MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 766
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by Home Studio 87 » Fri Dec 13, 2013 6:43 pm

+1 on the new function explained !
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 9.5 x64 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by AlakaLazlo » Fri Dec 13, 2013 6:53 pm

+1 ^ That would be very helpful and should be very easy for them to generate in PDF format.
Moog IIP, One, and MiniMoog, Dot.Com 110, Cubase 10.0.5, Ableton Live 9.6/64, W10 Pro/64, i75820/GAX99SLI/16Gigs HyperX 2133, 3xSSD, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, and SL41MkII, Slate Raven MTI2, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet10, Omnisphere 2.5, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax (heavily customized) JTV69S (the Hexstainocaster) and 700... Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1042
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by beatpete » Fri Dec 13, 2013 7:17 pm

AlakaLazlo wrote:+1 ^ That would be very helpful and should be very easy for them to generate in PDF format.
Provided they have it written down somewhere...
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 9.5.10 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 7 64bit, I5 3450,16 gb ram, VEPro.

User avatar
The Parlanchin
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:48 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by The Parlanchin » Fri Dec 13, 2013 8:01 pm

I reiterate: a table of features and key commands in a rough format (.txt, excel...) would suffice.

Parlanchin
Cubase 8 Pro (64bit), Halion 5, Halion Symphonic, Grand SE, Steinberg CI2+, Fostex VF160, Mackie Control, M-Audio Midisport2x2, Technics SX-PX336, Signex ARC32, Fostex PM1s, Windows 7 64bit, 2.2GHz Dual Intel, 4GB RAM

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1179
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by greggybud » Sat Dec 14, 2013 6:15 pm

If anyone wishes to go back to the old behavior (pre 7.5) it's very easy to do so with just a few mouse clicks.

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/cubase-7 ... -qcon.html

Look at post #2.
This thread is for the Qcon, but the OP here HughH, has confirmed the Mackie goes back to the old state as well.
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by HughH » Sat Dec 14, 2013 6:27 pm

A quick note . .

For those using an actual MCU Pro or XT Pro version 4.0 or higher there is a firmware update available to v 4.03.

http://www.mackie.com/products/mcupro/

Ran across it by accident searching for something else.

It's supposed to improve/smooth fader operation and a couple other things.
Edit: Wow! Updated all 3 of my units and it DEFINITLY smooths fader operation. Like you oiled them or something . . .

Don't you love it when a company continues to improve a product that already ROCKS?
RME comes to mind, also . . . .

And, OH! Wait!
STEINBERG!

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1042
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by beatpete » Sat Dec 14, 2013 6:37 pm

greggybud wrote:If anyone wishes to go back to the old behavior (pre 7.5) it's very easy to do so with just a few mouse clicks.

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/cubase-7 ... -qcon.html

Look at post #2.
This thread is for the Qcon, but the OP here HughH, has confirmed the Mackie goes back to the old state as well.
THANK YOU!!! This worked to get my banks back in my Lemur template!
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 9.5.10 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 7 64bit, I5 3450,16 gb ram, VEPro.

d-_-b
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by d-_-b » Wed Dec 18, 2013 10:16 pm

so is it safe to say that the MCU pro's are working well with C7.5 Hugh ?
Win 7-64 bit | Rme| Cubase Latest version 64 bit | CMC's | Halion 5

User avatar
Backbeat
Senior Member
Posts: 1086
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by Backbeat » Thu Dec 19, 2013 12:36 pm

d-_-b wrote:so is it safe to say that the MCU pro's are working well with C7.5 Hugh ?
Yes of course!
DAW 1: Win 7 Ult.64 , i7 5820K 32GB Ram, MB Gigabyte X99 UD3 Bios F6 ,SSD 850 EVO 500GB ,2x 3TB HDD, RME UFX+Remote, Gap Pre 73 Mk2, M-Audio DSM 3, Neumann U87Ai , T.Bone SC450 , Mackie Control Pro, BCR2000 , Kore Controller , FCB1010 , MPK 88 , NI Maschine/KK S61 , Adobe Audition 3 , NI Komplete 11U , jBridge etc.

DAW 2: Win 10 Pro 64, i7 2600 , 16GB Ram ,SSD 840EVO 256GB, 2x 2TB HDD , Mackie Control Pro, BCR 2000, FCB 1010 , M-Audio DSM 3 , NS10M , Nubert AW400 Sub ,Maschine Mk1/KK S61 , RME Babyface, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 , SPL Goldmike , BPM CR73 , AKG Perception 400

MySound

BCR2000 as Cubase Controller

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by HughH » Thu Dec 19, 2013 4:15 pm

Backbeat wrote:
d-_-b wrote:so is it safe to say that the MCU pro's are working well with C7.5 Hugh ?
Yes of course!

More than just an affirming "yes".

I'm loving it. Turning "monitor" on and off for channels. Tweaking things in the channels strip - which I mentioned somewhere else I'm using a lot more now that it's so easy . . it was soo tiny before for the mouse.
Also using quick controls more - for VSTis and other - Shift/Master gets me there in a flash.
It goes on . .

Damn . . . I'm sounding like Freddie H here . . . without the emoticons . .

Love ya, Freddie.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

d-_-b
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 6:20 pm

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by d-_-b » Thu Dec 19, 2013 4:21 pm

HughH wrote:
Backbeat wrote:
d-_-b wrote:so is it safe to say that the MCU pro's are working well with C7.5 Hugh ?
Yes of course!

More than just an affirming "yes".

I'm loving it. Turning "monitor" on and off for channels. Tweaking things in the channels strip - which I mentioned somewhere else I'm using a lot more now that it's so easy . . it was soo tiny before for the mouse.
Also using quick controls more - for VSTis and other - Shift/Master gets me there in a flash.
It goes on . .

Damn . . . I'm sounding like Freddie H here . . . without the emoticons . .

Love ya, Freddie.

Hugh
one question thou Hugh ,is this just the MCU pro or does this include the older MCU

Got to love freddy lol
Win 7-64 bit | Rme| Cubase Latest version 64 bit | CMC's | Halion 5

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by HughH » Thu Dec 19, 2013 4:33 pm

d-_-b wrote:one question thou Hugh ,is this just the MCU pro or does this include the older MCU

Got to love freddy lol
I only have the new ones, Pro and 2 XTs . . but all the reports I have are the functions work with ALL Mackie Control Units including some emulations.
I don't think the core Mackie Control Protocol has changed much in years . . could be wrong, but . .

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

Woodcrest Studio

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by Woodcrest Studio » Thu Dec 19, 2013 5:05 pm

HughH wrote:
Backbeat wrote:
d-_-b wrote:so is it safe to say that the MCU pro's are working well with C7.5 Hugh ?
Yes of course!

More than just an affirming "yes".

I'm loving it. Turning "monitor" on and off for channels. Tweaking things in the channels strip - which I mentioned somewhere else I'm using a lot more now that it's so easy . . it was soo tiny before for the mouse.
Also using quick controls more - for VSTis and other - Shift/Master gets me there in a flash.
It goes on . .

Damn . . . I'm sounding like Freddie H here . . . without the emoticons . .

Love ya, Freddie.

Hugh
unless I'm thinking about something else, you were able to enable and disable track monitoring by depressing the rotary pan encoder. This was prior to this change in 7.5

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by HughH » Thu Dec 19, 2013 5:46 pm

Woodcrest Studio wrote:
unless I'm thinking about something else, you were able to enable and disable track monitoring by depressing the rotary pan encoder. This was prior to this change in 7.5
If true, I was not aware of it.
You can revert to what I think were the old functions by selecting "compatibility" Mode on the MCU Panel accessible under the "Devices" menu.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

Woodcrest Studio

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by Woodcrest Studio » Thu Dec 19, 2013 6:27 pm

HughH wrote:
Woodcrest Studio wrote:
unless I'm thinking about something else, you were able to enable and disable track monitoring by depressing the rotary pan encoder. This was prior to this change in 7.5
If true, I was not aware of it.
You can revert to what I think were the old functions by selecting "compatibility" Mode on the MCU Panel accessible under the "Devices" menu.

Hugh

Oh, It's true. :D
"Now you know, and knowing is half the battle" "Geeee Iiiiiii Jooooooooo!"
Just trying to add what I can to this convo! 8-)

User avatar
sonicstate
Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:28 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by sonicstate » Fri Dec 20, 2013 12:37 pm

HughH wrote:
The entire built in strip is available.
I must be missing something. I'm looking at generic remote, and cannot find any functions for channel strip. I'd like to map at least LF and HF filters. Where are those available for generic remote?
Cubase Pro 8.5, Win 64bit, i7-4770K @4.3GHz, ASUS Z87-K, 16Gb, RME HDSP 9652, BCF 2000, BCR 2000, Novation Launchpad Mini, M-Audio TriggerFinger, M-Audio Axiom AIR Mini 32, Korg NanoKey, plenty outboard synths and fx, 24ch Studiomaster mixer, Yamaha NS10s, Dynaudio BM5, Samson Rubicon R8a Ribbon, etc...

User avatar
Backbeat
Senior Member
Posts: 1086
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by Backbeat » Fri Dec 20, 2013 1:03 pm

sonicstate wrote:
HughH wrote:
The entire built in strip is available.
I must be missing something. I'm looking at generic remote, and cannot find any functions for channel strip. I'd like to map at least LF and HF filters. Where are those available for generic remote?
No, frustrating!
I asked Steinberg to update the Generic Remote Parameters for the new Channel Strip in Cubase 7 but till now nothing....
DAW 1: Win 7 Ult.64 , i7 5820K 32GB Ram, MB Gigabyte X99 UD3 Bios F6 ,SSD 850 EVO 500GB ,2x 3TB HDD, RME UFX+Remote, Gap Pre 73 Mk2, M-Audio DSM 3, Neumann U87Ai , T.Bone SC450 , Mackie Control Pro, BCR2000 , Kore Controller , FCB1010 , MPK 88 , NI Maschine/KK S61 , Adobe Audition 3 , NI Komplete 11U , jBridge etc.

DAW 2: Win 10 Pro 64, i7 2600 , 16GB Ram ,SSD 840EVO 256GB, 2x 2TB HDD , Mackie Control Pro, BCR 2000, FCB 1010 , M-Audio DSM 3 , NS10M , Nubert AW400 Sub ,Maschine Mk1/KK S61 , RME Babyface, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 , SPL Goldmike , BPM CR73 , AKG Perception 400

MySound

BCR2000 as Cubase Controller

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4418
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by alexis » Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:41 pm

Book marking, thx HughH and others.
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

Infinite Beat
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:33 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by Infinite Beat » Wed Jan 15, 2014 11:22 am

I noticed in a thread that you can use Generic remote control to add commands to the buttons of the MCU.
This means you can have one button to do two things. This opens up many ideas in my head but I can't find the right commands in the generic remote editor (in Device manager).

I want to add "Open all channel inserts-GUI" to the IFX-button (Middle-right of the six Assignment buttons upper left). Can't find the command. Anyone?
Would be nice to have them all on the screen while tweaking....

I've added "Edit VSTi" to one of the function buttons which opens the vsti-GUI. Would be great to be able to edit the quick controls too, so if you know the command/function to bring them up on the MCU display it would be great.
Btw, I could maybe do it the opposite way - [shift+Master], which bring you the VSTi QC, also opens the vsti GUI...

One thing I added so far which I find pretty useful:
When controlling Channel strip parameters on the MCU - pressing left knob toggles show/hide channel strip in the mixer. (May need mixer focus - cannot test right now though)

Do you guys have any funtions in mind to add on the already assigned buttons?

Really like the new MCU functions !
https://soundcloud.com/infinite_beat
https://soundcloud.com/mike-fred-1

-------------------------------------------------------
Mac Pro 5.1 3,46 GHz, 16Gb OSX 10.12 // RME Fireface 400 / Novation Remote SL61 / HW Synths / MCU Pro + XT etc / Softube Console 1 / ... ...
-------------------------------------------------------
Software: Cubase 9.5 Pro / Wavelab 9 / Waves / Slate / Brainworx / Softube etc etc

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 584
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by HughH » Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:42 pm

Infinite Beat wrote: Would be great to be able to edit the quick controls too, so if you know the command/function to bring them up on the MCU display it would be great.
Btw, I could maybe do it the opposite way - [shift+Master], which bring you the VSTi QC, also opens the vsti GUI...
If you turn off "Set Remote Control Focus for VST Quick Controls" - the little button to the lower right of the Instrument on the VST Instruments panel - and make sure "Remote Control Focus follows Track Selection" on the drop down menu (upper right - same panel) is Off then Shift/Master will take you to the Track Quick Controls.

Switching the "focus" button on and off will instantly take you back and forth between Track and VST QCs.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability

andyoc
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:19 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by andyoc » Thu Jan 16, 2014 11:13 pm

I'm updating a file which I had done for Nuendo 6/Cubase 7, for Cubase 7.5 implementation

This might help some people adapt to the new pages....

It's not 100% finished yet, but will do so over the next few days..

Any comments or omissions, let me know!

https://www.dropbox.com/s/akzkz6p5y2k3p ... 202014.pdf
PC1 i9 9900X/128G/RME MADI Express
PC2 i7 4790k/32G/VSL Symph
PC3 i7 6700k/16G/RME Raydat/VSL Symph


Nuendo 10.0.20 /Cubase 10.0.30/ Wavelab 9.5.1/SSL Alpha Link MADI AX/Mackie MCU/NI Maschine Mk 2/VSL Ensemble PRO 6.0.15415/Superior Drummer 3/Omnisphere/Trillian/Stylus RMX :: Roland 5080, 3080, 5050, Yamaha Motif 8, MotRack ES, XS, XF :: Komplete Ultimate 12 :: EZ Keys

gmontano
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:50 am
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by gmontano » Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:43 am

Thanks for putting this PDF together!
6950x, 64 GB RAM, ASrock x99 mobo, 1050 Ti video card, Windows 10, RME UFX, Cubase 10 Pro.

User avatar
sorinv
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 9:02 am
Location: Bucharest
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by sorinv » Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:31 am

Could someone make an xml script (like our mighty Msterna's) to move 24 ch's at once with the "bank +" button, not by 8? I have a 24 track Tascam US2400 and this feature would be really useful for me (and for others maibe - I also wrote in the issues report area). I tried for no good to edit his xml... Thanks in advance
"Your best idea is already copyrighted"

W10x64, Cubase 10 x64, Wavelab 9.5 x64, RME Fireface 400 x 2, Qx9650, 16gb etc
Roland XV5080 (w 8 Exp), V-Synth 2 w VC1 & VC2 cards, A50, JP8000, SC8850, A880, Jupiter4, Korg Kronos 61 v3 (4gb, 128Gb SSD & 10 EXs's), 05RW, TR-Rack, Triton Classic 61 (Fully Exp), NanoPad2, Virus TI2 Polar, Oberheim OB3², Mellotron M4000D Mini, Moog Voyager PE, Moog Sub37, Moog Slim Phatty, Yamaha S80 w BC3 and 2 PLGs, 01V Console (w 8 ins Expanded), Yamaha VL-1 w BC3, Arturia Minibrute, Hammond XK1, Line6 Variax Guitar, Charlie Labs Digitar, Motu Express 128 & Micro Express, Kenton Control Freak Studio, Tannoy Reveals, Avalon Compressors, Tascam US2400 console x 2, more VST's that I want or need :), some mics & other small devices.

trashdinner
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by trashdinner » Thu Feb 06, 2014 11:51 pm

Finally!! Thank you Steinberg for the MCU group buttons fix!!
Also the fact that the bank buttons now have the bank function by default instead of channel and having to shift click everytime you reopen a session is great!! Thx!

Infinite Beat
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:33 pm
Contact:

Re: MCU Functions Expanded in 7.5

Post by Infinite Beat » Fri Feb 07, 2014 12:19 am

Did they go back to the old functions on every button or is it just the the bank up/down that were changed?
I like the new functions.
https://soundcloud.com/infinite_beat
https://soundcloud.com/mike-fred-1

-------------------------------------------------------
Mac Pro 5.1 3,46 GHz, 16Gb OSX 10.12 // RME Fireface 400 / Novation Remote SL61 / HW Synths / MCU Pro + XT etc / Softube Console 1 / ... ...
-------------------------------------------------------
Software: Cubase 9.5 Pro / Wavelab 9 / Waves / Slate / Brainworx / Softube etc etc

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Guefe2000 and 7 guests