Snap points to END of event?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
kendallob
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:31 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Snap points to END of event?

Post by kendallob » Sat Jan 04, 2014 9:30 pm

Say i have a reverse sample i want to drop in as a build to drum hit for ex..

how do i snap the point to the END of the sample i've imported...its default set to snap at the beginning of all audio events.

Im aware that i can snap the point to cursor but this still waists time zooming in and finding the end of the wave and the exact point i want to use.

Any way to simply change the snap point default from beginning of the event to the end of the event??

thanks for your help!! :)
kendallbarwick.com
Cubase 8.0.5 (64bit)
OSX 10.8
2.7 GHz intel Core i5
16 GB ram

Majic
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by Majic » Sun Jan 05, 2014 2:41 am

open the audio file and drag the snap point; line with an 's' in the middle, to where you would the point the want the audio to snap with.

dont know of a quicker way, as the default snap is at the beginning of any audio file...


hope this helps.

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1532
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by mozizo » Sun Jan 05, 2014 11:01 pm

Majic wrote:open the audio file and drag the snap point; line with an 's' in the middle, to where you would the point the want the audio to snap with.

dont know of a quicker way, as the default snap is at the beginning of any audio file...


hope this helps.
its annoying to snap in end of event cuz you have to zoom full out all the way..!! i posted in issues section but its not fixed yet!!
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... nt#p291060
i tried making a macro to snap to end of event but didnt figured how to do it..
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5030
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by Grim » Sun Jan 05, 2014 11:29 pm

It's a pretty simple macro....just add these 2 commands.

Transport - Locate Selection End
Audio - Snap Point to Cursor
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1532
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by mozizo » Sun Jan 05, 2014 11:33 pm

Grim wrote:It's a pretty simple macro....just add these 2 commands.

Transport - Locate Selection End
Audio - Snap Point to Cursor
thanks.. 8-)
i was searching for "cursor" in the search box in key commands and didnt find function to place the cursor to end of event.. :geek: (thanks god im not a programmer :D )
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
kendallob
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:31 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by kendallob » Mon Jan 06, 2014 1:29 am

Grim wrote:It's a pretty simple macro....just add these 2 commands.

Transport - Locate Selection End
Audio - Snap Point to Cursor

Somehow this isnt working for me!! :|

by doing this, im assuming it will automatically snap the end of the even to wherever the cursor is, correct?
kendallbarwick.com
Cubase 8.0.5 (64bit)
OSX 10.8
2.7 GHz intel Core i5
16 GB ram

User avatar
kendallob
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:31 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by kendallob » Mon Jan 06, 2014 1:37 am

yup.. cant get this to work! gah

help please!
kendallbarwick.com
Cubase 8.0.5 (64bit)
OSX 10.8
2.7 GHz intel Core i5
16 GB ram

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5030
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by Grim » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:05 am

by doing this, im assuming it will automatically snap the end of the even to wherever the cursor is, correct?
No. It moves the snap point (& cursor) to the end of the event.
i.e....It does exactly what the thread title says.
yup.. cant get this to work! gah
help please!
Happy to help but give me something to go on.....have you created the macro and assigned a key command ok?
Is anything at all happening if you highlight an event and hit the kc?
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
kendallob
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:31 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by kendallob » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:07 am

Grim wrote:
by doing this, im assuming it will automatically snap the end of the even to wherever the cursor is, correct?
No. It moves the snap point (& cursor) to the end of the event.
i.e....It does exactly what the thread title says.
yup.. cant get this to work! gah
help please!
Happy to help but give me something to go on.....have you created the macro and assigned a key command ok?
Is anything at all happening if you highlight an event and hit the kc?

yes i made a kc exactly stated.. but neither the cursor or snap point moves. all i get is the "mac beep"
kendallbarwick.com
Cubase 8.0.5 (64bit)
OSX 10.8
2.7 GHz intel Core i5
16 GB ram

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1532
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by mozizo » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:13 am

works for me here on a PC..
i made the Macro,assigned a key command to it.. thats it !
just a dumb question ,but did u select the audio event that you want to snap ? :roll:
{the macro moves the cursor to selected event's end and then moves the snap point where the cursor is now(end of the selected audio event) }
Last edited by mozizo on Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
kendallob
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:31 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by kendallob » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:16 am

ok.. so i reset everything and tried again..

but it wont locate the end of the event, it'll only snap point to the cursor.

still trying..
kendallbarwick.com
Cubase 8.0.5 (64bit)
OSX 10.8
2.7 GHz intel Core i5
16 GB ram

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1532
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by mozizo » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:20 am

kendallob wrote:ok.. so i reset everything and tried again..

but it wont locate the end of the event, it'll only snap point to the cursor.

still trying..
maybe upload a picture of the macro to check if its correct
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5030
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by Grim » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:22 am

It sounds like you have set the KC to the command and not to the Macro.....do you know how this is done....it's not super obvious the first time.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
kendallob
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:31 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by kendallob » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:28 am

Grim wrote:It sounds like you have set the KC to the command and not to the Macro.....do you know how this is done....it's not super obvious the first time.

Actually i figured it out!! :D

But its a bit buggy somehow.. not working all the time. Maybe a restart will help.

A combination of selecting the event as well as the track gets it to work.. but not consistently.

Some progress though !!
kendallbarwick.com
Cubase 8.0.5 (64bit)
OSX 10.8
2.7 GHz intel Core i5
16 GB ram

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5030
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by Grim » Mon Jan 06, 2014 2:40 am

You must select the event....selecting the track or any other track shouldn't make any difference as long as the event you want to process is selected.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
kendallob
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 11:31 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by kendallob » Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:49 am

Yea...even after selecting the event it seems to work intermittenly.

Thanks though for all of your help!!
kendallbarwick.com
Cubase 8.0.5 (64bit)
OSX 10.8
2.7 GHz intel Core i5
16 GB ram

le_barde
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by le_barde » Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:01 pm

Hi there,
I use that topic for another little question.
I don't get why sometimes the snap point of some clips I work with gets set to the end of the event, appears to happen quite randomly.
It's very nice to be able to set the snap point where you want in a clip, but as the manual says "by default the snap point is set at the start of an event"...
Does anyone know why it would randomly be set at the end instead ? .. it's quite time consuming to have to reset it to the beginning when it happens.

Thanks

Majic
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 7:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by Majic » Thu May 14, 2015 9:09 am

le_barde wrote:Hi there,
I use that topic for another little question.
I don't get why sometimes the snap point of some clips I work with gets set to the end of the event, appears to happen quite randomly.
It's very nice to be able to set the snap point where you want in a clip, but as the manual says "by default the snap point is set at the start of an event"...
Does anyone know why it would randomly be set at the end instead ? .. it's quite time consuming to have to reset it to the beginning when it happens.

Thanks
Are you talking about Audio clips. ?

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by mitchiemasha » Wed Sep 05, 2018 2:59 am

Grim wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2014 11:29 pm
Transport - Locate Selection End
Audio - Snap Point to Cursor
This is My new favourite Macro... Just what I needed. Shame when we change the BPM, cubase locks the front of the part to the grid, instead of the Snap Point.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

thehay95
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2018 3:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by thehay95 » Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:43 am

It's a pretty simple macro

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Snap points to END of event?

Post by mitchiemasha » Wed Sep 05, 2018 8:14 pm

Yes it is but it saved me so much time, I've needed it for ever. Shame about the Part/Object snapping instead of snap point, when adjusting BPM. Unless there's a setting I've missed to override this.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests