powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by neilwilkes »

Matthias Adloff wrote:No problem. From what I can see it doesn't happen on PC.
It does, Matthias. It's happened to me with the P-LIM for starters.
It's very hard to do a 100% repro though, but it has definitely bitten me in the rear.
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

User avatar
Big K
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Big K »

Me too...
Awkward, but truly annoying on larger projects....
It is really tough to repro for some unknown reasons, as you say, but yes,.. it happens on PC, too.

Big K
Nuendo 10, WaveLab 9.5, RME, UAD, PoCo, Win10/64 bit, PC i7 3930K, 16GB RAM, Intensity Pro, Melodyne 5, Spectrasonics, VSL, All Brainworx & Plugin Alliance, Genelec 1031 for 5.1, Quested HQ 210, NS10s, sevaW lla, LAWO, Neumanns, Brauners, Sennheisers, Schoeps, Sony DASH3324S, 42 RUs of classic hardware, professionally build and designed studio acoustics. SB-User since Cubase 2.0, Nuendo 1.5, WaveLab 1.5 ...

zvenx
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by zvenx »

it always happens to me on PC....nothing hard for ME to reproduce.....
rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

Matthias Adloff
Member
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Matthias Adloff »

Strange. It really never happened to me ... yet...
Signature has been removed.

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix »

Nuendo 5.5
OSX 10.6.8

This just happened again to me in Nuendo 5.5 32 bit...

1) copied two power off UAD insert from one track to several (10) others
2) power on the copied plugins and bounced their tracks down individually (I assumed the inserts I copied would be processing)
3) after bouncing I listened back and the insert I copied that had been powered on did not process any audio
4) went back to the tracks and verified with playback the plugins were not processing
5) toggled the mono / stereo mode (top right) and they began processing audio again


This time I didn't even close the session. During my session, copying inserts that were powered off caused them to not process audio.

This issue is nasty, users should not have to be concerned that every time we mixdown any plugin in our mix may or may not be processing audio.

Please SB comment on this issue.

Woodcrest Studio

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Woodcrest Studio »

TuckerMix wrote:
This issue is nasty, users should not have to be concerned that every time we mixdown any plugin in our mix may or may not be processing audio.

Please SB comment on this issue.

I would like a comment from them as well, because I am so careful that I actually open EVERY plugin gui to verify things are correct before finalizing. I could save some time if I didn't have to check. I suppose I could just trust my ears..... BUT....

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix »

Just wasted another half hour because if this bug. Now I'm redoing my work... UGH.

Sonic_Dropper
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Sonic_Dropper »

I too have been experiencing this problem since version 4. User of Nuendo since v1.
I have to do the same things as others have said:
1. Re-load the project after powering on the plugin or plugins.
2. Go through all UAD plugs to make sure they are really processing audio.
3. Move the UAD plugin to another track and then back.

This never happens to me with other plugins.
Also do you ever get the CPU overload message from UAD when you re-load a project that was working fine until you re-loaded it.

Please fix this guys.

Sonic_Dropper
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Sonic_Dropper »

Do we have a status on this from Steinberg?
BUMP ;)

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix »

They have not once commented on this issue.

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2649
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Fredo »

It was indeed in the bugbase, but the issue couldn't be reproduced.
Since this thread, I have tried to reproduce the issue myself, on 4 different machines, without luck.
To be honest, long time ago, I have had this problem too, but never was able to reproduce it.
It just happened "sometimes". Now it has been years since I've seen the problem.

So, it's obvious that "something" is causing this problem, though we don't know what is causing this.
If someone can put the finger on it, I'll be happy to submit it.

Fredo

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix »

Hey Fredo,
I've been trying for years to get exact repro steps on this. It happens to me quite often. I can provide a screen video of the bug in action.

I know you guys are strict in that bugs require exact repro steps, but in this case it may be very difficult to provide that. However, the number of replies to this thread shows that this is an issue for many users.

Is the previous bug in your database still alive?

If not, will this thread not become a bug before repro is found?

If that's the case its unfortunate. Clearly we have an issue here that many users experience, but it seems it might not get attention unless there are repro steps found. And understandably it can be difficult to present to devs without repro.

I'll make a concerted effort to track this down.
Thanks for the reply. Lets us know SB shares our concerns.

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2649
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Fredo »

I suspect that it is a conflict with a plugin or set of plugins, for example Waves.
WHen I look at my systems, and we are running 5 of them each day, we also bumped into this, but it simply went away after soem time. If I look at the "progress" of these machines, the only thing that has "moved" were the plugin sets. The OS wasn't changed (we were on XP for nearly a decade), the ASIO cards didn't change (RME all flavors), etc ...
Obviously Nuendo and UAD were upgraded too, but since people are still experiencing this today, and others not at all, it is near to impossible that it is a specific and UAD or Nuendp-only problem.

Again, I don't doubt for a second that it happens, so no need for a screenshot or movie. But that isn't enough.
We need to find what the trigger is.
As far as the official bugreport, this can be reopened within seconds. But we need a repro.

Hope you understand.
Fredo

Sonic_Dropper
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Sonic_Dropper »

Ill see if I can reproduce this somehow also. If I recall it seems to happen with templates that I have set up with UAD plugins in a powered off state. It also happens if I import some tracks with the same condition, UAD plugins powered off.

Is there a system information file/log that I can post that will be of help to anyone trying to figure this out?
I have had Waves plugins all the time that this has been going on.

Jim

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix »

Also happens when copying (drag and drop) bypassed inserts.

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix »

Found a repro.

My System:
MacPro 1,1
RME Fireface 800 x2
Nuendo 5.5
UAD 6.0: 3x UAD quads
UAD meter app settings: DSP limit 100, DSP load lock ON, extra buffer OFF, release all DSP for AU ON, force logic OFF, controls mode linear

1) create new empty session (44/24)
2) add 4 stereo audio tracks
3) insert a steinberg test generator plugin set to white noise into insert 1 on track 1
4) in the mixer, drag + copy this test gen plugin to each insert #1 of the other three tracks (2,3,4)
5) insert a UAD 1176 on insert 2 of track 1
---note the 1176 is processing, the VU meter is activate
6) power off this 1176 plugin on track 1
7) drag copy track 1's powered off 1176 plugin to track 2 insert2
8) drag copy track 2's powered off 1176 plugin to track 3 insert2
9) drag copy track 3's powered off 1176 plugin to track 4 insert2
10) as all test gens on all tracks are producing audio, power on track 2's 1176 and watch its VU meter
---no meter activity is seen
11) repeat step 10 for track 3
---no meter activity is seen
12) repeat for remaining tracks

I am able to repeatedly perform this test with these same results.

Can you repro?

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix »

I can repro this every time... here's a video of the repro...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sasLW0mrV-g

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix »

Can anyone repro this?

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by neilwilkes »

TuckerMix wrote:Can anyone repro this?
About to give it a try.
One question - why is DSP level set to 100% with Load Lock on? Recommended settings there are 95%, not 100%.....
Will test on my setup (SIngle UAD-Quad loadlock at 95% - if this does not trigger, will set to 100 & try again)

EDIT.
Confirmed.
That certainly triggers this issue.
Also does it on the Neve 33609, but interestingly not the Lexicon 224 reverb, the LA2A, LA3A etc.
Only a few plugins are affected.....but great find for the repro - now something can hopefully get done.
I think it will help if all UAD plugins can be tested out
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

zvenx
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by zvenx »

hasn't this been around in one variant or another since Nuendo 4?
certainly it has with me.

It does happen to me with the LA3A as well.
rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix »

Yes its been around for a long time, and its about time is gets FIXED!

Woodcrest Studio

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Woodcrest Studio »

Ryan ,

Have you sent this off to uaudio as well? I think now that it is pinned down to a repro, both sides can take a look at the issue.

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix »

Users have reported that it occurs with other NON-UA plugins. As UA has stated this is not their bug, it's probably NOT a UA issue.

Woodcrest Studio

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Woodcrest Studio »

Ahh.. I now remember reading that.

Ryan, I really appreciate you digging into this issue. I had given up pursuing it years (or so it seems that long ago) when both companies were pointing the finger at each other. This issue along with the PDC issue I found with UAD plugs have been going on for a while. I just dealt with it for all this time.

Again, much appreciation for you spearheading this.

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix »

What PDC issue with UA plugins? I reported here https://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtop ... =76&t=8808 a PDC issue with Nuendo but it since has been fix (as stated by Fredo) in 5.5.

I have heard one user state he has reproduced this issue with Voxengo MSED plugin.

Honestly, this issue causes me so much wasted time and paranoia I'm sick to death of it and its infuriating to hear this issue was been around for years and still hasn't been fixed.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests