7 Pro x64 i7 12GB on a 2 yr old home built machine. Now if I can figure out how to remove the tons of crash logs and residue it was leaving behind...
Win 7Pro x64 i7 6GB own build | Cubase 6.03 | NI & Kontakt 7 equipped | 49SLMkII & AutoMap | Presonus Hardware Rack | CX5 Monitors | EV speaks Mackie & Crown Live gear

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Jeff Hayat » Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:20 pm

Interesting. Maybe I will set mine to Vista comp. What did you guys use?

Vista
Vista SP1
Vista SP2

?

Cheers.

Mamad
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 10:40 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Mamad » Sat Aug 06, 2011 6:28 pm

For me I can kill the stuck process in task manager and can reboot,

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2448
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by MrSoundman » Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:21 am

This happens sporadically with me (Win7x64) but as it's a simple matter of ignoring the warning as I've gotten out of Cubase and usually am just about to shut down the DAW anyhow, it's in the category "cosmetic" as far as I'm concerned.

Nevertheless, expensive software simply shouldn't do this.

My current theory is that it happens when MIDI ports are being uninitialised ... this could be due to plugins (because plugins have virtual MIDI ports) or audio/MIDI hardware drivers. Someone also suggested that this does not happen if you run Cubase with administrative privileges on Windows (which is OK if your DAW is not on the internet).
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.12 • WaveLab 10.0.20 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Bernard Focquet
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Bernard Focquet » Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:27 am

MrSoundman wrote:My current theory is that it happens when MIDI ports are being uninitialised ... this could be due to plugins (because plugins have virtual MIDI ports) or audio/MIDI hardware drivers. Someone also suggested that this does not happen if you run Cubase with administrative privileges on Windows (which is OK if your DAW is not on the internet).
I agree it has something to do with the installed MIDI Hardware (or drivers) but not specifically to plugins.
In my case I also have this issue even if I run the system with admin privileges.

Cheers,
Bernard
Nuendo 10.x, Cubase Pro 10.x, Wavelab Pro 9.x
PCs Win7/Win10 x64, Sony DMX-R100, RME Digiface, TC Powercore, MCU Pro

Jeff Hayat
Senior Member
Posts: 1183
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:46 am
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Jeff Hayat » Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:46 pm

This has nothing to do with MIDI drivers and hw.

So far so good - two days, and after running in Admin mode, many shutdowns and no hangs. Wonder if that's the answer....

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Conman » Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:53 pm

Many of you with computers that are around two years old may find improvements if they defrag after every update or installation of a new program and may also need to have a spring clean of the registries.
Won't work for everyone so don't bite my head off like some have recently when I offered advice on a similar problem (but I have put on my earmuffs). They are things I also forget to do myself at times and when strange gremlins strike. :oops:
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
Johnny B Richman
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: POLL: Is C6 hanging on exit for you?

Post by Johnny B Richman » Sun Aug 07, 2011 9:15 pm

...don't forget NOT to defrag the drive in case it is SSD :ugeek:
Win7 x64 SP1, Intel Core i7-2600K 3,4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD4-B3, RME Fireface 400, MIDISport 4x4, MSI GeForce GTX 1060 + 2x HP ZR2440w displays
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, WaveLab 9.5.50, HALion 6

Locked

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests