Can VariAudio and the Project window be open simultaneously?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Can VariAudio and the Project window be open simultaneously?

Post by alexis » Fri May 29, 2015 3:57 am

Hi - Currently I am flipping back and forth between VariAudio and the project window to get vocals timed in relation to the instrumentation (rather than the grid in this case).

For example, I'll open up the MIDI editor to a piano track, put the cursor at the beginning of the note I want the vocal timed to, then switch back to the VariAudio window to stretch the vocal note to the cursor.

Is there an easier way, maybe to be able to do this all from one window?

Cubase 7.5.40.

Thanks!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9096
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Can VariAudio and the Project window be open simultaneou

Post by -steve- » Sat May 30, 2015 3:14 am

I would set up my windows like this:

Image

Full size:
http://i.imgur.com/DFViMWx.png
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Can VariAudio and the Project window be open simultaneou

Post by alexis » Sat May 30, 2015 4:14 am

SteveInChicago wrote:I would set up my windows like this:

Image

Full size:
http://i.imgur.com/DFViMWx.png
Well, that is *very* helpful, thank you.

Embarrassed to say, I didn't realize those windows could be manipulated like that.

It does take me a *very* long time to align the two windows so that they show generally the same part of the time line and are lined up with each other on the vertical axis. I'm using the inbetween minimize/maximize buttons, still haven't quite worked out how I'm doing it, but ... I can work with this!

Thanks again -
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9096
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Can VariAudio and the Project window be open simultaneou

Post by -steve- » Sat May 30, 2015 4:20 am

1. Set windows up and save it as a new workspace.

2.
a. Set the locators
b. Open the Sample Editor, invoke 'zoom to locators'
c. Open Key Editor invoke invoke 'zoom to locators'
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Can VariAudio and the Project window be open simultaneou

Post by alexis » Sat May 30, 2015 4:58 am

SteveInChicago wrote:1. Set windows up and save it as a new workspace.

2.
a. Set the locators
b. Open the Sample Editor, invoke 'zoom to locators'
c. Open Key Editor invoke invoke 'zoom to locators'
Hi Thanks for this SteveInChicago!

The drop down for "Zoom to Locators" (described on page 66) doesn't appear in my Sample or Key Editor windows (just the Project Window), and when I try to get invoke the commands manually with "EDIT>ZOOM" the Zoom to Locators command is not present. Do you (or anyone :)) have an idea what I need to do to invoke that command in the Sample and Key Editor windows?

Thanks -
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9096
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Can VariAudio and the Project window be open simultaneou

Post by -steve- » Sat May 30, 2015 5:01 am

Thee a many, many commands in Cubase accessible via Keystroke only. Go look in the Key Command window. Spend some time exploring. It's a great way to discover functions you don't know about. That's my suggestion. :)
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Can VariAudio and the Project window be open simultaneou

Post by alexis » Sat May 30, 2015 5:34 am

I use Key Commands a lot lot more than I ever used to, have given myself pats on the back as I keep adding them to my list ...

But - never in a million years did I think ...
SteveInChicago wrote:Thee a many, many commands in Cubase accessible via Keystroke only. ...
It works exactly as desired now ... so quick and lined up absolutely close enough to make it an easy job.

Thanks again ... lots of lessons learned here today :D
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

rcprod
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Can VariAudio and the Project window be open simultaneou

Post by rcprod » Sat Jun 27, 2015 2:21 pm

Great post. Thanks everyone.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests