Surface Control

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 499
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by theRoyal1 » Tue Jun 18, 2013 1:13 pm

samwax wrote:i m still debating the Zero or the steinberg Modular ones... only they look plasticky feeble, How is the Zero built .. Ruggered??? n desk top space is also some thing i have to seriously consider.. well thanks sam[/color]
I really like my CMC's truth is, they're really responsive, especially the touch pads... and work as advertised! (For me at least)
Rugged? Yes.. The Nov25SLmkII Is built solid, the sliders, Joystick, keys, aftertouch feel, both style of knobs and the buttons all feel geat.

I have it on my desk and has a small enough size for 25.
I wish it was 37 keys, they discontinued that 1 and they removed the extra LCD in the mkII.

The Pads are nice but and they can be set to different sensitivity levels... but that touchpad...ugh, gotta figure something out for it...lol

Automap has been good so far. A few minor things but if all else fails you have the option to build a template.
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO=12TB + 2xWD4001=8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.5.12b123
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

bigboi
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:12 am
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by bigboi » Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:43 am

Grab a nektar panorama. I love mine. Www.nektartech.com

samwax
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by samwax » Wed Jun 19, 2013 3:54 am

theRoyal1 wrote:
samwax wrote:i m still debating the Zero or the steinberg Modular ones... only they look plasticky feeble, How is the Zero built .. Ruggered??? n desk top space is also some thing i have to seriously consider.. well thanks sam[/color]
I really like my CMC's truth is, they're really responsive, especially the touch pads... and work as advertised! (For me at least)
Rugged? Yes.. The Nov25SLmkII Is built solid, the sliders, Joystick, keys, aftertouch feel, both style of knobs and the buttons all feel geat.

I have it on my desk and has a small enough size for 25.
I wish it was 37 keys, they discontinued that 1 and they removed the extra LCD in the mkII.

The Pads are nice but and they can be set to different sensitivity levels... but that touchpad...ugh, gotta figure something out for it...lol

Automap has been good so far. A few minor things but if all else fails you have the option to build a template.
Very Usefull Information Thanks a lot sam
sam de crasto # Braying Donkey Studious ,Edirol UA 101 , MAudio Delta 66/ Midisport 8X8 Trigger Finger , Roland UM - 3G Boss BR 1600 CD , DR 770, Yamaha DTxpress, Tascam Us 428 , KRK V 4 , Tascam 246, Evolution MK 361C , Roland PC 200 MK II , UltrDyne Pro 9024, Axon AX 50 , Ztar Z6S , Digitech Studio Vocalist , Beringer Power play , Roland EQ 231 , Roland Protues modules , Guitar synths , RMC X 3 interfaces , Makie 24 /8 Buss... Audiophile 24/96 , C 6.5 Halionsonic , Halion 4 , lots of old samplers Roland s760 my last , Bitstream X3 , n more ..

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 499
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by theRoyal1 » Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:09 am

bigboi wrote:Grab a nektar panorama. I love mine. http://Www.nektartech.com
This was my initial choice when I was shopping... shoot, I may still get it lol
The one thing that swayed me was the piano finish and no 25 or 37 key option...

They do have a keyless version which looks really nice but I had to have at least 25 keys in front of me at all times... :geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO=12TB + 2xWD4001=8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.5.12b123
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: Surface Control

Post by G-string » Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:14 am

I love my cmc Qc and novation sl 61 mk2 ,automap is fun
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

samwax
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by samwax » Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:39 am

G-string wrote:I love my cmc Qc and novation sl 61 mk2 ,automap is fun
Yap , tired of learning curves ...... sm
sam de crasto # Braying Donkey Studious ,Edirol UA 101 , MAudio Delta 66/ Midisport 8X8 Trigger Finger , Roland UM - 3G Boss BR 1600 CD , DR 770, Yamaha DTxpress, Tascam Us 428 , KRK V 4 , Tascam 246, Evolution MK 361C , Roland PC 200 MK II , UltrDyne Pro 9024, Axon AX 50 , Ztar Z6S , Digitech Studio Vocalist , Beringer Power play , Roland EQ 231 , Roland Protues modules , Guitar synths , RMC X 3 interfaces , Makie 24 /8 Buss... Audiophile 24/96 , C 6.5 Halionsonic , Halion 4 , lots of old samplers Roland s760 my last , Bitstream X3 , n more ..

Graham_Simmonds
Junior Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:54 am
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by Graham_Simmonds » Wed Jun 19, 2013 7:46 pm

I have a Qcon Pro + an Extension bought from Thomann http://www.thomann.de/gb/icon_qcon_pro.htm who were efficient.

It does everything a Mackie Pro does but for half the price.
Homebuilt I7 3rd Gen 32Gb RAM 3 x SSD 2 x 2Tb HD Win 7 Pro

samwax
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by samwax » Fri Jun 21, 2013 7:55 am

Graham_Simmonds wrote:I have a Qcon Pro + an Extension bought from Thomann http://www.thomann.de/gb/icon_qcon_pro.htm who were efficient.

It does everything a Mackie Pro does but for half the price.
Hi does it run straight out a Box , or have any auto map kind a software?? thnks sm
sam de crasto # Braying Donkey Studious ,Edirol UA 101 , MAudio Delta 66/ Midisport 8X8 Trigger Finger , Roland UM - 3G Boss BR 1600 CD , DR 770, Yamaha DTxpress, Tascam Us 428 , KRK V 4 , Tascam 246, Evolution MK 361C , Roland PC 200 MK II , UltrDyne Pro 9024, Axon AX 50 , Ztar Z6S , Digitech Studio Vocalist , Beringer Power play , Roland EQ 231 , Roland Protues modules , Guitar synths , RMC X 3 interfaces , Makie 24 /8 Buss... Audiophile 24/96 , C 6.5 Halionsonic , Halion 4 , lots of old samplers Roland s760 my last , Bitstream X3 , n more ..

samwax
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by samwax » Sat Jul 06, 2013 8:37 am

theRoyal1 wrote:Quick update, I have not been able to map any shuttle functions. Well, I have but unfortunately aorn, mapping the shuttle via KB SC does not allow one to assign the type of movement if it's based on a KB SC because it removes the choice of the type of command.... which kinda sucks.
Still looking for a way around it.

OAN, The touchpad is absolutely horrendous! I thought it was just this one but after doing some research it is a known issue that will not be resolved.

I don't use the TP but did plan on using it for mapping other functions to it and while for that purpose it may be serviceable, if you plan on using it as an X/Y ala the KOSSpad, forget it...The amount of pressure you have to use makes it almost unusable in that regard...

Still giving it a shot and will most likely keep it because I got it for a great price but, if anything else comes up short that hinders the creative process, i'll change my mind and House of Pain it.... Pack it up, Pack it in! lol
HI Royal 1 , is it possible to control the Transport bar with the cross fader on your Novatation ??? could u pls try ? if so How ??
lastly any ideas any one how does the zoom R8 work as a control surface for C 6.5 ???
thanks sam
sam de crasto # Braying Donkey Studious ,Edirol UA 101 , MAudio Delta 66/ Midisport 8X8 Trigger Finger , Roland UM - 3G Boss BR 1600 CD , DR 770, Yamaha DTxpress, Tascam Us 428 , KRK V 4 , Tascam 246, Evolution MK 361C , Roland PC 200 MK II , UltrDyne Pro 9024, Axon AX 50 , Ztar Z6S , Digitech Studio Vocalist , Beringer Power play , Roland EQ 231 , Roland Protues modules , Guitar synths , RMC X 3 interfaces , Makie 24 /8 Buss... Audiophile 24/96 , C 6.5 Halionsonic , Halion 4 , lots of old samplers Roland s760 my last , Bitstream X3 , n more ..

samwax
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by samwax » Tue Jul 09, 2013 11:04 am

any one using the zoom R8 as a control surface ??? any feed back on that ? thanks sm
sam de crasto # Braying Donkey Studious ,Edirol UA 101 , MAudio Delta 66/ Midisport 8X8 Trigger Finger , Roland UM - 3G Boss BR 1600 CD , DR 770, Yamaha DTxpress, Tascam Us 428 , KRK V 4 , Tascam 246, Evolution MK 361C , Roland PC 200 MK II , UltrDyne Pro 9024, Axon AX 50 , Ztar Z6S , Digitech Studio Vocalist , Beringer Power play , Roland EQ 231 , Roland Protues modules , Guitar synths , RMC X 3 interfaces , Makie 24 /8 Buss... Audiophile 24/96 , C 6.5 Halionsonic , Halion 4 , lots of old samplers Roland s760 my last , Bitstream X3 , n more ..

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 499
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by theRoyal1 » Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:55 pm

samwax wrote: HI Royal 1 , is it possible to control the Transport bar with the cross fader on your Novatation ??? could u pls try ? if so How ??
lastly any ideas any one how does the zoom R8 work as a control surface for C 6.5 ???
thanks sam
Samwax, I don't have a CF on mine as that is only on the "Zero".. :geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO=12TB + 2xWD4001=8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.5.12b123
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

samwax
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by samwax » Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:38 am

theRoyal1 wrote:
samwax wrote: HI Royal 1 , is it possible to control the Transport bar with the cross fader on your Novatation ??? could u pls try ? if so How ??
lastly any ideas any one how does the zoom R8 work as a control surface for C 6.5 ???
thanks sam
Samwax, I don't have a CF on mine as that is only on the "Zero".. :geek:
well how do you navigate the transport cursor manually then ?? i used to do it on my US 428 round toggle ???
sorry to drag this on .. sam
sam de crasto # Braying Donkey Studious ,Edirol UA 101 , MAudio Delta 66/ Midisport 8X8 Trigger Finger , Roland UM - 3G Boss BR 1600 CD , DR 770, Yamaha DTxpress, Tascam Us 428 , KRK V 4 , Tascam 246, Evolution MK 361C , Roland PC 200 MK II , UltrDyne Pro 9024, Axon AX 50 , Ztar Z6S , Digitech Studio Vocalist , Beringer Power play , Roland EQ 231 , Roland Protues modules , Guitar synths , RMC X 3 interfaces , Makie 24 /8 Buss... Audiophile 24/96 , C 6.5 Halionsonic , Halion 4 , lots of old samplers Roland s760 my last , Bitstream X3 , n more ..

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 499
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by theRoyal1 » Wed Jul 10, 2013 7:55 am

samwax wrote:
theRoyal1 wrote:
samwax wrote: HI Royal 1 , is it possible to control the Transport bar with the cross fader on your Novatation ??? could u pls try ? if so How ??
lastly any ideas any one how does the zoom R8 work as a control surface for C 6.5 ???
thanks sam
Samwax, I don't have a CF on mine as that is only on the "Zero".. :geek:
well how do you navigate the transport cursor manually then ?? i used to do it on my US 428 round toggle ???
sorry to drag this on .. sam
I use my CMC Transport Controller

:geek:
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO=12TB + 2xWD4001=8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.5.12b123
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

Focusrite_Novation
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by Focusrite_Novation » Thu Jul 11, 2013 5:26 pm

HughH wrote: Are you able to control the built in channel strip processors?
Like saturation, tube compressor, etc?
Or any of Cubase's native plugs like the plugin tube compressor version?

With 64bit Cubase 7.04 I am unable to map/control any of these with AutoMap/Nocturn. Only levels, nutes, etc on the mixer.

3rd party plugs work fine.

Hugh
Hi Hugh,

Thanks for your post.

Is your case solved in the meantime?

Please let me know, if you need any further assistance.

With best regards,

Marcel // Focusrite Novation Support

samwax
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by samwax » Fri Jul 12, 2013 6:23 am

Focusrite_Novation wrote:
HughH wrote: Are you able to control the built in channel strip processors?
Like saturation, tube compressor, etc?
Or any of Cubase's native plugs like the plugin tube compressor version?

With 64bit Cubase 7.04 I am unable to map/control any of these with AutoMap/Nocturn. Only levels, nutes, etc on the mixer.

3rd party plugs work fine.

Hugh
Hi Hugh,

Thanks for your post.

Is your case solved in the meantime?

Please let me know, if you need any further assistance.

With best regards,

Marcel // Focusrite Novation Support
Is your case solved in the meantime?
Is it solved ?? , i just ordered the novatation Zero SL MK II....
sam de crasto # Braying Donkey Studious ,Edirol UA 101 , MAudio Delta 66/ Midisport 8X8 Trigger Finger , Roland UM - 3G Boss BR 1600 CD , DR 770, Yamaha DTxpress, Tascam Us 428 , KRK V 4 , Tascam 246, Evolution MK 361C , Roland PC 200 MK II , UltrDyne Pro 9024, Axon AX 50 , Ztar Z6S , Digitech Studio Vocalist , Beringer Power play , Roland EQ 231 , Roland Protues modules , Guitar synths , RMC X 3 interfaces , Makie 24 /8 Buss... Audiophile 24/96 , C 6.5 Halionsonic , Halion 4 , lots of old samplers Roland s760 my last , Bitstream X3 , n more ..

indiescore
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by indiescore » Sat Jul 13, 2013 6:40 pm

If your also looking for a performance/music composition controller, the akai max 49 is excellent. It has a good midi arp, midi note sequncer, Mpc pads, no knobs though, top notch key response. I just wish they would release an 88 key version......
Windows 10 w latest update
Cubase 10 pro w latest update
INTEL CORE I7-4790K 4.0 GHZ + 10 % over clock , water cooled.
32GB DDR3 2133 MHZ
GIGABYTE Z97X-GAMING 7 Motherboard
Project drive M.2. Form factor , SSD
2x internal SSD, 2x external SSD USB 3

samwax
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by samwax » Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:04 am

indiescore wrote:If your also looking for a performance/music composition controller, the akai max 49 is excellent. It has a good midi arp, midi note sequncer, Mpc pads, no knobs though, top notch key response. I just wish they would release an 88 key version......
Hi already Purchased the novatation Zero SL MK II.... and the zoom R8 which i need 4 quick ideads any way , which will also b my basic DAW controller as well... , waiting for the delivery , i think auto map will give me more time 2 song writing than , configurations , i have the Bitstream X 3 , slowly unfolding 1 by 1 feature , its excellent , in advanced modes , but steep learning curve , or i m the donkey... should strat reading the manuels more deeply ...... pls any ony one shed some more light on using the novatation appreciate it ... mt trigger finget refuses to work in win 7 x 64 bit , thought it is there in the devices , but a midi cable added , @least gets the pads to work .... so life is a lemon .... good day n thanks 4 all the help sam
sam de crasto # Braying Donkey Studious ,Edirol UA 101 , MAudio Delta 66/ Midisport 8X8 Trigger Finger , Roland UM - 3G Boss BR 1600 CD , DR 770, Yamaha DTxpress, Tascam Us 428 , KRK V 4 , Tascam 246, Evolution MK 361C , Roland PC 200 MK II , UltrDyne Pro 9024, Axon AX 50 , Ztar Z6S , Digitech Studio Vocalist , Beringer Power play , Roland EQ 231 , Roland Protues modules , Guitar synths , RMC X 3 interfaces , Makie 24 /8 Buss... Audiophile 24/96 , C 6.5 Halionsonic , Halion 4 , lots of old samplers Roland s760 my last , Bitstream X3 , n more ..

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 594
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by HughH » Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:52 pm

samwax wrote:
Focusrite_Novation wrote:
HughH wrote: Are you able to control the built in channel strip processors?
Like saturation, tube compressor, etc?
Or any of Cubase's native plugs like the plugin tube compressor version?

With 64bit Cubase 7.04 I am unable to map/control any of these with AutoMap/Nocturn. Only levels, nutes, etc on the mixer.

3rd party plugs work fine.

Hugh
Hi Hugh,

Thanks for your post.

Is your case solved in the meantime?

Please let me know, if you need any further assistance.

With best regards,

Marcel // Focusrite Novation Support
Is your case solved in the meantime?
Is it solved ?? , i just ordered the novatation Zero SL MK II....
No. Never got it working.

If you review Novation tech support case #202936 with Chris Ready you will see that after I updated to Cubase 7.05 Auto Map recognized the Cubase plugin set.

However, I was still unable to control anything within Cubase - Channel Strip, Steinberg Plugins, Channel EQ, etc - except faders (which I did not need having 24 MCU faders).

AutpMap would come up with multiple mappings for the same functions - none of which did anything in Cubase REGARDLESS of Focus (see attachments).
Automap User.PNG
(43.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Automap FX.PNG
(48.24 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I can still control third party plugs (Waves, NI, IK Multimedia, etc) and have relegated the Nocturn to that function only for now as I am seriously busy with a show thru about mid August.

I may try again later if there are any AutoMap Updates or if a solution is suggested.

Keep me up to date.

Thanks

Edit: I should add - in support of Novation - that they DID answer my support request AND followed up here on the Forum - though no solution.
AND that there ARE people who have these functions working (like FilterFreak here) but others, like myself and anilnc, who do not.
Nuendo 10, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home, Dual Monitors RME Digiface PCIe
Dell XPS 15 7590 Laptop i9 (10th Gen) 32 Gig Win 10 MOTU 8Pre-ES
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
UR22

samwax
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by samwax » Sun Jul 14, 2013 5:25 pm

HI , Edit: I should add - in support of Novation - that they DID answer my support request AND followed up here on the Forum - though no solution.
AND that there ARE people who have these functions working (like FilterFreak here) but others, like myself and anilnc, who do not.
so its not exactly a Novatation issue then ... well i m still on C 6.5 ... ill follow up too in case it doesnt work, once i receive my unit .. will keep u posted .. thanks sm
sam de crasto # Braying Donkey Studious ,Edirol UA 101 , MAudio Delta 66/ Midisport 8X8 Trigger Finger , Roland UM - 3G Boss BR 1600 CD , DR 770, Yamaha DTxpress, Tascam Us 428 , KRK V 4 , Tascam 246, Evolution MK 361C , Roland PC 200 MK II , UltrDyne Pro 9024, Axon AX 50 , Ztar Z6S , Digitech Studio Vocalist , Beringer Power play , Roland EQ 231 , Roland Protues modules , Guitar synths , RMC X 3 interfaces , Makie 24 /8 Buss... Audiophile 24/96 , C 6.5 Halionsonic , Halion 4 , lots of old samplers Roland s760 my last , Bitstream X3 , n more ..

Focusrite_Novation
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by Focusrite_Novation » Wed Jul 17, 2013 5:44 pm

HughH wrote:No. Never got it working.

If you review Novation tech support case #202936 with Chris Ready you will see that after I updated to Cubase 7.05 Auto Map recognized the Cubase plugin set.

However, I was still unable to control anything within Cubase - Channel Strip, Steinberg Plugins, Channel EQ, etc - except faders (which I did not need having 24 MCU faders).

AutpMap would come up with multiple mappings for the same functions - none of which did anything in Cubase REGARDLESS of Focus (see attachments).
Automap User.PNG
Automap FX.PNG
I can still control third party plugs (Waves, NI, IK Multimedia, etc) and have relegated the Nocturn to that function only for now as I am seriously busy with a show thru about mid August.

I may try again later if there are any AutoMap Updates or if a solution is suggested.

Keep me up to date.

Thanks

Edit: I should add - in support of Novation - that they DID answer my support request AND followed up here on the Forum - though no solution.
AND that there ARE people who have these functions working (like FilterFreak here) but others, like myself and anilnc, who do not.
Hi Hugh,

Thanks for your reply.

Please reply back to the case at a time that's convenient for you so that we can look further into your issue.

Let me know how you get on.

With best regards,

Marcel // Focusrite Novation Support

samwax
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by samwax » Thu Jul 18, 2013 6:19 am

Hi Hugh,

Thanks for your reply.

Please reply back to the case at a time that's convenient for you so that we can look further into your issue.

Let me know how you get on.

With best regards,

Marcel // Focusrite Novation Support

Gr8 company @least the support tries n responds , unlike many others.... sm
sam de crasto # Braying Donkey Studious ,Edirol UA 101 , MAudio Delta 66/ Midisport 8X8 Trigger Finger , Roland UM - 3G Boss BR 1600 CD , DR 770, Yamaha DTxpress, Tascam Us 428 , KRK V 4 , Tascam 246, Evolution MK 361C , Roland PC 200 MK II , UltrDyne Pro 9024, Axon AX 50 , Ztar Z6S , Digitech Studio Vocalist , Beringer Power play , Roland EQ 231 , Roland Protues modules , Guitar synths , RMC X 3 interfaces , Makie 24 /8 Buss... Audiophile 24/96 , C 6.5 Halionsonic , Halion 4 , lots of old samplers Roland s760 my last , Bitstream X3 , n more ..

samwax
Member
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by samwax » Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:17 pm

HI finally received the the Novatation Zero SL MK II , loads drivers , auto map 4.7 etc , set it up in device manager , it only shows Novatation Midi In , no SL MK II as its supposed to show , with c 6.5 , the zero hardware screen says auto map in of line mode , nothings i press works , read some googles , it has issues in win 7 x 64 , any one has this experience?? or solutions thanks sm
sam de crasto # Braying Donkey Studious ,Edirol UA 101 , MAudio Delta 66/ Midisport 8X8 Trigger Finger , Roland UM - 3G Boss BR 1600 CD , DR 770, Yamaha DTxpress, Tascam Us 428 , KRK V 4 , Tascam 246, Evolution MK 361C , Roland PC 200 MK II , UltrDyne Pro 9024, Axon AX 50 , Ztar Z6S , Digitech Studio Vocalist , Beringer Power play , Roland EQ 231 , Roland Protues modules , Guitar synths , RMC X 3 interfaces , Makie 24 /8 Buss... Audiophile 24/96 , C 6.5 Halionsonic , Halion 4 , lots of old samplers Roland s760 my last , Bitstream X3 , n more ..

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: Surface Control

Post by G-string » Wed Jul 24, 2013 7:21 pm

samwax wrote:HI finally received the the Novatation Zero SL MK II , loads drivers , auto map 4.7 etc , set it up in device manager , it only shows Novatation Midi In , no SL MK II as its supposed to show , with c 6.5 , the zero hardware screen says auto map in of line mode , nothings i press works , read some googles , it has issues in win 7 x 64 , any one has this experience?? or solutions thanks sm
you need to follow all the steps for setting up automap with Cubase in the automap server , it explains it to you step by step ;)
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 594
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Surface Control

Post by HughH » Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:00 pm

You do have to make sure that the .dll file - maybe called zeroslmkii.dll (or AutoMap.dll? . . can't remember) - is in the "components" folder in the Cubase 7 folder.
Then set it up in the devices menu.
After that my Nocturn still fails to initialize sometimes on boot - you just need to unplug it and plug it back in. AutoMap will recognize it then.
samwax wrote:HI finally received the the Novatation Zero SL MK II , loads drivers , auto map 4.7 etc , set it up in device manager , it only shows Novatation Midi In , no SL MK II as its supposed to show , with c 6.5 , the zero hardware screen says auto map in of line mode , nothings i press works , read some googles , it has issues in win 7 x 64 , any one has this experience?? or solutions thanks sm
Nuendo 10, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home, Dual Monitors RME Digiface PCIe
Dell XPS 15 7590 Laptop i9 (10th Gen) 32 Gig Win 10 MOTU 8Pre-ES
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
UR22

G-string
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 8:04 am
Location: Brighton UK

Re: Surface Control

Post by G-string » Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:05 pm

and that info about setup up the devices is not in the automap server setup for c7 ???
I7 3770k - win7 64 bit - C7.5.20 - WL8e - Halion 5 - Padshop pro - Cmc - Midex 8 - Uad - Rme FF/ADi8pro - Automap 4.7.3 b

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests